We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Thien Hong Hotel

3 star Hotel | 241/34 Pham Ngu Lao Stress., Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist.1 Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 08

87.9% Overall Rating

56 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2015)

Marjo Eloranta thinks…

"The staff was friendly and helpful. Iäd recommend you to book all your tours etc. when you reach Vietnam, not beforehand. It'll be much cheaper once at your destination. The owner organised me…"

Read all Thien Hong Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.98

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Saigon Youth Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 81.8% 51 reviews
RUBY Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 88.0% 45 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
6.56 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE
8.50 USD

Guesthouse 95.1% 139 reviews
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
6.50 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 372 reviews
Saigon Odyssey Hotel
11.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.3% 246 reviews
My My Arthouse
5.20 USD

Hostel 75.2% 447 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 62 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

56 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Thien Hong Hotel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 56 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Weng Han Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Weng Han would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the hospitality provided by the hosts.

Disliked: Nothing much, just the clogged sink in my room!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marjo Eloranta

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2015 Marjo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful. Iäd recommend you to book all your tours etc. when you reach Vietnam, not beforehand. It'll be much cheaper once at your destination. The owner organised me and my friends taxi rides from the hotel, which ended up being a bit cheaper than doing it yourself.

Disliked: Like almost in every ho(s)tel I've been to in Vietnam, they don't have anything separating the shower space from the reste of the bathroom. This results in a wet floot. It would be nice if they would provide a floor wipe for the bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, it was a clean property but I gave it a 60% (read Below), it was a secure property, but I gave it a 0% (read below)

Disliked: Stayed 6 nights and room was not cleaned once, I booked an all day tour through them and came back to my room that evening and found that someone entered my room and looked through my travel bag. I keep all my belongings very organized and always in the same place just in case something like this happens. Two zippers were not closed all the way, towel that was on the bag was in a ball on the bed, bag was in a different position, personal items disorganized. 5 obvious signs. Nothing was missing as they were probably only looking for money, but was not a good situation. I was told a worker and his wife who had only worked there 10 days were fired over it. The only other people it could have been were the older couple that owns the place. If you stay here be careful and secure all money etc. The night I arrived they did not have a room available for me even though I had a reservation. Stayed one night in a hostel owned by their nephew a few blocks away. Not as nice or clean and the wifi sucked. They gave me a small discount.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Nice and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronica Di Bartolo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2015 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are great! The place is really clean, they help you with excursions and hire them for you and then have you picked up at the door. Difficult to find but we went from the airport by taxi hired by them, so we had no problem. So have someone take you there, otherwise you may not find it because it is located in an alley. But the location is the best!

Disliked: Veronica left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Adam Soltysik

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 February 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safety

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice and clean (only the walls could be repainted). First night we got a room on the first floor, which had just a tiny window. But we were able to move for the other two nights to a room on a higher floor with a bigger window. We had to wait for our room for quite some time, but they gave us water and fruits, which was nice. The location is really good. really close to the main street in the backpacers area, but in a quiet small street. Overall good value for the money.

Disliked: We missed a bit of atmosphere and a place to hang out, but in the end it's a hotel and not a hostel. The hostel also doesn't offer breakfast, but there is a really nice bakery close by.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and its location is perfect, close to Pham Ngu Lao street. Staff was ambitious and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Nothing in particular

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

veranio concepcion

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 veranio would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly owners.

Disliked: veranio left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people who run Thien Hong Hotel are very kind and helpful. They let me leave my excess luggage with them while I travelled around Vietnam. The place is very clean and in the perfect area for Ho Chi Minh City. I would (and will) stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martha Dudbridge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Martha would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely staff. Room was ok, bit grubby but it's the same in all hostels in this price range. Had a large fridge and safe which was useful.

Disliked: Martha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Berlin

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Well managed

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Denham-Svark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here on my own in a single room and felt very safe and comfortable. The family that own it are really friendly. I was out until 2 in the morning and they woke up to let me in with no problem. Room was really clean and cheap price compared to other hostels I've stayed in in saigon. I actually returned again to this hotel with my boyfriend. Really good location right near the drinking street but up an alley so quite quiet

Disliked: Nothing. Map directions wrong so just read address

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoph Smrz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: quiet place and good location, close to the main bus station

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In backpacker Central. Safe. Quiet.

Disliked: You can't come and go after 10pm as they lock gate. Happy to let you in after that time otherwise you can't go back out if you wanted to

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere

Disliked: bit noisy at nighttime

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to attraction and walking distance to Ben Thanh market.Clean property. Owner/ staff friendly and ready to help

Disliked: Hard to find in a small alley.Have to ask for the basic stuff like soap which should be readily available. Owner cant speak fluent english.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the husband and wife who owned this hostel. They were very nice and accommodating. The location is easy to get to especially if you're taking a bus from Cambodia most bus companies drop you off right in front. The hostel is located in the backpacking district, lots of foreigners stay in this area, you can walk to most sites from this location.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Nguyen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room during an overnight trip to hcm. Location is in heart of backpacker area, teeming with tourists and locals alike. As other guests pointed out, the hotel/guest house doesn't have stairs, however the man was so nice and generously offered to carry my small suitcase up to the top floor. For my short stay, this venue was ideal.

Disliked: Nothing too serious, but the woman asked me on two occasions what time I would be checking out, despite booking terms and conditions saying it was at noon. She asked me in a pushy manner which indicated to me that she was anxious for the room to be empty for other guests to arrive. I departed well before noon, so unsure how she would have dealt with the matter had I stretched it out til then. Lucky I wasn't hungover or anything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money for our short stay. Clean room with air con. Friendly staff happy to help. Good location- short walk from bus station and close to bars and restraunts .

Disliked: Booked coach to Phnom Penh through hostel which was our worst journey so far in Asia. Cheap but very long and no air con,Splash out for VIP.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jina Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Jina would recommend this property

Liked: Owners are so friendly and so helpful!! free computer/internet access great location, in the heart of district 1 where everything happens, but tucked away in a quiet little alley. hbo tv and a/c & fan definitely stay again!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

connie harris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 connie would recommend this property

Liked: just down a tiny street of a main fun area which allows it to be a bit quieter and have character but still near everything you want. It was super clean and the staff were so nice, helpful and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The room was exactly what you need, a comfy big double bed, tv, air con, fridge and standard clean bathroom. For the price i couldn't of asked for anything more!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff. Clean and quiet in a small alley.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.