HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

81.6% Overall Rating

328 out of 352 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

"A nice hostel centrally located in Hoi An. The staff was great and quickly provided us with a map and showed us the main areas. They were very helpful in sorting out tickets to our next destination. The pool was great…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.8% 168 reviews
Ancient House Resort
78.35 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.32 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.48 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.56 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
20.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
26.50 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

328 out of 352 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 347 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Petrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The sunflower hostel dorm rooms were as described in the advertisement. 6 beds per room with air con and a fan. Beds were comfortable and lockers provided but you do need your own lock. Rooms are cleaned daily and hot showers worked. The pool and bar are the main selling point because it is so easy to meet people and socialise. I would recommend for solo travellers but be aware it is about a 15 minute walk to the closest ATM and quite far to the beach, unwalkable. The old market is also about a 20 minute walk away in the opposite direction but you can rent a scooter for 100,000 dong a day ($5 roughly) from the hostel which I would fully recommend.

Disliked: I did not like that the hostel kept hold of my passport and wouldn't return it to me until I left. They leave them in full view of all the guests and could easily be lost. I didn't hear of anyone losing their passport but I would have felt safer with it. Only a minor problem really.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Deans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a bit overpriced for a dorm. There is nothing particularly special about the accommodation, and I think charges higher due to lack of dorm accom in hoi an. That said the buffet breakfast really is very good and probably makes up the value. A lot of big groups come through here. Difficult to meet people if solo.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krisztina Csortea

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 August 2013 Krisztina would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Very unhelpful staff: they refused sell us a cheep bus ticket until it turned out that the more expensive bus was already sold out.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

eluned hyde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 eluned would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel, v social and food is cheap and nice

Disliked: Quite expensive, but is probably the best place to stay in hoi an if youre wanting a social atmosphere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was really good, lots of fruits, omelet, rice, spaghetti etc.Swimming ool is small and full of chlorine but nice.

Disliked: It is absolutely a party hostel. people are going out and coming in in the middle of the night and not caring if someone is sleeping.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast buffet was awesome, the best we had in hostels in this price category so far. The room was small and simple, but very cute (we stayed under the roof). The garden bar and the pool are really beautiful, though crowed all the time. But it's nice to meet people :) Some of the staff could speak English, but many didn't...

Disliked: The guests in this hostel are quite young and eager to party. If you just want to relax a bit, maybe lay down on the pool, it is not the best place to go, since it is loud most of the time and you will never find a free spot at the pool (everyone used towels to block the seats...). We couldn't sleep one night without disturbance, since our neighbors came back from party at 5 in the morning and screamed ten minutes and hammered on the door next to us or rang the room bell. Moreover, DON'T book bus tickets etc. with the hotel, you pay nearly double than if you would purchase them at the many ticket offices... I wouldn't stay there again, I experienced better value for money in many other places in Vietnam (though the breakfast was really great :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people it attracts are worth going for, and it offeres a nice seclusion when you've had enough of exploring and just want to stay in a nice cocoon. The breakfast is great too, and the pool.

Disliked: I really didn't care of the staff. I was expecting from the reviews that they would be helpful but I found them to be rude, unhelpful, and generally was mistreated by them. They understood English perfectly yet went out of their way to ignore guests or give explanations when I would ask them for things like a receipt, they would just say "no." They did not explain that they soldl locks at the hostel, and refused to help me with booking my transportation home. Overall this place is overrated in terms of service, and the location is quite far from Old town so you have to rent a bicycle.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kiata Ryan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Kiata would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy place to meet other travellers, with an outdoor pool and bar, buffet breakfast. It is a little way from the old town but closer to the beach. It's best to hire a bicycle from the front only 20,000 d and you can get around easier.

Disliked: Kiata left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Noor Anita Mohd Tahir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Noor Anita would recommend this property

Liked: Ya know what? I don't understand when people gave a low rating for this place just because of they had to deal with uncivilized drunken backpackers that shared same room as them. Seriously? This place is awesome. The staffs are friendly and helpful although at point sounded a lil bit fierce (probably because they gotta deal with lots of no-manners backpackers). The room and bathroom/toilet is clean. Good mattress, good bed sheet, good duvet, good pillow, good a/c control... There's nothing for me to complaint about! And the buffet breakfast... AWESOME!!! I feel like I am actually pay for the breakfast rather than the room! Oh, and outside of the cafe, there is a swimming pool! Good place to hang out with other backpackers.

Disliked: None. I like this place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool was nice and it looks nice met some great people here.

Disliked: the shower was broke and didn't work properly, the floor in our dorm was always dirty, they lie about bus and trains how full they are so we had to stay an extra night even though we know there was spaces! They say there are no rooms to some people but others ask and they get a room! They close everything too early it forces you to either go out or go to your room!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Thomas Breen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people

Disliked: Lots, reception staff very ride and always to busy to help, on checkout they made us. Get a taxi when we knew the bis was goong to the same bustop to collect people arriving on the bus we were going on to hue, also lied about festival that was on on town to try get is to stay at hotel bar to drink, money grabbers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the Sunflower is more a hotel than a youth hostel even though the offer dorms. they have a beautiful location (building wise definately a hotel) with a pool and their own bar/restaurant where they also serve breakfast (included in the price!). good thing was that they do (motor) bike rentals!

Disliked: the Sunflower is really comfortable and the only downside was the poor airconditioning; the lobby was really warm and the room did have an aircon but wasnt functioning too well...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013

Liked: I always wondered why people put the best thing was leaving now I know. The only good things - The breakfast is really awesome. The cleaners were really sweet ladies. The room was big.

Disliked: I booked a superior room with balcony as they state on the web site, they didn't have one available so I got a window room which is a standard on this site. I agreed to stay in that room for the ten days and then they charged me the same price telling me it was a superior room. Not happy. What business centre? I had to go to the hotel down the road to print. The rooms are not as nice as depicted mine didn't look like that and I didn't even have pillow cases on the pillows the first night. Only two of the staff at the counter were friendly. The rest were quite abrupt when I asked any questions. For three nights in a row a group came home at 3.30-4.00 and made as much noise as they could for 2 hours. It was so bad I could hear them with my earplugs in and it sounded like a heard of elephants were in the room. Did anyone stop them no. I too went out and partied but didn't have to wake the whole place when I came home. Once they finally stopped and went to sleep the cleaners were then outside my room with the cleaning cart making a racket. One girl was screaming at people to shut up over and over again which was worse than the noise the guys she was telling to shut up were making. If you like feral out of control places and no sleep this is the one the go to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ADAM FERGUSON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 ADAM would recommend this property

Liked: The place to stay if you are backpacking. Very sociable and plenty of partying.

Disliked: ADAM left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people and reasonably priced food and drinks. Great breakfast included.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Navid Dardashti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013

Liked: The pool is nice.

Disliked: Most importantly, my wallet went missing while I was staying there. After searching for it, I found it tossed over the side of my balcony, all of my Vietnamese Dong and and US Dollars were taken out. I had a few Thai Baht and Malaysian Ringit that I kept as souvenirs and they were taken as well. However, Lao Kip and Cambodian Riel were left there as those currencies are untradeable. The evidence points at staff but as there is no video inside my room I could not prove it. Management was very unhelpful and unsympathetic during this and would not even budge on giving me a free stay. The crowd is mostly loud drunk 18 year old English people, I had the good luck of having a few great roommates while I was there- which leads me further to believe that the staff stole my money as I trusted my roommates who are all now my friends. Other than them I met many rude, inconsiderate teenagers. Our room was "cleaned" daily, but always felt dirty to barefeet, and there was nothing like a doormat or a simple bathmat to help keep dirtyness from spreading. The shower clogged so that if you showered after someone, you did it ankle deep in their rinsed off filth. I have a rash on both feet after leaving this hostel. The glass door to the balcony had lots of openings in it, so the room never got fully cold with the AC. The wifi in the rooms was complete shit from the second floor up, and wasn't great downstairs either. The restaurant food is mediocre and overpriced. It is near some restaurants that were pretty average. Much better food was found in town or near the beach. In terms of value, 9 dollars a night for a dorm is steep for the area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Parker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Work / volunteering

24 June 2013 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of people to meet...clean ...big...amazing buffet breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing I can think of

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel with the centre of town about a 15 minute walk or the option of hiring bicycles and bikes out the front of the hostel. The included buffet breakfast is good (although I think it's factored into the price as the dorms are probably a little expensive). Great atmosphere, can easily meet people - the pool is good if you feel like having a quiet day.. or recovering from a hangover! Overall I would recommend.

Disliked: Prices a little high and sometimes the staff can be a bit rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shelley silvester

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 June 2013 shelley would recommend this property

Liked: Sunflower Hotel was GREAT. Hotel has a fantastic pool area with restaurant and bar. Hotel is very stylish and clean. It is a about a 7 min walk from the center of town, but there is a free shuttle that runs from the hotel every 30mins. The hotel has a great breakfast buffet and laundry services with multiple computers for visitors use. The staff was extremely helpful and competent. Absolutely great value for money!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Back in Hoi An on the tail end of 4 months away and I checked into the Sunflower Hotel for 5 days in town. I'd been here before so was very pleased to recieve the same friendly service as last time. Our room was big, airy and clean and the buffet breakfast had plenty of choice and satisfied a hungry son. The pool is a real bonus for a 2 star and great for cooling off after a hot day trekking about. The pool table and bar was also a great place for some light socilaising in the evening if you didnt feel the urge to head into town. And the location of the hotel is super as well - a short walk into town if you want some exercise or via the shuttle bus that the hotel provide. There are bikes and scooters for rent out the front of the hotel for a quick trip out to the beach. Overall a great place to settle in for a stay in Hoi An.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jesson adam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 jesson would recommend this property

Liked: This is definitely the best hostel I've ever stay. Has already recommended it to my travel buddies meeted during my afterwords journey!!

Disliked: jesson left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Malgorzata Szajwaj

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: The facilities were really good. Nice rooms, big reception area, very nice pool with sun chairs and a outdoor bar/restaurant area. Good WiFi

Disliked: The staff are rude. They don't look interested in helping you in any way at all and if you ask them questions you will just get short answers. Not engaging at all. But this might be due to the fact that they have to deal with a lot of young, drunk, messy and loud backpackers ever day. The vibe of this hotel is not good for single travelers or people looking to kick back. Every night people come drunk from the bar and make tons of noise in the hallways and in the dorms. People are very clicky and the average age seems very young. Not much respect for fellow travelers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms were of standard quality, lovely to get a pool for the money. Staff were very nice. Quite close to town but also close to the beach which its very easy to cycle to.

Disliked: No hot water in the showers.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nathan Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013

Liked: The staff were friendly and genuinely helpful. They tried to find a better deal for us on our flights which was good of them.

Disliked: The guests here were generally all 18, loud, obnoxious. The location is in the middle of the beach and old town, best of no worlds. No hot water You have to hand your passport in at checkin and you receive when you check out. They lost a guests passport during our stay which didn't fill us with confidence. The 'buffet' breakfast is a sham. We slept terrible, people were screaming, shouting, crying, vomiting until 4am, maintenance or some kind of banging started from 6am. 2 hours sleep both nights we stayed here. We give laundry in we were promised it would be ready by 7 the next morning as we were leaving at 9. We asked for it at 8am and they said it wouldn't be ready until 11! When we told them we were leaving at 9 they said it would be ready. We received it back but it wasn't clean, just ironed, we still got charged. The shuttle bus pick up we got was a 6 seater van but they managed to squeeze in 15-16 people for a 20 minute journey in boiling hot sun. Window was broken and wouldn't shut properly. Air con wasn't working when we checked in. Room was ridiculously hot (to be fair they fixed this instantly).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool area Air con in room is great!

Disliked: Restaurant staff are unfriendly. Rooms are fairly small


See all Hoi An hostels