HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

77.0% Overall Rating

338 out of 364 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"There's a really nice pool and outdoor bar where you can meet a lot of other travelers. The room was clean and quite a good size."

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 173 reviews
Ancient House Resort
78.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.87 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.49 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.60 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
21.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
21.45 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

338 out of 364 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 340 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff, amazing free breakfast complete with coffee and juice, good pool and lounging area, overall a nice hotel would definately recommend it - one of my favourite places I stayed in Vietnam!

Disliked: Not so keen on the shower combined with the toilet.. but not a biggie

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicole baudisch

Alone

City break

01 August 2011 nicole would recommend this property

Liked: prompt and super service, very friendly

Disliked: nothing to criticize

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christiaan de Haes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: It has a swimming pool!

Disliked: We had ants in our room and on the corridor as well as by the swimming pool. The wifi in our room was very intermittent and slow.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claire Howarth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Good budget accomodation, comfortble and clean rooms with plenty of space. Great pick-up service from the bus station (FOC) and shuttle service into town until 9pm. We didn't need to use that because we found the 15 minute walk into town fine. Staff at reception were helpful and friendly. Swimming pool whilst small was very much appreciated in the heat. We were allowed to check-out on our last day and come back to the hotel for our bags and a shower before we got on the sleeping bus - always a bonus.

Disliked: Internet access very slow and of the four available terminals in the lobby only three were working while we were there and one was often "hogged" by a guy who we think worked for the hotel. He sat for hours playing online poker and smoking. Not good when there were clearly people waiting to get on line. WiFi access was good however. The hotel books transport and tours for you through the Sinh Cafe. It is cheaper to book with them direct.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard Blundell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great pool

Disliked: Arrived late and were sent to a different hotel for one night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon check in the lady at reception was very helpful with booking our onward travel as trains to Hanoi were full for the next week so she explained alternative ways to get there without being pushy. There was also a recommendation book for tailors that had good and bad reviews from travellers who had stayed there and had clothes made in various tailor shops nearby. Breakfast had a great selection. Reception could also advise on tours and we booked the half day tour to My Son. We were also able to book our bus ticket to Hue from here. Free shuttle bus from hotel to town was great but even without it it's not very far, only about a 10 or 15 minute walk on the well lit up main street. We also opted for the pick-up from Danang, it was not free but was definitely worth it for the peace of mind and avoiding the hassle of taxis upon arrival.

Disliked: Our final morning we were disappointed with the service at breakfast time. We had a bus to catch at 7:15 and so went straight for breakfast at 7am. We had to wait a while for someone to come to do the pancakes at the egg station but when they did come they ignored us and served a man who had just walked in the door despite us standing there for ten minutes before this.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun George

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, pool, brilliant breakfast, friendly staff who will always help despite how busy they may be. My friend left his camera there...a call to sunflower and they tracked it down in the hotel, send it express post to Hoi An (where we were) and arrived safe and sound the next morning. Cannot thank them enough

Disliked: People complain about the location however it is only a 10 min walk or a $2 taxi ride. Halfway to the beach as well. Free shuttles before 9pm

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alex Dawkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Two things really stood out for us: the breakfast and the pool. The breakfast, with custom-made omelettes, was outstanding. The staff were helpful as well, and sorted the few problems we had while staying there.

Disliked: The plumbing on the ground floor was very slow (backed-up showers, every time) and the fact that Sunflower only accepts cash is very irritating. Most places we have stayed in SEA have accepted VISA, but Sunflower does not.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of things, the rooms are cleaned daily, pool is lovely and breakfast is amazing!

Disliked: nothing comes to mind.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Murphy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast in the morning and very clean rooms.

Disliked: It's a bit away from the centre, although still only a 20 min walk or so, plus there is a free shuttle into the centre.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Francois Maraud

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Francois would recommend this property

Liked: The room was good, the swimmimg-pool as well. The shuttle to the center was very convenient and useful! The breakfast was ok. The atmosphere is nice with backpackers and families.

Disliked: BE CAREFUL!!! The staff is not very honest!! When we arrived, they told us there was an electricity problem in the room. They relocated us to an other hotel for the first night, it was dirty, many things were broken in the room! Back to the sunflower the next day, we noticed that they told that story to other people who were relocated as well... We complained about that, they made us a 3 dollar discount (really the room did not worth that 17 dollars anyway!). So be careful....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. It works like a hotel but has the prices of a hostel. We were very satisfied with our stay and even extended our trip!

Disliked: It was kind of far from the town, but much closer to the beach than other hotels so coming home from the bar late at night was a decent walk, but we never felt unsafe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hotel with nice clean rooms. Staff were very helpful. Would definitely recommend as great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katie Hartley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: the free breakfast was amazing and the pool was a nice place to chill. and they shuttled you into the old town whenever you wanted.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joakim Dragsten

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Joakim would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very good breakfast buffet! Highly recommended!

Disliked: Bit far away from downtown.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really clean and neat. The staffs are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is nothing really unpleasant about the stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was decent and there was a nice pool. The shuttle into the city was good. They have 4 computers in the lobby, and a printer, which was very handy.

Disliked: Rooms were pretty ordinary. They were having some problems with the internet while we were there, but we were able to get a connection most of the time. Towels and sheets were thread-bare. Good place if you're 20-something - it really attracted a younger set. Not so good if you're older.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Ungpakorn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in between Hoi An town and the beach - a short cycle ride to either. Staff at the hotel were really helpful and friendly, and the room was great value for money: clean & big, with lovely breakfast included - eggs cooked how you liked - and the pool was an nice added extra for the price (not huge but big enough to do some lengths).

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kerry-ann mackay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 kerry-ann would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good service, went out of the way to make sure you were happy. Good location, walking distance to the town centre, tended to get the free shuttle bus in and walk back at night. Good rooms and facilities.

Disliked: The shower head is very low in the bath, not really a problem though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very nice stay at Sunflower Hotel. It has a swimming pool, buffet breakfast and very helpful staff who are always eager to please. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had pool, close to ancient town, good size

Disliked: Room was fine but stairs and entrance not clean - although there is major construction happening on the main road infront of hotel so I guess it is to be expected. Unfortunately they are digging up the whole road which meant it was not nice walking to & from hotel but am sure this would have been fine otherwise

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Harrington

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Great buffet breakfast, staff are really friendly and helpful. The pool area is really nice, and you can have drinks or lunch there. Its a 10-15 min walk to the old town centre, so we didn't avail of the free shuttle. We arrived at 6.30am after a long night bus and were greeted with tea and cakes, and they had our room ready by 7.30am for no extra charge which was excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place to spend some days. The breakfast buffet was amazing (the best breakfast we had during our time in Vietnam), the pick-up service worked perfectly and the staff was helpful. The hotel even offered a shuttle-bus to the city center at certain times of the day, but we never used it.

Disliked: In the evening we could hear some animals crawling inside our room walls - they luckily never came out. According to the noises they made, it seemed to be mice or rats (I had some mice in my appartement some years ago and the sound was quite similar).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jamie limb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: For the price of the hotel it is an added bonus to have a good swimming pool, the buffet breakfast each morning is really good and the hotel food menu during the day reasonably priced. Shuttle bus very good for getting to town but would recommend using the lady in front of hotel to hire Bicycles for 20,000 or moped for 140,000 a day.

Disliked: We were booked onto a sunrise tour at myson but saw the sunrise from hotel. Staff at hotel took off a discount for this


See all Hoi An hostels