Website feedback

Reviews of Schilling Patagonia Travellers El Calafate Hostel

Gobernador Paradelo 141, El Calafate, Argentina

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 78%

Location 96%

Safety 91%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar APM-96
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Calafate?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 78%

Location 96%

Safety 91%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Good location, close to bus station and main street. Breakfast was decent (look for the scrambled eggs hidden in the large pot). Nice rooms.

Disliked: We were told we could have an early breakfast as we were doing the Big Ice Hike (leaving prior to the breakfast start time). When we got there breakfast was not ready ( we had a piece of bread and jam). Coffee was cold etc. You cannot use the main kitchen before midday and the breakfast lady is extremely rude The night staff member does not speak ANY English which proved to be an issue when the hot water was not working before we did the Big Ice Hike. 50% of our showers were cold.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating


06 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Great service. Always polite and always solving your problems and making your stay pleasant. I greatly appreciate that when traveling.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Breakfast was great with good options. Dining room was large-ish (compared to most hostels) as was the hostel as a whole (could get lost in there!) without feeling like a large hostel. Plenty of common area space. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, giving advice on how to book tours which could be done either through them or they told you how to get to the glacier on your own and how much it would be. Very close to the bus station (5 minutes walk) and the main street with a large supermarket

Disliked: Kitchen was small so sometimes had to wait to cook. Was a very coupley hostel for some reason, although easy to chat to people still.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The staff are fantastic

Disliked: No locks for the shared bathroom. No noise insulation

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I liked everything about this property. It was very conveniently located to downtown, the bus station, and stores. Everyone at Schilling was very helpful and nice. I have already recommended this place to friends.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Was warm and welcoming. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Great Location.

Disliked: Front rooms were a bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The 2 dorm rooms are located in a smaller house in the backyard with a shared kitchen which was nice and quaint and made for a good place to meet other travelers. Dorm rooms had warm central heating, good en-suite bathrooms and lockers available for valuables.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: really nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Real close to the mainstreet. It is the located on the street directly above it.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved the building it had lots of character and charm. The four bed dorm I was in was in an annexe from the main building with its own kitchen and garden area, which was nice. The staff were really friendly and helpful and able to offer advice regarding glacier tours. I loved the homemade brown bread and cakes at breakfast and the selection of tea - a nice touch.

Disliked: My only criticism would be that there didn't appear to be a ladder for the top bunk in my dorm. I was able to use a chair and get myself up quite easily though.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability