Website feedback

Reviews of Back of Chapel Melbourne Hostel

50 Green St., Windsor, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 92%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

No children under 18 are permitted!

Group bookings of 3 or more must pay 50% on booking
during peak season such as December/January and Grand Prix we require 50% deposit by no later than December 1st and March 1 (Grand Prix) the rest payable no later than Decem ber 15th (xmas and new year until end of January bookings) Hostel reception hours are:
8:30am-5pm Arrivals outside of these times will be charged via credit card for the first night, and a special late check in procedure will be organized for you (as detailed via email). Cancellations only during reception hours
December and January bookings - 50% must be paid for by Dec. 1st Grand Prix msut be paid for by March 1st

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 92%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


11 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Warm nice and clean place.

Disliked: When someone talks outside of your room you would hear.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


28 Jul 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Great location, awesome vibe and really clean and renovated bathrooms!

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for reviewing our Hostel! We would have loved for you to stay longer as well! maybe next time ;-)
Safe travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Awesome location on chapel walking distance to public transport and heaps of great cafes bars and shops. Also the wasn't enough rooms in the dorm so I got upgraded to a private room free of charge which was nice

Disliked: The rooms were quite basic but you get what you pay for

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The area is really cool. it's not too big so you can get in touch with people very easy and its more familiar.

Disliked: The staff was too late for the check in.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location for my purposes. Staff, when available, were extremely helpful.

Disliked: Incredibly short hours of availability of said staff. Unless you plan on arriving or getting help in specific, short time windows, don't plan on getting much assistance.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Back of Chapel hours are clearly stated on our website, reception hours are 8:30am - 4:30pm outside of these hours we are always contactable if there is an issue. Being a small home style hostel we are always complimented to give our guests some freedom at nights. We always strive to be as helpful as possible and we do go out of our way to ensure everyone here enjoys their stay.
Chapel St is a fantastic location being a short walk to cafes and transport into the city.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Best hostel I've been so far. Relaxed atmosphere and friendly people!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location near to transport links

Disliked: Felt dated

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome location!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating


27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location great, staff very helpful & nice, above adequate & clean facilities, great free wifi

Disliked: Occasionally property was unsupervised by any staff

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for posting a review. We are a small Hostel so we think that there is no need for 24 hour reception. We try to explain to every guest that staff are always close and you may call or e-mail us for any questions or information you may need. Thanks again and safe travels.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly management and large, clean rooms. All other guests very welcoming as the hostel isn't that big. 24 hour kitchen which is nice as it makes the guests feel trusted, and this is responded to with everyone feeling and acting responsible. Rooms, bathrooms & common areas cleaned regularly. The location just off Chapel Street is really excellent, probably the best thing about the hostel, so many bars & restaurants that you could never go to them all. Good public transport links to CBD by both subway & tram. Highly recommended.

Disliked: I intended to stay for a week & ended up staying for a month.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for posting a review. We are delighted to read that you thought out Hostel is so good. We are trying to improve and make it more comfortable everyday. Safe travels and hope to see you back here soon!

Check Availability