HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

76.0% Overall Rating

339 out of 365 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Connie Hoang thinks…

"Good buffet breakfast, outdoor pool, between town and beach, pleasant staff, good security in rooms and overall hotel (staff seems to know who is staying there and not, also security cameras with a…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 173 reviews
Ancient House Resort
79.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.89 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
19.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
21.45 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

339 out of 365 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
72.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 341 of 359 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hani sulastri hamid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Hani sulastri would recommend this property

Liked: they gave free pick up from the bus stop. the breakfast was the best. I love all the food and it was so worth it. the room was so clean. it was the best room we had. the money that we spent was worth it.

Disliked: the location was not in the city centre. we need to walk more than 10 minutes. but it was still okay. sometimes they have a free shuttle bus to town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful & friendly staff. Excellent & delicious choice of food for breakfast. The same day we arrived, they offered, without us asking, to move us from a small room on the top floor to a much better one with balcony on the floor below the very next day. Bright, good sized room once we'd moved. Walking in & out of town & cycling to the beach was a pleasure, not a chore, & it was a pleasant place to stay, away from the shopping frenzy of the centre of Hoi An.

Disliked: Rooms quite clean, but attention to minor cleaning details missing [e.g. grubby light switches, sand left on balcony, etc.] Nothing serious enough to be a real bother. Rooms on top [3rd in English] floor are a little bit pokey for 2 people, & have waist high windows so light, but without a view unless you crouch down! No lift means it could be a problem for someone with limited mobility.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julie Neilson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, clean hotel, great breakfast and very varied menu, keen to help staff and wonderful having a pool...

Disliked: Dislike is a strong word but I think the restaurant could have a better atmosphere in the evening to attract diners. However the Solo restaurant opposite is value for money and good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graeme Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place. Clean, large rooms, good tv channels. You can rent a scooter night next to the entrance, very handy for going to the tombs at My Son cheaply. Special mention - we booked a bus, and a different, dodgy bus company collected us from the hotel (NOT THE HOTEL'S FAULT), then refused to give us any assistance when we wouldn't get on their bus and pay them. Sunflower staff got our real bus to wait for us, and without them we would have lost the price of our ticket and would have needed to pay for an extra night. (The bad bus company was named "Alex Bu" travel, just stay away from these gangsters). Stay at Sunflower, they're lovely.

Disliked: Graeme left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Gould

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good value, generous buffet breakfast (no extra charge), nice staff

Disliked: Wifi didn't work in my room on the top floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hotel half way between the beach and town. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Room were clean with bright windows. Handy free shuttle service into the town center. Great buffet breakfast included!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luke de Gouw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 February 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff behind the counter, nice big clean rooms. Probably the best free buffet breakfast we have ever had. The location is situated between the old town and the beach on the main rd, so it is not the best if you want to be in one more than the other but this suited us perfectly. It takes 10 mins to the old town, and 15mins to the beach by bike. Great area out the back to relax by the pool. WIFI fast and works well in room

Disliked: Shop around for bus tickets and tours. They are completely overpriced here. If your looking for a sleeper bus go to sinh tourist directly www.thesinhtourist.vn. The hotel charged us double ($30) more than what it was. It should cost you 600,000 dong to get to nha trang.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Harrington

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Most things, but in particular the breakfasts are probably the best we have had on this trip, at 10am the breakfast room turns into a restaurant which also serves excellent and very good value food and the swimming pool is very welcome after a hot day in the wonderfulold town of Hoi An.

Disliked: The only thing you can mark this hotel down on is its location, which means you have to have transport to either the beach or the old town. On the other hand, they provide a free shuttle to the town and if you miss it the taxi (metered) costs less than 30,000 dong (less than 1 pound sterling). If you don't like the noise from the next door bar, ask for a quiet room (upper floors - there are 4 floors).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a shuttle Bus going to town every half an hour and they also pick you up at the busstation for free. The rooms are really big and the breakfast is also great!!! I really would recomend this hotel!!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

rebecca lane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: it has a good breakfast as already stated, the room was clean, we walked it to town twice daily only took 10 minutes wasnt a drama at all

Disliked: on 2 out of the 4 computers were working so that caused a bit of a queue

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Bull

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Buffet breakfast, pool area, cheap restaurant. Free shuttle to town, cleanliness of room. Overall very enjoyable place to stay in Hoi an.

Disliked: room was alot smaller than expected from descriptions given but spotlessly clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized clean rooms. The breakfast is really nice. The place is a bit outside but you can rent bikes for a dollar and the 5-10 minute bikeride in to toan is really nice. Good value hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Ruberto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

18 January 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Got free buffet breakfast, Rooms were spacious and clean, good air con and shower pressure, the staff were very helpful and there is a free shuttle into town as it is a long walk. Loved the pool also.

Disliked: The shower was cold at some times of the day (pretty standard around Asia though)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gillian Doherty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful the whole time. As mentioned, the breakfast is much better than most hostels in SE Asia. The pool area makes is a good way to meet people.

Disliked: The distance to the centre of Hoi An did end up being a bit annoying for me. Going out at night or even just for dinner felt like way too much of a mission and not really safe to walk home at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Eyre

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were good. Staff was always happy to help. The best thing about the place was the massive breakfast!! really good value for money. fridge in room was handy to keep the beer cold. free bananas in room everyday and room made everyday. Nice place A++

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - excellent breakfast buffet - pick-up from the bus-station - shuttle-bus to the center

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and breakfast are great, A++++

Disliked: Not much, it's a good one:)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Yeok Tho MAH

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012

Liked: 1. Shuttle bus every half an hour to the city 2. Basket of fruits given every day 3. Buffet breakfast

Disliked: 1. We (4 adults male & female, not couple) booked 4 private beds (ensuite) but were given 2 double-bed room initially but finally given 3 beds (ensuite) at a slightly discounted price. 2. Beds are a little damp (may be due to raining season) 3. Shuttle bus every half an hour to go to the city, but had to call the hotel to pick up from the city back to hotel (inconvenient for those without local contact) 4. No wifi detected in the room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Parker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: staff, clean, helpfull

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Our room smelled damp.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah tooth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and happy to help. Free breakfast is nice, they have an egg counter so you can order fresh eggs cooked how you like. Housekeeping changed towels, restocked the room and made beds daily (this is the first time I have had this since travelling over the past 3 months). Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast buffet. I ate 4 plate gulls of food each morning. Bike rental out the front is great. The hotel isn't as far from town as some reviewers make it out to be. About a 10 min stroll. The beach is 15 min away on bike.

Disliked: There are no loungers around the pool, although I did stay in December so that may be why.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrew Grogan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful. the shuttle was brilliant, running every half hour which was very easy to work around. the free buffet breakfast was nice.

Disliked: there was not a designated pick up time or place for the shuttle. it had to be rung to come out so it was a little difficult without a phone.


See all Hoi An hostels