HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

76.0% Overall Rating

339 out of 365 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Connie Hoang thinks…

"Good buffet breakfast, outdoor pool, between town and beach, pleasant staff, good security in rooms and overall hotel (staff seems to know who is staying there and not, also security cameras with a…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 173 reviews
Ancient House Resort
78.53 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.64 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
19.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
21.45 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

339 out of 365 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
72.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 341 of 359 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice with pool and buffet breakfast. Bicycle rental outside the door so it was okay that the hotel was a bit off (took 5-10 minutes to the city center with bike) They treated us with cold orange juice and a towel to freshen up after our travel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast buffet was amazing! They're not a slight bit stingy when it comes to quantity and variety. Location was decent--about a 15 minute walk from town. Overall a great hostel with amazing value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

natalie poole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious room with useful balcony for drying clothes. Nice size pool for a morning swim. Great breakfast.

Disliked: No individual light or power point by bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franziska Scholz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice accomodation with swimming pool and great breakfast!

Disliked: Franziska left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Pool, the breakfast, good common areas like Pool bar to meet people

Disliked: Expected 4 bed doorm, ended up in six bed dorm, smelly bathroom, doors wouldnt close properly, you need own lock for locker

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Susanne Walofsky

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2014 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: The things we really liked about Hotel Sunflower were the pool and the breakfast. The breakfastwas just awesome! There is a buffet with hot and cold dishes and even a lady who prepares your eggs infront of you.

Disliked: Well, if you are looking for a Party it might be right one for u, if not, the breakfast is pretty much wórth it to stand the noise of other drunken people. The staff also isn't really helpful. They are in a rush and dont even listen to u. Also they are offering a free pick up for checking in but dont show up. And dont expect changed sheets, sometimes they aren't. But as I said the breakfast is worth it as in other Hostels u usually get an air baguette.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Duffy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful and it is in a very good location.

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually, it's a former hotel (incl. pool and ambiente) rebuilt to a hostel. Breakfast buffet (!) is included and THE BEST. It compansates for the location being quite a walk away from the old town.

Disliked: The location: You have to walk like 15-20 minutes to get to the old town. Of course, you can rent a bike/motorbike. It's still quiet inconvenient.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The buffet breakfast was amazing! So much food, really delicious and really filling. We saved a lot of money on food while we were there. It also has a large common area both indoors and outside by the swimming pool with lots of tables and chairs and a pool table, etc. The staff at the front desk were always busy helping guests and really helpful.

Disliked: Just a bit of a walk into the middle of town but there is a shuttle that runs every once in a while that can take you in and you can rent bicycles to take to the beach.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast! Just incredible! The best I've ever seen in a budget accommodation!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 lee would recommend this property

Liked: good place to meeet people. staff very helpful

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

john cunningham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: the brekkie buffet is awesome, come just for that! its not a party hostel as many suggest, the bar for one is too expensive! across the road there is cheap beer though. basically think nice hotel....with dorms. its a sweet deal

Disliked: little bit of a walk to town, but hey. it will do you good!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, good dorms, breakfast spread is amazing, pick up from bus

Disliked: except for the gentleman at the front desk, the rest of the staff were quite unfriendly. i was waiting to get on my bus in the morning. they said the would provide ride for me. but the ride was late and they didn't even show any concern. just told me to wait. i couldn't miss the bus! i was on a tight schedule. so i took a taxi. the gentleman at the front desk called cab for me. he was nice. thanks.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jan-Rasmus Kuennen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Jan-Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, great breakfast

Disliked: bunk beds very noisy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mairead Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Mairead would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Mairead left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Breakfast with pancakes, fresh fruits, egg as prefered, noodle and vegetable dishes. Really a good start in the day. Sadly the juice was not really good, Koffer and tea werd availible. The tours recommended were good. I went to My Son and attended a cooking class..

Disliked: I had booked a bed in a 4-bed dorm and they happened to have only 6bed. The hostel is quite far from the old town but if u want to go to the beach too, the location is perfectly inbetween.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemmel Soussi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013 Gemmel would recommend this property

Liked: Big, clean rooms. The pool

Disliked: So big that it lacks an intimate feel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marjolein Veldkamp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Marjolein would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to meet other backpackers. The breakfast (buffet) is AMAZING, the best i've had so far since i'm travelling :)

Disliked: It's really noisy and there are a lot of party people. It's a 15/20 minute walk to old town and 4 km from the beach.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

russ stevenson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 russ would recommend this property

Liked: All you can eat breakfast, all you can drink at the local club for 100,000D, swimming pool an lotsof backpackers what more do you want??

Disliked: Nithibg

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfasts a good bar and swimming pool area.

Disliked: Could be a bit noisey after midnight and 2 of the Internet computer keyboards had the letters rubbed off them, very difficult to use.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erica Lederman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast, good wifi connection, helpful staff, very clean

Disliked: The bar and restaurant is very expensive and it's a bit far from both the beach and the old town.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michelle Dinn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous breakfast its the best I've had in my 3+ months travelling. Also good social scene.

Disliked: I booked a 4 bed dorm, they put me in a 6 bed but did change me when I pointed this out. It seems tobe a common thing for the hotel, I spoke to several other travellers who a So booked 4 bed but were put in 6 bed dorm. This hotel has a very young clientele who like to party especially around the pool andbar, the noise can get very bad both in the outside areas and hallways. Do not stay here if you are a light sleeper or looking for a quite place.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013

Liked: The free breakfast

Disliked: Noisy as hell. Go there if you are looking for party all the time and not to sleep

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lewis Jordan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Had a small pool and an outside bar. Rooms were ok with air-con and a tv. There was a Typhoon just before we arrived in Hoi An and everywhere was flooded and had no power. This hostel had a generator which was great. They also picked us up from the bus station for free.

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location between beach area and town, all at convenient ride distance

Disliked: Staff was not really helpful and only few of them spoke some English


See all Hoi An hostels