We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

68.9% Overall Rating

355 out of 391 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2015)

Paulina Smoljanski thinks…

"The hostel is conveniently located close to the old town where most eateries and tailor shops are. The pool is pretty clean and nice to hang around by. Dorms are clean and en-suite."

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 177 reviews
Hoi An Glory Hotel & Spa
25.64 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Ancient House Resort
76.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
10.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
40.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.23 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
MUCA Hoian Boutique Resort & Spa
50.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Riverside Oasis Villa
14.70 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.9%

Overall Rating

355 out of 391 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
65.6%
Value
72.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 362 of 383 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shelley silvester

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 June 2013 shelley would recommend this property

Liked: Sunflower Hotel was GREAT. Hotel has a fantastic pool area with restaurant and bar. Hotel is very stylish and clean. It is a about a 7 min walk from the center of town, but there is a free shuttle that runs from the hotel every 30mins. The hotel has a great breakfast buffet and laundry services with multiple computers for visitors use. The staff was extremely helpful and competent. Absolutely great value for money!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Back in Hoi An on the tail end of 4 months away and I checked into the Sunflower Hotel for 5 days in town. I'd been here before so was very pleased to recieve the same friendly service as last time. Our room was big, airy and clean and the buffet breakfast had plenty of choice and satisfied a hungry son. The pool is a real bonus for a 2 star and great for cooling off after a hot day trekking about. The pool table and bar was also a great place for some light socilaising in the evening if you didnt feel the urge to head into town. And the location of the hotel is super as well - a short walk into town if you want some exercise or via the shuttle bus that the hotel provide. There are bikes and scooters for rent out the front of the hotel for a quick trip out to the beach. Overall a great place to settle in for a stay in Hoi An.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jesson adam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 jesson would recommend this property

Liked: This is definitely the best hostel I've ever stay. Has already recommended it to my travel buddies meeted during my afterwords journey!!

Disliked: jesson left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Malgorzata Szajwaj

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: The facilities were really good. Nice rooms, big reception area, very nice pool with sun chairs and a outdoor bar/restaurant area. Good WiFi

Disliked: The staff are rude. They don't look interested in helping you in any way at all and if you ask them questions you will just get short answers. Not engaging at all. But this might be due to the fact that they have to deal with a lot of young, drunk, messy and loud backpackers ever day. The vibe of this hotel is not good for single travelers or people looking to kick back. Every night people come drunk from the bar and make tons of noise in the hallways and in the dorms. People are very clicky and the average age seems very young. Not much respect for fellow travelers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms were of standard quality, lovely to get a pool for the money. Staff were very nice. Quite close to town but also close to the beach which its very easy to cycle to.

Disliked: No hot water in the showers.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nathan Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013

Liked: The staff were friendly and genuinely helpful. They tried to find a better deal for us on our flights which was good of them.

Disliked: The guests here were generally all 18, loud, obnoxious. The location is in the middle of the beach and old town, best of no worlds. No hot water You have to hand your passport in at checkin and you receive when you check out. They lost a guests passport during our stay which didn't fill us with confidence. The 'buffet' breakfast is a sham. We slept terrible, people were screaming, shouting, crying, vomiting until 4am, maintenance or some kind of banging started from 6am. 2 hours sleep both nights we stayed here. We give laundry in we were promised it would be ready by 7 the next morning as we were leaving at 9. We asked for it at 8am and they said it wouldn't be ready until 11! When we told them we were leaving at 9 they said it would be ready. We received it back but it wasn't clean, just ironed, we still got charged. The shuttle bus pick up we got was a 6 seater van but they managed to squeeze in 15-16 people for a 20 minute journey in boiling hot sun. Window was broken and wouldn't shut properly. Air con wasn't working when we checked in. Room was ridiculously hot (to be fair they fixed this instantly).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool area Air con in room is great!

Disliked: Restaurant staff are unfriendly. Rooms are fairly small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most social hostel in Hoi Anh. 4 bed room was clean, AC worked more or less well. Overall a good time would stay there again.

Disliked: n

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shu-An Liu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Shu-An would recommend this property

Liked: They offer a free shuttle bus to and from the city center. Room was ok. I recommend renting a bicycle (just in front of the hotel) for going to town or the beach.

Disliked: Some of staff at the reception was pretty rude. Luggage can be left in the lobby and everyone can just walk so it's everything but safe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast is amazing! You get to meet a lot of other travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sofie Kjærhus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Sofie would recommend this property

Liked: It was all felt with backpackers so it was easy to meet people at the pool or in the dorm. The breakfast was amazing and worth the 9$. The staff was very helpful and didn't try to get commission by telling us which tailor to go to. I would definitely recommend this place to other backpackers.

Disliked: Sofie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to meet people, the breakfast is delicious and the pool area is really relaxing.

Disliked: There doesn't seem to be much within walking distance from the hotel, but it's much easier to hire a bike.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location between the beach and old town, although it is closer to town. Bicycles and motorbikes available for very cheap prices next door. Swimming pool was good, breakfast is awesome and staff very helpful including picking is up when we arrived.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool and great buffet breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Lynch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place. So nice to have a pool to relax in and around with fellow travellers

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean rooms with daily room service, clean pool, great atmosphere and easy to meet other travellers!! Highly recommend!

Disliked: Absolutely none

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2013

Liked: lots of backpackers.. dunno if that's good or not. pick up service.

Disliked: Actually I didn't stay at this hotel because there was no room for us! they said that the room i booked was occupied by a couple who got an accident on the motorbike so they cannot move. They instead asked me to stay at a family room where i had to share the room with other guys in my group which i didn't like. so they arranged another hotel - hoa binh - for us and told us to come back the day after since the other hotel was the more expensive one. so we came back the day after and still the room was not ready because of that couple who got injured. so we had to come back to hoa binh hotel again. which was very annoying since we had to pack our back in the morning only to come back to the same hotel again. duh. they could have told us !!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alan Stock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and safe dorm rooms with air-con. Great all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet included. Nice pool and bar with loungers.

Disliked: Twenty minute walk into the Old Town center, dorms could be cheaper

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people! The breakfast is amazing.

Disliked: Location

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room with clean and nice bathroom, wonderful breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Free shuttle to the city. Great stay!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and well setup.. Good atmosphere for meeting other backpackers. Clean tidy and a pool all for a reasonable price

Disliked: .

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2013

Liked: The location, nor too far from everything, is ok. Good restaurant just next door.

Disliked: Filthy place ! They don't change the sheets when a guest check out. So may I ask how often they change it ? Except if you don't mind sleeping with the dirt of few strangers, that's disgusting. Basically, they just took some hotel rooms and put has many beds as possible (no, it's not a 6-beds dorm, sorry) without converting it (not enough sockets to plug the electronics ; use the plug in the bathroom). Also, this is the most unfriendly staff (the most unfriendly people ?) I have seen during my trip in Vietnam. I gave them my laundry at 8 in the morning and they told me I could pick it up late afternoon the same day. When I ask in the evening, they told me the next day, mid-morning. And finally, the next day, when I wanted to pick up my laundry, they were not able to find which bag was mine. I had to check the bags to identify which one contained my stuff. And when I found it, they asked me if I was sure ! Pardon ? As I am sure that anyone his able to recognize his own clothing, I can't help myself to interpret this question as a suspicious one. When I asked how much it was, one of them blew me off because 3 more people just arrived and she was completely stressed like she didn't know how to manage such a crowd. Be careful at the breakfast as I am not sure that the dishes are freshly cooked (I tried one of them and it had a spoiled taste). This i the result of my laziness. After talking with other travellers, there are definitely nicest places to stay in Hoi An if you don't book ahead and shop around once you are there. Stay in a place where people care about their business and about travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathilde Bourbiaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Mathilde would recommend this property

Liked: the buffet breakfast was awesome! and the swimming pool is definitly a plus. the rooms are clean, the bathrooms as well, there is lockers in the rooms and the location is good. I would recommend it.

Disliked: Mathilde left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzi Dillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Suzi would recommend this property

Liked: This place is outstanding for the price. We had a double room with air con, en suite, tv, kettle and fridge containing drinks/snacks. It was spacious and clean, and was serviced everyday at suitable times. The breakfast was a real highlight for us at Sunflower, and I think the reason you pay a little more than at other hostels nearer the centre. There was a pancake/omelette station, fresh fruit, cereal, bread, butter & jam, and Vietnamese options. You can eat as much as you like and the drinks are included. It was very nice to have the use of a swimming pool when it was hot and the restaurant sells a good range of Vietnamese and Western foods. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and will book onward bus/train journeys, but you're still left wondering if you got a good deal despite how nice they are. It was good of the hotel to allow us the use of the facilities all day after we had checked out but had a bus journey late in the day. Laundry service is good here - clothes come back smelling nice and completely dry. The location is a little far from Hoi An's centre, about 15 minute's walk away, but if you rent a bike it's about 5 minutes away. The benefit of its location is you're a bit nearer to the beach, it's only a 15 minute bike ride if that.

Disliked: Most of the restaurant staff were lovely but one girl did her best to look annoyed all of the time, and wrongly told us something on the menu wasn't available. We asked the cook for what we wanted and hey presto it was delivered.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Hazell-Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: amazing! the breakfast...wow. i have never been on a place where backpackers actually set alarms for breakfast before...

Disliked: nothing at all...


See all Hoi An hostels