Website feedback

Reviews of La Tosca Hostel Puerto Madryn Hostel

Sarmiento 437, Puerto Madryn, Argentina

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 93%

Location 94%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Express check-in / out
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Wake-up calls
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Madryn?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 93%

Location 94%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

Showing 21-30 of 73 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We are a 50 year old couple travelliing Argentina. This hostel provided us what we needed, clean, hospitable, and not a party crowd.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were the nicest staff we have had in South America, free breakfast, free wifi, good tour information and ablovely courtyard with a hammock.

Disliked: A couple more pots and pans would be good, but there are two kitchens so no real complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Always being greeted with a smile by all staff and they all make the effort to introduce themselves to you. For a smallish property there were 2 kitchens for guests to use and they were well equipped. There was also a dining area in both kitchens - one being the breakfast area at reception. The nice little garden area is also very nice and relaxing with plenty of seating for guests to hang out and read or enjoy the sun. Although the twin room I stayed in with my husband was a bit of a shock to see when we checked in because it appeared to be so small compared to other hostels we've stayed in, we were surprised at how un-cramped we felt in the space. There were bunk beds built into the room against the back wall which was better than a traditional bunk bed because there was a lot more head space for both of us. The room was really well thought out with space under the beds to store bags and some shelving and individual lights next to the beds. This all left a good amount of floor space to move around in. But don't get me wrong it is still a very small space, so if you're a bit claustrophobic you might want to rethink booking a double or something. The shared bathroom was in between our room and the room next door with the entry door in our room which meant you just had to knock before entering to make sure the guests in the other room wasn't in there, but we had no issues with it at all. At times we felt like it was our own private bathroom. The hostel also books tours to all the major attractions for you so that was very convenient and we did 2 of them and we enjoyed them both and got what we payed for.

Disliked: Since everything was described correctly and nothing was unexpected, there is nothing to dislike about this property, plus anything that we did dislike was outweighed by all the things we really liked about this place.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: La Tosca was fabulous for so many reasons. The staff - all welcoming and knowledgable about the things to do around Puerto Madryn. The facilities - two very clean and well equipped kitchens; excellent communal areas inside and a nice little garden area too (with a hammock); a sink (outdoors) and lines for laundry; rooms were clean and shared bathrooms were only between two rooms. If you are trying to choose a hostel in Puerto Madryn, this one is where you want to be. They bake all the breakfast goodies themselves and ask "more cafe?" - yes please.

Disliked: There was nothing we disliked.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: giardino piacevolissimo e rilassante, due cucine molto ben equipaggiate e deliziose crostate per la prima colazione! Intelligente il sistema del bagno condiviso tra due camere (forse si potrebbe migliorare il sistema di segnalazione del bagno occupato... invece di bussare avere una doppia serratura chiudibile anche dall'interno, ad esempio)

Disliked: Le camere doppie sono un pò troppo "celle" e mancano di appoggi (mensole, attaccapanni, ...).

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff are very helpful, have a good knowledge of the area and are always willing to give a piece of advice! The room (8-bed dorm) was very big so you don't walk on each other all the time but a little dark and unfortunately room-sharers are not always respectful of other people in the room, but that is not to blame on the hostel of course! It's a pity the common doesn't have much atmosphere, it's a big room where people have plenty of space but most people are on tours all day and don't try to acquaint when back from their tour. The music can be a little too loud sometimes.

Disliked: Rooms are a little dark and breakfast could be a little different sometimes: the cakes are good but it's nice to change from time to time too!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!!! Thanks a lot for your time ; your feedback is very important to improve our proposal. We present the traditional Argentinian Breakfast with our famous Pastafrolas. By the way, we started, few weeks ago, to serve a healthy alternative for the people who cannot or don't like the homemade cakes. Is a fruits mix with yogurt and cereals. Always with tea, coffee or chocolate. May be we weren't clear enough about it during your morning here. PLease Sorry. Have a nice trip & Take Care. Rodrigo

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, nice breakfast, good atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful staff with lots of information on all the many tours available, even though dorms were for 8 they were quite private due to how the beds were laid out.

Disliked: Only cake for breakfast and not that much atmosphere in the common areas.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!!! Thanks a lot for your time & words; are very important to improve our proposal. We have a healthy alternative breakfast for the people who cannot or don't like the homemade cakes. Is a fruits mix with yogurt and cereals. Always with tea, coffee or chocolate. May be we had a misunderstanding during that morning and we weren't clear enough about it. Please Sorry! Have a nice trip & Take Care. Rodrigo

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Location was great. Rooms were kept clean, and great only having to share a bathroom with one other room. Nice atmosphere over all in the hostel, with lots of friendly guests.

Disliked: The kitchens were possibly the only slight negative thing about this place. The majority of people staying here were cooking each evening which meant they were busy. All the fridges were packed full and there was no system for storing food in them. I'd suggest having a space/shelf for each room so people's food doesn't get mixed up and then out of date food can be easily removed from the fridge. There was also a cat which kept walking over the crockery and cookware which was a bit gross.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks a lot for your comment that help us to improve everyday. About the cat, is not our cat and someone let it get inside the house. Please Sorry but was another guest who did that and we couldn’t see the uncommon situation. About the kitchen facilities: we have 2 kitchens with 2 fridges with 10 fires for only 32 people a day. We opened the new kitchen this season to have the best average that you could find in a hostel to prepare your meals. Thanks a lot & Have a nice Trip.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Well-equipped kitchen, big enough for a group of people to cook at the same time! we stayed in private room with toilet, everything is good! Staff are very friendly and the tours are offered in reasonable price. Location is ok, few blocks from bus station and supermarket can be found within 2 blocks.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability