We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hue hostels

Reviews of HongThien1 Hotel

3 star Hotel | 35/6 Chu Van An Road, Hue, Vietnam 84

88.0% Overall Rating

29 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/12/2013)

"Good location, decent breakfast on offer, the pool is nice-but only advisable to use when it's hot, as its not a heated pool and was freezing when we jumped in! We got a free upgrade when we arrived, from a double to a…"

Read all HongThien1 Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hue?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hue

Hong Thien Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.2% 38 reviews
Waterland Hotel
5.00 USD

Hotel 5 star 87.6% 17 reviews
Jade Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 96.5% 71 reviews
Romance Hotel
22.08 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Grace Hotel
6.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Phoenix Hotel
4.40 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 71.9% 6 reviews
DMZ Hotel
8.14 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Nhu Phu hotel
6.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.6% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

29 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HongThien1 Hotel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giulia aliprandi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 giulia would recommend this property

Liked: Kindness

Disliked: Breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrew Wyatt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013

Liked: Helpful staff, good location

Disliked: our first room really smelt badly of damp, we were able to change rooms but the second one then had a disgusting drain smell which the cleaners tried to cover up by spraying perfume over the drain.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, decent breakfast on offer, the pool is nice-but only advisable to use when it's hot, as its not a heated pool and was freezing when we jumped in! We got a free upgrade when we arrived, from a double to a triple. The extra space in the room was nice but not necessary.

Disliked: I wouldn't necessarily say the staff are pushy on their tours, but they do mention them every time you walk past reception. We stayed an extra night, and they tried to overcharge us for the room, when we pointed it out they didn't even apologise. There isn't a great atmosphere at the hostel, it is more of a hotel though. I would not recommend booking further buses through the hostel, they try to push camel tours on you which is known to be one of the worst bus companies in Vietnam-due to bad safety. I would say pop along to sinh tourist a few streets away and book with a reputable company

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alastair Breen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Alastair would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and very modern, lovely decoration in the room which felt light and airy.

Disliked: Alastair left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alina Lane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and well lit room

Disliked: A little noise from lobby and street

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and the staff was very polite! They gave us a bigger room.because the other ones were full, and we could stay there all nights without extra charge! Breakfast was nice as well. You can choose two meals and one drink. It's close to the centre. Swimming pool was an ultimate outcome after a hot day. When we had to wait for our train, we could use the swimming pool + restroom with shower the rest of the day. They even gave us some towels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool area is lovely, staff really helpful and friendly. Breakfast is great!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for two nights in a room for 18$ per night. It was nicely furnished, had a good bathroom and was really quiet. Moreover, the included breakfast was very good and the staff always nice. On our last day (our train for Hanoi was leaving at 5 pm) we could have a nice shower in the afternoon way after our check-out free of charge. It was one of our best hotels in Vietnam.

Disliked: Apart of the hotel we cannot recommend doing a tour in the DMZ. We booked it over the hotel but they are all pretty much the same I guess. The day included at least 7-8 hours in a bus (whole tour from 6 am to 6.30 pm) and there was not too much to see. They show you some rebuild bridges which were destroyed during the war and the Khe Sanh Combat base's museum was closed. Only good thing were the Vinh Moc Tunnels but not worth so much driving. Better spend your time with something else.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Houghton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and easy location. Staff were very helpful and nice. When we left for the bus trip the lovely staff gave us two baguettes to take with us for the trip!

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristin Alwardt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff...good location in the backpacker center down a quiet alley...nice, spacious rooms...very clean swimming pool...tasty breakfast included...cheap beer.

Disliked: shower and sink drains were very slow, but not a big deal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivana Snircova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Ivana would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the breakfests and the swimming pool. The staff is really nice and helpful and the location is great. The room was big enough and quiet.

Disliked: I did not like the City tour offered by the hotel and I would not recommend the tour to DMZ - the only interesting thing is the Vin Moc Tunnels. but the bus takes you almost to the borders with Laos. You spend the whole day in the bus with a stop at a very bad restaurant for poor lunch.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emily aiossa

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 emily would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful

Disliked: It was very quiet and laid back, so solo travellers looking to meet people might night have an easy time finding friends here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carasusea sullivan

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Shopping

12 September 2012 carasusea would recommend this property

Liked: You can stay in Hong Thien Hotel for any time. Hotel is very clean and in a perfect location for Hue City centrel This Hotel even has a swimming pool which I would love to have used had the weather sun hot The located in a place where you can find bars and night life. Staffs just awsome and funny, friendly and kind. For $18 per night is the cheapest in town. I would recommended for anyone going to Hue City. Hue city is beautiful and with Hong Thien Hotel just priceless… Fantastic.. and Thanks.. I’ll be Back!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice character rooms, spacious, away from main road so pretty quiet for asia

Disliked: At this time they were refurbishing the pools so not available

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Langendoen Floris

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

02 June 2012 Langendoen would recommend this property

Liked: We were surprised by the size of the room and the facilities - two huge beds, table and chairs in the bay window and computer and Internet access in the room. There's also a small pool on the ground floor which was wonderful for relaxing in at the end of a long, hot day. The manager warned us about tuk-tuk drivers pestering and told us it was easy to walk everywhere, which is true. We walked to the Citadel on the afternoon we arrived and it was good to go to the Imperial City later as there were no crowds and the evening sun was beautiful. The tour we booked on the Perfume River the next day was very good, but be prepared to pay entrance fees - still very reasonable. Easy walking distance to river and a good range of restaurants. Good choice of breakfast and nice large airy dining room. We had a lovely meal at Confetti on Chu Van An Street, which is also an art gallery. Delightful young waiter who explained about local dishes and very elegant ambience

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

matt chalmers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 matt would recommend this property

Liked: Indoor pool and great breakfasts, great hotel for the price and it looks like they are building a outdoor pool too. Staff are very friendly and its in a good location for food and drink places, highly recommend

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davies robin

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

12 February 2012 Davies would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Hong Thien 1 Hotel in February 2012. Service was prompt and check-in process was quick. Counter staff was very efficient. We were extremely grateful when we got upgraded to a Executive room. Room was very spacious and clean. We booked a tour with the hotel travel desk. Price was pretty reasonable and the travel desk lady was very polite, honest and helpful. Will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ship tina

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

28 January 2012 ship would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel manager & staff all made real effort to attend to my requirements. Emails were replied promptly, airport pickup (Danang to Hue) and room specifics were arranged spot on as requested, rooms are clean & of modern design, low price, good location, decent breakfast included ... can't ask for more. Absolutely recommended.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jade boddy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 jade would recommend this property

Liked: As a backpacker you notice the price fluctuate by location but the quality of the guesthouses are pretty much standard. This isn't the case here. The room was gorgeous, the decor etc was very homley. The staff are excellent here. There was a mix up with our pick up and although it wasn't exactly thier fault they still offered us free breakfast as we had arrived vearly before check in. They helped us book tours and the main lady was a feeder at breakfast! She didn't like people to leave until they had had enough to eat. Even though it was Tet all the staff were in good spirits to be working. The pool is nice to have a little swin in but bloody freezing!!

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

David Rawlins

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: The ambivalence and attitude of the management.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gazeau anais

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 gazeau would recommend this property

Liked: We chose this hotel based on good reviews and were more than happy. Excellent value for money. Lift avalible. Room was small but bathroom a good size. It was spotless and cleaned every day. Hot water all the time. Air con great. Breakfast excellent everyday. pool was very refreshing with a few sunlounger in the shade. Really great location for every thing in town. We did a tour through these guys $15 for the citadel, and three tombs (you do have to pay 55,000 dong for entrance fees though so it does add up. The staff really make it here. the speak perfect English and have great sense of humour! Highly recommended hotel.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, very clean and a great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeane laurence

With a large group / tour

Shopping

30 December 2011 jeane would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is central, very modern, clean and comfortable. Good value for money. The staff are really friendly and the swimming pool ís a real treat after the whole day touring!!! The staff is knowledgeable and they offer competitive tours around Hue and the Heritage Sites. Highly reccommended!

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jeane Sophile Laurence

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011

Liked: Property was OK

Disliked: The staff were extremely hard sell on tours to the point of being extremely irritating. Their tour board and information brochures contain incorrect pricing details. This is not explained until you pay for the tours. I would not stay here again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simone deitmer

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

17 December 2011 simone would recommend this property

Liked: small room, but was lovely - nice bed, great tv, good view - excellent value for money. the pool is small but was so great to jump into after a super hot day of walking around the citadel. great location too - in the thick of the nightlife area but down an alleyway so no noise.

Disliked: no


See all Hue hostels