Website feedback

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty Paraty Hostel

Rua Benina Toledo do Prado, 662, Paraty, Brazil

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 72%

Location 90%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • WiFi

Important Information

Take account:
In case of special periods like Carnival, New Year and holidays:
- 100% payment required in advance. Our team will contact you to find out how to make this payment.
- If the reservation is canceled 30 or more days before the check-in will be returned only 70% of the reservation amount.
- If the reservation is canceled between 29 and 15 days before the check-in will be refunded only 50% of the reservation amount.
- If the reservation is canceled 15 days before check-in or less, there will be no refund of the reservation amount.

Payment methods:
- Our rates are set in USD. The change used is not the day, due to market variation. We use the exchange rate defined by Che Lagarto, and may vary the exchange disclosed on this web site. For more information, please contact us.
- The payment can be made in cash with Reais or Dollars.
-We accept credit cards.

Underage policy:
Guests under 18 years old are not allowed without a responsible adult. In this case, they must stay in a private room.

Services with surcharge:
- Transfer in & out: To book the transfer, please contact the hostel.
- Excursions: Boat trip - Jeep tour - Horseback riding - Kayaking - Diving - Rafting - Paragliding
- Transfer to other Che Lagartos.

Schedules:
Check-in: after 2 PM
Check-out: until 11 AM
* Between 11am and 2pm is charged a half-day of late check-out. After 2pm, an entire late check-out fee is charged.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 72%

Location 90%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: This hostel is in a great location in the historic district. The atmosphere is awesome and the staff are very helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is located close to bus station, and also close to historical part of Paraty. It was very nice hostel, one of the best I had ever been to. The breakfast was great! Kamila, from the reception, was very kind, and remembers first names of almost all guests :D

Disliked: I did not find anythink I wouldn't like in there...

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Good location Good bar with good prices and lots of young travellersReally good breakfast

Disliked: Make sure you bring dollars. Instead of using the actual rate they make up a ridiculous one and then got annoyed and asked for reals when we paid in dollars even though the request on the booking was in dollars.Bathroom wasn't cleaned in the 4 nights we stayed, and 3 times in the first two days all water in the hostel stopped working.Would be a good hostel if they weren't trying to rip you off all the time. Don't book any tours with them they charge a huge mark up versus the Main Street.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good for young people.

Disliked: Sometimes there is no water, no shower, no flush on toilet.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location to bus station.

Disliked: Everything else. See my comments above.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Most of the staff was great, the women especially! But the breakfast crew weren´t so friendly, they made me feel like I was a burden on them when I politely informed them there was no coffee/milk/whatever...

Disliked: The pathetically small kitchen. Brazil is expensive but Che Lagarto provides such a small kitchen it is difficult to cook for yourself. Also the kitchen is poorly supplied, only a few plates, there were no bowls or knives. There is a nice kitchen beside the guest kitchen but it is for the R$20 meal the hostel will provide for you. And the wifi is an embarassement. We spent got so we went to one of the many internet places.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location. Staff were friendly and laidback. Generally good vibe.

Disliked: The breakfast was poor. Booked a private room for security but came back one day to find cleaners had left door open. Kitchen was small, hot and poorly equipped.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice hostel, helpful staff, good breakfast, would stay there again...

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Easy to walk to downtown and all sights. Wonderful atmosphere.

Disliked: Their kitchen was extremely small and lacked a lot of neccessary utensils.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very freindly and a party feeling . staff good and helpful with everthing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability