We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

74.1% Overall Rating

348 out of 377 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Ugo Bodino thinks…

"The hostel is def the best in town for partying, meeting up with travelers, or even chilling out during the day by the pool... Rooms are okay. It has a nice garden bar, pool table, and table…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 175 reviews
Hoi An Glory Hotel & Spa
26.03 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Ancient House Resort
78.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
40.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
MUCA Hoian Boutique Resort & Spa
22.72 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Riverside Oasis Villa
15.62 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.1%

Overall Rating

348 out of 377 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
69.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 350 of 369 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danielle Austin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: - The breakfast buffet was brilliant (including for vegetarians). - The pool is large and a good temperature (not too hot, not too cold) - The rooms are clean - The beds are very comfortable

Disliked: - The music can be a bit "party" including in the morning at breakfast - Prices for things, e.g. taxis to Danang, are flexible (which can be a pro or con)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Ziolkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff!! With a lot offen service for free vor example shuttle service to town :-) . Terrific breakfast buffett. Nice atmosphere and clean, totally recomandable!!!

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Buckler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 November 2012

Liked: The hotel is great, jump on a bike and cycle to the beach in 10 minutes. Nice pool, rooms and the breakfast is great.

Disliked: We had 2,000 Thai Baht stole from a wallet in our room, the day before we left to the airport we checked how much Thai Baht we had for when we arrive in Thailand the next day. When we arrived in Bangkok we got our money out and were very shocked to find we were 2,000 Baht down. Literally the only time the money was our was in the room for 30 seconds in the Sunflower and then again once we go to Bangkok. The only time the wallet was unattended was in our room at the Sunflower Hotel. The wallet was at the bottom of a bag so it's worrying to think the maids are going through guests bags. I would of rather e-mailed the management about this matter but I can't find a website or e-mail address for the Hotel. This matter put a downer on what was otherwise a lovely stay. If the management want to get in touch we us about this matter please e-mail me, helloimdrew@live.com

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast spread. Friendly staff. Large, airy rooms. Pool. Bike rentals.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Bryant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

25 October 2012 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Nice swimming pool, and amazing buffet breakfast. The bar area is well done also, with excellent cocktail specials and pretty decent food all at very reasonable prices, meaning you can hang around the hotel in the evening, and aren't forced into travelling into the centre of town (however it's definitely worth visiting Hoi Ann at night at least once). Rooms were spacious and even come with baths (at least in the superior rooms), and the staff were always very friendly and willing to help. Overall our stay was extremely pleasant and represented very good value, which is saying something considering the number of good hotels in Hoi Ann.

Disliked: A little bit long from the old town, but the free shuttle buses and bikes that can be rented for a dollar make up for that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Clean rooms. Great breakfast. Nice pool and outdoor area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Monk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly welcome including free mango juice and a cold wet flannel, ideal after the night train! Brilliant staff and good breakfast. Ideal location and competitively priced bike/motorbike hire.out the front. Would definitely reccomend

Disliked: Andy left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious well furnished rooms, nice bathrooms. Good pool. Great buffet breakfast. Location is okay, can easily get to all places by bicycle.

Disliked: Extremely bad mannered staff, I also saw kitchen staff pick food up from floor and continue to use it. Noise coming into my room from the street and the rest of the hotel was unbelievable. I think I got bed bugs too. Not sure what else could explain the many consecutive bites on my legs after one night staying there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool. Oddly, whenever I used it - in the evenings - I was the only one in it, whcih was great! The very efficient helpful reception staff, who organised everything I asked for in the blink of an eye.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hhotel has a great atmosphere. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and eager to help. The bar prices were VERY reasonable and the pool was handy on the hot days. One of the best budget hotels we stayed in throughout Asia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robin wolfert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel, good location and nice staff. Breakfast is great!

Disliked: Robin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet friendly atmosphere, big clean rooms, and the pool is great.It's a walk to the centre of town but not too far and it's lovely and quiet.The restaurant next door is excellent and very reasonable.Bicycle rental for $1 a day so can ride or catch a taxi to the beach. Overall a great place to stay. This is our second stay here and we will be back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firendly staff, nice breakfast. Has a nice pool.

Disliked: Not very clean. Other hotels in Vietnam offer a better value for money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service and wonderful staff! We enjoyed laying by the pool, buy one get one free cocktail for happy hour, and our room was large with a balcony. The breakfast buffet was amazing as well. Great choice of hotel in Hoi An!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jonathan Lumb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The superior rooms are reasonable but I would give their standard rooms a miss. The breakfast buffet isn't bad provided you get there early enough.

Disliked: Some of the staff were brusque and impatient - definitely not the most welcoming hotel I've stayed at. Furthermore, some of the rooms were ant-infested to varying degrees. Location is also a bit far-removed from the town centre - a good 15 minute walk each way.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large room with comfortable furnishings, free shuttle to Hoi An, swimming pool

Disliked: The shuttle to Hoi An finishes by 9 pm leaving little time in town in the evening.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jesse Wirz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere by the pool area, cheap breakfasts, not bad location short ride to beach on moped or cycle. Not a bad place to stay at all, safe and with everything needed.

Disliked: Fairly expensive in terms of backpacking. Felt like hotel ripped us off when booking our train tickets. Room aircon wasn't very good and smelt from bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Graham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Reception staff were so friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for you! made to feel very welcom after a long horrible journey on an overnight bus! Would recommend hotel to anyone!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012

Liked: Hotel itself was fine - clean comfortable room (a double on 2nd floor) with aircon, breakfast buffet was pretty good and was included in price, 4 computers for internet access in lobby and wi-fi in room. Pool around the back, if that's your thing.

Disliked: Was overcharged for room on check out, but only realised after I paid - when I politely pointed this out staff got all shirty, refused refund. Location is also some way out of town, probably 20 mins walk or so, and there are far better alternatives that cost less much closer to the old town - next day I moved to equivalent room within 5 mins of old town for almost half the price (Hoa My hotel). Worth saying that there is a lot of good cheap accommodation in central Hoi An, but I don't think many of them list themselves on hostel booking websites.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lisa Gullo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: this was a mix of a hostle and a hotel in atmosphere. The pool/common area was filled with young travelers/backpakers. The hotel staff was very friendly. the free breakfast was very nice and the shower had lots of hot water! I really liked the location as well. right between the city any the beach. A short bike ride to both.

Disliked: there were a few stains on the bedding and towels, and our T.V. was broken (which they made a good attempt to fix) not a deal breaker. no major dislikes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a pool and a big buffet breakfast included with the price. I love having fruit shakes for breakfast! The bed was huge and so was the room. Our balcony overlooked the pool. The reception staff were friendly and we were picked up from our open tour bus for free. Our bus arrived at 6am and the hotel had been full the night before but they had a room for us by 8am. About 10 mins walk to the old town. We ate at the restaurant one night too when we were tired and the food was good and reasonably priced (unlike some places in the old town!).

Disliked: Towels were looking pretty old. One used towel left in our room from the previous occupant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ,

Disliked: there was no wardrobe in my room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew King

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. The hotel itself is really nice and the free breakfast was great. The pool is also a decent size. Superb value for money, would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marleene Ydhag

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012 Marleene would recommend this property

Liked: Sunflower is a brilliant place to stay.Right in the middle of Old Town and the beach.Hotel provides shuttle bus every hour to and from Old Town,but you can easily walk there as well.Beach is 3 km away but u can rent a bicycle for only a dollar a day.The most awesome buffet breakfast included,helpfull staff,comfortable room.Myself and my 3 year old daughter loved the free swimming pool,where you can meet up with other guests and have a chat.There is also a restaurant and a bar with nice drinks.Buy one coctail get one free and pooltable.We ended up staying 8 nights here cause we really liked it.

Disliked: Nothing at all


See all Hoi An hostels