We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Thien Hong Hotel

3 star Hotel | 241/34 Pham Ngu Lao Stress., Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist.1 Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 08

88.0% Overall Rating

46 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"The people who run Thien Hong Hotel are very kind and helpful. They let me leave my excess luggage with them while I travelled around Vietnam. The place is very clean and in the perfect area for Ho Chi Minh City. I…"

Read all Thien Hong Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.77

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Saigon Youth Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 83.5% 38 reviews
RUBY Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 44 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
6.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE
8.70 USD

Guesthouse 95.4% 124 reviews
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 368 reviews
Saigon Sports 1 Hotel
9.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.8% 242 reviews
My My Arthouse
5.50 USD

Hostel 82.5% 408 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

46 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Thien Hong Hotel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

veranio concepcion

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 veranio would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly owners.

Disliked: veranio left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people who run Thien Hong Hotel are very kind and helpful. They let me leave my excess luggage with them while I travelled around Vietnam. The place is very clean and in the perfect area for Ho Chi Minh City. I would (and will) stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martha Dudbridge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Martha would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely staff. Room was ok, bit grubby but it's the same in all hostels in this price range. Had a large fridge and safe which was useful.

Disliked: Martha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Berlin

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Well managed

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Denham-Svark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here on my own in a single room and felt very safe and comfortable. The family that own it are really friendly. I was out until 2 in the morning and they woke up to let me in with no problem. Room was really clean and cheap price compared to other hostels I've stayed in in saigon. I actually returned again to this hotel with my boyfriend. Really good location right near the drinking street but up an alley so quite quiet

Disliked: Nothing. Map directions wrong so just read address

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoph Smrz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: quiet place and good location, close to the main bus station

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In backpacker Central. Safe. Quiet.

Disliked: You can't come and go after 10pm as they lock gate. Happy to let you in after that time otherwise you can't go back out if you wanted to

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere

Disliked: bit noisy at nighttime

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to attraction and walking distance to Ben Thanh market.Clean property. Owner/ staff friendly and ready to help

Disliked: Hard to find in a small alley.Have to ask for the basic stuff like soap which should be readily available. Owner cant speak fluent english.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the husband and wife who owned this hostel. They were very nice and accommodating. The location is easy to get to especially if you're taking a bus from Cambodia most bus companies drop you off right in front. The hostel is located in the backpacking district, lots of foreigners stay in this area, you can walk to most sites from this location.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Nguyen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room during an overnight trip to hcm. Location is in heart of backpacker area, teeming with tourists and locals alike. As other guests pointed out, the hotel/guest house doesn't have stairs, however the man was so nice and generously offered to carry my small suitcase up to the top floor. For my short stay, this venue was ideal.

Disliked: Nothing too serious, but the woman asked me on two occasions what time I would be checking out, despite booking terms and conditions saying it was at noon. She asked me in a pushy manner which indicated to me that she was anxious for the room to be empty for other guests to arrive. I departed well before noon, so unsure how she would have dealt with the matter had I stretched it out til then. Lucky I wasn't hungover or anything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money for our short stay. Clean room with air con. Friendly staff happy to help. Good location- short walk from bus station and close to bars and restraunts .

Disliked: Booked coach to Phnom Penh through hostel which was our worst journey so far in Asia. Cheap but very long and no air con,Splash out for VIP.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jina Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Jina would recommend this property

Liked: Owners are so friendly and so helpful!! free computer/internet access great location, in the heart of district 1 where everything happens, but tucked away in a quiet little alley. hbo tv and a/c & fan definitely stay again!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

connie harris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 connie would recommend this property

Liked: just down a tiny street of a main fun area which allows it to be a bit quieter and have character but still near everything you want. It was super clean and the staff were so nice, helpful and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The room was exactly what you need, a comfy big double bed, tv, air con, fridge and standard clean bathroom. For the price i couldn't of asked for anything more!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff. Clean and quiet in a small alley.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sian Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were really friendly and helpful and it felt like they really cared about their guests. They gave us a city map and explained where all the sites where and warned us about pick pockets. Room was a bit dusty but the bathroom and beds were clean. Great location right in the busy centre but down an alleyway so still quiet at night.

Disliked: We were there for 3 nights and our room wasn't cleaned at all - would have been nice to have fresh towels at least.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The couple who run the place are very friendly and helpful and always smile and say hello to you. This makes a big difference, as some places make you feel like they don't even want you there. The shower is very hot and very powerful and the bed's comfy. I got good sleep there, which was surprising considering how close it is the the noisy backpacker street.

Disliked: They lock the place after 11pm, which means to get in or go out you have to ring a bell and wait for the owners to get out of bed and let you in. They always do this good naturedly, but on the first night I didn't know how it worked and was not able to get out so felt trapped - and pretty annoyed. There needs to be better signs about this around the building. I also think it;s a fire hazard which is a bit of a worry. At $15 per night I think the single rooms are a little overpriced, considering they have no window. I stayed for 5 nights mainly because I was too lazy to find somewhere else, but after I got sick and tired of having no natural light I moved - and found a bigger, brighter airier room, with lots of light for the same price only doors away. It really pays to shop around in this area.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Dirk Dietrich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaniness

Disliked: Not soo good value for money. In Vietnam we have stayed in far bigger rooms for less money per night. The owner seems to be a little bit harsh when talking to her but that might not been done on purpose rather than to the limited English they speak.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like a local living in the alleys

Disliked: English communication

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jen Eales

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 December 2012 Jen would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything and in among an amazing atmosphere of tiny alleys and lots of activity.

Disliked: Jen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hilmar Thiel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Hilmar would recommend this property

Liked: Great neighbourhood, great bars just around the corner!

Disliked: /

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Playle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012

Liked: Location is great and the owners are lovely.

Disliked: I had a room with a very small window so it was a bit dark.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

laura sparks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 laura would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location, down a narrow alley surrounded by local restaurants and people going about their daily lives. Wonderful husband & wife team make you feel really comfortable and relaxed. Organised transport, tours etc for the best rates in town.

Disliked: Directions to the hostel are a little confusing. Basically, go to the address listed and that will take you to the alley you need to go down, rather than the hostel itself.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Really friendly staff - Clean rooms I stayed in a single, and it was a nice, big room with a double bed and a large window.

Disliked: - The owners' English isn't perfect. I had no problems with them, but if you run into trouble or you need help with anything complicated it might be difficult to communicate. - Overcharged for taxi to the airport, but only by a bit - Single lock on the doorknob, no deadbolt.