HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sapa hostels

Reviews of Green Valley Hotel

Hotel | 45 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa, Vietnam sapa

78.2% Overall Rating

48 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

Lindsay Loset thinks…

"Very clean rooms, staff were very helpful when they were around, liked the common area with the pool table. Beautiful views from our room."

Read all Green Valley Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sapa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sapa

Pinocchio Hotel
5.11 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
SAPA GOLDEN TERRACE HOTEL
3.72 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Sapa Cozy Hotel
4.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.8% 40 reviews
Hoang Ha
8.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Graceful Hotel
5.00 USD

Hotel 97.9% 4 reviews
Sapa Hostel
5.11 USD

Hostel 87.9% 8 reviews
Spring Sapa Hotel
18.60 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fansipan View Hotel
11.62 USD

Hotel 1 star 95.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

48 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Valley Hotel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Loset

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2014 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms, staff were very helpful when they were around, liked the common area with the pool table. Beautiful views from our room.

Disliked: Was pretty damp, but I think that's how it is everywhere in Sapa. Staff were sometimes difficult to find.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marc Julià Carrillo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Marc left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013

Liked: It had a pool table

Disliked: The beds were literally damp. The room had mould on the roof and the bathroom door didn't close properly. Also the staff weren't that friendly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Emily Dellit

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location a bit out of the main flurry of sapa town. Good little hang out area

Disliked: The rooms were mouldy and smelt like moth balls

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bed, not too hard. Nice terrace and nice view.

Disliked: Nothing so far.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2013

Liked: There was a pool table and communal area which was nice to chat with other travellers!we were given the very top room which had amazing views and meant we had a balcony all to ourselves which was great for sitting and reading on. Location was slightly down the hill from main hub but only a short walk which we acctully enjoyed,helped stretch our legs!

Disliked: The whole place is in need of a re-firb and update, it isn't really dirty but could be alot cleaner,especially our bathroom! We had a few cockroaches in out room at night which were massive,not pleasant! When we arrived at 6am there were 3 or 4 staff members there but non of them spoke English so didn't help,welcome or explain what we should do. We chose this place on basis of a few reviews which said an aussie guy who tan the place was extremely friendly and helpful.we did not see this guy until day 3 anf by that time had sorted out our own trips and tours,we felt he wasn't bothered about the place. There are quite a few random people walking around within the hostel, not guests, we were able to lock out cupboard in our room but it didn't feel massively secure.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Lennard-Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Great location overlooking the fantastic scenery around Sapa. Common area with a pool table, and also a good value breakfast.

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Great views.

Disliked: Bit unorganized, but nothing too major.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really clean and everything was like i booked. Safe and secure place.

Disliked: Doesn`t have atmosphere of hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: its a 12mins walk from town

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2013

Liked: Nice atmosphere is the bar-restaurant ; nothing like partying. More travellers talking and having a drink together. Good wifi but only in the bar restaurant.

Disliked: I was in a dorm, I don't know if all the rooms are like this. The main problem are the walls covered with mould. I mean, of course it doesn't look nice. But above all, it's a health hazard. I don't want to be paranoïd, but who knows what kind of mould it is. Of course, this problem is hard to solve, but I am not sure that the staff really care about that. Also, there was not enough hot water for the four of us in the room. And at this time, it was not possible to use the lockers. For sure, it's cheap. But I stayed in way more confortable places in Vietnam for about the same price.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is run by an Australian guy and an Asien women, both of them are really friendly and helpful. There is a very nice common room downstairs with a pool table, which I missed in lots of others hostels in Vietnam. If you come to Sapa, stay at Green Valley, it is definitely worth it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugh Cobham

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 January 2013 Hugh would recommend this property

Liked: Owners and staff friendly and helpful, great common room with food and drinks,fire place and good size pool table:) Kids loved it! good size rooms and beds, just a walk away from main town area and local market.

Disliked: Hugh left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carrette audrey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 January 2013 carrette would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very freindly, good advice

Disliked: carrette left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Barend Haaijer

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

23 December 2012 Barend would recommend this property

Liked: No think

Disliked: No think

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Phan Kim Tien

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Phan would recommend this property

Liked: It was such a lovelie night when staying here. I'm sure you will feel comfortable with hot water in bathroom. Hotel with the mountaint view to Hoang Lien Suong, follow the tourist to treek around Sapa is amazing exp.

Disliked: A little bit "scared" when walking back hotel at night. I must use the led in my ip to light me back in a small alley which full of cloud :)) But dont worry, Sapa is safe and Green Valley also :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Mez Hopking

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2012

Liked: It's cheap. Also like the electric blankets in the beds. It's only 4-5mins uphill walk to the main street, and I enjoyed it.

Disliked: Very cold and damp, had to leave my electric blankets on with the duvets off to take edge off. Bed bugs were an issue too, I ended up sleeping in my sleeping bag.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was one of the cheapest we could find and the room we were given was very large (5th floor). The mini bus down the hill to Lao Cai cost the same as arranging yourself from the square and you got the benefit of using a restaurant as a bag drop once in Lao Cai.

Disliked: Wireless a bit up and down.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are OK - hot water and quite spacious. You can get better for your money in Sapa, but one good point was the 12pm checkout as other hotels nearby had much earlier checkout times. Staff were helpful when they were around (generally until midday) but no English speakers seemed to be around in the afternoon.

Disliked: Small window in bathroom had no glass in it (just a hole), which let in bugs. The bathroom door didn't stay shut so we had to tie the door shut with string to stop the bugs coming into the bedroom.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived to the hostel very early after getting off the night train from Hanoi. We forgot to mention to the hostel that we would be arriving early but tried our chance to get into our room before we did a trek. They took us in straight away, no questions asked. Location really isn't a factor either. You're talking about an extra 200m from the main street. Really not a big deal. Even though breakfast isn't included, you are paying only a small amount for some good food.n

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Rounding

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, I booked a dorm room but because they didn't have any free they put me in a twin for the same price.

Disliked: Bit of a steep trek uphill to the town, but it was good exercise!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marc Cuffez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: good room, friendly staff, good restaurant and cheap beer

Disliked: rather far from the center

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Therese Van Tol

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Therese would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and owner are very friendly. They give you information about everything you want, Like good recommendations about sightseeing in the area. The water is always warm and the room Is clean.

Disliked: It is a 10 min walk to the centre, but for Me wasn't that a problem at all with the great View.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gauthier Le Reun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012 Gauthier would recommend this property

Liked: - The atmosphere where backpackers gather around a beer and talk - Glen the manager which is very sympathetic and helpful.

Disliked: - My room needed some maintenance (humidity) but it was totally fine as a backpacker.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: booked a 4bed-dorm, got a 2bed- "dorm" staff very helpful, nice family prices for tickets are fair location very quiet, not that far from centre, with a nice view

Disliked: wifi doesn´t work at all the only computer is in use the hole day from staff playing games


See all Sapa hostels