We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

76.2% Overall Rating

346 out of 375 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Ugo Bodino thinks…

"The hostel is def the best in town for partying, meeting up with travelers, or even chilling out during the day by the pool... Rooms are okay. It has a nice garden bar, pool table, and table…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 175 reviews
Hoi An Glory Hotel & Spa
26.03 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Ancient House Resort
78.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
MUCA Hoian Boutique Resort & Spa
38.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort
28.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

346 out of 375 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 349 of 368 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool and great buffet breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Lynch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place. So nice to have a pool to relax in and around with fellow travellers

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean rooms with daily room service, clean pool, great atmosphere and easy to meet other travellers!! Highly recommend!

Disliked: Absolutely none

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2013

Liked: lots of backpackers.. dunno if that's good or not. pick up service.

Disliked: Actually I didn't stay at this hotel because there was no room for us! they said that the room i booked was occupied by a couple who got an accident on the motorbike so they cannot move. They instead asked me to stay at a family room where i had to share the room with other guys in my group which i didn't like. so they arranged another hotel - hoa binh - for us and told us to come back the day after since the other hotel was the more expensive one. so we came back the day after and still the room was not ready because of that couple who got injured. so we had to come back to hoa binh hotel again. which was very annoying since we had to pack our back in the morning only to come back to the same hotel again. duh. they could have told us !!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alan Stock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and safe dorm rooms with air-con. Great all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet included. Nice pool and bar with loungers.

Disliked: Twenty minute walk into the Old Town center, dorms could be cheaper

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people! The breakfast is amazing.

Disliked: Location

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room with clean and nice bathroom, wonderful breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Free shuttle to the city. Great stay!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and well setup.. Good atmosphere for meeting other backpackers. Clean tidy and a pool all for a reasonable price

Disliked: .

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2013

Liked: The location, nor too far from everything, is ok. Good restaurant just next door.

Disliked: Filthy place ! They don't change the sheets when a guest check out. So may I ask how often they change it ? Except if you don't mind sleeping with the dirt of few strangers, that's disgusting. Basically, they just took some hotel rooms and put has many beds as possible (no, it's not a 6-beds dorm, sorry) without converting it (not enough sockets to plug the electronics ; use the plug in the bathroom). Also, this is the most unfriendly staff (the most unfriendly people ?) I have seen during my trip in Vietnam. I gave them my laundry at 8 in the morning and they told me I could pick it up late afternoon the same day. When I ask in the evening, they told me the next day, mid-morning. And finally, the next day, when I wanted to pick up my laundry, they were not able to find which bag was mine. I had to check the bags to identify which one contained my stuff. And when I found it, they asked me if I was sure ! Pardon ? As I am sure that anyone his able to recognize his own clothing, I can't help myself to interpret this question as a suspicious one. When I asked how much it was, one of them blew me off because 3 more people just arrived and she was completely stressed like she didn't know how to manage such a crowd. Be careful at the breakfast as I am not sure that the dishes are freshly cooked (I tried one of them and it had a spoiled taste). This i the result of my laziness. After talking with other travellers, there are definitely nicest places to stay in Hoi An if you don't book ahead and shop around once you are there. Stay in a place where people care about their business and about travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathilde Bourbiaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Mathilde would recommend this property

Liked: the buffet breakfast was awesome! and the swimming pool is definitly a plus. the rooms are clean, the bathrooms as well, there is lockers in the rooms and the location is good. I would recommend it.

Disliked: Mathilde left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzi Dillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Suzi would recommend this property

Liked: This place is outstanding for the price. We had a double room with air con, en suite, tv, kettle and fridge containing drinks/snacks. It was spacious and clean, and was serviced everyday at suitable times. The breakfast was a real highlight for us at Sunflower, and I think the reason you pay a little more than at other hostels nearer the centre. There was a pancake/omelette station, fresh fruit, cereal, bread, butter & jam, and Vietnamese options. You can eat as much as you like and the drinks are included. It was very nice to have the use of a swimming pool when it was hot and the restaurant sells a good range of Vietnamese and Western foods. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and will book onward bus/train journeys, but you're still left wondering if you got a good deal despite how nice they are. It was good of the hotel to allow us the use of the facilities all day after we had checked out but had a bus journey late in the day. Laundry service is good here - clothes come back smelling nice and completely dry. The location is a little far from Hoi An's centre, about 15 minute's walk away, but if you rent a bike it's about 5 minutes away. The benefit of its location is you're a bit nearer to the beach, it's only a 15 minute bike ride if that.

Disliked: Most of the restaurant staff were lovely but one girl did her best to look annoyed all of the time, and wrongly told us something on the menu wasn't available. We asked the cook for what we wanted and hey presto it was delivered.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Hazell-Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: amazing! the breakfast...wow. i have never been on a place where backpackers actually set alarms for breakfast before...

Disliked: nothing at all...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Toby Bond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, great for meeting others, superb breakfast, lovely staff

Disliked: On the banana pancake trail, more of the uncultured backpackers here just wanting to party. Check out at 12 check in at 12...obviously impossible as rooms need to be cleaned. Great staff working with a poor system, causing much confusion with people trying to extend etc...decide how long you want here and book it or extend early. Dont expect early check in

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast buffet was amazing, different choices with some of the same each day. There was fruit, cereal, pancakes, eggs plus loads of other things. The rooms were nice with proper tubs for showers (though they were a little short lol). The pool was great too. The shuttle was awesome and made it easier to get into town.

Disliked: The prices for rooms are told and shown in US so they change wit the exchange rate. This is a bit sneaky as breakfast (if you check in early) should be 60 000 but they charge 63 000......I had just paid this when a group paid a cheaper price so I got some money back. I don't like this though as most people are backpackers on a budget and they are short changing us. Don't order the burger here, it's microwaved as is most of the food I think....eek!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, breakfast buffet, AC, lockers, WiFi, computers, between the center and the beach. Nice place to meet fellow travellers. You can drink outside at the pool area untill 10:30, nice atmosphere. Recommend: Ganesh Indian Restaurant

Disliked: Beds are a little bit hard.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: free very good breakfast, clean dorm, service with a smile from majority of staff

Disliked: Dorm bathroom was not once cleaned all the time I was there, bath had some sand brought in by other dorm users. Needless to say, toilet paper was not replenished either. Doormen at hotel used the computers in the very early evenings ignoring or not realising that the backpackers were waiting to use the internet. There were several in queue to use it . Only 3 computers worked. One of the older female staff likes to raise her voice a lot as if she was at a fish market. However, she was efficient at her job.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was just amazing! Huge buffet with just everything! Swimming pool was awesome as well, and the hostel is great for meeting people.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The buffet breakfast.

Disliked: The kitchen staff seemed not quite well-tbehaved. They talked very loudly each other when there were a lot of customers around them. When I wanted to exchange my order, she said I could not do that because it had been cooked. in fact, the food came late.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Helen Garritty

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

29 March 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Great that it has a swimming pool but it is quite murky and needs cleaning more often, also, there are only a few sunbeds so unless you get up early and plant yourself there, do not expect to sit by the pool. Considering the hotel has more than 30 rooms you think there would be more than 10-15 sunbeds.

Disliked: The price of the rooms in comparison to local hotels close by. The superior room is simply not worth it, you can stay in luxury for 24$, great if you just want a dorm bed though. In many of the commments people mention the breakfast being amazing, well if you like stewed tea, crappy coffee, eggs and melon then you would be very happy here. The breakfast looks great but it is the same basic stuff every day. Also, the food in the hotel resturant needs looking at, the food is bland and not up to international standards.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast made it worth staying here as a backpacker for sure. Rooms were clean, and there is a swimming pool which is also nice.

Disliked: The staff tended to be quite rude and acted more like cattle herders than hospitality staff. They never were much help. Because they have such a high volume of backpackers and budget travelers coming through daily, they don't seem to care about the people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Keel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2013 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: amazing breakfast buffet, clean rooms, ...

Disliked: Philipp left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deneice Arthurton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Deneice would recommend this property

Liked: The HUGE buffet breakfast (included in room rate) is the biggest plus here along with the swimming pool. The location is pretty good too. It is possible to walk into the old town within 15 minutes (strolling) or 10 minutes (fast walk). The beach isn't really walkable distance but there are plenty of places renting push bikes for 1 US dollar per day and it is an easy 10 to 15 minutes cycle (only one hill on the way there). Plenty of cheap little cafes and restaurants very close by. Other big plus is the complemetary hotel shuttle bus which isn't very well advertised. This will pick you up at the bus station ( I didn't know and paid for a motorbike taxi) and ferry you into the old town whenever you want.

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything here. The only vaguely negative point is that the front desk staff are not quite as welcoming as I have found elsewhere. This is perhaps unfair as anything you need to know they will help you with but the warmness and multiple smiles I have grown so used to in Vietnam aren't quite so evident here. A very tiny /minus'. Also - I'm not convinced that the deposit I paid on booking through Hostelbookers was taken account of in my final hotel bill. Hard to totally ascertain because of different currency rates but perhaps as well to check this yourself.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definately the breakfast buffet and every day new towels

Disliked: The view from the balcony but there you don't go anyway. A pool

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sytske Sterke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Sytske would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast buffet was amazing

Disliked: Sytske left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Matthews

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great and had a huge selection which changed everyday. The food from the restaurant was good and cheap. The swimming pool was a nice place to have a dip or lie in the sun.

Disliked: The hotel was the loudest place at night I have ever stayed. Every night people were rolling in very drunk at all hours of the night, their favourite time appeared to be 4am. They were really noisy and one night someone even tried to get into our room. There was clearly no night staff checking who was coming into the hotel or asking that noise was kept down. We complained about someone trying to get into our room and nothing was done about it. They are clearly in the process of turning the hotel into a full blown hostel, whilst we were there double beds were being removed from rooms and bunks were being put in. This happened in the room above us beofre 7am and was very noisy. The cleaning staff also arrive at 6am and start to bang around in the corridor. All in all it made for many sleep disturbed nights.


See all Hoi An hostels