HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Hoi An Grassland Hotel

5 star Hotel | 500 Hai Ba Trung street, Hoi An, Vietnam .

77.1% Overall Rating

31 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2012)

erik trull thinks…

"it was a bit out of the bustle of the city which was a nice way to get out of the whole hustle and bustle, and the bike ride into town each night for dinner was very calming and a great way to see…"

Read all Hoi An Grassland Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Southern Hotel and Villa
9.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 84.0% 107 reviews
Nhi Trung hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.1% 87 reviews
GOLF HOI AN HOTEL
17.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Bach Dang Hoi An Hotel
13.83 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hoa My I Hotel
8.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.7% 24 reviews
Hao Anh Homestay
9.88 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Thien Thanh Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 4 star 88.9% 69 reviews
Hoa My Hotel
8.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.1%

Overall Rating

31 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hoi An Grassland Hotel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
58.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
75.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

erik trull

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012 erik would recommend this property

Liked: it was a bit out of the bustle of the city which was a nice way to get out of the whole hustle and bustle, and the bike ride into town each night for dinner was very calming and a great way to see the city. The free bike rental was good fun. The rooms were simple but nicely furbished.

Disliked: Not much was at fault reall. However one male member of staff (the odd one out) was a little rude and mislead us on the free breakfast, so we ended up paying but we were able to claim a full refund. However one male member of staff (the odd one out) was a little rude and mislead us on the free breakfast, so we ended up paying but we were able to claim a full refund. he also charged my mate an extra 5000 dong for his cigarettes at the desk, whereas i was able to get mine for the correct 25,000 from the female members of staff. The breakfast is a little disappointing, small portions and generally poor quality food. but all around we enjoyed our stay and the balcony was a welcome change. and unlike most hotels there was a clear policy of fire exits and equipment making us feel alot safer.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Saga Rodrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012

Liked: The rent out bicycles for free, which is great!

Disliked: I saker the staff if I could extend my stay with another night, which they confirmed was alright. The next day when I passed the lobby on my way out the same receptionist told me that I had to check out immediately. It was 11 o clock and check out was at 12! Thankfully I could still stay the extra night, but the staff does not really know what they are doing and can come off as pretty rude sometimes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shawn McCoubrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: NIce place...clean, wifi is good, staff are very friendly

Disliked: a bit far from the city...15 minute walk, but there are lots of other places to stay closer

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Graeme Kerr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: Was good overall property again with the staff being friendly but not overly pushy with their services. Nothing here was ever a problem and the staff were helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: only slight thing for me was the property was slighly further out than I expected, I probably didnt read up on this point though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place with nice rooms. The shuttle service to the old town is reliable and always available (except in the night). Walking to the old town is quite easy and you'll get a free city map at arrival.

Disliked: The shuttle will drop you off only at their clothes shop.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place was clean and the staff really friendly

Disliked: it's a little bit noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yulia Datsenko

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

15 September 2010 Yulia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything

Disliked: a little far away from city center

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and had a balcony as well as all facilities advertised. We were also given a free shuttle ride to the bus station when departing.

Disliked: It was loctated a little out of town but still only took 20 minutes to walk to the centre. A shuttle service was offered to town as well as bycicles.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE RENT BYCICLE IS FOR FREE (INCLUDED WITH THE ROOM). IN ABOUT 10 MINS WITH IT YOU REACH EASILY TO THE BEACH AND TO THE CITY CENTER.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Klein

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Cliffs: very nice rooms; cleanliness okay with some small issues; minor ant problem in bathroom; not so great location but free, quick shuttle service to city; free bikes; good staff; overall, a very nice value for the money if location isn't your primary concern. I was really impressed with the room. I doubt it can be beaten for under $20/night for a double.This hotel is situated a bit away from the town, and requires taking some form of wheeled transportation to get in unless you really like walking. The hotel does, however, offer free (poor quality) bicycles and a free shuttle service to the town. The shuttle service is by motorcycle, and can be arranged at any point in the day within about 5 minutes. The motorcycles will drop you off at the hotel's same-named tailor shop, which itself was actually fairly nice, with good staff and competitive pricing. There will be some pressure to go through the hotel for certain services, but it is but a minor inconvenience. The hotel rooms have so-so views since the area around the hotel is not that built up, so you can at least see further than the next building, which is nice.The communal areas are fairly large and well decorated and furnished. There are, I think, four public computers, plus seating area, a small indoor pool, and a backyard plus dining area. It is definitely a good place for socializing. The staff are helpful and courteous, with decent enough English proficiency.The (double suite) rooms are actually very nicely furnished, with good lighting, nice decor, plenty of space, a small but nice balcony with chairs and a table, and even mosquito nets above the beds if you need them. You probably won't, as I had not flying pest issues at all, although there were a significant quantity of very small ants running around the bathroom (and some tables). A double room comes with two beds, a somewhat small TV (maybe 15 or 17 inches), a fridge, decent AC, plenty of closet and drawer space, and a private bathroom. The bathroom actually has a bathtub and shower, what an oddity! The sink and toilet are acceptable.Cleanliness is good in the main room, quite so, but the bathroom left something to be desired. The bathtub wasn't in the best condition, and the shower curtain was fairly moldy, and of course the ants... The beds and towels were unstained, though, which is a big plus. The room was decently sealed from the outside. There was wifi accessible in the rooms, although it would go in and out on the 3rd floor, and wasn't the most reliable or fast. Security seemed good, although the rooms only had simple door handle locks.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

09 March 2010

Liked: Was ok, but they try to charge you more than the normal rates!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee butler

29 January 2010 lee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant and made the stay even better. They were extremely helpful but did not try to sell their trips as some places do. Hotel is a bit out of the way of the main restaurants, but equally it is near to the best beaches. Free bikes was helpful. Would stay here every time in Hoi An.

Disliked: lee left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

claire gudgeon

24 January 2010 claire would recommend this property

Liked: Generally a pleasant place to stay if not a little out the way of the centre of town(15 min walk). Clean cosy rooms and good facilities. Most staff were friendly and helpful, yet one or two could be rather agressive and in ur face.

Disliked: claire left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 November 2009

Liked: The balcony. What I didn't like and what ruined our stay was their dishonesty in the transfer. They say they pick you up from free, they do, but they make their money back when they return you to the station by charging you way too much, also being dishonest about how long it will take so they can double you up with other people, cashing in more for one trip and leaving us stranded at the station for hours. Not coool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 November 2009

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly but I did not appreciate being phone 3 times to be asked to vacate my room early so other guests could be accommodated! Phoned at 8.50am and vacate time was 12 noon! Also, not a good place to stay if you're on the ground floor right next to the restaurant, which has foul food! A way out of town but if the weather's good, the best location to access a beautiful beach - only 2km bike ride! Bike use is free.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy going

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. Everything we asked for was no problem at all for the staff. They provide a shuttle service into the old town but sometimes the shuttle is not available; however, it is no big deal as they will call a taxi and it is only one dollar in town. You can walk into town or borrow a bike free from the hotel as well. Nice mix of couples, groups of older people and young people stay at the hotel so great atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristy Harper

12 June 2009

Liked: The hotel itself was clean and our room was a good size. Location is good in terms of being able to bike to beach, bit of a walk to town thou, approx 15-20 mins. Was very dissapointed thought on checkout, credit card machine was broken, they don't have a swipe machine?, they refused to just take down our credit card details (they could have charged the card later that day) and we had to hand over a huge amount of cash which left us with no cash for our last 2 days in Saigon.

Disliked: Kristy left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free taxi to and from hotel anytime of day. Free bikes. Very friendly staff who all spoke English very well. Motorbikes for hire.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place for the price, although a little out of town it's only a 10 min walk. It can be a little noisy with all the motorbike horns on the street but this would be the same anywhere I think. The staff can be a little pushy regarding tour bookings etc. On our first night we just wanted to cross the road to get some bottled water, and 2 desk staff yelled out at us to ask us where we were going! This is because they want to drive you into town rather than you walk, so they can drop you in front of their tailor shop. We would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Healey

16 February 2009 John would recommend this property

Liked: Free bikes and breakfast. Friendly staff

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

luka obersnu

03 February 2009 luka would recommend this property

Liked: We liked free airport pickup, free WiFi in the room, free bicycle renting and really nice and big rooms. We were a little disappointed about the size of the breakfast. The portions were really small :(

Disliked: luka left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Beaker Stone

28 January 2009

Disliked: Beaker left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CHRISTELE AUVIRCHIO

17 December 2008 CHRISTELE would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and spacious bedrooms but most of them are really noisy because of the road nearby. Free bicycles.

Disliked: CHRISTELE left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 November 2008

Liked: nice if you want to be out of town but over priced for location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Hoi An hostels