We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Vinh Huy Hotel

5 star Hotel | 203 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoi An, Vietnam 0084

63.8% Overall Rating

55 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2015)

"For Hoi An it was very cheap, especially for a private twin with AC, TV and fresh towels everyday. Location was pretty close to town and staff were always smiley and helpful."

Read all Vinh Huy Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Full House Homestay
9.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
8.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.7% 20 reviews
Aquarium Villa
12.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bach Dang Hoi An Hotel
13.30 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hoa My I Hotel
6.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.2% 29 reviews
Hoian Salute Hotel, Villa and Hostel
8.00 USD

Hotel 4 star 88.0% 119 reviews
Nhi Nhi Hotel - Hoi An
27.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.3% 23 reviews
GOLF HOI AN HOTEL
17.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.8%

Overall Rating

55 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vinh Huy Hotel'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
67.2%
Value
58.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 92 of 102 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was good

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Felix Benzinger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really Hospitable and gave us many informations for hoi an. The rooms are perfect for the price

Disliked: The wifi doenst works well at the rooms, but we are thinking its probably a think from the goverment for some webpages

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheldon Reed

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2012 Sheldon would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the staff here, and the location is in a tucked away yet busy street in the old quarter. The rooms aren't spotless but we didn't have any problems. Excellent value considering (basic) breakfast, wifi, hot water, a/c are all included, as well as free refreshing lemon drinks whenever you want!

Disliked: Sheldon left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and helpful staff good location and close to the hoi an old quater

Disliked: no

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mathew janzen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012

Liked: Not too far from old town but not as close as described. Very cheap though

Disliked: Very pushy staff. Tried to force tours on us. Tried short changing us also by not including deposit paid online. Had to pay for locker to keep valuables in. Mold and damp on all the walls. No handle to bathroom. Loud music nearby at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012

Liked: Not a lot

Disliked: Pool is more of a puddle, too cold to use. Staff are hawkers. Doors are locked at 9.30PM, and it's next to a club with pounding music, so forget relaxing. Also rooms are damp, so I got ill, wifi didn't work upstairs and toilet door locked from the inside every time it was closed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012

Liked: Cheap in comparison to other places to stay in Hoi An.

Disliked: Very unclean.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

John Field

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The pool looked OK though didn't use it

Disliked: Staff not friendly. Imposed upon you with regard to selling tours. Their tour prices/bus prices were also overpriced. When I checked out they tried to rip me off (1) on the exchange rate used (2) They didn't take into account I paid hostelbookers part payment up front (3). They tried to short change me! the owner (a middleaged male) is responsible for this behaviour, I believe. Room was also dirty/scruffy. There is a better and cheaper hotel TWO doors up to which I moved!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012

Liked: location - close to city center

Disliked: moldy walls, strong smell from the mold was difficult to sleep, no window in the room, I wanted to open the door to have fresh air but oposite was the reception with a man smoking all the time and watching TV very loudly,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very cheap and about eight minutes walking from the center

Disliked: the rooms were totally different from the room at the picture. eg. maintenance of the room was very poor, the were some insects in the room (I meant no mosquito s or flies) the employee behind the counter let me pay to much for a national call. the employee behind the counter two tailors in hoi an (who delivered poor quality)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

sarah frost

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012

Liked: The swimming pool is a nice feature, but its not worth paying the extra money for. Better budget options in the area.

Disliked: The photos advertising rooms were not rooms from this hotel, which is very misleading. The first night our room was dark (no window) and dirty. Walls were stained and the room hadn't been thoroughly cleaned. Also it was very noisy as above reception and the phone rang continuously throughout the night without staff answering it. The second night we changed rooms- slightly better but still not worth the money. Also owner far too pushy with tour selling.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Guy Hyams

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 December 2011

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Moldy bathrooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2011

Liked: The rooms are not bad. The pool is refreshing

Disliked: The room itself was fine. The swimming pool was small but clean and refreshing. This place was noisy as it is situated on a busy street. ten minutes walk from the main tourist area. The service was terrible. They tried to sell us tours and when we said we did not want one then the lady got offended and seemed to treat us differently for the rest of the stay. We wanted to catch the local bus to Da nang as it only cost $20000 dong so we asked the lady if the station was close and she said it was far away, turns out it was about a 8 minute walk down the road the hostel was on. She also said we should book a taxi or shuttle bus through her instead for $11 US as the public buses were awful and dirty. Turns out they were great! Just make sure you don’t pay more than $25000 dong as they will try to get as much money out of you as possible. We ended up booking a tour for My son through them but the tour group was so large and with only one tour guide that you missed a lot of the information he was saying due to not being able to fit in the small spaces around the temple with everyone. Also the admission to the temple was not included which is something they do not tell you and should be included in the cost when it’s a tour! We got our washing done at this hotel and it came back with dirt marks and stains! When checking out they tried to overcharge us by $180000 dong! We had to go through each item and calculate ourselves and show them they were wrong, they the lady tried to blame it on another staff member whom I think was a cleaner… Will never stay here again! So unwelcoming!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: good

Disliked: no

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient when you get off the bus (if you are doing the hop on hop off bus)

Disliked: we stayed here one night and paid 3x the amount as what we ended up paying next door for the exact same room.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Karla Barahona

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011

Liked: it's in old town, walking distance from all the restaurants and sightseeing places. Vinh, the owner and his daughter seemed nice to a point.

Disliked: The rooms are a bit dodgy, they feel pretty insecure. They offer tours in Halong Bay which should not be bought there, I bought a tour for $85 which was $52 everywhere else, they showed me photos of a different boat and a different trip so I accepted and at the end it was the worst boat, cockroaches in the rooms, bad service, bad attitude from the tour guide...worst trip ever so don't buy any tours from them... I also did my laundry there just to find out they weight the cloth before washing, my cloth was all wet so it weighted more and when I told Vingh he just discounted 2 kilos but pretty sure it was less and said he couldn't weight it anymore. The hostel wasn't that bad but I felt cheated with the tour, that was low!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to us as we stepped off the bus which was brilliant after a long sleeper bus journey- room wasnt ready but let us stay in a little attic room, have a wash and a sleep before our actual room was ready. Good sized rooms with aircon, ensuite and a little balcony plus tv. Internet was free and although we didnt use it the pool looked lovely

Disliked: A little bit of a walk from the town itself but once you know where you are going its not bad

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kathleen Ahamed-Broadhurst

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011

Liked: I liked very little about this property. the location was ok and the room had a balcony.

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful and didn't speak English very well. They seemed more interested in having the hotel staff wait on them then on helping the patrons. The rooms were not very clean, the towels were dirty and they didn't come to change the sheets or give more toilet paper in the four nights we stayed there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicholas Jennings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The preoperty was pretty good, the rooms were big and had aircon which was a must in Hoi An. We sorted out trains to Hanoi there and transportation to Danang which all went well. The pool was brilliant after a day at the beach and the old town. They also recommended the tailor Linh Chi which were amazing got a really good fitted cashmere tux for $120 and my mate got a really good 3 piece grey suit for $135, really good quality.

Disliked: The rooms were ok but the first room i moved to was abit damp and the paint was peeling. Also they gave me 5minutes notice so i could move my room which wasn't enough.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roy Veldhuizen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and the pool is cool,overall:clean and nice place with helpful staff.

Disliked: The computers were slow and wifi was not that reliable.the roof of the top floor was quite low.Also a bar nearby played loud music,but only until 12 o'clock.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ned Lederer

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Ned would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, the bed was comfortable and it was cheap.

Disliked: Our room on the top floor was incredibly hot, and without glass in some of the windows making the AC much less effective. It has a pool, but it closes by 9pm so we never got to use it. The rooms are also a little meh, though certainly not terrible. It's hardly in the center of old town, though most things are within walking distance if you're ok with a little trek. Overall it's probably not worth the savings, though it's not terrible.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011

Liked: DO NOT BOOK ANYTHING WITH THIS HOTEL THEY WILL RIP U OFF. How ever fairly good location and facilitys for price, staff superficaly nice but do not trust them.

Disliked: Ripped off on everything we bought from here. SHOP AROUND! Paid 26 dollars for a so called sleeper bus to Hanoi, got told wouldnt stop any where. But actually got standard bus to Hue then a sleeper bus to Hanoi. Friends ar same time in different hotel got non stop sleeper to Hanoi. Also booked halong bay tour, maybe naively believed after being told were recieving a discount for staying with them and they were opening a new office in Hanoi but eneded up paying about 10 dollars more than most people on the same tour. Which turned out to be very very poor. Do not have a tour with Joy Travel. Litterally could not arrange a sleep over in a hotel. Got nothing we paid for!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing was the pool. The rooms were nice and they were clean. Mini bar had reasonable prices.

Disliked: While the younger staff are lovely, the older man (the owner I think) was grumpy and only friendly when it suited him. Laundry scales are dodgy - check for yourself and keep a record because we witnessed many disputes over laundry bills and restaurant tabs on checking out. I think you are pretty safe if you have booked through Hostelbookers - they were keen to get good reviews.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011

Liked: the location was pretty good, and although expensive, it was still cheaper than other hostels in town, especially during festival weekend. easy to get to, staff were helpful.

Disliked: the room was very damp and humid, which made it smell and made all the bed sheets very damp and wet too. the towels were also damp and dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rebecca Loprese

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Not the cheapest place to book online, but you can get cheaper rooms if you just turn up and they always seem to somehow have availability! Even though some of the Open tours arrive just out the front! Decent enough little place, we had a great stay - though the night watchman probably hates us for waking him up at 3am for 3 nights in a row and going for a midnight swim! Breakfast is also a bonus here

Disliked: Indoor pool isnt that great! But it is a pool! Would recommend anyone to stay within the Ancient area of Hoi Ann - if your on a bit of a budget turn up and try to nab a cheap room here otherwise!


See all Hoi An hostels