Website feedback

Reviews of Youth Shack Darwin Hostel

69 Mitchell St, Darwin, Australia

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 71%

Location 89%

Safety 75%

Staff 70%

Value 58%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

We do not accept reservations for groups of 5 or more. Please note if you make a booking for a group over 5 guests, your booking will not be accommodated and your deposit will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Darwin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 71%

Location 89%

Safety 75%

Staff 70%

Value 58%

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Central

Disliked: Very noicy at late hours

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The facilities such as the bar and the swimming pool were great as well as the central location

Disliked: It doesn't matter how decent a hostel is it can really be let down the staff ! I found some of the staff to be not the friendliest as well as unhelpful. Likely many had not had experience in customer service as when I went down to ask a question now and again it was almost as if I was bothering the lady behind the desk. Also when I checked in and settled in my room two girls tried to move into my already full room. They went to explain the mix up to reception who came up and asked who I was and when I checked in even though they had checked me in 20 mins previously! They appeared to sort the mix up out. I left my room for a short time and found out they had disabled my keycard so I had to go down and explain the new situation they had created by their lack of organisation... Thank god I wasn't coming out of the shower! It's a clear attitude that comes with some people thinking they don't need to treat backpackers the same as one would a hotel guest but as I'm paying an extortionate amount for very basic accommodation I would appreciate a little customer service it just goes such a long way in my book

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Easy to meet other travellers, location is fantastic.

Disliked: Our room was so noisy as above a backpacker bar.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals

Liked: The terrasses and the pool all is really Nice and cosy

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location. It would suit party people as there is a bar next door.

Disliked: It was very unclean. Bathrooms were dirty and the room smelt like take away food and was grubby. I was only here for a night so it was bearable.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: When we arrived at 2am in the morning, after 1 hour we noticed that someone was pissing on the carpet in front of our door on the 1st floor. After calling the security they came very quickly but we didn't get any indemnification for the inconvenience.I don't think the carpet has been cleaned and in various place in the hall is was smelling so bad!Also when we arrived we had to leave our credit card details. I had never been asked that kind of information in any hostel.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly, good party atmosphere, decent pool and comfy sunbeds!

Disliked: The showers, the floor in the girls toilets was rank!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central. Clean.

Disliked: Price is a bit expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's in a central Darwin location, short walk to the bus terminal and the main bus station.

Disliked: I think I was too old to stay there. It is riht next to and opposite the busiest bars in town that play live music until very late. Most of the people staying there seem to be on a mission to be on the lash every night of the week. There's nowehere really quiet to sit and make a call or read, you have to head to your room. There is a sun deck but it's right by the kicthen and above the bar so it's really busy and noisy all the time. I've not stayed in a hostel this crazy before. Good if that's what you're after, but if you're after a quieter, more relaxed time then look for somewhere else. There was also only 1 plug in the room available for 4 people. Not ideal.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It has a nice atmosphere, you can enjoy the pool, have a drink from the bar or just relax on the sundeck. The staff was really nice and friendly, they even got a job desk to find you a suitable job. Youth Shack is closely located to a supermarket (Coles) and right across the street is the Peterpans adventure travel office.

Disliked: The laundry is quite expensive. The AC was really loud, but I guess that is normal.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability