HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Vinh Huy Hotel

5 star Hotel | 203 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoi An, Vietnam 0084

68.9% Overall Rating

50 out of 94 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2013)

"The hostel is central and offers a swimming pool, nice big rooms with aircon, ensuite and a tv and the staff are very friendly."

Read all Vinh Huy Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Full House Homestay
8.69 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
11.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.4% 12 reviews
Bach Dang Hoi An Hotel
13.75 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Thien Thanh Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 4 star 88.9% 69 reviews
Hoi An Grassland Hotel
13.50 USD

Hotel 5 star 77.1% 42 reviews
Hoi An Phuong Dong Hotel
7.01 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 61.9% 3 reviews
Hoa My I Hotel
8.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 26 reviews
Southern Hotel and Villa
11.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 84.9% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.9%

Overall Rating

50 out of 94 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vinh Huy Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
75.2%
Value
61.6%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jessie McDonald

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

19 April 2014

Liked: The people were nice enough

Disliked: The room was very loud due to the swimming pool downstairs and no insulation. The bathroom was the mouldiest dirtiest bathroom I have ever come accros in all my travels. This time travelling with my baby, I felt this was unsafe and unacceptable. 2 doors down the road there is a much much nicer hotel with bigger rooms, wifi in the bedroom and the bathroom was spotless for the same price.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

aimeur mhamed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 aimeur would recommend this property

Liked: close to the most touristic places

Disliked: None

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Shabby and somewhat neglected hotel further from the old town but conveniently close to the open tour bus station. I stayed at a single room, directly above the street besides there was loud music coming from a neighbouring club so it was very noisy. Tv set and wifi in the room didn't work, there was no toilet paper or towel provided-need to ask at reception. Breakfast not included. AC in the room wasn't cooling well either- it was old and clogged with dust. I booked the room through hostelbookers.com for $7- it was on a special offer. On check out receptionist insisted the price was $13 a night and kept arguing the price even after l'd showed her booking confirmation. After 2 hours she called 'her boss' who agreed to the original rate. After all this hassle, she charged me full $7 although l'd paid 10% deposit upfront. Her excuse- she's doing me a favor already by applying the rate l booked and she's not 'discounting' any moreI rate my experience at this hotel as horrid, there are much nicer places to stay in town with more pleasant staff even if for a little higher rate.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 October 2013

Liked: It has a small pool

Disliked: Trying to sell you tours which are really expensive compared to the other traveling offices in the town

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is central and offers a swimming pool, nice big rooms with aircon, ensuite and a tv and the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: We had some problems checking in, because the women at reception couldnt find our booking. It was eventually sorted out though, and we were able to check in to our room. I wud recommend to print off the hostel bookers confirmation details and show to reception at check in.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nuno Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: The room was not clean and it is very different from what they announce in the hostelbookers website. The hotel closes before 23h and it is impossible to use computers from that hour on. The computers dont run very well too! The hotel tried to charge more than the price mentioned in the hostelbookers reservation. My balance was 13.5$ USD to pay and they try to charge 15$ USD.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Joan Liddle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013

Liked: You get used to it Hoi An is a great place and location of hotel isnt to bad.

Disliked: Dirty never change your sheets just fold them as if frexh but same ones towels changed once in 4 days. They can operate your aircon from reception whdn you ask for it to be put on they do then 5 minutes later they switch it off.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013

Liked: Okay location. Fridge and tv included

Disliked: Value for money is poor, stayed in a lot better hotels for less. Bathroom has mould. Air-con kept cutting out then didn't work. Poor Internet connection.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013

Liked: Nothing special...

Disliked: I booked single room, but I got room with 2 double beds on 4th floor. No WiFi, pretty dirty.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013

Liked: The staff gave me the map and show me how to get the old town, and where i can eat the good foods

Disliked: The room is dark and not clean, the fan is noisy, the bathroom looks like very dirty. I can hear people talks in another room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013

Liked: Good location and cheap price. They offered free pick up, which we at the end haven't used as bus stays just next street.

Disliked: We disliked most of the things. Our room is very small and not clean, especially floors, blankets and bathrooms. We stayed there for 3 nights and they emptied trash bin just once, it was even half full when we arrived. Blankets were so dusty and dirty that we were covering ourself with towels instead.. Staff is very pushy regarding tours and when they find out we won't be going with them on any of those, they have treated us differently. They tour/bus prices were overpriced. For example, same bus that goes at 6pm to Nha trang they were charging 12 usd per person, and just next door is 10 usd. It is also very, very noisy from 6am, so we haven't sleep well. Laundry scales are dodgy so check for yourself. I gave them few blouses and they have told me its 2 kilos. But, as then was crowded in reception I haven't want to check. When I took back clean laundry I put it on the scale and it was 1, 2. When I asked she told me that laundry is heavier before it was washed. Please, who will believe such a nonsense! It's not about 15000 dong, its about honesty. If you want 15 000dong just ask me, don't make me fool! Also, check out is at 11 am not at noon, as it is written on hostelbookers, so basically they woke us up at 11am saying that we should leave room immediately. They wanted to charge us 100% of the price and some breakfast that we didn't have. Although, we have been explaining that we didn't take that breakfast, they were really convinced and it took 10 min for them to understand. Overall, its cheap, but we really haven't feel welcomed there. There are too many beautiful hostels in Vietnam who are offering for same price much better service and people are more honest.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012

Liked: The staff were helpful.

Disliked: The room was extremely dirty. The bed sheets had not been changed and neither had the towels. Cockroaches, mould in the shower, light broken.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

XINXIN ZHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2012

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: It is super unclean - bugs all over the bed and the floor. Staff was horrible - so unfriendly that you wonder what you have ever done to her. You have to pay for security box to put in your valuables.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Cole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The people were extremely friendly, not overly pushy and able to help with any trips/travel. I would recommend to everyone!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Fitzgerald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: They picked us up from the bus for free. We arrived very early but were still able to check in. Our room was cleaned and we were given fresh towels every day.

Disliked: The My Son tour isn't worth the money.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helping staff free internet good breakfast swimming pool daily local tour

Disliked: The room was clean but stinked

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

May Kosaka

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 May would recommend this property

Liked: easy walking distance to Ancient Town, maybe 4 minutes, while 1 block into the local area so you can see the locals hanging out & playing in the park, and local food on the street. very nice rooms for the price, big & clean. $12 for a single, but it actually came with double beds, very spacious. cheap enough that all the guests are backpackers. i got Room 404 in the attic, and its very nice with full height ceiling, window to stairwell, and a balcony which lets in natural light (no view there though except when you climb up to pop your head up). A/C, good shower, clean bathroom, clean sheets & towels. the pool is indoors but i saw someone swimming in it last night.

Disliked: there are 4 computers, but internet browser freezes on 2 of them. skype is installed on 1 of them, but no mic or speakers or headset, so whats the point?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was good

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Felix Benzinger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really Hospitable and gave us many informations for hoi an. The rooms are perfect for the price

Disliked: The wifi doenst works well at the rooms, but we are thinking its probably a think from the goverment for some webpages

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheldon Reed

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2012 Sheldon would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the staff here, and the location is in a tucked away yet busy street in the old quarter. The rooms aren't spotless but we didn't have any problems. Excellent value considering (basic) breakfast, wifi, hot water, a/c are all included, as well as free refreshing lemon drinks whenever you want!

Disliked: Sheldon left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and helpful staff good location and close to the hoi an old quater

Disliked: no

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mathew janzen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012

Liked: Not too far from old town but not as close as described. Very cheap though

Disliked: Very pushy staff. Tried to force tours on us. Tried short changing us also by not including deposit paid online. Had to pay for locker to keep valuables in. Mold and damp on all the walls. No handle to bathroom. Loud music nearby at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012

Liked: Not a lot

Disliked: Pool is more of a puddle, too cold to use. Staff are hawkers. Doors are locked at 9.30PM, and it's next to a club with pounding music, so forget relaxing. Also rooms are damp, so I got ill, wifi didn't work upstairs and toilet door locked from the inside every time it was closed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012

Liked: Cheap in comparison to other places to stay in Hoi An.

Disliked: Very unclean.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

John Field

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The pool looked OK though didn't use it

Disliked: Staff not friendly. Imposed upon you with regard to selling tours. Their tour prices/bus prices were also overpriced. When I checked out they tried to rip me off (1) on the exchange rate used (2) They didn't take into account I paid hostelbookers part payment up front (3). They tried to short change me! the owner (a middleaged male) is responsible for this behaviour, I believe. Room was also dirty/scruffy. There is a better and cheaper hotel TWO doors up to which I moved!


See all Hoi An hostels