Website feedback

Reviews of Bondi Beach Backpackers (Surfside) Sydney Hostel

35a Hall St, Bondi Beach, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 66%

Location 93%

Safety 66%

Staff 73%

Value 63%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

All bookings will be processed & charged in full 5 DAYS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL. The balance due plus two percent credit card fee will be debited from the credit card or debit card provided. Once processed, we do not refund. Sorry if this causes any inconvenience.

All Christmas & New Year’s Bookings must be paid in full on or before the 1st December each year. Surfside Bondi Beach also has a 9 night minimum from 24th December to 2nd January each year. We do not accept bookings that don’t include this whole period. We will in some circumstances contact you and accept a booking that fits in to our schedule but we recommend you contact us directly before you book. All Christmas & New Year Bookings will be contacted by email offering our EARLYBIRD SPCIAL OFFER requesting a 33.33% non refundable deposit. ONLY when this is charged will bookings be confirmed and you will receive a confirmation email. The remaining 66.66% is required on or before the 1st December each year. We will send you a confirmation email once deposit is charged explaining payments, cancellation policy and terms and conditions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 66%

Location 93%

Safety 66%

Staff 73%

Value 63%

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Really friendly staff. Surf board provided, give lots of useful information for new backpacker

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: It was like a community once you had settled in. Had the sun Been shining then free use of their equipment for the beach would have been class.

Disliked: When first entering I wasn't sure I liked it, as the people seemed a bit inward, but I think that was just because there were a lot of long termers who knew each other well.Just be aware reception hours are limited to specific times of day.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Next to the beach

Disliked: Safety

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Comfortable hostel and when we had nowhere to stay during Mardi gras they accomodated us with some makeshift beds.

Disliked: There were a fair few small cockroaches roaming around downstairs in reception.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The staff, the atmosphere and the location

Disliked: The bathrooms could be a bit cleaner

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break

Liked: the staff was great and very helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. If you want to be in a calm and fresh room you wouldn't find it in Surfsyde. ;)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The atmosphere was always good, everyone wants to speak to each other and have a good time!

Disliked: Although there are fans, there isn't aircon in the rooms!

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location and the free breakfast

Disliked: The price was a little high, and they could check the party volume more freakvently

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating


10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was very nice

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: On arrival they charge you $3 for clean bedding, so this made me question what is exactly included in the price. There was a lot of signs posted everywhere of what you can't do, no spraying deodrant in rooms no smoking even outside, no talking on the stair well, it brings a dull atmosphere to the whole place. After paying in full when we arrived we were told there was no rooms available at the hostel and we had to go a couple of blocks to the "sister hostel" called lamrock lodge- we have previously stayed here and did not wish to stay back here again which is why we chose surfside so this was disappointing. We then were put in a dorm room at surfside after paying for a private room as this was only available on the first night. The key deposit is $30 which is very steep and most of the people who stay there are backpackers which is a lot of money for them if they loose a tiny key. Every time we went out the door seemed to have been lodged open with a bin (maybe by cleaners) but it was the same for every room at all times of the day which made my belongings feel very unsafe the wifi did not work even when you sit next to the modem. There's only 2 showers not really enough for the amount of people there.

Check Availability