HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Sunflower

2 star Hotel | 397 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam 84 510

81.6% Overall Rating

328 out of 352 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

"A nice hostel centrally located in Hoi An. The staff was great and quickly provided us with a map and showed us the main areas. They were very helpful in sorting out tickets to our next destination. The pool was great…"

Read all Sunflower reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 250.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Green Field Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.8% 168 reviews
Ancient House Resort
78.35 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
8.32 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
River-Beach Resort
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
SEA AND SAND HOTEL
13.48 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
34.56 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
20.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
26.50 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

328 out of 352 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunflower'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 347 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisette Bos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Lisette would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast buffet, nice pool, rooms are large

Disliked: The hotelstaff earns commission on every excursion/ ticket they sell. It is better to go to one of the travel agencies downtown. It is a little further away from the downtown area but if you rent a bike (for US1 per day) it is just 5 minutes by ride.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool was nice, room was super cheap, but super nice. Most of the staff were great, located a small walk from the center of town, but there are a few good/cheap restaurants along the way, so 'sallgood

Disliked: Had construction going on down the hall, a bummer for sure, I could have requested a new room though, just was lazy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

charles morgan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 charles would recommend this property

Liked: Well I have to tellyou about the breakfast. Was it left overs from super the night before or do they always have such a varied breakfast. Not just the usual breakfast selection but also pasta, sandwiches, noodles rice as well as omelets fab fresh fruit cakes the list is endless and as much as you want. It certainly set us up for the rest of the day. Great value for money. It was also close to the centre only 20min easy walk but the hotel offered a free shuttle bus, we never used it as we like to walk. Great bike hire on the doorstgep.

Disliked: A little dusty along the corridoors as they were refurbishing some rooms, but our room was clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a specious hotel with kind staffmembers. They speak English very well. Our room had a balcony with view above the swimmingpool. The breakfast is delicious! Every day something different, but don't as last. The menu is also good. Furthermore they have shuttle-buses to the centre. Nice for when it's raining.

Disliked: No locker in the room. It's 10 min walk to the beginning of the centre. But if you are at the end it's a half an hour walk. Pretty far, but the byclicles for 1 Dollar are handy. The busticket booking here was a little expensive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

antenor chocano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 antenor would recommend this property

Liked: The price, nice clean rooms, value for money. Safety

Disliked: it;s 5 minutes ride from the center in scooter or 10-15 walking

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast, we stayed at both the Southern and Sunflower, and it has to be said the breakfast is way better in the Sunflower! Food lovers will be satisfied with the free breakfast! The staff are also really friendly and helpful, they provide a free service to the bus station if you're catching a bus onto your next destination - giving us a bottle of water for our journey was a lovely touch!

Disliked: Unfortunately they have building work going on at the moment and the builders start making noise around 7am which isn't great but if you're an early riser it shouldn't be a problem!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool was nice. The free buffett breakfast. The pick up from bus station.

Disliked: There was construction going on from 7am each morning in most parts of the property which made it very noisey. It wasn't close to anywhere decent to have a few drinks or go out for the evening you had to go into town which wasn't easy at night because the shuttle stops and there are no taxis around. The lady at the front desk was really rude to us when we were trying to book our hop on hop off bus. She wouldn't help at all and then sent us to the wrong place when we went to book it ourselves. The wifi didn't work the whole time we were there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had an awesome outdoor area, pool and seating area.

Disliked: 3 out of 4 computers didn't work, and it looked as though they may have had viruses.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The (included) breakfast buffet. Very good value for money.

Disliked: No wifi in (our) room. Other rooms might have wifi since they have access-points on every floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Buck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and helpful I can't say enough about how wonderful they made the visit! The breakfast in the am was free and amazing!! Very nice hotel would recommend to all travelers:)

Disliked: Nothing... Hotel was perfect... A little farther away from the beach than they said though.. Just rent a bike!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool area, and good breakfast although not everything was labelled (we struggled being vegetarian). Rooms were spacious and clean. decent wifi throughout.

Disliked: A little on the pricey side, but budget accom in Hoi An is hard to come by. The Hotel is a little far from center but the shuttle bus (which we never used as we had bikes everyday) runs often, or you can hire cycles as we did everyday for 20,000d from the woman just outside the hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Value for money. Good Breakfast

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ian Prince

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Large room, good in-room wifi connection. Friendly helpful staff. Great beakfast. Lovely clean swimming pool. Free shuttle bus to centre of town. 20 minute walk to the centre of the old town, 10 minutes to the outskirts.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was amazing, the location was great and the staff were really helpful,

Disliked: Sometimes the room was not cleaned until quite late in the day i.e 3pm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Sloan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Best place we've stayed in so far. The staff are super helpful - service is like a 5 star hotel. The rooms are really nice, they serve a great breakfast & have a pool; what more could you ask for!

Disliked: Was a little bit out of the old quarter but they have a free shuttle service until 9pm and it's reapply only a 10-15 min walk from town anyway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff, amazing free breakfast complete with coffee and juice, good pool and lounging area, overall a nice hotel would definately recommend it - one of my favourite places I stayed in Vietnam!

Disliked: Not so keen on the shower combined with the toilet.. but not a biggie

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicole baudisch

Alone

City break

01 August 2011 nicole would recommend this property

Liked: prompt and super service, very friendly

Disliked: nothing to criticize

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christiaan de Haes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: It has a swimming pool!

Disliked: We had ants in our room and on the corridor as well as by the swimming pool. The wifi in our room was very intermittent and slow.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claire Howarth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Good budget accomodation, comfortble and clean rooms with plenty of space. Great pick-up service from the bus station (FOC) and shuttle service into town until 9pm. We didn't need to use that because we found the 15 minute walk into town fine. Staff at reception were helpful and friendly. Swimming pool whilst small was very much appreciated in the heat. We were allowed to check-out on our last day and come back to the hotel for our bags and a shower before we got on the sleeping bus - always a bonus.

Disliked: Internet access very slow and of the four available terminals in the lobby only three were working while we were there and one was often "hogged" by a guy who we think worked for the hotel. He sat for hours playing online poker and smoking. Not good when there were clearly people waiting to get on line. WiFi access was good however. The hotel books transport and tours for you through the Sinh Cafe. It is cheaper to book with them direct.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard Blundell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great pool

Disliked: Arrived late and were sent to a different hotel for one night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon check in the lady at reception was very helpful with booking our onward travel as trains to Hanoi were full for the next week so she explained alternative ways to get there without being pushy. There was also a recommendation book for tailors that had good and bad reviews from travellers who had stayed there and had clothes made in various tailor shops nearby. Breakfast had a great selection. Reception could also advise on tours and we booked the half day tour to My Son. We were also able to book our bus ticket to Hue from here. Free shuttle bus from hotel to town was great but even without it it's not very far, only about a 10 or 15 minute walk on the well lit up main street. We also opted for the pick-up from Danang, it was not free but was definitely worth it for the peace of mind and avoiding the hassle of taxis upon arrival.

Disliked: Our final morning we were disappointed with the service at breakfast time. We had a bus to catch at 7:15 and so went straight for breakfast at 7am. We had to wait a while for someone to come to do the pancakes at the egg station but when they did come they ignored us and served a man who had just walked in the door despite us standing there for ten minutes before this.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun George

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, pool, brilliant breakfast, friendly staff who will always help despite how busy they may be. My friend left his camera there...a call to sunflower and they tracked it down in the hotel, send it express post to Hoi An (where we were) and arrived safe and sound the next morning. Cannot thank them enough

Disliked: People complain about the location however it is only a 10 min walk or a $2 taxi ride. Halfway to the beach as well. Free shuttles before 9pm

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alex Dawkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Two things really stood out for us: the breakfast and the pool. The breakfast, with custom-made omelettes, was outstanding. The staff were helpful as well, and sorted the few problems we had while staying there.

Disliked: The plumbing on the ground floor was very slow (backed-up showers, every time) and the fact that Sunflower only accepts cash is very irritating. Most places we have stayed in SEA have accepted VISA, but Sunflower does not.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of things, the rooms are cleaned daily, pool is lovely and breakfast is amazing!

Disliked: nothing comes to mind.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Murphy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast in the morning and very clean rooms.

Disliked: It's a bit away from the centre, although still only a 20 min walk or so, plus there is a free shuttle into the centre.


See all Hoi An hostels