We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

65.7% Overall Rating

363 out of 403 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/08/2015)

Rudy van Baren thinks…

"Location-wise the Sunflower isn't the best, but I recommend you go there because the place is a backpacker hub, with a very nice bar in the back where loads of people start their evenings. If you…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.6% 178 reviews
Hoi An Glory Hotel & Spa
24.58 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Ancient House Resort
73.73 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
9.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
40.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.17 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
MUCA Hoian Boutique Resort & Spa
50.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Riverside Oasis Villa
14.70 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

363 out of 403 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
61.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
60.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 395 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Monk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and well appointed for a 2-star hotel. Staff helped us with our bags which was appreciated as our room was on the top floor. Absolutely wonderful to have a pool and free breakfast was great - though don't expect a western style cooked breakfast or even continental. There were cereals and fruits and plenty of strange hot foods that I would normally class as lunch, but that's how it works in this part of the world! Room was nice - hot water in ensuite which was very clean. Free bananas in room which was a nice touch.

Disliked: One or two of the restaurant staff were a little abrupt, but food was great. Booked train tickets to Hanoi through reception and they charged us 10% commission which I thought was a bit steep putting that on the customer and just for the sake of them making a phone call, but with the train station half an hour's bus journey away and running out of time, we didn't have a vast amount of choice.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012

Liked: The decor is nice, breakfast was buffet style, with fruits, bread, local noodles, omelette station, pancakes. The staff are very friendly.

Disliked: We booked 2 private twin rooms (ensuite) and the staff assigned the wrong rooms to us, gave us 4 in one room and they rectify the error rather quickly. However, the toilet for one of the twin rooms was very smelly. It was like the smell of sewerage and we requested for a change of rooms. On the second day, we realized both rooms were infested with ants. 2 of my friends had ants crawling into their breads that was left in the rooms even though they were tied with plastic bags.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

William Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012

Liked: Includes a bool; decent amount of choices at buffet breakfast; nice bar with pool table; good size room; staff were generally helpful and friendly

Disliked: Long walk to centre of town although there is a free shuttle bus every 30 minutes; sheets were a bit dirty; never anyone in the bar and it closes very early (10pm)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt chalmers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great outdoor pool and a big breakfast buffet included in price, great hotel for the price and popular with backpackers, families and couples. Staff are very friendly and its in a good location for both the centre of Hoi An and the beach, stayed 4 nights in the end and highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was very nice and the breakfast buffet is good. The room was clean and the staff were lovely especially the guy who runs the bar! ( i cant remember his name). The hotel isn't right in town but they offer shuttle buses into town free of charge and takes about 20mins to walk back to the hotel or you can rent bikes for1$ for the day. The pool is really nice and refreshing and they have lots of sunbeds to relax on.

Disliked: We had a room next to reception which was quite loud in the morning as you can hear traffic and sometimes all the people in the reception area, also no windows with sunlight but i would recommend the sunflower hotel and i would go back just ask for a different room!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012

Liked: Rooms were big and clean, with hot water and AC. Breakfast was good. Staff were helpful and friendly - they let me print out pictures of a dress for free. Bikes/scooters right outside for rent everyday.

Disliked: I would say this place is not the greatest location - its a good 20mins walk into town and 3km from the beach - so I would advise either staying nearer town or at the beach (not in the middle!) Swimming pool was nice - although a little on the dirty side.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good buffet breakfast, large clean room, 3 computers free of charge. Good advice about where to get clothes made and a guest review book at reception. My husband got a suit made at Peace tailors recommended in book - cheaper as outside main tourist area (3 piece suit 120 USD) but good quality material and well made. Brilliant little restaurant just next door to hotel - great food and low prices with friendly staff. Ate there every evening.

Disliked: Disorganised about airport transfers. Hotel seemed reluctant to put groups together. We booked taxi at same time as another couple and decided to go together. Hotel said we couldnt have a normal car for 4 people as it was illegal for taxi to carry passengers in the front. Instead we had to have a mini bus (12 seater turned up) but still cheaper than 2 cars. Turned out there were at least 6 people from hotel on our flight and a couple of taxis left just before our bus which could have taken everyone. They reuse the coffee filters so get to breakfast early for decent coffee

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, super nice staff, the free breakfast buffet is awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tomas Bayer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay on a halfway to a town-center and a beach

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

nicolo Nielsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 nicolo would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpful. Beautiful hotel with awesome pool! Breakfast is GREAT!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful, too. The room was a great size, the bed was comfortable and the A/C was much appreciated. Our stay was pleasant. You have privacy and can rest easily in your room, and there's a great area by the pool where you can socialise with other guests. The buffet breakfast was great. It is only a ten minute walk into town - don't let the mini-bus fool you into thinking it is ages away! It is right in the middle between the town and the beach - perfect!

Disliked: We booked a train ticket with them to Hanoi, and they charged us 9,000,000VND. When we got the ticket it said on the ticket the actual price (for foreigners) was around 7,000,000VND - the hotel also additionally charged us a three dollar commission and one dollar booking fee. Go elsewhere in town and see if you can get a better deal on tickets!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The superior room was large, clean, bathroom with a bathtub. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Hotel was about 20 minutes easy walk from the main part of town.

Disliked: The reception staff werent that friendly or informative. Was difficult of getting information on any tours.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast,pool is fab too

Disliked: Expensive if your travelling alone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary howard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast, impeccable rooms, shuttle bus to old city, the pool, the great staff. I stayed twice at Sunflower, but even with more than 2 weeks between visits the staff remembered my breakfast habits and as soon as I arrived in the dining room a little bowl of lemon instantly appeared by my side without my asking for it. Small touches like this make such a difference. The friendly Vietnamese owner is always on site, and we had many interesting conversations by the pool. This is the best place I stayed during 3 months in Vietnam, from all points of view.

Disliked: Emphatically nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Raven

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Bargain for what you get and the staff are really helpful and friendly - booked our train tickets for us and helped sort out when we changed our minds about the destination we wanted to go to.

Disliked: Nada

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great, with fresh juice, rice, noodles, fruit, cereal, eggs, etc. you can fill up for the whole day if you want. The staff were very friendly and able to help with everything from laundry to train tickets in a quick and friendly manner. Shower is one of the best I've had in Asia in a while. The location is great if you want to spend equal time at the beach and the old town. If you are mainly interested in the old town, it's a little out of the way.

Disliked: My room and the interior of the hotel are outdated, and for $20/night you can get a much much nicer room in the rest of Vietnam, though it seems that Hoi An is more expensive. My room had a faint smell that I noticed every time that I entered, but quickly got used to. It was also quite small for a double room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful, our rooms were cleaned daily without us having to ask and there was a good variety of food on offer at breakfast. The hotel is ideally situated, was just a short walk to the shops/bars and a 15 min cycle ride to the beach. Originally booked for 1 night and ended up staying 5.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

BRONA MCCORMACK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2012 BRONA would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms but prone to ant infestations like everywhere in S.E. Asia. Rooms cleaned every day and fresh towels and fruit. Well stocked mini fridge. Room service and great food!

Disliked: There is no real atmosphere, it's very quiet and everyone keeps to themselves.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sophie jacques

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Best place in Vietnam yet. Great place, staff, food and services. Loved staying here. Also loved hoi an everyone is so friendly here. Definatly the Vietnam we we're looking for. Finally found it here in hoi an.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic free breakfast buffet. Everything you could want to eat and a lovely atmosphere as set up right next to the pool area. Quiet and we got a good nights sleep.

Disliked: A few ants on the top floor, but they were harmless. I have come to be indifferent towards them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful just like a real hotel.

Disliked: Nothing it was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma MacDonald

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great value Hotel, Nice Rooms, Good Wifi, Nice swimming pool, Bicycle Hire, Good location between Old Town and Beach, Onsite restaurant which was great value and served good food, Daily room clean and towel change, Daily fruit in rooms but most of all excellent customer service from the women in Reception who were superb at helping with all requests, whether advise regarding the area, or assisting with onward travel.

Disliked: When we arrived we were given a twin room instead of a double (although wasnt a problem as one of the beds was a double.) On the last couple of nights at times there was a bad smell (sewage pipes) coming from somewhere. Unsure if this was internal or external to the hotel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were friendly and helpful we arrived at 6.30am and were able to check in shortly after. The buffet breakfast was also good. More expensive than other hotels in vietnam but reasonable compared to other places in hoi an. The hotel is located about 15 minutes out of the centre of hoi an but the hotel run a shuttle bus every 30 mins so it wasnt a problem.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are wonderful here! Very friendly, very accommodating and helpful even with the slightest of issues; they assisted us amazingly on a few occasions most notably moving us immediately when we complained of a bad smell in the room and helping us delay our sleeper bus to the following day, plus extending our stay in the hotel when our plans were changed without much notice at all! They are very customer focused and the owner walked around one morning at breakfast talking to all of the guests asking about their stay seeming genuinely interested in their views. This to me is the sign of a good hotel that is conscious of good customer service. The room was a good size, free shuttle to take you into the town but not too bad a walk either and the room was cleaned daily. Breakfast is nice too.

Disliked: nothing bad to say about this hotel at all!


See all Hoi An hostels