HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Vinh Huy Hotel

5 star Hotel | 203 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoi An, Vietnam 0084

68.5% Overall Rating

50 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2013)

"The hostel is central and offers a swimming pool, nice big rooms with aircon, ensuite and a tv and the staff are very friendly."

Read all Vinh Huy Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
9.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 10 reviews
Bach Dang Hoi An Hotel
13.81 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Thien Thanh Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 4 star 88.9% 69 reviews
Hoi An Grassland Hotel
13.50 USD

Hotel 5 star 77.1% 42 reviews
Hoi An Phuong Dong Hotel
7.04 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 61.9% 3 reviews
Hoa My I Hotel
8.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.7% 24 reviews
Southern Hotel and Villa
8.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 84.0% 107 reviews
Nhi Nhi Hotel - Hoi An
25.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.3% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.5%

Overall Rating

50 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vinh Huy Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
63.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 91 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012

Liked: location - close to city center

Disliked: moldy walls, strong smell from the mold was difficult to sleep, no window in the room, I wanted to open the door to have fresh air but oposite was the reception with a man smoking all the time and watching TV very loudly,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very cheap and about eight minutes walking from the center

Disliked: the rooms were totally different from the room at the picture. eg. maintenance of the room was very poor, the were some insects in the room (I meant no mosquito s or flies) the employee behind the counter let me pay to much for a national call. the employee behind the counter two tailors in hoi an (who delivered poor quality)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

sarah frost

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012

Liked: The swimming pool is a nice feature, but its not worth paying the extra money for. Better budget options in the area.

Disliked: The photos advertising rooms were not rooms from this hotel, which is very misleading. The first night our room was dark (no window) and dirty. Walls were stained and the room hadn't been thoroughly cleaned. Also it was very noisy as above reception and the phone rang continuously throughout the night without staff answering it. The second night we changed rooms- slightly better but still not worth the money. Also owner far too pushy with tour selling.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Guy Hyams

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 December 2011

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Moldy bathrooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2011

Liked: The rooms are not bad. The pool is refreshing

Disliked: The room itself was fine. The swimming pool was small but clean and refreshing. This place was noisy as it is situated on a busy street. ten minutes walk from the main tourist area. The service was terrible. They tried to sell us tours and when we said we did not want one then the lady got offended and seemed to treat us differently for the rest of the stay. We wanted to catch the local bus to Da nang as it only cost $20000 dong so we asked the lady if the station was close and she said it was far away, turns out it was about a 8 minute walk down the road the hostel was on. She also said we should book a taxi or shuttle bus through her instead for $11 US as the public buses were awful and dirty. Turns out they were great! Just make sure you don’t pay more than $25000 dong as they will try to get as much money out of you as possible. We ended up booking a tour for My son through them but the tour group was so large and with only one tour guide that you missed a lot of the information he was saying due to not being able to fit in the small spaces around the temple with everyone. Also the admission to the temple was not included which is something they do not tell you and should be included in the cost when it’s a tour! We got our washing done at this hotel and it came back with dirt marks and stains! When checking out they tried to overcharge us by $180000 dong! We had to go through each item and calculate ourselves and show them they were wrong, they the lady tried to blame it on another staff member whom I think was a cleaner… Will never stay here again! So unwelcoming!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: good

Disliked: no

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient when you get off the bus (if you are doing the hop on hop off bus)

Disliked: we stayed here one night and paid 3x the amount as what we ended up paying next door for the exact same room.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Karla Barahona

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011

Liked: it's in old town, walking distance from all the restaurants and sightseeing places. Vinh, the owner and his daughter seemed nice to a point.

Disliked: The rooms are a bit dodgy, they feel pretty insecure. They offer tours in Halong Bay which should not be bought there, I bought a tour for $85 which was $52 everywhere else, they showed me photos of a different boat and a different trip so I accepted and at the end it was the worst boat, cockroaches in the rooms, bad service, bad attitude from the tour guide...worst trip ever so don't buy any tours from them... I also did my laundry there just to find out they weight the cloth before washing, my cloth was all wet so it weighted more and when I told Vingh he just discounted 2 kilos but pretty sure it was less and said he couldn't weight it anymore. The hostel wasn't that bad but I felt cheated with the tour, that was low!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to us as we stepped off the bus which was brilliant after a long sleeper bus journey- room wasnt ready but let us stay in a little attic room, have a wash and a sleep before our actual room was ready. Good sized rooms with aircon, ensuite and a little balcony plus tv. Internet was free and although we didnt use it the pool looked lovely

Disliked: A little bit of a walk from the town itself but once you know where you are going its not bad

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kathleen Ahamed-Broadhurst

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011

Liked: I liked very little about this property. the location was ok and the room had a balcony.

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful and didn't speak English very well. They seemed more interested in having the hotel staff wait on them then on helping the patrons. The rooms were not very clean, the towels were dirty and they didn't come to change the sheets or give more toilet paper in the four nights we stayed there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicholas Jennings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The preoperty was pretty good, the rooms were big and had aircon which was a must in Hoi An. We sorted out trains to Hanoi there and transportation to Danang which all went well. The pool was brilliant after a day at the beach and the old town. They also recommended the tailor Linh Chi which were amazing got a really good fitted cashmere tux for $120 and my mate got a really good 3 piece grey suit for $135, really good quality.

Disliked: The rooms were ok but the first room i moved to was abit damp and the paint was peeling. Also they gave me 5minutes notice so i could move my room which wasn't enough.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roy Veldhuizen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and the pool is cool,overall:clean and nice place with helpful staff.

Disliked: The computers were slow and wifi was not that reliable.the roof of the top floor was quite low.Also a bar nearby played loud music,but only until 12 o'clock.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ned Lederer

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Ned would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, the bed was comfortable and it was cheap.

Disliked: Our room on the top floor was incredibly hot, and without glass in some of the windows making the AC much less effective. It has a pool, but it closes by 9pm so we never got to use it. The rooms are also a little meh, though certainly not terrible. It's hardly in the center of old town, though most things are within walking distance if you're ok with a little trek. Overall it's probably not worth the savings, though it's not terrible.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011

Liked: DO NOT BOOK ANYTHING WITH THIS HOTEL THEY WILL RIP U OFF. How ever fairly good location and facilitys for price, staff superficaly nice but do not trust them.

Disliked: Ripped off on everything we bought from here. SHOP AROUND! Paid 26 dollars for a so called sleeper bus to Hanoi, got told wouldnt stop any where. But actually got standard bus to Hue then a sleeper bus to Hanoi. Friends ar same time in different hotel got non stop sleeper to Hanoi. Also booked halong bay tour, maybe naively believed after being told were recieving a discount for staying with them and they were opening a new office in Hanoi but eneded up paying about 10 dollars more than most people on the same tour. Which turned out to be very very poor. Do not have a tour with Joy Travel. Litterally could not arrange a sleep over in a hotel. Got nothing we paid for!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing was the pool. The rooms were nice and they were clean. Mini bar had reasonable prices.

Disliked: While the younger staff are lovely, the older man (the owner I think) was grumpy and only friendly when it suited him. Laundry scales are dodgy - check for yourself and keep a record because we witnessed many disputes over laundry bills and restaurant tabs on checking out. I think you are pretty safe if you have booked through Hostelbookers - they were keen to get good reviews.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011

Liked: the location was pretty good, and although expensive, it was still cheaper than other hostels in town, especially during festival weekend. easy to get to, staff were helpful.

Disliked: the room was very damp and humid, which made it smell and made all the bed sheets very damp and wet too. the towels were also damp and dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rebecca Loprese

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Not the cheapest place to book online, but you can get cheaper rooms if you just turn up and they always seem to somehow have availability! Even though some of the Open tours arrive just out the front! Decent enough little place, we had a great stay - though the night watchman probably hates us for waking him up at 3am for 3 nights in a row and going for a midnight swim! Breakfast is also a bonus here

Disliked: Indoor pool isnt that great! But it is a pool! Would recommend anyone to stay within the Ancient area of Hoi Ann - if your on a bit of a budget turn up and try to nab a cheap room here otherwise!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gareth Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011

Liked: Free Breakfast, Free Wifi, Free Internet, Helpful with trips and onward travel... What more can you ask for.

Disliked: You're only paying $8 p/n for a double, how can you dislike anything!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011

Liked: I think there may have been some cleaner rooms in this Hostel that we saw when we walked past, i think we may have got a bad room. Its pretty cheap so cant complain to much but the cleanliness could have been better, that does not take a lot.

Disliked: Its pretty cheap so cant complain to much but the cleanliness could have been better, that does not take a lot. And it is not as close as it says to the centre however still walkable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap rooms

Disliked: especially room 404 is very loud since it is next to the laundry and it is impossible to sleep after 7 am

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Len Paulovich

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011

Liked: It was close to the Old town of Hoi An.

Disliked: The staff tried to be helpful but their English was not the best. The light above the bathroom mirror did not work and when notified of it, nothing happened. After the 2nd request, the man repaired it but after he left, we found that the electricla outlet in the bathroom no longer worked. The place was not the cleanest and needed a bunch of maintence to bring it up to standard.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Room was very damp. Internet in the room didnt work

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011

Liked: Location not bad but definitely not in the heart in the city centre as it describes, 15 minute walk. Cheap room.

Disliked: Staff were a little pushy asking us whenever we walked by had we been shopping and do we need to book any trips so they could push their hotel deals on us. We ended up booking a train ticket with them and realised when we got to the station we had been charged double price so make sure to go to purchase ticket at station to avoid extra charges. We left our key off at reception when we went out for the evening and arrived back at 10.30pm to someone asleep on the reception floor with a sign saying 'dont speak english, i'm only a keeper' with our key left next to him so anyone could have walked in and helped themself to it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast, free internet, nice room with a good shower (not a wet room). Swimming pool.

Disliked: Room wasn't cleaned although we were there for 5 days. Staff were a bit pushy about booking tours etc and quite small-minded about money issues e.g. charging us extra for butter with breakfast.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Cannella

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and the bathroom in the room was phenominal. It had a granite floor and granite tile that encompassed a bathtub with a very modern decor to the bathroom. Overall the room was very nice. The free breakfast was also delicous, you can not pass up all you can eat eggs (scrambled, fried or over easy), toast, jam and juices.

Disliked: The doors could be a bit thicker alone with the walls. You could hear everything especially at 6 am with the motorbikes and trucks honking outside the window.


See all Hoi An hostels