Website feedback

Reviews of Back of Chapel Melbourne Hostel

50 Green St., Windsor, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 92%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

No children under 18 are permitted!

Group bookings of 3 or more must pay 50% on booking
during peak season such as December/January and Grand Prix we require 50% deposit by no later than December 1st and March 1 (Grand Prix) the rest payable no later than Decem ber 15th (xmas and new year until end of January bookings) Hostel reception hours are:
8:30am-5pm Arrivals outside of these times will be charged via credit card for the first night, and a special late check in procedure will be organized for you (as detailed via email). Cancellations only during reception hours
December and January bookings - 50% must be paid for by Dec. 1st Grand Prix msut be paid for by March 1st

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 92%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 90%

Showing 11-20 of 46 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was amazing. Everyone was very friendly and inclusive.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Sebastian,

Thanks for posting your review.

Many of our guests love it here because of the atmosphere. We try to keep it as relaxed as possible whilst being accommodating to every guest staying here.

Thanks again,

Aaron

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: free WiFiprivate bathroomsfriendly staff !!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for posting your review!

Free Wi-Fi is essential! We can't imagine any Hostel not offering free Wi-Fi!
It's always nice using the bathrooms without anyone else coming in and bothering you during some private time.

Thanks again,

the team @Back of Chapel.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was small and homey, not like some of the bigger Hostels you get to meet alot of people and they are friendly

Disliked: Washrooms are tiny, and some of the showers are missing doors. One night a week you have to clean all your stuff and put it on your bed so they can vacumme and it was inconvenient

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We try to make every guest as comfortable as possible to ensure that everyone enjoys that Homey feel!
The broken shower door has now been fixed and is working as it should. We also have a shower which is accessible via wheelchair. This shower has a curtain instead of a door for easier access.
Cleaning the rooms is a huge priority for us. We warn guests the previous day about their room being cleaned so they can be prepared for it and that its less of an inconvenience.
thanks,
The BOC Team.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Without a doubt the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It's quite small so feels really homely and the location is amazing!! The staff are so friendly and helpful and make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive. Also quite a lot of long term stayers which shows just how awesome the place is. Always clean and tidy. Most people call it "home" instead of "just a hostel". I never want to leave!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Anna,

Thanks for posting your review for Back of Chapel.
We are so happy to hear that you think we are the best hostel you have ever stayed in! It’s quite humbling to see where we have come in such a little amount of time. We are consistently trying to improve or upgrade different aspects to make it even better and more comfortable for our current and future guests.

Thanks again,

Aaron

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great basics backpackers - fantastic location - good people

Disliked: Could do with a refurb. in the near future ?

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for posting a review.
We are looking at many upgrades in the near future. We are just trying to figure what is more important for the comfort and safety of our guests.
Thanks again, The Team at Back Of Chapel.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Excellent location literally on the corner of chapel st which is full of restaurants, bars, clubs, tram, train and bus stops which make it so easy to get into the cbd. The atmosphere is friendly with a multinational group of backpackers. Extended stay by an extra 5 weeks.

Disliked: Not much to complain about really

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for posting your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your long stay here. Great guests like yourself are really important to our Hostel. Thankfully most of our guests are great people which makes the Atmosphere fantastic here!
enjoy the rest of your trip,
The Back of Chapel Team.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I felt very safe and secure and welcome and the hostel was in a great location.

Disliked: the kitchen was often left quite untidy

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's very close to the nice Chapel Street and to the public transport, but quite far from the city. The staff was very kindly and friendly, Aaron and the cleaner in particular. The common area and the bathrooms were ceaned daily and the room once a week, so the hostel was clean. The hostel is not so big so it's easier to make friends, it could be like a big family if you stay longer (as many people do).Lockers in the rooms and cameras make it safe.Free breakfast.Also they give you your own plate and cuttery, you only have to share the kitchenware.The laundry was cheap ($4 to wash and $2 to dry, if I well remember) and there were new toilet and showers (always with hot water)

Disliked: The wifi was free but was slow and with very annoying advertising every 20-30 minutes!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for writing a review for Back of Chapel Backpackers. We are right next to Chapel St and an easy 15 minute journey into the city using public transport. Our staff are always trying to be kind and friendly. The Laundry is $4 per wash and $2 per dry. Good memory! Thanks for mentioning all the great things we have here. The reason why the Wifi is free is because of the advertising which is only 5 seconds every 30 minutes. We think this is a lot better than having to pay extra for your stay.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: This place was exactly what I was looking for: somewhere in the middle of Chapel St where I could stay comfortably and in the warm! The bed was comfy, the room clean and light, and the staff really friendly and helpful - the coffee was delicious!

Disliked: Nothing - this fit the bill for me!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at Back Of Chapel Backpackers. safe travels and we hope to see you back here soon,
The team at BOC.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location was very handy.

Disliked: A bathroom/shower lock came off during our stay which meant only only shower could be used between everyone, although we rarely had to wait to use the fuctioning shower.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. That lock was fixed very quickly and is in perfect working order now. We have 5 Showers for all our guests to use. So that means there would of been 4 shower only for a limited time.
Thanks again and safe travels,
The team at BOC

Check Availability