HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

81.6% Overall Rating

328 out of 352 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

"A nice hostel centrally located in Hoi An. The staff was great and quickly provided us with a map and showed us the main areas. They were very helpful in sorting out tickets to our next destination. The pool was great…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.8% 168 reviews
Ancient House Resort
78.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.36 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.72 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
20.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
25.08 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

328 out of 352 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 347 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Francois Maraud

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Francois would recommend this property

Liked: The room was good, the swimmimg-pool as well. The shuttle to the center was very convenient and useful! The breakfast was ok. The atmosphere is nice with backpackers and families.

Disliked: BE CAREFUL!!! The staff is not very honest!! When we arrived, they told us there was an electricity problem in the room. They relocated us to an other hotel for the first night, it was dirty, many things were broken in the room! Back to the sunflower the next day, we noticed that they told that story to other people who were relocated as well... We complained about that, they made us a 3 dollar discount (really the room did not worth that 17 dollars anyway!). So be careful....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. It works like a hotel but has the prices of a hostel. We were very satisfied with our stay and even extended our trip!

Disliked: It was kind of far from the town, but much closer to the beach than other hotels so coming home from the bar late at night was a decent walk, but we never felt unsafe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hotel with nice clean rooms. Staff were very helpful. Would definitely recommend as great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katie Hartley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: the free breakfast was amazing and the pool was a nice place to chill. and they shuttled you into the old town whenever you wanted.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joakim Dragsten

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Joakim would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very good breakfast buffet! Highly recommended!

Disliked: Bit far away from downtown.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really clean and neat. The staffs are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is nothing really unpleasant about the stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was decent and there was a nice pool. The shuttle into the city was good. They have 4 computers in the lobby, and a printer, which was very handy.

Disliked: Rooms were pretty ordinary. They were having some problems with the internet while we were there, but we were able to get a connection most of the time. Towels and sheets were thread-bare. Good place if you're 20-something - it really attracted a younger set. Not so good if you're older.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Ungpakorn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in between Hoi An town and the beach - a short cycle ride to either. Staff at the hotel were really helpful and friendly, and the room was great value for money: clean & big, with lovely breakfast included - eggs cooked how you liked - and the pool was an nice added extra for the price (not huge but big enough to do some lengths).

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kerry-ann mackay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 kerry-ann would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good service, went out of the way to make sure you were happy. Good location, walking distance to the town centre, tended to get the free shuttle bus in and walk back at night. Good rooms and facilities.

Disliked: The shower head is very low in the bath, not really a problem though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very nice stay at Sunflower Hotel. It has a swimming pool, buffet breakfast and very helpful staff who are always eager to please. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had pool, close to ancient town, good size

Disliked: Room was fine but stairs and entrance not clean - although there is major construction happening on the main road infront of hotel so I guess it is to be expected. Unfortunately they are digging up the whole road which meant it was not nice walking to & from hotel but am sure this would have been fine otherwise

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Harrington

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Great buffet breakfast, staff are really friendly and helpful. The pool area is really nice, and you can have drinks or lunch there. Its a 10-15 min walk to the old town centre, so we didn't avail of the free shuttle. We arrived at 6.30am after a long night bus and were greeted with tea and cakes, and they had our room ready by 7.30am for no extra charge which was excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place to spend some days. The breakfast buffet was amazing (the best breakfast we had during our time in Vietnam), the pick-up service worked perfectly and the staff was helpful. The hotel even offered a shuttle-bus to the city center at certain times of the day, but we never used it.

Disliked: In the evening we could hear some animals crawling inside our room walls - they luckily never came out. According to the noises they made, it seemed to be mice or rats (I had some mice in my appartement some years ago and the sound was quite similar).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jamie limb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: For the price of the hotel it is an added bonus to have a good swimming pool, the buffet breakfast each morning is really good and the hotel food menu during the day reasonably priced. Shuttle bus very good for getting to town but would recommend using the lady in front of hotel to hire Bicycles for 20,000 or moped for 140,000 a day.

Disliked: We were booked onto a sunrise tour at myson but saw the sunrise from hotel. Staff at hotel took off a discount for this

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were really spacious with tv, wi-fi (the signal was quite good) and a nice view from the balcony. The staff always have a smile and speak very good english. There is a great pool and sunbed area where you can just chill out if you dont want to go very far and its in the middle of of a road that leads you to the beach one way and the old quarter the other, perfect. We have actually extended from 3 nights to 10 as its great value for money for exploring the area.

Disliked: I didnt like our bathroom. It looked a little damp and the shower was pretty cold every day but to be honest you spend as little time in there as possible and the cool shower woke you up. If you want breakfast i'd go down before 9.30 as the odd morning I did go down, some things were running a little low.This didnt put us off extending our stay though as in other places we would not get our own room for the money we paid.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money; free shuttle into town - but still walkable if you fancy it; free internet; great free breakfast - best so far; swimming pool and pool area to chill out in; quiet; friendly and helpful staff - we arrived on the 6am night bus from nha trang and they sent bus to collect us and gave us tea whilst we waited for our rooms - made to feel welcome after a long journey; very efficient and professionally run; bike hire outside for only $1 a day - great to take to beach.

Disliked: only comment would be that I couldn't get the wifi on the 4th floor so had to come down to lobby; and maybe suggest a curfew for the pool as we were disturbed by some over keen residents until quite late. But these are really tiny criticisms and overall we had a fantastic stay - would definitely recommend it to anyone who comes to Hoi An!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast buffet is huge, there's a free shuttle to the old town throughout the day, and they clean the rooms daily.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, recommending where to shop and not and helping organise coaches on. Free breakfast was very welcome.

Disliked: Property was abit further out than would normally like, however free shuttle service helped get round this.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For Hoi An standards good value for money. Rooms very clean and serviced every day. Good WIFI in the rooms, big breakfast vietnamese and western. Mrs Kwie in front of the hotel has good bikes for rent.

Disliked: Not all staff is very friendly. As if they do you a favor instead of the other way around. One guy at the breakfast restaurant has serious hygiene issues.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely staff, help with everything! Lots of facilities, great breakfast!

Disliked: ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luke mcrae

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: A couple of the staff were really excellent. Made things very clear. The on-request shuttle bus to most destinations is genius, however Mr. Hung's bicycles for $1 are the best way to get about beautiful Hoi An

Disliked: The Internet station is too small, particularly with 1 of 4 PC's not having FB access. This nobody uses it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANA INES MORATO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 ANA INES would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandra Baccino

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really nice and very helpful and they offer an amazing free breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved Sunflower!! The staff was beyond accommodating and friendly. We got in early and they gave us a temporary room to shower and rest in for no extra cost. The breakfast buffet was delicious, and they were full of good and honest recommendations. We didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Hoi An hostels