We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hue hostels

Reviews of Valentine Hotel

2.5 star Hotel | Number 7, Lane 64 Nguyen Cong Tru street, Hue, Vietnam 8454

89.7% Overall Rating

56 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

"If you are in Hue, then you got to stay here. I have stayed at a fair few places on my travels and this one if not THE best! The staff are very helpful and always try to help make your stay very pleasant and…"

Read all Valentine Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hue?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hue

Canary Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.5% 8 reviews
Grace Hotel
6.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Tigonpremium hotel
16.27 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Waterland Hotel
5.00 USD

Hotel 5 star 87.6% 17 reviews
Jade Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 96.5% 71 reviews
Hong Thien Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.2% 38 reviews
HongThien1 Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.0% 32 reviews
Tigon Hostel
5.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

56 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valentine Hotel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are in Hue, then you got to stay here. I have stayed at a fair few places on my travels and this one if not THE best! The staff are very helpful and always try to help make your stay very pleasant and comfortable. I had stayed 3 nights and which I could of stayed more. The hotel is conveniently located in a little quite alley but only a few minutes walk to the main busy streets of the city, you can hire bicycles ans motorbikes with the hotel if you require. The communal area is also great for meeting people if you are a lone traveller. Overall a great stay and experience! Thank you team Valentine!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, I'd recommend the Valentine, but with caveats. It's close to the center, but other places are closer. The staff is friendly, but can be cheeky and disrespectful. The breakfast is free, but meager. The room was fine, but I've seen nicer. It's not perfect, but it'll do for a short stay in Hue.

Disliked: See above.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble!! Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is incredably friendly, lovely sense of humor; offering tea when I returned from sightseeing. Excellent breakfast: (had 5 options !), spacious (nicely painted!) room with flowers,desk, 2 chairs; kingsize bed; clean seperate bathroom

Disliked: none whatsoever; just 2 backpackers in adjacent room where obnoxious

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the rooms quite taken care of - every day someone came in and cleaned the room, the bathrooms etc.

Disliked: There seemed to be some mixup when we had the staff book us a DMZ tour - I don't think it was actually booked for us (although we asked to confirm everything several times) and we ended up being late for the tour and making the whole tour late to leave, because the guesthouse had to call the tour company and I imagine convince them to let us on. So I wouldn't recommend booking a tour with them, but through an actual agency.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly, really went the extra mile. We were trapped inside due to rain and they offered to cook us food.

Disliked: There were quite a few ants in the room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ayomide Akintunde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2013 Ayomide would recommend this property

Liked: Bike rental available Friendly staff Tours available

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and honest staff, well sized rooms and a good, free breakfast. Many services such as bicycle rental, computers, WiFi and tour booking. We booked a tour to the Paradise Cave at Valentine's and were quite content with it. Excellent value for money choice.

Disliked: Unfortunately, our room was a little moldy. This is a quite common problem in SE-Asia, as the staff often seems to forget venting the rooms and just turns on the AC every time. All in all, there is not very much atmosphere at this location - but as it is more a hotel than a hostel, this is quite usual and nothing to worry about.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic couldn't speak highly enough of them. The tour we booked through them was great. Nice big rooms and awesome location.

Disliked: They took the towels on the first day and never gave us fresh ones. Other than that it was good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and cheap.

Disliked: Too many personal questions from staff always trying sell you other services.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melody Hirst

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Melody would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. The room was nice, the staff were nice, the breakfast was okay.

Disliked: We booked the day boat trip to the tombs. This day trip could easily take about 2,5 hours, instead of 8 hours. It was extremely boring and the guide spoke barely any english, so he couldn't even give much information on anything that we saw and he was never able to answer questions, simply because he didn't understand them! So, stayat this hotel, but don't do the tour!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Bailey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the centre of town and the staff were helpful with directions. The breakfast options were pretty good as well.

Disliked: When we first arrived we had dirty towels in our room. This was immediately rectified however shouldn't of happened in the first place. The communal area isn't great for lone travellers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Nice room, clean, new bathroom - has a fridge and a tv. Wifi works very well. They organised a trip for me at a good price.

Disliked: Make sure you plan lots of time to have breakfast. I waited for 20 minutes, despite it being quiet and having ordered the night before. But it was tasty!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was super helpful. Breakfast was great. Good value for money.

Disliked: Great place for a one night stay, not a good place to meet other travellers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Didi Scheffer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Didi would recommend this property

Liked: The locatio was very quiet and nearby a lot of restaurants. The staff was friendly and honest. Breakfast was okay but not spectacular.

Disliked: There wasn't cleaning everyday, but maybe that was because of the Tet Holiday.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My room was clean and bright. It was more on the older side and could use some updating, but that did not take anything away from the good value.

Disliked: The hot water didn't always work. It was not a big deal for me. If that happens to you and affects you, mention to the staff. I'm sure they will address immediately.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dominick Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Dominick would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, helpful staff and good location.

Disliked: not a lot, bit noisy early in the morning from surrounding cafes but not really that bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sian Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: Included breakfast was good - we chose an egg, baguette and fresh fruit and tea. Room was a good size and clean. Tours were offered but they were not overly pushy with them. Good location in the new city and a nice 30 minute walk to the Imperial City.

Disliked: Sian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

felicity hayes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 felicity would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff were willing to help with anything. If sitting in reception, you receive complimentary tea. Rooms were clean and well equipped.

Disliked: There was nothing I didn't like!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay. The staff were very nice and extremely helpful without being pushy at all. The location was nice, in the center but a couple blocks back from the main backpackers street and down an alley.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Himali Ranasinghe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Himali would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and the hotel was clean.

Disliked: There was not enough light in the room, very dim lamps.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is amazing value for money. It gave us exactly what we needed; clean, warm and spacious with a large bathroom and amazingly friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was comfortable Friendly front desk staff Breakfast included

Disliked: Stayed in better rooms for the same money Lacking a bit of character Perfectly adequate but nothing that made it stand out from the crowd, as reviews would suggest

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really really nice. Especially the owner Ruby. Gave us really good advice and just a really really nice place.

Disliked: The place was hard to find. is down an ally and there are about 5 allys. One night we had to walk through all of them to find it. Make sure you get a taxi there and than take note of landmarks when you leave. Make sure you have the hotel card with address with you at all times in case you need to ask.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dipalo Ivana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Dipalo would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hotel experiences we've had on our trip in Vietnam! Great location, price, atmosphere, attitude, helpful/honest staff and everything else were perfect. They offered to pick us up from the bus station for free, which was very nice. They waited for us 2 hours, as our bus was late. They had present-cake for Christmas for each room, so kind of them. Rooms are big, with hot water, free WiFi and free good breakfast. Excellent value for money! Highly recommend! You can not find nicer and more honest people in Hue than them.

Disliked: Dipalo left no negative feedback.


See all Hue hostels