We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

68.9% Overall Rating

355 out of 391 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2015)

Paulina Smoljanski thinks…

"The hostel is conveniently located close to the old town where most eateries and tailor shops are. The pool is pretty clean and nice to hang around by. Dorms are clean and en-suite."

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 177 reviews
Hoi An Glory Hotel & Spa
25.64 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Ancient House Resort
76.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
10.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
40.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.23 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
MUCA Hoian Boutique Resort & Spa
50.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Riverside Oasis Villa
14.70 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.9%

Overall Rating

355 out of 391 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
65.6%
Value
72.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 362 of 383 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

nicolo Nielsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 nicolo would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpful. Beautiful hotel with awesome pool! Breakfast is GREAT!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful, too. The room was a great size, the bed was comfortable and the A/C was much appreciated. Our stay was pleasant. You have privacy and can rest easily in your room, and there's a great area by the pool where you can socialise with other guests. The buffet breakfast was great. It is only a ten minute walk into town - don't let the mini-bus fool you into thinking it is ages away! It is right in the middle between the town and the beach - perfect!

Disliked: We booked a train ticket with them to Hanoi, and they charged us 9,000,000VND. When we got the ticket it said on the ticket the actual price (for foreigners) was around 7,000,000VND - the hotel also additionally charged us a three dollar commission and one dollar booking fee. Go elsewhere in town and see if you can get a better deal on tickets!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The superior room was large, clean, bathroom with a bathtub. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Hotel was about 20 minutes easy walk from the main part of town.

Disliked: The reception staff werent that friendly or informative. Was difficult of getting information on any tours.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast,pool is fab too

Disliked: Expensive if your travelling alone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary howard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast, impeccable rooms, shuttle bus to old city, the pool, the great staff. I stayed twice at Sunflower, but even with more than 2 weeks between visits the staff remembered my breakfast habits and as soon as I arrived in the dining room a little bowl of lemon instantly appeared by my side without my asking for it. Small touches like this make such a difference. The friendly Vietnamese owner is always on site, and we had many interesting conversations by the pool. This is the best place I stayed during 3 months in Vietnam, from all points of view.

Disliked: Emphatically nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Raven

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Bargain for what you get and the staff are really helpful and friendly - booked our train tickets for us and helped sort out when we changed our minds about the destination we wanted to go to.

Disliked: Nada

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great, with fresh juice, rice, noodles, fruit, cereal, eggs, etc. you can fill up for the whole day if you want. The staff were very friendly and able to help with everything from laundry to train tickets in a quick and friendly manner. Shower is one of the best I've had in Asia in a while. The location is great if you want to spend equal time at the beach and the old town. If you are mainly interested in the old town, it's a little out of the way.

Disliked: My room and the interior of the hotel are outdated, and for $20/night you can get a much much nicer room in the rest of Vietnam, though it seems that Hoi An is more expensive. My room had a faint smell that I noticed every time that I entered, but quickly got used to. It was also quite small for a double room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful, our rooms were cleaned daily without us having to ask and there was a good variety of food on offer at breakfast. The hotel is ideally situated, was just a short walk to the shops/bars and a 15 min cycle ride to the beach. Originally booked for 1 night and ended up staying 5.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

BRONA MCCORMACK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2012 BRONA would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms but prone to ant infestations like everywhere in S.E. Asia. Rooms cleaned every day and fresh towels and fruit. Well stocked mini fridge. Room service and great food!

Disliked: There is no real atmosphere, it's very quiet and everyone keeps to themselves.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sophie jacques

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Best place in Vietnam yet. Great place, staff, food and services. Loved staying here. Also loved hoi an everyone is so friendly here. Definatly the Vietnam we we're looking for. Finally found it here in hoi an.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic free breakfast buffet. Everything you could want to eat and a lovely atmosphere as set up right next to the pool area. Quiet and we got a good nights sleep.

Disliked: A few ants on the top floor, but they were harmless. I have come to be indifferent towards them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful just like a real hotel.

Disliked: Nothing it was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma MacDonald

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great value Hotel, Nice Rooms, Good Wifi, Nice swimming pool, Bicycle Hire, Good location between Old Town and Beach, Onsite restaurant which was great value and served good food, Daily room clean and towel change, Daily fruit in rooms but most of all excellent customer service from the women in Reception who were superb at helping with all requests, whether advise regarding the area, or assisting with onward travel.

Disliked: When we arrived we were given a twin room instead of a double (although wasnt a problem as one of the beds was a double.) On the last couple of nights at times there was a bad smell (sewage pipes) coming from somewhere. Unsure if this was internal or external to the hotel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were friendly and helpful we arrived at 6.30am and were able to check in shortly after. The buffet breakfast was also good. More expensive than other hotels in vietnam but reasonable compared to other places in hoi an. The hotel is located about 15 minutes out of the centre of hoi an but the hotel run a shuttle bus every 30 mins so it wasnt a problem.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are wonderful here! Very friendly, very accommodating and helpful even with the slightest of issues; they assisted us amazingly on a few occasions most notably moving us immediately when we complained of a bad smell in the room and helping us delay our sleeper bus to the following day, plus extending our stay in the hotel when our plans were changed without much notice at all! They are very customer focused and the owner walked around one morning at breakfast talking to all of the guests asking about their stay seeming genuinely interested in their views. This to me is the sign of a good hotel that is conscious of good customer service. The room was a good size, free shuttle to take you into the town but not too bad a walk either and the room was cleaned daily. Breakfast is nice too.

Disliked: nothing bad to say about this hotel at all!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One òf the best hotels we have booked through hostel bookers, far exceeded our expectations, although it was a bit out of the centre a shuttle bus was put on.

Disliked: Nothing Really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Lacey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at the Sunflower Hotel for 3 nights and had the most amazing time in Hoi An staying there. The staff were very helpful and did not push tailors etc onto you as soon as you walked into the reception area, like so many other hotels I have heard about do. The swimming pool area is small but clean, with plenty of sun beds for all, we never had a problem with getting a sun bed. Also, and importantly, the pool water was clean and clear- so no problems with swimming at all. The room was incredibly clean and the bathroom spotless. The air conditioning worked perfectly- almost too well! They had HBO on the TV- which meant that while you got ready in the evenings to go out, you could actually have a film on in the background that was in English-wonderful added extra! The breakfast was interesting- a real mix of Western and Vietnamese, but in fairness to the hotel they were catering for alot of different nationalities. However, there was always fresh fruit, juice and pancakes with honey- yummy! All in all, I was very impressed with the hotel and I HIGHLY recommend it to any traveller or holiday maker who is looking for good value for money.

Disliked: Chloe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tobias Frykman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: We had a lovely balcony, the room was big and bright and everything else worked quite alright.

Disliked: nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. Breakfast buffet was amazing. Having a pool was great. The location was in between the beach and the downtown which I found to be convenient. The rooms were really nice and very clean. Best bathroom I've seen in my travels in SE asia so far. I would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Johnston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool, the menu and drinks were well priced and the breakfast buffet is fantastic value.

Disliked: Unfortunately they forgot to pick us up from the bus station. But that was only a mild inconvienance.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness and cleanliness

Disliked: Not close to eather beach or to the downtown

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hani sulastri hamid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Hani sulastri would recommend this property

Liked: they gave free pick up from the bus stop. the breakfast was the best. I love all the food and it was so worth it. the room was so clean. it was the best room we had. the money that we spent was worth it.

Disliked: the location was not in the city centre. we need to walk more than 10 minutes. but it was still okay. sometimes they have a free shuttle bus to town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful & friendly staff. Excellent & delicious choice of food for breakfast. The same day we arrived, they offered, without us asking, to move us from a small room on the top floor to a much better one with balcony on the floor below the very next day. Bright, good sized room once we'd moved. Walking in & out of town & cycling to the beach was a pleasure, not a chore, & it was a pleasant place to stay, away from the shopping frenzy of the centre of Hoi An.

Disliked: Rooms quite clean, but attention to minor cleaning details missing [e.g. grubby light switches, sand left on balcony, etc.] Nothing serious enough to be a real bother. Rooms on top [3rd in English] floor are a little bit pokey for 2 people, & have waist high windows so light, but without a view unless you crouch down! No lift means it could be a problem for someone with limited mobility.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julie Neilson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, clean hotel, great breakfast and very varied menu, keen to help staff and wonderful having a pool...

Disliked: Dislike is a strong word but I think the restaurant could have a better atmosphere in the evening to attract diners. However the Solo restaurant opposite is value for money and good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Hoi An hostels