HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

77.0% Overall Rating

338 out of 364 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"There's a really nice pool and outdoor bar where you can meet a lot of other travelers. The room was clean and quite a good size."

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 173 reviews
Ancient House Resort
78.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.87 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.62 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
21.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
21.45 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

338 out of 364 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 340 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, bright and airy with spacious rooms and great showers! Breakfast was also really good and available from 6.30am-10am.

Disliked: We arranged a shuttle bus to the bus station but there was a lot of confusion and the driver tried to take us to some random place we didn't want to be.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good rooms, great breakfast and facilities

Disliked: nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can eat the for a very cheap price, its great. The shower is very nice.

Disliked: The beds were very hard. You can not pay by creditcard.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast bufet, nice receptionists. cheap bike and motorbike rent just outside, clean bedsheets.

Disliked: location is a bit far off the centre. In Dorm, a bigger garbage bin is required, too much stuff left on the table(bottles, flyers, maps etc). Not removed from staff because they don't know whether the traveller already left. Therefore the room looks much dirtier than it actually is.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christine Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Great buffet breakfast, brilliant for the budget traveller! Also has a pool which is a nice touch, although it was a little cold for me. Good for what you pay.

Disliked: Our twin room smelt of damp when you went in, and not great for meeting other travellers, unless you get in one of the dorm rooms that seem to book up quickly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool area is nice with seating and sun loungers. There is also a bar and pool table available. Our room was clean and as expected for the price paid. This hotel is situated half way between the beach and the old city so its a good choice if you expect to spend your time between the two.

Disliked: The room was quite small and we were disappointed with the breakfast as previous reviews had stated how good it was. The breakfast is buffet so its all you can eat, but it is traditional Vietnamese so expect noodles, and rice. However they did also serve cereals, fruit and pancakes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juliane Viehweg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Juliane would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast with huge buffet and all kind of foods

Disliked: Juliane left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Lok

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 January 2013 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: The buffet breakfast - it was good, the menu differs everyday and it's easily one of the best breakfasts we had had in Vietnam. The room was spotlessly clean, and definitely worth the value. One thing was that the hotel is always overbooked so you gotta plan your trip carefully if you wanna stay here. Oh, and the pool is awesome! They had floatation device for kids too - the pool is 1.5m deep.

Disliked: They have too many guests to look after so unlike other smaller hostels, the treatment wasn't very personal. But that's understandable, given that the hotel is always full.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christina hartenberger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012 christina would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast is amazing! stuff is very friendly and helpful

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful. It was a good location. The room was nice.

Disliked: It was a little cold at night and they didn't supply blankets only a sheet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Kristensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2012 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice and clean. Great breakfast! :)

Disliked: The walk to the city is a little long, but there is a shuttelbus, which is cool.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, good rooms, good location half way between the beach and town

Disliked: only thing i didn't like was the map on hostelbookers is wrong. the location indicated is about 6.5km away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Patrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is very good for the price. The restaurant has good food and is cheap and the pool and sun loungers an added bonus.

Disliked: The woman renting motorbikes out the front unhelpful and annoying. It was cheaper to rent for 1 day at a time instead of 3 in a row.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice restaurant and bar/pool area.

Disliked: The beds were very hard!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, clean spacious room

Disliked: High drinks prices at the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danielle Austin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: - The breakfast buffet was brilliant (including for vegetarians). - The pool is large and a good temperature (not too hot, not too cold) - The rooms are clean - The beds are very comfortable

Disliked: - The music can be a bit "party" including in the morning at breakfast - Prices for things, e.g. taxis to Danang, are flexible (which can be a pro or con)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Ziolkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff!! With a lot offen service for free vor example shuttle service to town :-) . Terrific breakfast buffett. Nice atmosphere and clean, totally recomandable!!!

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Buckler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 November 2012

Liked: The hotel is great, jump on a bike and cycle to the beach in 10 minutes. Nice pool, rooms and the breakfast is great.

Disliked: We had 2,000 Thai Baht stole from a wallet in our room, the day before we left to the airport we checked how much Thai Baht we had for when we arrive in Thailand the next day. When we arrived in Bangkok we got our money out and were very shocked to find we were 2,000 Baht down. Literally the only time the money was our was in the room for 30 seconds in the Sunflower and then again once we go to Bangkok. The only time the wallet was unattended was in our room at the Sunflower Hotel. The wallet was at the bottom of a bag so it's worrying to think the maids are going through guests bags. I would of rather e-mailed the management about this matter but I can't find a website or e-mail address for the Hotel. This matter put a downer on what was otherwise a lovely stay. If the management want to get in touch we us about this matter please e-mail me, helloimdrew@live.com

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast spread. Friendly staff. Large, airy rooms. Pool. Bike rentals.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Bryant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

25 October 2012 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Nice swimming pool, and amazing buffet breakfast. The bar area is well done also, with excellent cocktail specials and pretty decent food all at very reasonable prices, meaning you can hang around the hotel in the evening, and aren't forced into travelling into the centre of town (however it's definitely worth visiting Hoi Ann at night at least once). Rooms were spacious and even come with baths (at least in the superior rooms), and the staff were always very friendly and willing to help. Overall our stay was extremely pleasant and represented very good value, which is saying something considering the number of good hotels in Hoi Ann.

Disliked: A little bit long from the old town, but the free shuttle buses and bikes that can be rented for a dollar make up for that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Clean rooms. Great breakfast. Nice pool and outdoor area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Monk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly welcome including free mango juice and a cold wet flannel, ideal after the night train! Brilliant staff and good breakfast. Ideal location and competitively priced bike/motorbike hire.out the front. Would definitely reccomend

Disliked: Andy left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious well furnished rooms, nice bathrooms. Good pool. Great buffet breakfast. Location is okay, can easily get to all places by bicycle.

Disliked: Extremely bad mannered staff, I also saw kitchen staff pick food up from floor and continue to use it. Noise coming into my room from the street and the rest of the hotel was unbelievable. I think I got bed bugs too. Not sure what else could explain the many consecutive bites on my legs after one night staying there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool. Oddly, whenever I used it - in the evenings - I was the only one in it, whcih was great! The very efficient helpful reception staff, who organised everything I asked for in the blink of an eye.

Disliked: Nothing really.


See all Hoi An hostels