We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saigon Sports 1 Hotel

2 star Hotel | 38 Bui Vien St., Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 1000000

88.1% Overall Rating

230 out of 243 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/11/2014)

Charlene Tan thinks…

"This hostel is situated in a very convenient location, within walkable distance from Ben Tranh market. Besides that, I like the clean rooms at very affordable prices. Most importantly, I really…"

Read all Saigon Sports 1 Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Duc Vuong Hotel
19.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.6% 6 reviews
Seventy Hotel – former Phan Lan Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.1% 339 reviews
Bizu Hotel District 1 – 198 Bui Vien
27.89 USD

Hotel 86.7% 3 reviews
Nhat Thao Guesthouse
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 165 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Thien Hong Hotel
5.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 50 reviews
Saigon Youth Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 83.3% 39 reviews
Nguyen Khang Hotel
12.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.1% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

230 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saigon Sports 1 Hotel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 231 of 240 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlene Tan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2014 Charlene would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is situated in a very convenient location, within walkable distance from Ben Tranh market. Besides that, I like the clean rooms at very affordable prices. Most importantly, I really enjoyed my stay here because of the hospitality of the hostel owners. They provided us with lots of valuable advice for the trip and approached us via email so that they could help provide the information and services that we required. In one instance, we were considering to cancel our one night booking at Vung Tau because of a change in plans on our side. They spoke to us and understood the situation before advising us that we should proceed with the 2 day 1 night trip and on the activities that we could do. Besides that, the owners helped us with everything ranging from what to eat the good food that we wanted to helping us change money to advising us on our Vung Tau trip though we did not purchase any package from them to constantly reminding us to keep our valuables safely. Also, after we have left the hostel for the trip to Vung Tau and were flying home on the last day, they offered to keep our luggages for the day while we continued to roam around the city and arrange transport for us to the airport. The service was truly excellent. I really enjoyed my stay here and will definitely stay here when I next come to Ho Chi Minh.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

David Bryan Ramos

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 November 2013

Liked: The location is okay. The staffs are okay

Disliked: The toilet smells bad. The aircon is not working properly. The area looks shady. It's too noisy outside.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013

Liked: It has a good location

Disliked: They cleanliness is not so good

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alan Garner

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2013

Liked: A good location and not actually the worst hotel on offer in this district,but not far off....

Disliked: It's an old,rundown load of rubbish that is ten years past it's prime. The prices here should be between $5 and $10 per room,as there are twenty other places far,far better in every respect than this pit for the same money!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martijn Hulst

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Martijn would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, the rooms are noisy but clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The entrance is chaotic and graunchy, the rooms on streetside are really loud! We didn't like the atmosphere in this hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jacksim kraight

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 jacksim would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here only 1 night on my trip, I found the staff extremely friendly and welcoming. They arrange for me the pick up at the airport very easy. Room quality was better than expected for the price. Lovely and clean room. They have internet for free at the Lobby. Breakfast was average. I had met some great people in the backpackers district. Places for cheap beer. I want to say thanks for all and highly recommended this hotel for everyone who want to find the cheap hotel in backpackers district.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Guy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is excellently situated, clean, all the staff are very friendly and the beds are comfortable. The stay was very pleasant and I would return here without doubt next time I'm in Saigon. However, the greatest thing about the hotel is because it is home to the Greatest Travel Agent in the World! Truong Do Xuan AKA Jenny, is quite simply the friendliest, most unbelievably helpful and consistently pleasant travel agent I have ever had the pleasure to deal with. From sorting out our complex trip around Vietnam, then furthermore our trip into and around Cambodia, Jenny helped us out at every turn - we often made changes to dates and locations, and she was always completely professional, understanding and accommodating, not to mention successful - every change we made turned out to be great and all the hotels she recommended were of the highest quality for the prices we were paying. Furthermore, Jenny would either email, or even call the hotels where we were staying at in order to check with us that everything was okay and that we didn't need to make any other changes - basically she consistently went above and aboard for us to the point we genuinely feel we now have a new friend rather than just knowing a good travel agent. Jenny will look after you completely professionally and to the highest degree, and I could not recommend her or the hotel more. I will return!

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012

Liked: The room was nice and big the staff were helpful.

Disliked: We found the first night to be very noisy as a main road is very close. The windows and and balcony door in room 501 did not close and seal properly and this seemed to be the reason for excess traffic and street noise when trying to get to sleep.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, safe. But the location can't be beat.

Disliked: Elevator was the sketchiest thing ever. My room smelled like cigarettes. They way they desinged the bathrooms made it so when you showered water gets everywhere. I wouldnt stay here again. For the price its a bit pricey for what you get.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff and the atmosphere is more of a family home than a hostel. Their room is very nice and clean, the price of rooms is cheaper than other hostels in this backpacker area Lots of restaurants nearby. I would stay there again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, very clean mini hotel, very good location and very friendly and helpful staff! Can really recommend this place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHRISTIAN ZACHMANN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 CHRISTIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for the price. Everything is very clean, the staff is so nice and helpful and the common area is a nice place to chill and chat and plan ahead. It feels like home away from home.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the friendliest, best equipped and clean hotels we've stayed at in Vietnam! With no additional charge, we got bumped up a room level -- which included a computer with a fast connection and a flat screen TV! The ambitious young owner really made us and all the guests smile. Location is perfect for good restaurants and about 10min walk to the Ben Thanh Market. Definitely great value!

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLIER NORVEZ

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 July 2012 OLIER would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hotel. Cheap laundry, nice breakfast with pancakes and omelets, and always clean. The staff does anything possible to help you. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FREDY SUTTER

Alone

Shopping

22 July 2012 FREDY would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location right at a back-packer area with many bars, restaurant all day&night. Good rooms – very enjoyable stay!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ''Wonderful hotel!” We were so excited to stay in this hotel after reading the reviews. Absolutely AMAZING place. Brilliant atmosphere and the front staff speaks excellent English, they're so helpful. This is the best hotel I've ever stayed. The coolest & cleanest double room. Everything was EXCELLENT. I reccomend it to EVERYONE.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: PERFECT MINI HOTEL IN CENTRE OF TOURIST AREA

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the middle of this city at the most busiest point this Hotel is a base of quiteness, you hear almost nothing from the outside world. Staff is extremely friendly , we found a home from home. Bye for now and thank you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was smart, roomy and clean and the WIFI excellent. The receptionist during the day was lovely and very helpful.

Disliked: The aircon in the room wasn't brilliant but just about cooled the room enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was great. The rooms are crean and the staff were extremely kind and helpful.Location was easy to find.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stuart Galloway

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2012 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Location to local parks, amenities and Vietnamise life. Great. The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and pleased to make your stay a memorable one.

Disliked: Breakfast at Siagon Sport 3 where the reception was not as inviting. The staff just went through the motions and preferred to watch some rubbish on TV

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean good fascilities and centrally placed for looking round Saigon . Very near bus station Staff extremely helpful

Disliked: Our room was on front of hotel and the traffic noise of moter bikes and horns went on well in to the night and started at 5 30 am! The air con and fan were very noisy but very necessary

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronando Philip James

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Ronando would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, easy access to everything, very clean, cosy room, loved the daily breakfast at Saigon Sports 3 Restaurant

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable Bed. Friendly Staff. Best Location.

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mikael Kvist

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance from where the buses drop you.

Disliked: small elevator