We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

67.8% Overall Rating

357 out of 395 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2015)

Paulina Smoljanski thinks…

"The hostel is conveniently located close to the old town where most eateries and tailor shops are. The pool is pretty clean and nice to hang around by. Dorms are clean and en-suite."

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.6% 178 reviews
Hoi An Glory Hotel & Spa
25.65 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Ancient House Resort
76.96 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
10.17 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
40.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.24 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
MUCA Hoian Boutique Resort & Spa
50.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Riverside Oasis Villa
14.70 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

357 out of 395 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
60.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 365 of 387 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathilde Bourbiaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Mathilde would recommend this property

Liked: the buffet breakfast was awesome! and the swimming pool is definitly a plus. the rooms are clean, the bathrooms as well, there is lockers in the rooms and the location is good. I would recommend it.

Disliked: Mathilde left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzi Dillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Suzi would recommend this property

Liked: This place is outstanding for the price. We had a double room with air con, en suite, tv, kettle and fridge containing drinks/snacks. It was spacious and clean, and was serviced everyday at suitable times. The breakfast was a real highlight for us at Sunflower, and I think the reason you pay a little more than at other hostels nearer the centre. There was a pancake/omelette station, fresh fruit, cereal, bread, butter & jam, and Vietnamese options. You can eat as much as you like and the drinks are included. It was very nice to have the use of a swimming pool when it was hot and the restaurant sells a good range of Vietnamese and Western foods. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and will book onward bus/train journeys, but you're still left wondering if you got a good deal despite how nice they are. It was good of the hotel to allow us the use of the facilities all day after we had checked out but had a bus journey late in the day. Laundry service is good here - clothes come back smelling nice and completely dry. The location is a little far from Hoi An's centre, about 15 minute's walk away, but if you rent a bike it's about 5 minutes away. The benefit of its location is you're a bit nearer to the beach, it's only a 15 minute bike ride if that.

Disliked: Most of the restaurant staff were lovely but one girl did her best to look annoyed all of the time, and wrongly told us something on the menu wasn't available. We asked the cook for what we wanted and hey presto it was delivered.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Hazell-Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: amazing! the breakfast...wow. i have never been on a place where backpackers actually set alarms for breakfast before...

Disliked: nothing at all...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Toby Bond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, great for meeting others, superb breakfast, lovely staff

Disliked: On the banana pancake trail, more of the uncultured backpackers here just wanting to party. Check out at 12 check in at 12...obviously impossible as rooms need to be cleaned. Great staff working with a poor system, causing much confusion with people trying to extend etc...decide how long you want here and book it or extend early. Dont expect early check in

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast buffet was amazing, different choices with some of the same each day. There was fruit, cereal, pancakes, eggs plus loads of other things. The rooms were nice with proper tubs for showers (though they were a little short lol). The pool was great too. The shuttle was awesome and made it easier to get into town.

Disliked: The prices for rooms are told and shown in US so they change wit the exchange rate. This is a bit sneaky as breakfast (if you check in early) should be 60 000 but they charge 63 000......I had just paid this when a group paid a cheaper price so I got some money back. I don't like this though as most people are backpackers on a budget and they are short changing us. Don't order the burger here, it's microwaved as is most of the food I think....eek!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, breakfast buffet, AC, lockers, WiFi, computers, between the center and the beach. Nice place to meet fellow travellers. You can drink outside at the pool area untill 10:30, nice atmosphere. Recommend: Ganesh Indian Restaurant

Disliked: Beds are a little bit hard.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: free very good breakfast, clean dorm, service with a smile from majority of staff

Disliked: Dorm bathroom was not once cleaned all the time I was there, bath had some sand brought in by other dorm users. Needless to say, toilet paper was not replenished either. Doormen at hotel used the computers in the very early evenings ignoring or not realising that the backpackers were waiting to use the internet. There were several in queue to use it . Only 3 computers worked. One of the older female staff likes to raise her voice a lot as if she was at a fish market. However, she was efficient at her job.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was just amazing! Huge buffet with just everything! Swimming pool was awesome as well, and the hostel is great for meeting people.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The buffet breakfast.

Disliked: The kitchen staff seemed not quite well-tbehaved. They talked very loudly each other when there were a lot of customers around them. When I wanted to exchange my order, she said I could not do that because it had been cooked. in fact, the food came late.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Helen Garritty

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

29 March 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Great that it has a swimming pool but it is quite murky and needs cleaning more often, also, there are only a few sunbeds so unless you get up early and plant yourself there, do not expect to sit by the pool. Considering the hotel has more than 30 rooms you think there would be more than 10-15 sunbeds.

Disliked: The price of the rooms in comparison to local hotels close by. The superior room is simply not worth it, you can stay in luxury for 24$, great if you just want a dorm bed though. In many of the commments people mention the breakfast being amazing, well if you like stewed tea, crappy coffee, eggs and melon then you would be very happy here. The breakfast looks great but it is the same basic stuff every day. Also, the food in the hotel resturant needs looking at, the food is bland and not up to international standards.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast made it worth staying here as a backpacker for sure. Rooms were clean, and there is a swimming pool which is also nice.

Disliked: The staff tended to be quite rude and acted more like cattle herders than hospitality staff. They never were much help. Because they have such a high volume of backpackers and budget travelers coming through daily, they don't seem to care about the people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Keel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2013 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: amazing breakfast buffet, clean rooms, ...

Disliked: Philipp left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deneice Arthurton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Deneice would recommend this property

Liked: The HUGE buffet breakfast (included in room rate) is the biggest plus here along with the swimming pool. The location is pretty good too. It is possible to walk into the old town within 15 minutes (strolling) or 10 minutes (fast walk). The beach isn't really walkable distance but there are plenty of places renting push bikes for 1 US dollar per day and it is an easy 10 to 15 minutes cycle (only one hill on the way there). Plenty of cheap little cafes and restaurants very close by. Other big plus is the complemetary hotel shuttle bus which isn't very well advertised. This will pick you up at the bus station ( I didn't know and paid for a motorbike taxi) and ferry you into the old town whenever you want.

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything here. The only vaguely negative point is that the front desk staff are not quite as welcoming as I have found elsewhere. This is perhaps unfair as anything you need to know they will help you with but the warmness and multiple smiles I have grown so used to in Vietnam aren't quite so evident here. A very tiny /minus'. Also - I'm not convinced that the deposit I paid on booking through Hostelbookers was taken account of in my final hotel bill. Hard to totally ascertain because of different currency rates but perhaps as well to check this yourself.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definately the breakfast buffet and every day new towels

Disliked: The view from the balcony but there you don't go anyway. A pool

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sytske Sterke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Sytske would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast buffet was amazing

Disliked: Sytske left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Matthews

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great and had a huge selection which changed everyday. The food from the restaurant was good and cheap. The swimming pool was a nice place to have a dip or lie in the sun.

Disliked: The hotel was the loudest place at night I have ever stayed. Every night people were rolling in very drunk at all hours of the night, their favourite time appeared to be 4am. They were really noisy and one night someone even tried to get into our room. There was clearly no night staff checking who was coming into the hotel or asking that noise was kept down. We complained about someone trying to get into our room and nothing was done about it. They are clearly in the process of turning the hotel into a full blown hostel, whilst we were there double beds were being removed from rooms and bunks were being put in. This happened in the room above us beofre 7am and was very noisy. The cleaning staff also arrive at 6am and start to bang around in the corridor. All in all it made for many sleep disturbed nights.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Geat place to stay if you want to meet other travellers. A free buffet breakfast where there was a huge choice, swimming pool, nice bar, and clean spacious rooms.

Disliked: The administration was a complete shambles. Those who wanted to extend their stay were told there was no room, and were sent down the road to another hotel. They were then told to phone up the next day to see if there was any availability.Shockingly, if you went online to check availability,there were rooms available! It was that good there though, that some people did actually come back. The ony problem we had ourselves when trying to extend, was that we were told to come back the next day and check if we could extend - even though we asked 3 days before had to check out. Another issue was the breakfast. Although it was great, you had to be down quite early, as it turns into a cattle market!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Caudia Neumair

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Caudia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great atmosphere and nice place to chill out at the pool. Walking to the center takes 15 minutes, but they provide a free shuttle service every hour

Disliked: Caudia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Previously a hotel but now a hostel, but with all the facilities of a hotel. Amazing buffet breakfast included in room price. (Get there early as to miss the huge crowds from 9.30am onwards!). Nice swimming pool and really good wifi.

Disliked: As a converted hotel, designed for 2 people per room but now 6, the staff can't cope. Reception staff are hassled. Breakfast egg station staff are miserable and can't cope. Simple solution - they need more staff. It is a 20 min walk into town. They run a free shuttle bus every half hour, but don't rely on it - I waited an hour and it never left the hotel despite asking many times. More than once. So I walked in the rain again and again! They could do with opening up the other half of restaurant that is empty to cope with all the extra people. Why is pork in 5 out of 6 cooked breakfast options?! If paying your bill in USD check their calculation. Prices quoted in USD, but charged in kip, then converted back to USD at a bad rate. Weird. They tried overcharging me by 10% through this silly calculation. And make sure you ask for your passport back, not very forthcoming with this!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adrian Hosler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast buffet!!!, the pool and bar area were amazing but come monday (the third day of my stay) they kicked us out around 10pm at night from sitting outside in the pool and bar area which had been a nice hang out at night. idk why but come monday they wouldnt let us hang there at night anymore?

Disliked: thats about it

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katie Mooney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The buffet breakfast was amazing. Picked us up from the bus station and gave us a free mango juice when we arrived which was a nice touch! Nice size dorm rooms with comfy beds. Really nice garden bar area, which was sociable. Decently priced bikes out front for rent which is nice! Staff really friendly... They even remembered my name!!

Disliked: Bit of a trudge from town but the shuttle bus helps.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Breakfast was really good and the pool area was nice.

Disliked: It's a pity that they have really nice garden and a pool area but at the time we were there no one seemed to be spending time there. So maybe not the best place to meet other travellers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EDUARD EDILSON RUDA JOYA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 EDUARD EDILSON would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing... that place is amazing!!!

Disliked: EDUARD EDILSON left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kim cordell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 kim would recommend this property

Liked: The room was lovely- nice comfy beds and a good bathroom. The outside area was great for socialising with other guests and a pool is always a winner. The breakfast was lovely!!

Disliked: Service was at times a bit slow BUT it was tet so we understand that they were limited on staff for this bank holiday.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really sociable, had a swimming pool and the rooms were great, they has really modern bathrooms. Great selection of buffet breakfast. Offered a free shuttle bus service directly into the centre.

Disliked: Not every bed had a plug socket. Confusing booking system, we booked one night and wanted to extend our stay upon arrival but they said it was fully booked however, you could extend your stay by booking another night through hostelbookers. Definitely book how many nights you need in advance.


See all Hoi An hostels