Website feedback

Reviews of Back of Chapel Melbourne Hostel

50 Green St., Windsor, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 92%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

No children under 18 are permitted!

Group bookings of 3 or more must pay 50% on booking
during peak season such as December/January and Grand Prix we require 50% deposit by no later than December 1st and March 1 (Grand Prix) the rest payable no later than Decem ber 15th (xmas and new year until end of January bookings) Hostel reception hours are:
8:30am-5pm Arrivals outside of these times will be charged via credit card for the first night, and a special late check in procedure will be organized for you (as detailed via email). Cancellations only during reception hours
December and January bookings - 50% must be paid for by Dec. 1st Grand Prix msut be paid for by March 1st

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 92%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 90%

Showing 21-30 of 46 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: location only

Disliked: noisy, rubbish in the halls from tenants that had left, not enough showers or toilets for the amount of people, kitchen there was dirty and no plates or things to cook with, very poorly managed


The property's response is

Dear guest im sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Did you know that we have 7 showers and toilets. Our kitchen is also cleaned twice a day. We do have plates and cutlery at our guests disposal we offer a full set at no cost you just have to see reception and ask. Guests often compliment us for the management of the hostel. It gives more of a homely feel to it.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location for this area! The hostel is next to transports and seconds from Chapel street where the nightlife or any junk food shops !

Disliked: too small to have common areas for "private conversations" . Also the commons area are directly under some room windows and hence we were forced to stop any social ( = noisy) activity after 11 pm in any area of the hostel!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review. Yes, we are located next to a lot of the nightlife on chapel st. We kindly ask our guests who want to stay up late to use these fantastic bars and clubs close to us. This provides our other guests who stay here a good nights sleep. Thanks for being a great guest, see you soon.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: wifi, people and atmosphere

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Cheers for the review. Free WI-FI is pretty handy these days. Safe travels and hopefully we'll see you soon.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice location.

Disliked: Extremely noisy and dirty place.


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving a review. We clean all communal areas everyday! This includes Bathrooms, toilets, Kitchen tv room, all hallways and open areas. Our prices seem to be the cheapest in Melbourne for the type of room you used.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really liked the nice and fimiliar athmosphere there - the inbulidt bar, the kitchen and the back porch are perfect spots to get in contact with other backpackers.Compared to other hostels in this price category the rooms and kitchen are very clean and the staff always friedly. free WiFi (always avialiable), clean matressses (even in case you have bed bugs they send professional cleaning personal quickly), free breakfast (toast or cereals), weekly vacuum day, free lockers inside the room, quiet atmosphere, use of washing machine and dryer 4$, security code at front door to keep straingers away, dayly cleaned bathrooms (5 avialible for approx 50 peolpe when its fully booked), tv room, much long term stayers, parking spots avialible, near chapel street

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your great review. We hope the rest of your travels are fantastic.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Best Hostel I've stayed in in Australia. Free wifi, free Brekky (served till 11am!), free lockers... It's nice and small, quiet and cosy. It's like staying in someone's house. Personal shelf in the kitchen is a great idea! I have extended my stay.

Disliked: Laundry is 4 dollars a pop - similar to most other hostels but it would always be nice to have cheaper laundry. Also there is a mouse in the kitchen... But it is very clean!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your fantastic review!
We are trying to update our laundry facilities to make it more efficient for our guests and have updated the situation in the kitchen.
Look forward to seeing you soon. safe travels. The team at BOC

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Absolutely nothing. It's in a good location but that has nothing to do with the actual property.

Disliked: The service, the attitude of the staff, the dirtiness and the price. The price would have been okay if it was at least clean.


The property's response is

Hi Peter,
We know that you were not happy and had booked for over a week, however your plans changed and you left! As a result you were charged for not cancelling within 48 hours. We understand you are not happy with this. However upon checkout we noticed that your bed and sheets were clean. This place is cleaned daily and may not be upto your requirements. It seems to be fine for all our other guests staying here, in fact most of them commend us on maintaining a 170yr old building

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Facilities

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: Everything. Location was great, literally just off chapel street, trams and trains 2 mins away, Coles and bottle shop also a short walk. Bathrooms were great condition compared to many hostels I've stayed in. Heaters and lockers in room, good kitchen facilities. Also cable tv in the sitting room! Will defs come again

Disliked: Only thing i can think of was there was no bar despite a sign advertising the cheap drinks outside. Also someone stole my ice coffee from the fridge!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: small, tidy, free breakfast, relatively quiet after the bar closes, comfy bed, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: room was next to shower and the sound when the water was running was ridiculously loud.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability