Website feedback

Reviews of Bev and Micks International Backpackers Melbourne Hostel

575 Spencer St, West Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 73%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 90%

Value 78%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Board Games
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Free wifi from 4pm-8pm.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 73%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 90%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Great place with a great atmosphere and the pub downstairs is a great place to mix with the staff, locals and other backpackers. Also they play good music and have 2 good pool tables too. Showers and kitchens are cleaned daily and the facilities are good. I highly recommend to all.

Disliked: I like everything no complaints at all.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The kitchen is pretty big and well equipped with sufficient space to store your food both in the fridge and on the shelf (not more than 2 small bags of groceries per person). The pressure in the (hot) showers is amazing. but generally I think that for the price you pay they could offer a few more comforts such as storage space in the rooms, truly free wifi (only 30 mins a day are free) and clean the place a little more often.

Disliked: The room was pretty small and literally covered with clothes stuff from other backpackers probably because there is nowhere to keep your staff in the rooms and there are quite a lot of people who live in the hostel long term. Because of the mess, the room is always dirty with lots of dust under the beds..pretty disgusting, There are lockers in the shared/living room (small ones) but most people use them to store food, but the lockers stink of rotten food. also disgusting! they need new lockers.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Everyone at the hostel whether they worked there or just passing through were friendly and helpful. The Victoria market is just a short walk away along with southern cross station which makes everything very convenient.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Staff were friendly

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Cool staff and good location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great friendly hostel!! Nice staff and fellow travellers, not too big so felt like a home away from home, loved this place!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The welcome I got when I arrived made me feel at home straight away! Staff and backpackers went out of there way to show me what there is to do in Melbourne and how to get there. Some of the hostels I've stayed in were filthy, this place was very safe and clean, I will definitely be staying here again when I'm next in Melbourne.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was good for southern cross Station. Staff seemed friendly.

Disliked: My bed was held together with a rachet strap.and the mattress had sunk. So it was more like sleeping in a hammock than a bed.Also by a window on a main road so lots of traffic noise. Ear plugs came in handy. Also the lockers were in poor condition and many were being used to store food as they were situated in the kitchen area. Looked like they had been forced open as they were all poprivited together again. Asked to put my passport in the safe. Found out when l left that it was left in the cash register in the Bar. . Not my idea of a secure safe. Not only backpackers staying here but seems to have alot of long stay residents.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Reasonable price for Melbourne, poor standards though.

Disliked: How unsafe the hostel was, no lockers, no bathroom doors and also how dirty and disgusting the toilets was. 2 out of the 3 available beds were really old, bent down and comfortable at all.They made me pay the full price again even though I paid (& I mentioned I did 12% on hostelbookers)Not to mention that there was no one at 9.30am when I checked out (last check out time is 10am)

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: very good location and near to melbourne city

Disliked: cleanliness of this hotel needs to be upgraded esspecially on the kitchen/pantry area and all the dustbin on the toilet needed to be upkeep.all the bathroom at least should have some shelf to put soap/shampoo,we got to put on the floor

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability