We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

76.2% Overall Rating

346 out of 375 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Ugo Bodino thinks…

"The hostel is def the best in town for partying, meeting up with travelers, or even chilling out during the day by the pool... Rooms are okay. It has a nice garden bar, pool table, and table…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
6.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 175 reviews
Hoi An Glory Hotel & Spa
26.02 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Ancient House Resort
78.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
MUCA Hoian Boutique Resort & Spa
19.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort
24.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

346 out of 375 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 349 of 368 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were friendly and helpful we arrived at 6.30am and were able to check in shortly after. The buffet breakfast was also good. More expensive than other hotels in vietnam but reasonable compared to other places in hoi an. The hotel is located about 15 minutes out of the centre of hoi an but the hotel run a shuttle bus every 30 mins so it wasnt a problem.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are wonderful here! Very friendly, very accommodating and helpful even with the slightest of issues; they assisted us amazingly on a few occasions most notably moving us immediately when we complained of a bad smell in the room and helping us delay our sleeper bus to the following day, plus extending our stay in the hotel when our plans were changed without much notice at all! They are very customer focused and the owner walked around one morning at breakfast talking to all of the guests asking about their stay seeming genuinely interested in their views. This to me is the sign of a good hotel that is conscious of good customer service. The room was a good size, free shuttle to take you into the town but not too bad a walk either and the room was cleaned daily. Breakfast is nice too.

Disliked: nothing bad to say about this hotel at all!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One òf the best hotels we have booked through hostel bookers, far exceeded our expectations, although it was a bit out of the centre a shuttle bus was put on.

Disliked: Nothing Really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Lacey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at the Sunflower Hotel for 3 nights and had the most amazing time in Hoi An staying there. The staff were very helpful and did not push tailors etc onto you as soon as you walked into the reception area, like so many other hotels I have heard about do. The swimming pool area is small but clean, with plenty of sun beds for all, we never had a problem with getting a sun bed. Also, and importantly, the pool water was clean and clear- so no problems with swimming at all. The room was incredibly clean and the bathroom spotless. The air conditioning worked perfectly- almost too well! They had HBO on the TV- which meant that while you got ready in the evenings to go out, you could actually have a film on in the background that was in English-wonderful added extra! The breakfast was interesting- a real mix of Western and Vietnamese, but in fairness to the hotel they were catering for alot of different nationalities. However, there was always fresh fruit, juice and pancakes with honey- yummy! All in all, I was very impressed with the hotel and I HIGHLY recommend it to any traveller or holiday maker who is looking for good value for money.

Disliked: Chloe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tobias Frykman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: We had a lovely balcony, the room was big and bright and everything else worked quite alright.

Disliked: nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. Breakfast buffet was amazing. Having a pool was great. The location was in between the beach and the downtown which I found to be convenient. The rooms were really nice and very clean. Best bathroom I've seen in my travels in SE asia so far. I would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Johnston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool, the menu and drinks were well priced and the breakfast buffet is fantastic value.

Disliked: Unfortunately they forgot to pick us up from the bus station. But that was only a mild inconvienance.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness and cleanliness

Disliked: Not close to eather beach or to the downtown

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hani sulastri hamid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Hani sulastri would recommend this property

Liked: they gave free pick up from the bus stop. the breakfast was the best. I love all the food and it was so worth it. the room was so clean. it was the best room we had. the money that we spent was worth it.

Disliked: the location was not in the city centre. we need to walk more than 10 minutes. but it was still okay. sometimes they have a free shuttle bus to town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful & friendly staff. Excellent & delicious choice of food for breakfast. The same day we arrived, they offered, without us asking, to move us from a small room on the top floor to a much better one with balcony on the floor below the very next day. Bright, good sized room once we'd moved. Walking in & out of town & cycling to the beach was a pleasure, not a chore, & it was a pleasant place to stay, away from the shopping frenzy of the centre of Hoi An.

Disliked: Rooms quite clean, but attention to minor cleaning details missing [e.g. grubby light switches, sand left on balcony, etc.] Nothing serious enough to be a real bother. Rooms on top [3rd in English] floor are a little bit pokey for 2 people, & have waist high windows so light, but without a view unless you crouch down! No lift means it could be a problem for someone with limited mobility.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julie Neilson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, clean hotel, great breakfast and very varied menu, keen to help staff and wonderful having a pool...

Disliked: Dislike is a strong word but I think the restaurant could have a better atmosphere in the evening to attract diners. However the Solo restaurant opposite is value for money and good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graeme Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place. Clean, large rooms, good tv channels. You can rent a scooter night next to the entrance, very handy for going to the tombs at My Son cheaply. Special mention - we booked a bus, and a different, dodgy bus company collected us from the hotel (NOT THE HOTEL'S FAULT), then refused to give us any assistance when we wouldn't get on their bus and pay them. Sunflower staff got our real bus to wait for us, and without them we would have lost the price of our ticket and would have needed to pay for an extra night. (The bad bus company was named "Alex Bu" travel, just stay away from these gangsters). Stay at Sunflower, they're lovely.

Disliked: Graeme left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Gould

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good value, generous buffet breakfast (no extra charge), nice staff

Disliked: Wifi didn't work in my room on the top floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hotel half way between the beach and town. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Room were clean with bright windows. Handy free shuttle service into the town center. Great buffet breakfast included!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luke de Gouw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 February 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff behind the counter, nice big clean rooms. Probably the best free buffet breakfast we have ever had. The location is situated between the old town and the beach on the main rd, so it is not the best if you want to be in one more than the other but this suited us perfectly. It takes 10 mins to the old town, and 15mins to the beach by bike. Great area out the back to relax by the pool. WIFI fast and works well in room

Disliked: Shop around for bus tickets and tours. They are completely overpriced here. If your looking for a sleeper bus go to sinh tourist directly www.thesinhtourist.vn. The hotel charged us double ($30) more than what it was. It should cost you 600,000 dong to get to nha trang.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Harrington

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Most things, but in particular the breakfasts are probably the best we have had on this trip, at 10am the breakfast room turns into a restaurant which also serves excellent and very good value food and the swimming pool is very welcome after a hot day in the wonderfulold town of Hoi An.

Disliked: The only thing you can mark this hotel down on is its location, which means you have to have transport to either the beach or the old town. On the other hand, they provide a free shuttle to the town and if you miss it the taxi (metered) costs less than 30,000 dong (less than 1 pound sterling). If you don't like the noise from the next door bar, ask for a quiet room (upper floors - there are 4 floors).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a shuttle Bus going to town every half an hour and they also pick you up at the busstation for free. The rooms are really big and the breakfast is also great!!! I really would recomend this hotel!!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

rebecca lane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: it has a good breakfast as already stated, the room was clean, we walked it to town twice daily only took 10 minutes wasnt a drama at all

Disliked: on 2 out of the 4 computers were working so that caused a bit of a queue

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Bull

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Buffet breakfast, pool area, cheap restaurant. Free shuttle to town, cleanliness of room. Overall very enjoyable place to stay in Hoi an.

Disliked: room was alot smaller than expected from descriptions given but spotlessly clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized clean rooms. The breakfast is really nice. The place is a bit outside but you can rent bikes for a dollar and the 5-10 minute bikeride in to toan is really nice. Good value hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Ruberto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

18 January 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Got free buffet breakfast, Rooms were spacious and clean, good air con and shower pressure, the staff were very helpful and there is a free shuttle into town as it is a long walk. Loved the pool also.

Disliked: The shower was cold at some times of the day (pretty standard around Asia though)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gillian Doherty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful the whole time. As mentioned, the breakfast is much better than most hostels in SE Asia. The pool area makes is a good way to meet people.

Disliked: The distance to the centre of Hoi An did end up being a bit annoying for me. Going out at night or even just for dinner felt like way too much of a mission and not really safe to walk home at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Eyre

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were good. Staff was always happy to help. The best thing about the place was the massive breakfast!! really good value for money. fridge in room was handy to keep the beer cold. free bananas in room everyday and room made everyday. Nice place A++

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.


See all Hoi An hostels