Website feedback

Reviews of Airlie Beach Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach Hostel

12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach, Australia

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 86%

Location 80%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Board Games
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free Parking
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

We require 3 days notice for all cancellations otherwise the first nights stay will be charged.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Airlie Beach?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 86%

Location 80%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 86%

Showing 41-50 of 58 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: was lovely and quiet, got free wifi and rooms were quite spacious. nice staff and very chilled out hostel.

Disliked: Had to walk outside to go to the toilet and shower room which I wasn't very comfortable doing at night. The room we stayed in only had a fan to make the room cool. It did have a door leading outside but didn't want to leave that open because of the possibility of bugs getting in. If you don't like bugs I wouldn't recommend this place because it is very much an open plan hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Firstly, thank you very much for staying with us, and also for your kind comments regarding the staff and the hostel itself. I would just like to clarify one of your comments, as it could be misleading for future guests. The guest bedrooms do not have ensuites, and guests share a shower block for women and a shower block for men - however these facilities are in the same building as the rooms and at no stage do you have to 'walk outside' to access them.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was quiet and away from the main street.

Disliked: It was probably a bit too quiet and the feeling that the place gave was that it is a bit run down. The chalk board was advertising a quiz but it was never changed the whole time I was there and never happened (neither did the free movie or any of the other events). It was a bit dirty in the bathroom and the paint was coming off.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful. They kept the kitchen and shower aria clean. The had a nice aria to site and chill.

Disliked: The location was a bite far away from the central street. The stares towards the hostel needed a repair..

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very social and clean. Very helpful staff - I had to leave at 7am that morning and wasn't coming back. As reception wasn't open that early they arranged for me to check out anyway!~Well above and beyond what other hostels would do! Thank you guys :-)

Disliked: Nothing!!!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Basic clean hostel. Rooms are clean, good bunk beds and good air-con. Free wifi during the day time. Pick up from bus station. Kitchen was ok, BBQ available.

Disliked: Bit far from the main street, about 10 min walk.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Helpful staff, clean rooms... good times!!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice bar, good pool. Some staff was really nice. Nice view.

Disliked: Small kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: small hostel in a lovely location easy to meet other travellers

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staf behind the desk was very helpful and friendly. Took care of any booking we had without a problem. Facilities were pretty nice and clean and wifi was free!

Disliked: Only thing I may dislike about the place is that it may have been because of the location of the hostle, but the other hostles seem to be more full of parties and groups. We had a relatively quiet time , but then again, that could be a big plus as you wouldnt get waken up by drunks.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Relaxed place, hammocks, pool, free wifi daytime. They don't tolerate noisy guests and will kick them out! Nice air-conned rooms.

Disliked: a little far from the strip but no big deal. Could do with getting rid of the ants round the patio area! Otherwise, no issues.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability