HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hue hostels

Reviews of Tran Ly Hotel

5 star Hotel | 78 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam 084

90.4% Overall Rating

290 out of 298 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2014)

Haidee Monaco thinks…

"it is central well located near the train station a lot of restaurants shopping and touring facilities. the hotel is clean and nice the staff are fantastic very helpful"

Read all Tran Ly Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hue?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hue

Amigo Hotel
7.47 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 88.5% 55 reviews
Huenino hotel
8.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 98.3% 25 reviews
Google Hotel
9.17 USD

Hostel 86.6% 30 reviews
Imperial Hotel
39.00 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Gold Hotel
25.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Victory Hotel Hue
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Binh Duong hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 88.3% 32 reviews
Ideal hotel Hue
16.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

290 out of 298 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tran Ly Hotel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 279 of 295 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Murphy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hotel, really good location and very friendly staff. Located right in the centre of most of the bars/restaurants. Room was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful everyday. After a long day doing a city tour they allowed me to take a shower before I got the night bus to Hanoi and even provided me with a towel and soap and shampoo. I would f\definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Hue.

Disliked: Everything was great.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

William Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location for restaurants and shops and about a 20 minute walk away from the citadel.

Disliked: We stayed in two rooms whilst we were there. The three bed room was very noisy during the night as it is close to the ground floor an a lot of street noise can be heard, even though it is at the back of the building. We did change to a room on the top floor which was much quieter, though there was a it of damp on the ceiling.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Look no further for a place to stay while you are in Hue. Tran Ly was the best money I've ever spent in SE Asia on a hostel. For <$15 for a private single, this was perfect. The location was excellent, just a 501-0 minute walk from the main bridge and the old town. It is in the heart of the hostel/backpacker area but also is right by many local restaurants and shops. The breakfast included was very good and the tours they provide were excellent as well (I did the 1-day City Tour with tombs and citadel). The accommodations here were top-notch. Very clean rooms, great aircon, good bathroom with hot shower and clean sink. Comfortable bed with TV. The service here was excellent. They picked me up and dropped me off at the train station via motorbike for free and even helped me buy a new ticket after I lost one. They have skype with microphone and headphones available and the customer service was superb - they always brought me a fresh glass of water whenever I walked in from the sweltering heat.

Disliked: None, this hotel was excellent.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arvin Johnston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Arvin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great! The location is good.

Disliked: The tour we took had too much crammed into it, it should be a 2 day tour if you really want to see some of the sites.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, friendly staff

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Bloom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Best place we've stayed in nam. Coming from the north this was a refreshing change, with uber friendly staff and really a 3 star hotel experience at backpacker prices with breakfast. We messed up our dates and they just changed them round for free- properly ace place!

Disliked: Nothing about the place at all- we stayed on a couple of extra days. The tours we found a little expensive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luke McRae

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so friendly and pick you what you want for breakfast

Disliked: Pretty crazy price differences for services available just 2 minutes away. I.e bicycle rent was 20 000 VND more. Some would say convenience fee. I say chancers :D

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most friendly and helpful staff in all of our travels in Vietnam.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice hotel, nice quality of everything for the money paid; friendly staff, always smiling and ready to help. Another nice thing is, of course, a free breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was fine.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Leandro Marti Arana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff, they are really friendly since the first moment you arrive. Breakfast a la carte. 3 PCs for internet. You can also book bus tickets or tours there.

Disliked: COLD ROOM, NO HEATING AND NO HOT WATER. Hue was cold and when we came back to the hotel for a warm bath it was impossible. The room is a freezer and has no window.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly stuff who will go out of the way to make sure your stay is comfortable. Everytime I step into the lobby, I'm met with a chirpy greeting, and a cup of iced water/tea will find its way to me very shortly. For the price, you get a bathroom with bathtub, fast wifi, cable tv, a/c, free breakfast (large variety of choices) and even room cleaning services. Definitely value for money.

Disliked: A bit of a walk to the old city and the nearest supermarket.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff. The staff are the main asset of this hotel. They picked us up on scooters from our bus for free, recommended things to do and places to eat on request. They even brought us cold water when we were on the internet, and when I wasn't feeling well and I told them how hot it felt outside they put extra ice in the water for me! There wasn't any pressure to book anything through them, and when we booked a dragon boat trip through them we found out we got a much better deal than most people on the trip.

Disliked: The rooms aren't as nice as other hotels we've stayed at in Vietnam in a similar price range, and if it wasn't for the staff I think it would just be an average place to stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Silent room despite nousy street (soundproof windows). Friendly staff.

Disliked: The room is renovated, but there are signs of mildew on the walls.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and adaptable to late changes.

Disliked: A little bit of a distance from the main atractions, but not too far.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent, very helpful from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, they will answer any questions, help with bookings and information. The hotel is in a great location to food and drink and not too far to walk to The Citadel. Excellent experience, well done guys.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hue is an amazing place, and I feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to go there and meet so many great people. It was very inspiring. Also, I've never seen so many scooters in my life. I really look forward to going back to Hue again someday. Many, many thanks to Mr Minh - the manager of Tran Ly hotel for the good times and making everything possible.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent hotel, the staff make this place great value for money great location!! The included breakfast is great too really nice to have a choice of foods!

Disliked: One problem there was a gap in window allowing mozies in at night ceiling are very high no way to hang net I got several bad bites as a result! However this is only a minor issue that I hope the hotel will resolve this as rest of the hotel was great!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1) helped us to get a city tour, cuisine lessons and a restaurant booking 2) internet 3) very well located

Disliked: 1) Pho at breakfast 2) no window in the room 3) they take comissions on your taxi booking

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very large room, really clean. The staff were great and were really helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasant stay. Extremely friendly staff. Top rating!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm welcome with lemon tea. After the Hanoi nightbus this was great. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, great breakfast. Big spotlessly clean room, cable tv. One of the nicest places we have stayed in. Book it, don't bother looking at other places in Hue, your accommodation search should end here!

Disliked: Nothing at all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely breakfast - big choice from the menu and delicious. Room a good size and very clean. Very helpful staff, free wifi and computers in reception.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly which made our stay at Tran Ly really pleasant. There was always someone on the reception and a security guard out the front which made it feel very secure. The location is really good near all restaurants and not far from the citadel. The breakfast was also really good :)

Disliked: Although the room and bathroom were nice it was incredibly damp. The lady that took us to the room apologised and said it was because of the recent weather and they had tried to dry it out with a fan so not really the hotels fault and recon most hotels would have been the same anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Gmiat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: clean, safety, localization

Disliked: clean, safety, localization


See all Hue hostels