Website feedback

Reviews of El Misti Hostel Rio Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Rua Tonelero 197, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 66%

Location 89%

Safety 78%

Staff 76%

Value 67%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Age Restrictions:
No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms
No persons under 5 years old can book private rooms

CANCELLATIONS POLICIES BY DATES:

*For reservations made with non-refundable cancellation policy will be charged 100% of the total value of the reservation. If any cancellation occurs no deposit will be returned;

*For the New Year Package 2018/2019(27/12/2018 to 04/01/2019) it is necessary to pay 50% of the value of the reservation, at the time booking is submitted. Cancellations will only be processed 30 days prior check-in date. After that time, no deposit refunds will be made. In the event of a no-show the hostel charges the full amount of balance.

*For the Carnival Package (27/02/2019 a 09/03/2019) it is necessary to pay 50% of the value of the reservation, at the time booking is submitted. Cancellations will only be processed 30 days prior check-in date. After that time, no deposit refunds will be made. In the event of a no-show the hostel charges the full amount of balance.

* For any other dates not included above have to be made 3 days before check-in, it is necessary to pay 50% of the value of the reservation, at the time booking is submitted. otherwise no reimbursement is performed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 66%

Location 89%

Safety 78%

Staff 76%

Value 67%

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is close to Copacana Beach and the Metro Station. So you can go basically everywhere in a short time

Disliked: I thougt the meeting area was quite small... and the beds were expensive for what was offered in the end. However, i was there during carnaval. So other experiences could be quite a lot different.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Pascal
Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services.

We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements.
We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations.
Kindregards,
Management

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were great and very helpful. Great location as well

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome hostel, awesome staff who are friendly and ready to point you to a party, great vibe, and an unreal location in the middle of Copacabana

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Alex
Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.
Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro.
Kind regards,
Management

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and fun atmosphere, great staff and location and a great place to meet other travellers. Perfect for me as a solo budget traveller who doesn't have high expectations.

Disliked: i had no problems with this hostel!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest.
First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,
Management

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Location is Cool! And Nice people!

Disliked: CleAnliness sometimes!

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: -

Disliked: Staff was unkindness. bathroom and toilet was dirty. not clean everytime.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Superb location near subway station (across the street) and close to Copacabana beach. A lot of grocery shops and bars/restaurants nearby. Good price. Friendly staff with good english. Tasty juices on breakfast, always fresh bread. For this price i recommend El Misti. The only thing they should take care of is mildew in bathrooms and some damaged lockers in some rooms.

Disliked: A LOT of mildew on ceiling in half of bathrooms in hostel - poor ventilation. During the stay there was some work going on in two bathrooms and eventually they managed to change ceiling to clean plastic. Hopefully this will happen in all bathrooms. In our room some of baggage lockers were damaged so it was hard to find secure one if there are more people staying. Some of rooms have similar problems others are 100% ok.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is very good. Close to copagabana and directly at the metro station.

Disliked: The rooms are very dirty, behind the beds there is pile of garbage. The sheets are also not very clean. There are only two bathrooms on a floor with 40beds. The stuff is helpless and they dont seem to care much, if you ask them something they dont know .

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Secure lockers (just need a padlock) and entrance. Lively atmosphere.

Disliked: The shower I used wasn't very powerful or very warm. The bunk beds are quite low, so if you are on the bottom bunk you can't sit up in bed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Jne
We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
We would like to let you know that the problem with the showers is already solved.
Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job.

Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro.
Kind regards,
Management

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I always use this hostel when i came to rio always.every time i enjoy the atmosphere of El Misti Rio.I recommended this hostel than any other el misti and others ..especially the tours are very recommended.

Disliked: quite small room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Shim
First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,
Management

Check Availability