Website feedback

Reviews of The Ritz for Backpackers Melbourne Hostel

169 Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda Beach, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 74%

Location 86%

Safety 83%

Staff 81%

Value 78%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 74%

Location 86%

Safety 83%

Staff 81%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: I just love to stay at the ritz. Its a small hostel so you feel a little bit more home than in a big city hostel. The Staff was really helpfull and Max the menager is a really kind person that tollerate a lot.

Disliked: nothing ♥️

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Everything

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very dirty with long term holiday workers. No respect for personal space and being woken up multiple times from angry, drunk long termers


The property's response is

Dear M, Sorry you had this experience. Ever since February we are under new management and you can see how the overall situation has improved according to ratings and guests satisfaction. We hope to see you some other time around to check the hostel and enjoy some time with us.

Cheers and safe travels.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location and easy access to public transport. Free pancakes were good and bathrooms were always kept clean.

Disliked: The music coming from the downstairs pub was so loud at some times that the windows would rattle. Staff seemed to talk only amongst themselves and rarely spoke to guests.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: The room was fine and showers relatively clean.

Disliked: The lack of warning that the music form the pub downstairs reverberates up to your room on the second floor and you won't get to sleep until at least 2AM.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Stayed there for two nights. Nicest and cleanest hostel, i've ever been to. Everythibg is as seen on the pictures.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location in St kilda, good bar downstairs.

Disliked: Cleanliness of room was awful, behind the beds and fridge was large clumps of dirt, dust and bottle tops etc, said it had air-con but was just a fan that was available, blinds did not completely close and people from smoking terrace could see in to our room, no lift available so had to carry large suicase up and down may stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really nice staff, good atmosphere, clean sheets and beds, clean kitchen

Disliked: Bathrooms not amazing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: It was perfectly ideal for what I needed, a place to stay whole looking for a flat as I have just migrated from NZ. It was clean, Other guests were kind and trustworthy, staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing apart from its way out of my comfort zone t

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability