HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

81.6% Overall Rating

328 out of 352 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

"A nice hostel centrally located in Hoi An. The staff was great and quickly provided us with a map and showed us the main areas. They were very helpful in sorting out tickets to our next destination. The pool was great…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 167 reviews
Ancient House Resort
79.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.59 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.85 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
20.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
26.50 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

328 out of 352 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 347 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast made it worth staying here as a backpacker for sure. Rooms were clean, and there is a swimming pool which is also nice.

Disliked: The staff tended to be quite rude and acted more like cattle herders than hospitality staff. They never were much help. Because they have such a high volume of backpackers and budget travelers coming through daily, they don't seem to care about the people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Keel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2013 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: amazing breakfast buffet, clean rooms, ...

Disliked: Philipp left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deneice Arthurton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Deneice would recommend this property

Liked: The HUGE buffet breakfast (included in room rate) is the biggest plus here along with the swimming pool. The location is pretty good too. It is possible to walk into the old town within 15 minutes (strolling) or 10 minutes (fast walk). The beach isn't really walkable distance but there are plenty of places renting push bikes for 1 US dollar per day and it is an easy 10 to 15 minutes cycle (only one hill on the way there). Plenty of cheap little cafes and restaurants very close by. Other big plus is the complemetary hotel shuttle bus which isn't very well advertised. This will pick you up at the bus station ( I didn't know and paid for a motorbike taxi) and ferry you into the old town whenever you want.

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything here. The only vaguely negative point is that the front desk staff are not quite as welcoming as I have found elsewhere. This is perhaps unfair as anything you need to know they will help you with but the warmness and multiple smiles I have grown so used to in Vietnam aren't quite so evident here. A very tiny /minus'. Also - I'm not convinced that the deposit I paid on booking through Hostelbookers was taken account of in my final hotel bill. Hard to totally ascertain because of different currency rates but perhaps as well to check this yourself.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definately the breakfast buffet and every day new towels

Disliked: The view from the balcony but there you don't go anyway. A pool

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sytske Sterke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Sytske would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast buffet was amazing

Disliked: Sytske left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Matthews

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great and had a huge selection which changed everyday. The food from the restaurant was good and cheap. The swimming pool was a nice place to have a dip or lie in the sun.

Disliked: The hotel was the loudest place at night I have ever stayed. Every night people were rolling in very drunk at all hours of the night, their favourite time appeared to be 4am. They were really noisy and one night someone even tried to get into our room. There was clearly no night staff checking who was coming into the hotel or asking that noise was kept down. We complained about someone trying to get into our room and nothing was done about it. They are clearly in the process of turning the hotel into a full blown hostel, whilst we were there double beds were being removed from rooms and bunks were being put in. This happened in the room above us beofre 7am and was very noisy. The cleaning staff also arrive at 6am and start to bang around in the corridor. All in all it made for many sleep disturbed nights.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Geat place to stay if you want to meet other travellers. A free buffet breakfast where there was a huge choice, swimming pool, nice bar, and clean spacious rooms.

Disliked: The administration was a complete shambles. Those who wanted to extend their stay were told there was no room, and were sent down the road to another hotel. They were then told to phone up the next day to see if there was any availability.Shockingly, if you went online to check availability,there were rooms available! It was that good there though, that some people did actually come back. The ony problem we had ourselves when trying to extend, was that we were told to come back the next day and check if we could extend - even though we asked 3 days before had to check out. Another issue was the breakfast. Although it was great, you had to be down quite early, as it turns into a cattle market!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Caudia Neumair

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Caudia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great atmosphere and nice place to chill out at the pool. Walking to the center takes 15 minutes, but they provide a free shuttle service every hour

Disliked: Caudia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Previously a hotel but now a hostel, but with all the facilities of a hotel. Amazing buffet breakfast included in room price. (Get there early as to miss the huge crowds from 9.30am onwards!). Nice swimming pool and really good wifi.

Disliked: As a converted hotel, designed for 2 people per room but now 6, the staff can't cope. Reception staff are hassled. Breakfast egg station staff are miserable and can't cope. Simple solution - they need more staff. It is a 20 min walk into town. They run a free shuttle bus every half hour, but don't rely on it - I waited an hour and it never left the hotel despite asking many times. More than once. So I walked in the rain again and again! They could do with opening up the other half of restaurant that is empty to cope with all the extra people. Why is pork in 5 out of 6 cooked breakfast options?! If paying your bill in USD check their calculation. Prices quoted in USD, but charged in kip, then converted back to USD at a bad rate. Weird. They tried overcharging me by 10% through this silly calculation. And make sure you ask for your passport back, not very forthcoming with this!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adrian Hosler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast buffet!!!, the pool and bar area were amazing but come monday (the third day of my stay) they kicked us out around 10pm at night from sitting outside in the pool and bar area which had been a nice hang out at night. idk why but come monday they wouldnt let us hang there at night anymore?

Disliked: thats about it

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katie Mooney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The buffet breakfast was amazing. Picked us up from the bus station and gave us a free mango juice when we arrived which was a nice touch! Nice size dorm rooms with comfy beds. Really nice garden bar area, which was sociable. Decently priced bikes out front for rent which is nice! Staff really friendly... They even remembered my name!!

Disliked: Bit of a trudge from town but the shuttle bus helps.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Breakfast was really good and the pool area was nice.

Disliked: It's a pity that they have really nice garden and a pool area but at the time we were there no one seemed to be spending time there. So maybe not the best place to meet other travellers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EDUARD EDILSON RUDA JOYA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 EDUARD EDILSON would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing... that place is amazing!!!

Disliked: EDUARD EDILSON left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kim cordell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 kim would recommend this property

Liked: The room was lovely- nice comfy beds and a good bathroom. The outside area was great for socialising with other guests and a pool is always a winner. The breakfast was lovely!!

Disliked: Service was at times a bit slow BUT it was tet so we understand that they were limited on staff for this bank holiday.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really sociable, had a swimming pool and the rooms were great, they has really modern bathrooms. Great selection of buffet breakfast. Offered a free shuttle bus service directly into the centre.

Disliked: Not every bed had a plug socket. Confusing booking system, we booked one night and wanted to extend our stay upon arrival but they said it was fully booked however, you could extend your stay by booking another night through hostelbookers. Definitely book how many nights you need in advance.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, bright and airy with spacious rooms and great showers! Breakfast was also really good and available from 6.30am-10am.

Disliked: We arranged a shuttle bus to the bus station but there was a lot of confusion and the driver tried to take us to some random place we didn't want to be.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good rooms, great breakfast and facilities

Disliked: nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can eat the for a very cheap price, its great. The shower is very nice.

Disliked: The beds were very hard. You can not pay by creditcard.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast bufet, nice receptionists. cheap bike and motorbike rent just outside, clean bedsheets.

Disliked: location is a bit far off the centre. In Dorm, a bigger garbage bin is required, too much stuff left on the table(bottles, flyers, maps etc). Not removed from staff because they don't know whether the traveller already left. Therefore the room looks much dirtier than it actually is.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christine Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Great buffet breakfast, brilliant for the budget traveller! Also has a pool which is a nice touch, although it was a little cold for me. Good for what you pay.

Disliked: Our twin room smelt of damp when you went in, and not great for meeting other travellers, unless you get in one of the dorm rooms that seem to book up quickly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool area is nice with seating and sun loungers. There is also a bar and pool table available. Our room was clean and as expected for the price paid. This hotel is situated half way between the beach and the old city so its a good choice if you expect to spend your time between the two.

Disliked: The room was quite small and we were disappointed with the breakfast as previous reviews had stated how good it was. The breakfast is buffet so its all you can eat, but it is traditional Vietnamese so expect noodles, and rice. However they did also serve cereals, fruit and pancakes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juliane Viehweg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Juliane would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast with huge buffet and all kind of foods

Disliked: Juliane left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Lok

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 January 2013 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: The buffet breakfast - it was good, the menu differs everyday and it's easily one of the best breakfasts we had had in Vietnam. The room was spotlessly clean, and definitely worth the value. One thing was that the hotel is always overbooked so you gotta plan your trip carefully if you wanna stay here. Oh, and the pool is awesome! They had floatation device for kids too - the pool is 1.5m deep.

Disliked: They have too many guests to look after so unlike other smaller hostels, the treatment wasn't very personal. But that's understandable, given that the hotel is always full.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christina hartenberger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012 christina would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast is amazing! stuff is very friendly and helpful

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful. It was a good location. The room was nice.

Disliked: It was a little cold at night and they didn't supply blankets only a sheet.


See all Hoi An hostels