Website feedback

Reviews of Floripa Surf Hostel Florianopolis Hostel

Servidão Ieda Maria Luz da Costa 190, Campeche, F, Florianopolis, Brazil

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 93%

Staff 95%

Value 95%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • WiFi

Important Information

07 days cancellation policy.

Check in: after 14:00 hrs.
Check out: until 12:00 hrs.

During High Season (december to march) we charge 50% non refundable on every new reservation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 93%

Staff 95%

Value 95%

Showing 11-20 of 20 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really friendly,homely feel...a great place to chill:-D

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very nice staff (including the dog), they went very very out of our way to help us. Great facilities in the rooms (normal double we booked) with huge bathroom, little stove to cook etc. it is in fact more like a hotel than a hostel. The area is not really a party place and more like an escape for relaxation/ walks/ surfing. there isn't an ATM nearby so make sure you take out your cash before.

Disliked: Nothing bad aout the hostel. We weren't too impressed with florianopolis itself but if we were to go back we would stay there again.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel. It is only about 50 m to a great stretch of beach that provides multiple options for surfing, swimming or just relaxing. Each room has it's own kitchenette with everything you need to cook up some great meals, there is a large fridge and you can lend bikes for the short trip to the supermarket. Also the location is the southern end of the island means you are close to most of the good nature walks and treks, all very easy to get to by bus. The owners Juan and his Dad are super friendly and extremely helpful and go out of their way to give good information, and along with there dog make staying here a pleasure. They also have good surfboards for rent, at good prices. This is not a party hostel, but a beautiful, clean and good value option for Florianopolis.

Disliked: Nothing - suggest to bring some mosquito repellent though as there can be some at night.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A big thanks to Carlos for a great stay, the room was lovely and big and had a great bathroom and kitchen area, the hostel is literally right on Campeche beach and has a cool common area with a big pool table. There's no bar in the hostel but you can buy your own drink and bring it anywhere you want so it works great. Do some surf lessons while there - we booked in an hour with Arnie and loved it. Also, Carlos let us use the bikes for free which were great for shop runs and gave us a lift to the bus station when we left. Really recommend staying here.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: This is a great place to stay if you want to be self-sufficient for a few days. The private rooms have the cooking equipment you need and lots of space, you are 5 minutes from the beach, and there are bikes you can use if you want to explore further afield.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: They have lots of nice hammocks where you can chill and the beach is just around the corner.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Our stay at floripa surf hostel was amazing so we extended our visit for two more nights. Juan the owner and his dad Carlos are two of the most friendly and helpful people we have ever met. The hostel is beautiful with hammocks outside each apartment and colourful flowers around the central garden. The apartment was very clean, had a large main room with double bed and table and also had a private kitchen with hob, microwave, refrigerator, sink etc and all the necessary cutlery and plates to be self sufficient. There is a minimarket 200m away towards the bus stop so you can ensure you have the essentials to live happily. It is the second from last abode on the road and the road quickly turns into dunes over which the large surf area of Campeche beach is accessed, literally 100m to the waves. It also turned out that Juan was a surf instructor and so I bought an hour long lesson. After checking the surf, instead of merely walking my girlfriend and I to Campeche Juan drove us halfway down the island to 'a better place to learn' which turned out to be a wild and deserted beach called Solidao. Stopping along the way to show us different unique beaches, points of interest, spectacular views and bars and taking us to delicious restaurant on the way back we had easily taken up 4 hours of his time in what was actually a florianopolis surf island tour. It's a shame the scale only goes up to "good" for ratings on this site as "excellent" would be closer to the truth. I cannot emphasise strongly enough, if you're going to florianopolis stay at this place, we loved every minute. Thanks Juan and Carlos!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The owner is an awesome guy! Always love free bikes. The private room was super clean and nice!

Disliked: Location is great for going to the beach (half a block away Campache beach!). Surf beach, good for surfing obviously and for going to a not crowded beach. If you're looking for a place closer to the night life and popular beaches I recommend Submarino Hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice spacious rooms with ensuite. There is a huge fridge and two small gas hobs to cook on in the room (a little kitchenette). There were also 2 bikes you could use for free to cycle to the huge local supermarket. The hostel is in a really quiet area and 3 mins walk from the beach.

Disliked: The computer wasn´t working when we were there so we had to go into town to get on the internet but they have wifi so fine if you have your own laptop etc. It´s in a residential area so nothing going on in the evenings, fine if you want a quiet stay somewhere but not the right place if you are looking to socialise and hit some bars.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: One of the best hostels we have stayed at. The hostel was located right next to the beach. There is a small walking track to the beach at the end of the street and the beach has great surf. The room (we had a private double room) was spacious, had a large bathroom and kitchenette with all you needed to prepare meals. There was also another kitchen, outdoor bbq and pool table for guest use. The owners were so friendly and were really informative about the area and very knowledgable about the surf and beaches.

Disliked: Could not fault this hostel

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability