HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

77.0% Overall Rating

338 out of 364 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"There's a really nice pool and outdoor bar where you can meet a lot of other travelers. The room was clean and quite a good size."

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 173 reviews
Ancient House Resort
78.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.87 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.62 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
21.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
21.45 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

338 out of 364 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 340 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hhotel has a great atmosphere. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and eager to help. The bar prices were VERY reasonable and the pool was handy on the hot days. One of the best budget hotels we stayed in throughout Asia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robin wolfert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel, good location and nice staff. Breakfast is great!

Disliked: Robin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet friendly atmosphere, big clean rooms, and the pool is great.It's a walk to the centre of town but not too far and it's lovely and quiet.The restaurant next door is excellent and very reasonable.Bicycle rental for $1 a day so can ride or catch a taxi to the beach. Overall a great place to stay. This is our second stay here and we will be back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firendly staff, nice breakfast. Has a nice pool.

Disliked: Not very clean. Other hotels in Vietnam offer a better value for money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service and wonderful staff! We enjoyed laying by the pool, buy one get one free cocktail for happy hour, and our room was large with a balcony. The breakfast buffet was amazing as well. Great choice of hotel in Hoi An!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jonathan Lumb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The superior rooms are reasonable but I would give their standard rooms a miss. The breakfast buffet isn't bad provided you get there early enough.

Disliked: Some of the staff were brusque and impatient - definitely not the most welcoming hotel I've stayed at. Furthermore, some of the rooms were ant-infested to varying degrees. Location is also a bit far-removed from the town centre - a good 15 minute walk each way.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large room with comfortable furnishings, free shuttle to Hoi An, swimming pool

Disliked: The shuttle to Hoi An finishes by 9 pm leaving little time in town in the evening.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jesse Wirz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere by the pool area, cheap breakfasts, not bad location short ride to beach on moped or cycle. Not a bad place to stay at all, safe and with everything needed.

Disliked: Fairly expensive in terms of backpacking. Felt like hotel ripped us off when booking our train tickets. Room aircon wasn't very good and smelt from bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Graham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Reception staff were so friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for you! made to feel very welcom after a long horrible journey on an overnight bus! Would recommend hotel to anyone!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012

Liked: Hotel itself was fine - clean comfortable room (a double on 2nd floor) with aircon, breakfast buffet was pretty good and was included in price, 4 computers for internet access in lobby and wi-fi in room. Pool around the back, if that's your thing.

Disliked: Was overcharged for room on check out, but only realised after I paid - when I politely pointed this out staff got all shirty, refused refund. Location is also some way out of town, probably 20 mins walk or so, and there are far better alternatives that cost less much closer to the old town - next day I moved to equivalent room within 5 mins of old town for almost half the price (Hoa My hotel). Worth saying that there is a lot of good cheap accommodation in central Hoi An, but I don't think many of them list themselves on hostel booking websites.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lisa Gullo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: this was a mix of a hostle and a hotel in atmosphere. The pool/common area was filled with young travelers/backpakers. The hotel staff was very friendly. the free breakfast was very nice and the shower had lots of hot water! I really liked the location as well. right between the city any the beach. A short bike ride to both.

Disliked: there were a few stains on the bedding and towels, and our T.V. was broken (which they made a good attempt to fix) not a deal breaker. no major dislikes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a pool and a big buffet breakfast included with the price. I love having fruit shakes for breakfast! The bed was huge and so was the room. Our balcony overlooked the pool. The reception staff were friendly and we were picked up from our open tour bus for free. Our bus arrived at 6am and the hotel had been full the night before but they had a room for us by 8am. About 10 mins walk to the old town. We ate at the restaurant one night too when we were tired and the food was good and reasonably priced (unlike some places in the old town!).

Disliked: Towels were looking pretty old. One used towel left in our room from the previous occupant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ,

Disliked: there was no wardrobe in my room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew King

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. The hotel itself is really nice and the free breakfast was great. The pool is also a decent size. Superb value for money, would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marleene Ydhag

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012 Marleene would recommend this property

Liked: Sunflower is a brilliant place to stay.Right in the middle of Old Town and the beach.Hotel provides shuttle bus every hour to and from Old Town,but you can easily walk there as well.Beach is 3 km away but u can rent a bicycle for only a dollar a day.The most awesome buffet breakfast included,helpfull staff,comfortable room.Myself and my 3 year old daughter loved the free swimming pool,where you can meet up with other guests and have a chat.There is also a restaurant and a bar with nice drinks.Buy one coctail get one free and pooltable.We ended up staying 8 nights here cause we really liked it.

Disliked: Nothing at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel picked us up from out bus stop in Hoi An... Good buffet breakfast, pool is a great asset, spacious rooms and the WiFi was reliable even outside by the pool. Staff were helpful and friendly, sorted out our onward journey tickets and there is a free shuttle into the old town every half hour.

Disliked: Firstly some of the hotel rooms were undergoing renovation. this started early and sometimes got noisy outside by the pool in the afternoon. I would also estimate that the beach is more like 5km away and not something that you'd want to walk in this heat.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great shuttle service to get to town. The breakfast buffet was big and delicious. Clean rooms. The cocktails in the bar are delicious. There is a pool table for free pleasure. We didn't jump into the pool, but it looked ok.

Disliked: There were some construction work going on, but only during daytime so it didn't affect us too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel, very friendly staff, very good room for this price!!

Disliked: a bit out of the center, but good bikes in de shop next door (1 USD a day)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Monk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and well appointed for a 2-star hotel. Staff helped us with our bags which was appreciated as our room was on the top floor. Absolutely wonderful to have a pool and free breakfast was great - though don't expect a western style cooked breakfast or even continental. There were cereals and fruits and plenty of strange hot foods that I would normally class as lunch, but that's how it works in this part of the world! Room was nice - hot water in ensuite which was very clean. Free bananas in room which was a nice touch.

Disliked: One or two of the restaurant staff were a little abrupt, but food was great. Booked train tickets to Hanoi through reception and they charged us 10% commission which I thought was a bit steep putting that on the customer and just for the sake of them making a phone call, but with the train station half an hour's bus journey away and running out of time, we didn't have a vast amount of choice.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012

Liked: The decor is nice, breakfast was buffet style, with fruits, bread, local noodles, omelette station, pancakes. The staff are very friendly.

Disliked: We booked 2 private twin rooms (ensuite) and the staff assigned the wrong rooms to us, gave us 4 in one room and they rectify the error rather quickly. However, the toilet for one of the twin rooms was very smelly. It was like the smell of sewerage and we requested for a change of rooms. On the second day, we realized both rooms were infested with ants. 2 of my friends had ants crawling into their breads that was left in the rooms even though they were tied with plastic bags.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

William Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012

Liked: Includes a bool; decent amount of choices at buffet breakfast; nice bar with pool table; good size room; staff were generally helpful and friendly

Disliked: Long walk to centre of town although there is a free shuttle bus every 30 minutes; sheets were a bit dirty; never anyone in the bar and it closes very early (10pm)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt chalmers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great outdoor pool and a big breakfast buffet included in price, great hotel for the price and popular with backpackers, families and couples. Staff are very friendly and its in a good location for both the centre of Hoi An and the beach, stayed 4 nights in the end and highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was very nice and the breakfast buffet is good. The room was clean and the staff were lovely especially the guy who runs the bar! ( i cant remember his name). The hotel isn't right in town but they offer shuttle buses into town free of charge and takes about 20mins to walk back to the hotel or you can rent bikes for1$ for the day. The pool is really nice and refreshing and they have lots of sunbeds to relax on.

Disliked: We had a room next to reception which was quite loud in the morning as you can hear traffic and sometimes all the people in the reception area, also no windows with sunlight but i would recommend the sunflower hotel and i would go back just ask for a different room!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012

Liked: Rooms were big and clean, with hot water and AC. Breakfast was good. Staff were helpful and friendly - they let me print out pictures of a dress for free. Bikes/scooters right outside for rent everyday.

Disliked: I would say this place is not the greatest location - its a good 20mins walk into town and 3km from the beach - so I would advise either staying nearer town or at the beach (not in the middle!) Swimming pool was nice - although a little on the dirty side.


See all Hoi An hostels