Website feedback

Reviews of Gecko's Rest Budget Accommodation & Backpackers Mackay Hostel

34 Sydney Street, Mackay, Australia

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 61%

Location 85%

Safety 72%

Staff 69%

Value 64%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

PLEASE BE AWARE THAT 9PM IS THE LATEST CHECK-IN TIME. Anytime after this you may not be able to check-in and you will be charged as a no-show.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mackay?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 61%

Location 85%

Safety 72%

Staff 69%

Value 64%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the room were very big.

Disliked: The Wifi doesn't work sometimes. There were insekts on the floor and one shower were broken.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Got upgraded to private room

Disliked: Noise from pub/bars down stairs

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Lack of wifiWasn't clean

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: the room was large and accomodating and PINK (tv/dvd/aircon/personal set of draws)

Disliked: Maybe more plug socketsno swimming poolno wifi

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There are no bunk beds in the dorm and the room was pretty big. The kitchen is huge too and is decorated very nicely with flowers and herbs. Staff helped me to rent a car, very helpful. Rooftop deck is great for having a drink and meet people.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The loction was in the centre of town with easy access to amenities. The toilets were clean and bed was comfotable

Disliked: The fridge in our room had been turned off and left a damp smell in the room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thanks heaps for your review. We are really sorry about the fridge issue. It happens sometimes but we've just put up signs to make guests aware of the consequences when unplugging the fridge. Would you like to contact us and talk about what happened?
Thank you.

Kind regards,
Jeannette

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The older blonde lady at the front desk which I think id the owner???? I have never met someone so unhelpful and unfriendly!!!!!!But value for money if this is what your after.

Disliked: The room stinks and has obviously been flooded at some point Very smelly and most likely filled with ospestos


The property's response is

Hi Ineka,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated. We are honestly sorry, you could not enjoy your stay. Sometimes fridges get unplugged which leads to wet carpets and smell. There is no asbestos here. Please contact us via email/phone if you like to talk about the issue. Thank you.
Kind regards,
Jeannette

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location and value for money

Disliked: The rooms do not have windows and were quite noisy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Vicktoria,

Thank you very much for your opinion. We are aware of the no window situation and the noise but we are not allowed to improve the building as it has got a different owner.

Kind regards
Jeannette

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The bed was comfortable

Disliked: One receptionist was extremely disintereted and unhelpful. Lack of interest in my enquiries into tours of Eungella national park,even though they advertise them. Though advertised 'jungle johnos eco tours' have ceased to exist. No wifi facilities. Kitchen poorly equipt. Late opening the building by 20 minutes (should have been 8am) and no provision was made for me arriving before opening hours. So was waiting on the doorstep for 1.5 hours. I've not experienced this in any hostel in Australia or even Asia.Having said that when the other receptionist was working in the afternoon she stayed after hours to ensure two other guests whose bus was late arrived safely. Sadly it wasn't consistent.


The property's response is

Hi Roxanne,

I just came across your review. Thank you very much for your opinion. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Gecko's Rest and for the delay in the morning. We are always trying to improve and we will take your crit into consideration.

Have a marvellous day!

Kind regards
Jeannette

Check Availability