Website feedback

Reviews of Urban Central Melbourne Hostel

334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 76%

Location 79%

Safety 79%

Staff 82%

Value 78%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

An hour of free WiFi daily on the ground floor

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 76%

Location 79%

Safety 79%

Staff 82%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 213 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Large rooms, large lockers. Very clean rooms/facilities. 4 washing machines. Different areas e.g. tv room, bibliothek (quiet area).

Disliked: WiFi is not free. Prices are fair. But not free! Hostel is outside the free tram zone (15 minutes walk to free tram zone)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: We had a private room - I liked the response to trouble with the heating and the shower which the tech fixed promptly. A super comfortable bed which is top priority for me. Staff were very helpful and friendly with everything was thought of including TV in the room. Everything I asked about, they had covered and I would definitely stay there again. Also it is handy to the city and a tram stop just around the corner.

Disliked: Only one SLIGHT concern about luggage storage after checking out, we had to get our bags out meaning that other people also had access to the baggage room. It might be better if access was "staff only'.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: .

Disliked: .

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff kept the kitchen clean, incl dishes got a good clean in the dishwasher :)free brekky, towel

Disliked: Not enough common areas, no table/ chairs in the room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your lovely review,

We are great value for money and like to include free breakfast , tea , coffee, rice and pasta. as well as a towel on check in.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

The team at Urban Central

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: not too much

Disliked: this hostel was one of the worst hostels i ever stayed in. i was booked into a 4 bed dorm with a guy who was at least 50 or 60 and he was (excuse me that i have to say that, but:) super ugly. he was totally drunk and stunk like whiskey, beer, cigarettes and other sorts of alcohol. he was so drunk that he undressed himself several times, he yelled and swore around and kept talking to me why i was here 'all alone' and where my boyfriend was.even though you would say that's not the hostels fault, i have to admit: it is. i worked in several hostels all around the world and in my opinion there are two types of hostels: backpacker's hostels and - the other ones - that except everyone who's paying for a bed, no matter who he or she is, because its all 'the same anyway'. this hostel is clearly number two. a backpacker's hostel should have it's clear target group of young traveling people and not drunk truck drivers and should not mix young girls with such people in a dorm. and even if he wasn't drunk when he checked in: he must have passed the reception at night being that drunk to go upstairs and latest then someone should have noticed his condition and think about it if was a good idea to let someone like him 'sleep' and undress himself next to young girls (i am not only talking about myself).i went down to the reception talking to the stuff and they said i could change room but i denied and just joined my friend in her room/bed asking her room mates if it was okay for them if i sleep in their room because i didnt want to have anything like that again and they said no worries. there was no possibility that we could stay in the same dorm as they were fully booked, which i of course understand.but: their room did not even have a window - what is that!? a hostel room without a window? you would have to have the lights on 24/7 because there was just no daylight in this room, like a broom closet and they paid the same price as i did ??sorry but in total this hostel is just a money machine for the owner, worlds apart from a good 'backpackers' hostel and i would not recommend anyone to stay there one single night.


The property's response is

in my opinion thats not a 'backpackers' hostel.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Good value , clean , friendly , central , will defo stay again

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: One of the best Hostels I have ever been to.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review.

What an outstanding compliment. It is our pleasure to have made your time here with us unforgettable.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again!

Kind regards,

The team Urban Central

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Within walking distance to the CBD

Disliked: The bathrooms are always dirty, even after just being cleaned.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review,

I apologise that the bathroom wasn't presented in accordance with our strict housekeeping criteria.
I can assure you that this is a rare occurrence as we are very proud of our high cleanliness rating previous reviews have given us.
Our location is a lovely short stroll into the CBD along the beautiful south bank promenade.
Looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind regards,
The team at Urban Central.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean, far enough away but close enough to be convenient to the cbd/st Kilda. Always been treated very well by the staff. Decent kitchen facilities (even with mini ovens/grill)

Disliked: N/A (price reflects the quality of the hostel)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review,

We take pride in offering our guests clean facilities and understand how important cleanliness is as a traveler.
Our location is very unique. We are around the corner from crown casino, a tram ride to St kilda, five minutes to the South Melbourne market and a short walk into the CBD.
Looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind regards,
The team at Urban Central.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean. Nice to have own lockers and plug sockets. Free pasta and rice.

Disliked: No free wifi, but few hostels in Melbourne have free wifi! Very dark rooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review,

We also think that our facilities are great. having a place to recharge and keep your devices safe is a god sent.
Our wifi is with global gossip who provide a great service. it is only $2 for 24 hours.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

The team at urban cental.

Check Availability