Website feedback

Reviews of United Backpackers Melbourne Hostel

250 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 83%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Important Information

No bookings over 8 guests. If you create a booking with more than 8 people the booking will not be accepted and you will not receive a refund of your deposit.
All guests must provide a passport or current driver’s license on arrival. Proof of age cards are not accepted.
Check in time is 2pm
$10 refundable key deposit per person is required to be paid at time of check in
Private ensuite rooms require a credit card pre authorisation of $100 on arrival as well as a $10 key deposit per person
Any guest under the age of 18yrs must be accompanied by their legal guardian and be in a private room.
A one night cancellation fee applies to any reservation cancelled within 24 hours of arrival.
Groups of 4-10 require a credit card pre authorisation of $100 on arrival as well as a $10 key deposit per person. If people in groups are arriving separately, the first person to arrive needs to pay in full for the whole group.
Our property has a 24 hour reception.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 83%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating


25 Sep 2018

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Nothing specific. It worked well and was easy to live in for a month.

Disliked: Dirty kitchen. Bar was kinda sad but was nice to have one.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating


09 Jan 2018

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Brilliant location, nice hostel layout, comfy beds, get premium Wi-Fi.

Disliked: Very cliquey long-term stay hostel so can be hard to meet people outside roommates, kitchen very small for huge amount of people so still very busy from 6-10pm, lack of storage space for food so food gets moved, bathrooms not clean (sick from previous nights in morning), no aircon and fans on hot Melbourne days not effective, lots of activities but often started late and finished late, happy hour bar not open when advertised on a few occasions, free wifi only on 7 till 7.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


01 Sep 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: I like the bar

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very social, there was a bar and communal area downstairs and the hostel did a lot to put on social events and get everyon involved - which is amazing because I was travelling alone. It is perfectly situation with flinders street right across the road and right by everything. 24 hour reception and the place was clean.

Disliked: You had to pay for WiFI in your rooms but it was free in the communal area. This wasnt a problem for me as I had a local sim with a hefty data package but I did hear many others complaining about it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive review! We really love to hear feedback from all of our guests so we can continue as one of the great hostels of Australia!

Kind regards
United Crew!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The rooms were clean and easy with a plug and light at each bunk and big lockers underneath the bunks. I stayed in the 10 bed dorm and found it quite spacious. Their location cannot be beat with the train station and federation square just across the street. Also the little street right beside the hostel has many cute cafes that are good for coffee, breakfast and dinner. It may be expensive but it is totally worth it!

Disliked: Wifi is not accessible in the rooms but is free and connects very well in the common areas

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your positive review, its great to have such positive feed back.

The United Crew

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Great location: close to trams, train station, attractions, and lots of food choices. Nice to have separate male/female shower rooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, Thanks you for write us a review! I reckon we got the best location in Melbourne. There are lots of nice food stores in Melbourne and around us.
We do have separate gender bathroom /Shower room in Level 1 and level 2. However, level 3 is a different layout therefore it only has unisex shower rooms.

Safe travel,
Casey
Duty Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: It's pretty much exactly as described. First hostel I've been in which actually looks as good as the pictures. Everything is pretty new. Bathrooms are clean. Kitchen is totally awesome. And seriously could not be better located. If they can keep the place in good nick I'll definitely be back next time I'm in Melbourne.

Disliked: Okay, funny story time. On my last night, I arrived to find another gentleman asleep in my bed, having ignored the beautiful fresh sheets at the other end of the dorm in favour of the messy one covered in someone else's towels.There is absolutely nothing the staff could've done about this. It's not like the room was overbooked or anything. I guess the takeaway here is to beware: United is frequented by at least one bed thief.I dunno, maybe they could have little "this bed is taken!" hangers or stickers or something? Honestly more funny than anything - in retrospect, anyway. Everything else was pretty rad.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there,

Thank you for write us a review! I am glad that you have enjoy your stay here with us!
I will pass your suggestion to the team and hopefully we will come up something that can prevent this issue.

Safe Travel,
Casey
United Backpackers

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The house rule is clear to everyone and explained during check in where it was good.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you for write us a review! I'm glad that you enjoy the stay with us.

Hope to see you again.

Safe Travel,
Casey
Duty Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location and steps and make friend gooood!

Disliked: ride

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey,

thank you for write us a review. I'm happy to know that you have a great stay with us.
We do have one of the best location in Melbourne. Our team work very hard to keep the friendly vibe in United to encourage guests to make new friends.
Happy travel,
Casey
Duty Manager

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, an indivisual wall socket and light

Disliked: Cockroach in the bed, not a free luggage room($10/night), wifi works in only common room, no place to stay a bit after check-out(you should put your room card key to access everywhere, even when you're going to the toilet)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there! We offer free luggage storage prior to check in and after checkout - however we do charge a fee should you wish to leave your luggage overnight. Our basement lounge and bathrooms are able to be accessed after checkout without a key! I am really concerned that you saw a roach in your room - We have a strong procedure to prevent and address any insect issues (which are thankfully rare, but sometimes unavoidable) - I do hope you came to see us to let us know.

Happy Travels
Jess

Check Availability