Website feedback

Reviews of Milhouse Hostel Hipo Buenos Aires Hostel

Hipolito Yirigoyen 959, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

Final rate without taxes for customers with foreign passport. Argentinian customers will be charged for IVA at check in

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 87%

Showing 11-20 of 126 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed at both Milhouse hostels in Buenos Aires and enjoyed both. Hipo was smaller and perhaps a little more sociable. They have fun parties every night and afterwards lots of people go out to a club (a different one each night). They really get party hostel right without skimping on other things - the hostel is also clean and everything works, they offer lots of good daytime activities and the rooms are far enough away that they're quiet. It was nice to have a pool table. The people we met there were really friendly and the staff are great too.

Disliked: At breakfast, the bread could be a bit stale. Also, they're really militant with clearing breakfast away at 10:30 on the dot, or even a couple of minutes before - not a terrible thing but something to bear in mind. In the dorm we were put in, each bed had its own plug socket except our two, so I asked to change and the first member of staff I spoke to told us to just charge things in the common room (not practical as we both had devices that took hours to charge, and it wouldn't be safe to leave them). However another member of staff intervened and moved us to a different room (although several of the plug sockets in that room didn't work either).

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Poor breakfast, outdated rooms

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, great staff. Good place to meet other travellers. Great for young people looking to party and meet people, but also great for older people as the hostel does a good job of isolating the two atmospheres so its entirely up to you as the guest if you want to party or have a quite night in

Disliked: nothing - it was great.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice rooms

Disliked: Low water pression.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very sociable hostel - great for lone travellers like myself.

Disliked: Staff could be more informative about local matters, i.e. public transport.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is indeed a well-known party hostel which does not necessarily mean you have to be wasted all the time but that those who seek it out are travellers who like to meet other travellers. The typical guest seemed to be 20-30 years old and happy to be there and although it seems to be popular with south american travellers you can be sure to find a large portion of gringos if your portunol is not well. The staff is so friendly it borders on the uncomfortable. Most notably though there was hardly any noise at night in the dorm I had which was right on top of the bar so unlike some other "party hostels" you do have a choice between boozing and calling it an early night.

Disliked: The unique system with only one key for every dorm does suck. If you are alone in the room and want to go for a quick shower you either have to leave the room unlocked, bring the key with you and leave fellow guests locked out, or leave it at the reception just to go get it again in 10 minutes. I see the advantages but it is a weird system. The bar could have some more options when it comes to drinks and meals but it was still good for a hostel bar so that gets an OK ranking. If you want to be extra picky it would be nice with those small code-controlled safe lockers in the rooms to add to the big solid lockers you lock with your own padlock but I am good with the lockers they had.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Is a fun place to be

Disliked: If you don't want to party this is not the place for you.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's easy to have fun and get to know new people there, they have activities every night. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast has good options of fruits.

Disliked: They had no guide for the tours the week I were there, I had to look for other companies for the tours. The prices of some activities are very expensive, for instance the Boca Junior's match.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Had a fantastic time here, its a great atmosphere if you are after a party. The staff were really nice and helpful, espeically Priscilla. Have recommended the hostel to other backpackers

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is in a beautiful building and the rooms are quite tucked away so you can get some sleep. It is right by a metro so pretty handy.

Disliked: I found that I had heard a lot of hype about Milhouse and that the parties were immense. I have to say that for me they felt like school discos with groups of cliques and queuing up for drinks. I met some really nice people here but we made more fun elsewhere.

Check Availability