HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

77.0% Overall Rating

338 out of 364 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"There's a really nice pool and outdoor bar where you can meet a lot of other travelers. The room was clean and quite a good size."

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 173 reviews
Ancient House Resort
78.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.65 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
21.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
21.45 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

338 out of 364 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 340 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Gill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: This place had a pool. Enough said! The place was relaxing and with the stay.

Disliked: Being outside in the back or front of the hostel after 11pm was being to a stop by the staff. Kinda lame.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julien Trottier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2013 Julien would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Clean rooms, great pool, tasteful buffet for breakfast, free taxi to bus station, close to good restaurants, billiard, good food.

Disliked: Absolutly nothing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Hester Poelman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013 Hester would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool, spacious rooms, cheapest place available

Disliked: Quite far from town, the english and the willingness of the staff to understand you is poor. No clean sheets on the duvets and a lot of sand.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - 10min walk from main high street (for tailors) and 15min gentle cycle ride to beach ($2 rental for the day). Friendly vibe with plenty of backpackers coming in and out each day

Disliked: Attracts a certain 'type' of backpacker - often loud british 'lads' who sleep all day and pardy all night. Each to their own but the nightly 4am wake up calls were not appreciated

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, lively atmosphere and small bicycle ride to the beach and into Hoi An old town. Pretty good value for money.

Disliked: If you are not looking for a lively place with a pretty much entirely young clientele then don't book here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harry Colsell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Harry would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool is so nice and the breakfast was a huge selection of dishes both western and Vietnamese. The staff are very helpful and the air con was much appreciated!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013

Liked: OK rooms but bad location.

Disliked: Location. Other guests were very loud in the middle of the night and staff didnt do anything about this.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Therese Gallagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Therese would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a private room. Good value for money, facilites like the pool and bike renting (right outside the door) was very good. Free pick-up from the sleeper bus too which was great. Room itself very nice and clean. Couldn't of asked for more really. Wifi in the room was great, very fast.

Disliked: A little long of a walk to old town - about 15 mins - not a big deal. really. It's super cheap to rent a bike for the day instead and park it up in the town/beach - best way to see the town.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, buffet breakfast and pool

Disliked: Price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Petrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The sunflower hostel dorm rooms were as described in the advertisement. 6 beds per room with air con and a fan. Beds were comfortable and lockers provided but you do need your own lock. Rooms are cleaned daily and hot showers worked. The pool and bar are the main selling point because it is so easy to meet people and socialise. I would recommend for solo travellers but be aware it is about a 15 minute walk to the closest ATM and quite far to the beach, unwalkable. The old market is also about a 20 minute walk away in the opposite direction but you can rent a scooter for 100,000 dong a day ($5 roughly) from the hostel which I would fully recommend.

Disliked: I did not like that the hostel kept hold of my passport and wouldn't return it to me until I left. They leave them in full view of all the guests and could easily be lost. I didn't hear of anyone losing their passport but I would have felt safer with it. Only a minor problem really.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Deans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a bit overpriced for a dorm. There is nothing particularly special about the accommodation, and I think charges higher due to lack of dorm accom in hoi an. That said the buffet breakfast really is very good and probably makes up the value. A lot of big groups come through here. Difficult to meet people if solo.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krisztina Csortea

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 August 2013 Krisztina would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Very unhelpful staff: they refused sell us a cheep bus ticket until it turned out that the more expensive bus was already sold out.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

eluned hyde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 eluned would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel, v social and food is cheap and nice

Disliked: Quite expensive, but is probably the best place to stay in hoi an if youre wanting a social atmosphere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was really good, lots of fruits, omelet, rice, spaghetti etc.Swimming ool is small and full of chlorine but nice.

Disliked: It is absolutely a party hostel. people are going out and coming in in the middle of the night and not caring if someone is sleeping.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast buffet was awesome, the best we had in hostels in this price category so far. The room was small and simple, but very cute (we stayed under the roof). The garden bar and the pool are really beautiful, though crowed all the time. But it's nice to meet people :) Some of the staff could speak English, but many didn't...

Disliked: The guests in this hostel are quite young and eager to party. If you just want to relax a bit, maybe lay down on the pool, it is not the best place to go, since it is loud most of the time and you will never find a free spot at the pool (everyone used towels to block the seats...). We couldn't sleep one night without disturbance, since our neighbors came back from party at 5 in the morning and screamed ten minutes and hammered on the door next to us or rang the room bell. Moreover, DON'T book bus tickets etc. with the hotel, you pay nearly double than if you would purchase them at the many ticket offices... I wouldn't stay there again, I experienced better value for money in many other places in Vietnam (though the breakfast was really great :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people it attracts are worth going for, and it offeres a nice seclusion when you've had enough of exploring and just want to stay in a nice cocoon. The breakfast is great too, and the pool.

Disliked: I really didn't care of the staff. I was expecting from the reviews that they would be helpful but I found them to be rude, unhelpful, and generally was mistreated by them. They understood English perfectly yet went out of their way to ignore guests or give explanations when I would ask them for things like a receipt, they would just say "no." They did not explain that they soldl locks at the hostel, and refused to help me with booking my transportation home. Overall this place is overrated in terms of service, and the location is quite far from Old town so you have to rent a bicycle.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kiata Ryan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Kiata would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy place to meet other travellers, with an outdoor pool and bar, buffet breakfast. It is a little way from the old town but closer to the beach. It's best to hire a bicycle from the front only 20,000 d and you can get around easier.

Disliked: Kiata left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Noor Anita Mohd Tahir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Noor Anita would recommend this property

Liked: Ya know what? I don't understand when people gave a low rating for this place just because of they had to deal with uncivilized drunken backpackers that shared same room as them. Seriously? This place is awesome. The staffs are friendly and helpful although at point sounded a lil bit fierce (probably because they gotta deal with lots of no-manners backpackers). The room and bathroom/toilet is clean. Good mattress, good bed sheet, good duvet, good pillow, good a/c control... There's nothing for me to complaint about! And the buffet breakfast... AWESOME!!! I feel like I am actually pay for the breakfast rather than the room! Oh, and outside of the cafe, there is a swimming pool! Good place to hang out with other backpackers.

Disliked: None. I like this place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool was nice and it looks nice met some great people here.

Disliked: the shower was broke and didn't work properly, the floor in our dorm was always dirty, they lie about bus and trains how full they are so we had to stay an extra night even though we know there was spaces! They say there are no rooms to some people but others ask and they get a room! They close everything too early it forces you to either go out or go to your room!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Thomas Breen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people

Disliked: Lots, reception staff very ride and always to busy to help, on checkout they made us. Get a taxi when we knew the bis was goong to the same bustop to collect people arriving on the bus we were going on to hue, also lied about festival that was on on town to try get is to stay at hotel bar to drink, money grabbers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the Sunflower is more a hotel than a youth hostel even though the offer dorms. they have a beautiful location (building wise definately a hotel) with a pool and their own bar/restaurant where they also serve breakfast (included in the price!). good thing was that they do (motor) bike rentals!

Disliked: the Sunflower is really comfortable and the only downside was the poor airconditioning; the lobby was really warm and the room did have an aircon but wasnt functioning too well...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013

Liked: I always wondered why people put the best thing was leaving now I know. The only good things - The breakfast is really awesome. The cleaners were really sweet ladies. The room was big.

Disliked: I booked a superior room with balcony as they state on the web site, they didn't have one available so I got a window room which is a standard on this site. I agreed to stay in that room for the ten days and then they charged me the same price telling me it was a superior room. Not happy. What business centre? I had to go to the hotel down the road to print. The rooms are not as nice as depicted mine didn't look like that and I didn't even have pillow cases on the pillows the first night. Only two of the staff at the counter were friendly. The rest were quite abrupt when I asked any questions. For three nights in a row a group came home at 3.30-4.00 and made as much noise as they could for 2 hours. It was so bad I could hear them with my earplugs in and it sounded like a heard of elephants were in the room. Did anyone stop them no. I too went out and partied but didn't have to wake the whole place when I came home. Once they finally stopped and went to sleep the cleaners were then outside my room with the cleaning cart making a racket. One girl was screaming at people to shut up over and over again which was worse than the noise the guys she was telling to shut up were making. If you like feral out of control places and no sleep this is the one the go to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ADAM FERGUSON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 ADAM would recommend this property

Liked: The place to stay if you are backpacking. Very sociable and plenty of partying.

Disliked: ADAM left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people and reasonably priced food and drinks. Great breakfast included.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Hoi An hostels