HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

81.6% Overall Rating

328 out of 352 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

"A nice hostel centrally located in Hoi An. The staff was great and quickly provided us with a map and showed us the main areas. They were very helpful in sorting out tickets to our next destination. The pool was great…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 167 reviews
Ancient House Resort
79.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
35.01 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
20.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
26.50 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

328 out of 352 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 347 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Kristensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2012 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice and clean. Great breakfast! :)

Disliked: The walk to the city is a little long, but there is a shuttelbus, which is cool.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, good rooms, good location half way between the beach and town

Disliked: only thing i didn't like was the map on hostelbookers is wrong. the location indicated is about 6.5km away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Patrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is very good for the price. The restaurant has good food and is cheap and the pool and sun loungers an added bonus.

Disliked: The woman renting motorbikes out the front unhelpful and annoying. It was cheaper to rent for 1 day at a time instead of 3 in a row.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice restaurant and bar/pool area.

Disliked: The beds were very hard!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, clean spacious room

Disliked: High drinks prices at the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danielle Austin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: - The breakfast buffet was brilliant (including for vegetarians). - The pool is large and a good temperature (not too hot, not too cold) - The rooms are clean - The beds are very comfortable

Disliked: - The music can be a bit "party" including in the morning at breakfast - Prices for things, e.g. taxis to Danang, are flexible (which can be a pro or con)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Ziolkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff!! With a lot offen service for free vor example shuttle service to town :-) . Terrific breakfast buffett. Nice atmosphere and clean, totally recomandable!!!

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Buckler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 November 2012

Liked: The hotel is great, jump on a bike and cycle to the beach in 10 minutes. Nice pool, rooms and the breakfast is great.

Disliked: We had 2,000 Thai Baht stole from a wallet in our room, the day before we left to the airport we checked how much Thai Baht we had for when we arrive in Thailand the next day. When we arrived in Bangkok we got our money out and were very shocked to find we were 2,000 Baht down. Literally the only time the money was our was in the room for 30 seconds in the Sunflower and then again once we go to Bangkok. The only time the wallet was unattended was in our room at the Sunflower Hotel. The wallet was at the bottom of a bag so it's worrying to think the maids are going through guests bags. I would of rather e-mailed the management about this matter but I can't find a website or e-mail address for the Hotel. This matter put a downer on what was otherwise a lovely stay. If the management want to get in touch we us about this matter please e-mail me, helloimdrew@live.com

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast spread. Friendly staff. Large, airy rooms. Pool. Bike rentals.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Bryant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

25 October 2012 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Nice swimming pool, and amazing buffet breakfast. The bar area is well done also, with excellent cocktail specials and pretty decent food all at very reasonable prices, meaning you can hang around the hotel in the evening, and aren't forced into travelling into the centre of town (however it's definitely worth visiting Hoi Ann at night at least once). Rooms were spacious and even come with baths (at least in the superior rooms), and the staff were always very friendly and willing to help. Overall our stay was extremely pleasant and represented very good value, which is saying something considering the number of good hotels in Hoi Ann.

Disliked: A little bit long from the old town, but the free shuttle buses and bikes that can be rented for a dollar make up for that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Clean rooms. Great breakfast. Nice pool and outdoor area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Monk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly welcome including free mango juice and a cold wet flannel, ideal after the night train! Brilliant staff and good breakfast. Ideal location and competitively priced bike/motorbike hire.out the front. Would definitely reccomend

Disliked: Andy left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious well furnished rooms, nice bathrooms. Good pool. Great buffet breakfast. Location is okay, can easily get to all places by bicycle.

Disliked: Extremely bad mannered staff, I also saw kitchen staff pick food up from floor and continue to use it. Noise coming into my room from the street and the rest of the hotel was unbelievable. I think I got bed bugs too. Not sure what else could explain the many consecutive bites on my legs after one night staying there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool. Oddly, whenever I used it - in the evenings - I was the only one in it, whcih was great! The very efficient helpful reception staff, who organised everything I asked for in the blink of an eye.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hhotel has a great atmosphere. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and eager to help. The bar prices were VERY reasonable and the pool was handy on the hot days. One of the best budget hotels we stayed in throughout Asia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robin wolfert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel, good location and nice staff. Breakfast is great!

Disliked: Robin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet friendly atmosphere, big clean rooms, and the pool is great.It's a walk to the centre of town but not too far and it's lovely and quiet.The restaurant next door is excellent and very reasonable.Bicycle rental for $1 a day so can ride or catch a taxi to the beach. Overall a great place to stay. This is our second stay here and we will be back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firendly staff, nice breakfast. Has a nice pool.

Disliked: Not very clean. Other hotels in Vietnam offer a better value for money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service and wonderful staff! We enjoyed laying by the pool, buy one get one free cocktail for happy hour, and our room was large with a balcony. The breakfast buffet was amazing as well. Great choice of hotel in Hoi An!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jonathan Lumb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The superior rooms are reasonable but I would give their standard rooms a miss. The breakfast buffet isn't bad provided you get there early enough.

Disliked: Some of the staff were brusque and impatient - definitely not the most welcoming hotel I've stayed at. Furthermore, some of the rooms were ant-infested to varying degrees. Location is also a bit far-removed from the town centre - a good 15 minute walk each way.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large room with comfortable furnishings, free shuttle to Hoi An, swimming pool

Disliked: The shuttle to Hoi An finishes by 9 pm leaving little time in town in the evening.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jesse Wirz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere by the pool area, cheap breakfasts, not bad location short ride to beach on moped or cycle. Not a bad place to stay at all, safe and with everything needed.

Disliked: Fairly expensive in terms of backpacking. Felt like hotel ripped us off when booking our train tickets. Room aircon wasn't very good and smelt from bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Graham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Reception staff were so friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for you! made to feel very welcom after a long horrible journey on an overnight bus! Would recommend hotel to anyone!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012

Liked: Hotel itself was fine - clean comfortable room (a double on 2nd floor) with aircon, breakfast buffet was pretty good and was included in price, 4 computers for internet access in lobby and wi-fi in room. Pool around the back, if that's your thing.

Disliked: Was overcharged for room on check out, but only realised after I paid - when I politely pointed this out staff got all shirty, refused refund. Location is also some way out of town, probably 20 mins walk or so, and there are far better alternatives that cost less much closer to the old town - next day I moved to equivalent room within 5 mins of old town for almost half the price (Hoa My hotel). Worth saying that there is a lot of good cheap accommodation in central Hoi An, but I don't think many of them list themselves on hostel booking websites.


See all Hoi An hostels