HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ruby Hotel

Hotel | 31/E2 Biet Thu Street, Nha Trang, Vietnam 58

84.8% Overall Rating

102 out of 115 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

ashley stares thinks…

"It was in a brilliant location. Literally 2 mins walk from all bars and restaurants and like it says 5 mins from the beach. Staff are friendly and accommodations and let us check into our room as…"

Read all Ruby Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nha Trang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nha Trang

True Friends Hostel and Travel House
4.89 USD

Hostel 83.2% 37 reviews
LeSimoLe Boutique Apartments & Hotel
9.98 USD

Hostel 99.5% 6 reviews
Phuc Thinh
8.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
True Friends Inn
5.87 USD

Hostel 90.8% 14 reviews
Truong Giang Hotel
7.82 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Kim Hoang Long
8.85 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Remi hotel
7.45 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
The River Hotel
5.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

102 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ruby Hotel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 106 of 112 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Niskanen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Ruby hotel was close enough to everything we needed like beach, dive shops and nice restaurants. Staff treated us very well and didn't try to sell us anything without asking. We arrived well ahead of check-in time but they still gave us a room to relax in before our room was ready which was a very nice gesture. And when we were leaving, we got to use a shower even though we had checked out hours ago. Of course there were some very minor things like ants in our room (but they seem to be everywhere in Vietnam), but in overall Ruby hotel is a very good value for money spent there. I would totally recommend this place for a people who want to have a budget accommodation.

Disliked: Nothing worth to mention.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Whittlestone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nada

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, incredibly helpful staff, cheap motorbike hire (and decent bike too!), great location, fresh towels every day and good air con.

Disliked: The door to the room is mostly made of glass which lets all of the light in from the corridor and opposite rooms making the very room very light at night when trying to sleep. It can also be quite noisy and reception (We're on the 1st floor) is very close.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Metcalfe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, excellent location, good sized rooms

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean rooms (with fresh towels each day!)

Disliked: N/A

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Our air con was broken, the bed was lumpy and the door kept making a noise as if being opened (assume this was from air moving through the hotel) but it kept waking us up. The one staff member wouldn't give our passports back when we needed them and said we'd have to wait for check out. To be fair though, you get what you pay for and in this case we wish we'd have paid a little more to get a better nights sleep elsewhere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Prince

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Can't be beaten for value for money. Great location, excellent in-room wifi connection, English TV. Staff really friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jiayi mei

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 jiayi would recommend this property

Liked: very valueable

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, central, friendly family who run the place...great value for money and the room was bigger than usual standard room. Has an elevator so meant no need to lug our massive packs up and down stairs - awesome!!

Disliked: N/A

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and close to the beach/backpacker area in Nha Trang. There was hot water which was a plus. No spectacular about the place but no real complaints.

Disliked: The staff were not very helpful or friendly. The room was kind of cramped but okay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reccomend.Nice, peace area.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very Nice staff

Disliked: staff has very low english skills. Very small rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the cost you got a good place to stay. Close to the beach and main tourist areas without the noise and traffic.

Disliked: Nothing for the price.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011

Liked: Was not on the main road so it was quieter at night times and yet was still close enough to the beach.

Disliked: We paid for the superior double room (balcony etc) but we got checked into the only room remaining which was a tiny room which had no window (looked on HB and it was the cheapest room). We got moved the next day into the room we originally paid for which was fine. We wanted to extend our stay by 2 nights and spoke to the receptionist who said it was fine and that we could stay in the room that we were in yet next morning the same receptionist was knocking on our door telling to us to check out of our room as there was another guest waiting for it! She brought this guest up to our room while we were still there so he was getting annoyed with us even though it was the hotels fault. She then moved us to the smallest room with no window again and expected us to pay for the superior room. She then as a nice gesture moved us to a very nice room as she could tell we were upset with how it had been handled that morning which was nice of her (however they were drilling at 8 o'clock every morning above our room) We booked a 'private car' through the hotel to take us to the airport. The owner told us that it was her brother who done the private car but we later found out that it was just a regular taxi! The taxi driver was not happy that we had a receipt and that he wouldn't get any money so was really rude throughout the ride to the airport. It would be easier and probably cheaper to just jump in a cab yourself rather than pay for their 'private car'

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and good sized room

Disliked: Anyone could easily get into the hotel via the parking area no real security. Also our luggage was stored in someone else's room after check out, which we had to wake to collect them later that day. weird.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely good value for money and clean, the beach is only a short walk away. If you ask for train station pick-up, be sure to specify if you want a car as they will send a motorbike otherwise.

Disliked: The hotel staff were very unfriendly towards us from the moment of arrival until we left. I was suprised at this given the previous good reviews (one of the main reasons we booked this hotel). There is a lot of noise during the night due to a bell ringing every time someone used the lift and a fanfare from the army barracks outside at 4am every morning (and national anthem at 6am).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the hotel couldn't do more for you, the rooms were lovely and clean and we can't say enough good things about it. My laptop roke and they were so good, they actually called someone in to fix it for me in an hour at a seriously cheap price.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Walker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great.. about 7mins walk from the beach, and the street is quiet, so if you do want to sleep.. you can. We stayed on the 2nd floor and had a room with a balcony. It was very clean, and was cleaned every day. There was a fridge and the t.v reception was great! the staff are very helpful and organized us a boat trip (do the Nhatrang boat cruise.. the mama laih's was boring). There is one computer in the reception and its free.. really came in handy! It is a family run business, and the owner thanked us for our stay and waited with us for our bus.. she is a very nice lady, and I'm really happy we chose Ruby. I would definitely go back there again. Thank you to the Ruby Staff!!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a fantastic find. We were given a room with a whole wall of floor to ceiling windows and a small balcony. The room was tastefully decorated with heavy blinds to block out most of the morning sun. The staff were very kind and helpful and even let us use a room to take showers and change after a day on the beach before our night train.

Disliked: We peeked in one of the rooms on the way to ours and some were a bit smaller with no windows.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Klaus Ketzler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 Klaus would recommend this property

Liked: close to backpacker area and the beach but in a quiet street. early arrival, late departure was no problem. shower were available.

Disliked: sometimes early in the morning military music in the neighbourhood.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly. When we arrived at 6 in the morning they let us sleep in a room while they prepared ours and they were very helpful with enquiries. Ruby is in a really good location near bars and restaurants and 5 mins from the beach. Our room was nice, good value for money.

Disliked: We booked a night bus from Nga Trang to Hoi An with Ruby which was easy and a good price..but the bus company we went with was awful. Our pick up was s'posed to be at 18:30 and when we got to the hotel at 18:10 they had already been and gone and said they would come back later so we ended up waiting an hour for them to come back for us. The people were really rude and the driving was really abd..we have been on a few night buses now and that was by far the worst. Not the hotels fault but watch out for the bus company they book with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clasina Appel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 April 2011 Clasina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is great, they will do anything to ensure you feel at home. Hotel is not even a 5min.walk away from restaurants, and perhaps 5-10min. to the beach. Therefore a perfect location and nice and quiet nights. Good bed, nice big bathroom, great view from the balcony over the city.

Disliked: Only with hard wind the aluminium doors made some noice. But that's a minor detail.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really cute room with balcony and fun view. Comfy room and building. Very friendly helpful staff great location!

Disliked: There were some ants in my room, and some gnats. But that seems unavoidable here in vietnam.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Chan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff who came with me to the hosptial and had me seen to very quickly when I was ill. Excellent value. Rooms cleaned everyday with fresh towels and sheets. Wifi in rooms, tv, air con all for excellent price. would really recommend.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and cheap and the staff is very helpful. The location is great, in the middle of everything but still very silent at night.

Disliked: We had a problem with the people staying next to us and even if we called the reception for help, nothing happened. A part of the main door of the rooms is also made of glass, and in the night it can be hard to sleep if the lights are on (the light will automatically turn off if nobody is walking around in the corridor). Otherwise a very nice hostel!!