Website feedback

Reviews of Waterfront Backpackers Cairns Cairns Hostel

83 Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 55%

Facilities 59%

Location 96%

Safety 63%

Staff 75%

Value 66%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Indoor Swimming Pool
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Prices not valid or available for existing or past guests. Our rates are for new guests only.

Cash is not an acceptable form of payment at this property.

Please note that the hostel only accommodates guest between the ages of 18 - 35 a valid passport is required upon check in.

BOOKINGS ON THIS WEBSITE NOT VALID FOR EXISTING GUESTS
(If you are an existing guest and you book online, your booking will be honoured but you will be charged the full nightly rate)

NO Check In's / Check Out's on Christmas Day or New Years Day

Check in and check out available 24 hours.

Late Check In's please contact the hostel directly to arrange

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 55%

Facilities 59%

Location 96%

Safety 63%

Staff 75%

Value 66%

Showing 11-20 of 20 reviews

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was reasonable

Disliked: Environment, lack of cleanliness, no free airport transfer, poor Internet, poor employees

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: It was dirty everywhere not only in the rooms! And you couldn´t find any stuff if you needed help and if there where someone they were really unfriendly the most time!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed for a few days while visiting the Barrier Reef, we chose this hostel because its the closest to the where the boat trips begin from. The location was great! Had a nice atmosphere too, it wasnt one of those messy party hostels, we actually met people we could have a conversation with!

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very close to the waterfront

Disliked: It was noisy, dirty, smelly and grotty. Our room smelled disgusting and the walls were black with damp. The sheets didn't look that clean. Bathrooms were disgusting too: sinks were hanging off the walls and the shower could easily scold you.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The location is great, right by the lagoon.

Disliked: The staff member on reception we met was rude, the hostel is so dirty, air con broken, old blood stains on sheets, toilet and taps broken ect.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I booked for a 10beds shared but they put me in a 4beds shered.Helpful staff, really good location.

Disliked: No 24h reception, old furnitures

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place is amazing.I have stayed in lots of hostels in Australia and this is the best place I have stayed.Great location as the lagoon is literally accross the road and very clean with really friendly staff.I wished I could live at Cairns Waterfront Backpackers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for staying Jeremy and were glad you liked it. Hope to see you again soon.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a clean and quiet hostel. The staff is really nice and helpful. Close to everything. Nice place to stay.

Disliked: No lockers in rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location, basic but clean rooms

Disliked: expensive internet

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

You will be happy to know that our Internet provider has dropped their rates massively and its now just $4 for 24 hours WiFi

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing Location, Staff Very Friendly & Atmosphere Really Nice

Disliked: Not Much :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability