HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

81.6% Overall Rating

328 out of 352 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

"A nice hostel centrally located in Hoi An. The staff was great and quickly provided us with a map and showed us the main areas. They were very helpful in sorting out tickets to our next destination. The pool was great…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.8% 168 reviews
Ancient House Resort
78.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.36 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.72 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
20.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
25.08 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

328 out of 352 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 347 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lisa Gullo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: this was a mix of a hostle and a hotel in atmosphere. The pool/common area was filled with young travelers/backpakers. The hotel staff was very friendly. the free breakfast was very nice and the shower had lots of hot water! I really liked the location as well. right between the city any the beach. A short bike ride to both.

Disliked: there were a few stains on the bedding and towels, and our T.V. was broken (which they made a good attempt to fix) not a deal breaker. no major dislikes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a pool and a big buffet breakfast included with the price. I love having fruit shakes for breakfast! The bed was huge and so was the room. Our balcony overlooked the pool. The reception staff were friendly and we were picked up from our open tour bus for free. Our bus arrived at 6am and the hotel had been full the night before but they had a room for us by 8am. About 10 mins walk to the old town. We ate at the restaurant one night too when we were tired and the food was good and reasonably priced (unlike some places in the old town!).

Disliked: Towels were looking pretty old. One used towel left in our room from the previous occupant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ,

Disliked: there was no wardrobe in my room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew King

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. The hotel itself is really nice and the free breakfast was great. The pool is also a decent size. Superb value for money, would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marleene Ydhag

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012 Marleene would recommend this property

Liked: Sunflower is a brilliant place to stay.Right in the middle of Old Town and the beach.Hotel provides shuttle bus every hour to and from Old Town,but you can easily walk there as well.Beach is 3 km away but u can rent a bicycle for only a dollar a day.The most awesome buffet breakfast included,helpfull staff,comfortable room.Myself and my 3 year old daughter loved the free swimming pool,where you can meet up with other guests and have a chat.There is also a restaurant and a bar with nice drinks.Buy one coctail get one free and pooltable.We ended up staying 8 nights here cause we really liked it.

Disliked: Nothing at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel picked us up from out bus stop in Hoi An... Good buffet breakfast, pool is a great asset, spacious rooms and the WiFi was reliable even outside by the pool. Staff were helpful and friendly, sorted out our onward journey tickets and there is a free shuttle into the old town every half hour.

Disliked: Firstly some of the hotel rooms were undergoing renovation. this started early and sometimes got noisy outside by the pool in the afternoon. I would also estimate that the beach is more like 5km away and not something that you'd want to walk in this heat.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great shuttle service to get to town. The breakfast buffet was big and delicious. Clean rooms. The cocktails in the bar are delicious. There is a pool table for free pleasure. We didn't jump into the pool, but it looked ok.

Disliked: There were some construction work going on, but only during daytime so it didn't affect us too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel, very friendly staff, very good room for this price!!

Disliked: a bit out of the center, but good bikes in de shop next door (1 USD a day)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Monk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and well appointed for a 2-star hotel. Staff helped us with our bags which was appreciated as our room was on the top floor. Absolutely wonderful to have a pool and free breakfast was great - though don't expect a western style cooked breakfast or even continental. There were cereals and fruits and plenty of strange hot foods that I would normally class as lunch, but that's how it works in this part of the world! Room was nice - hot water in ensuite which was very clean. Free bananas in room which was a nice touch.

Disliked: One or two of the restaurant staff were a little abrupt, but food was great. Booked train tickets to Hanoi through reception and they charged us 10% commission which I thought was a bit steep putting that on the customer and just for the sake of them making a phone call, but with the train station half an hour's bus journey away and running out of time, we didn't have a vast amount of choice.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012

Liked: The decor is nice, breakfast was buffet style, with fruits, bread, local noodles, omelette station, pancakes. The staff are very friendly.

Disliked: We booked 2 private twin rooms (ensuite) and the staff assigned the wrong rooms to us, gave us 4 in one room and they rectify the error rather quickly. However, the toilet for one of the twin rooms was very smelly. It was like the smell of sewerage and we requested for a change of rooms. On the second day, we realized both rooms were infested with ants. 2 of my friends had ants crawling into their breads that was left in the rooms even though they were tied with plastic bags.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

William Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012

Liked: Includes a bool; decent amount of choices at buffet breakfast; nice bar with pool table; good size room; staff were generally helpful and friendly

Disliked: Long walk to centre of town although there is a free shuttle bus every 30 minutes; sheets were a bit dirty; never anyone in the bar and it closes very early (10pm)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt chalmers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great outdoor pool and a big breakfast buffet included in price, great hotel for the price and popular with backpackers, families and couples. Staff are very friendly and its in a good location for both the centre of Hoi An and the beach, stayed 4 nights in the end and highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was very nice and the breakfast buffet is good. The room was clean and the staff were lovely especially the guy who runs the bar! ( i cant remember his name). The hotel isn't right in town but they offer shuttle buses into town free of charge and takes about 20mins to walk back to the hotel or you can rent bikes for1$ for the day. The pool is really nice and refreshing and they have lots of sunbeds to relax on.

Disliked: We had a room next to reception which was quite loud in the morning as you can hear traffic and sometimes all the people in the reception area, also no windows with sunlight but i would recommend the sunflower hotel and i would go back just ask for a different room!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012

Liked: Rooms were big and clean, with hot water and AC. Breakfast was good. Staff were helpful and friendly - they let me print out pictures of a dress for free. Bikes/scooters right outside for rent everyday.

Disliked: I would say this place is not the greatest location - its a good 20mins walk into town and 3km from the beach - so I would advise either staying nearer town or at the beach (not in the middle!) Swimming pool was nice - although a little on the dirty side.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good buffet breakfast, large clean room, 3 computers free of charge. Good advice about where to get clothes made and a guest review book at reception. My husband got a suit made at Peace tailors recommended in book - cheaper as outside main tourist area (3 piece suit 120 USD) but good quality material and well made. Brilliant little restaurant just next door to hotel - great food and low prices with friendly staff. Ate there every evening.

Disliked: Disorganised about airport transfers. Hotel seemed reluctant to put groups together. We booked taxi at same time as another couple and decided to go together. Hotel said we couldnt have a normal car for 4 people as it was illegal for taxi to carry passengers in the front. Instead we had to have a mini bus (12 seater turned up) but still cheaper than 2 cars. Turned out there were at least 6 people from hotel on our flight and a couple of taxis left just before our bus which could have taken everyone. They reuse the coffee filters so get to breakfast early for decent coffee

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, super nice staff, the free breakfast buffet is awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tomas Bayer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay on a halfway to a town-center and a beach

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

nicolo Nielsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 nicolo would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpful. Beautiful hotel with awesome pool! Breakfast is GREAT!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful, too. The room was a great size, the bed was comfortable and the A/C was much appreciated. Our stay was pleasant. You have privacy and can rest easily in your room, and there's a great area by the pool where you can socialise with other guests. The buffet breakfast was great. It is only a ten minute walk into town - don't let the mini-bus fool you into thinking it is ages away! It is right in the middle between the town and the beach - perfect!

Disliked: We booked a train ticket with them to Hanoi, and they charged us 9,000,000VND. When we got the ticket it said on the ticket the actual price (for foreigners) was around 7,000,000VND - the hotel also additionally charged us a three dollar commission and one dollar booking fee. Go elsewhere in town and see if you can get a better deal on tickets!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The superior room was large, clean, bathroom with a bathtub. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Hotel was about 20 minutes easy walk from the main part of town.

Disliked: The reception staff werent that friendly or informative. Was difficult of getting information on any tours.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast,pool is fab too

Disliked: Expensive if your travelling alone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary howard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast, impeccable rooms, shuttle bus to old city, the pool, the great staff. I stayed twice at Sunflower, but even with more than 2 weeks between visits the staff remembered my breakfast habits and as soon as I arrived in the dining room a little bowl of lemon instantly appeared by my side without my asking for it. Small touches like this make such a difference. The friendly Vietnamese owner is always on site, and we had many interesting conversations by the pool. This is the best place I stayed during 3 months in Vietnam, from all points of view.

Disliked: Emphatically nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Raven

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Bargain for what you get and the staff are really helpful and friendly - booked our train tickets for us and helped sort out when we changed our minds about the destination we wanted to go to.

Disliked: Nada

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great, with fresh juice, rice, noodles, fruit, cereal, eggs, etc. you can fill up for the whole day if you want. The staff were very friendly and able to help with everything from laundry to train tickets in a quick and friendly manner. Shower is one of the best I've had in Asia in a while. The location is great if you want to spend equal time at the beach and the old town. If you are mainly interested in the old town, it's a little out of the way.

Disliked: My room and the interior of the hotel are outdated, and for $20/night you can get a much much nicer room in the rest of Vietnam, though it seems that Hoi An is more expensive. My room had a faint smell that I noticed every time that I entered, but quickly got used to. It was also quite small for a double room.


See all Hoi An hostels