HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saigon Sports 1 Hotel

2 star Hotel | 38 Bui Vien St., Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 1000000

87.8% Overall Rating

229 out of 242 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2013)

Alan Garner thinks…

"A good location and not actually the worst hotel on offer in this district,but not far off...."

Read all Saigon Sports 1 Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Duc Vuong Hotel
19.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.6% 6 reviews
Seventy Hotel – former Phan Lan Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.1% 339 reviews
Bizu Hotel District 1 – 198 Bui Vien
27.89 USD

Hotel 86.7% 3 reviews
Nhat Thao Guesthouse
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 165 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Thien Hong Hotel
5.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 50 reviews
Saigon Youth Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 83.3% 39 reviews
Nguyen Khang Hotel
12.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.1% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

229 out of 242 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saigon Sports 1 Hotel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 230 of 239 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Lawrence

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel and the room were both very clean. The staff were very helpful and the hotel had a travel desk which organised tours of the city. It was good value for money.

Disliked: There was only a small lobby and that was it, so there was no chance of meeting other people unless you both happened to be walking through at the same time. Breakfast was provided but you had to go to the Saigon Sports Hotel 3 as there was no restaurant onsite.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location!

Disliked: Bathroom had a massive tub, but meant you couldnt stand infront of the sink!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly little place with helpful staff, brilliant at assisting with onward travel. Clean rooms, good location, really close to everywhere just by walking( War museum, city hall, Ben Thanh Market etc...).

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the backpacker district, very close to lots of restaurants and bars. Staff were very helpful and rooms were a decent size.

Disliked: Had to walk to hotel around the corner for breakfast. The breakfast wasn't very good and it was really busy. No safe in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very comfortable week here.Girls on reception super friendly and helpful.Room quiet at night so had good sleeps.Some review here griping about cost of tours but I found them cheaper than some other places and they even talked me out of a more expensive trip to Mekong Delta for a cheaper one that turned out to be really good.Thoroughly Recommended and very safe for women travelling alone.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really Clean and staff were extremely friendly :)

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

peter humphrey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2011 peter would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and very helpfull with tours etc

Disliked: breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay. The staff are great .Would like stay there again

Disliked: Notning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hotel experience!! Breakfast was really nice, you can choose between different ala carte items, so for sure one will find someting to enjoy. If going to Hue I highly recommend this hotel!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We are having 2 nights here and can not believe how great it is for the price. Fantastic staff,..so polite..booked a couple of things.. lovely room

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juha Tammelin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2011 Juha would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hotel. Very friendly staff. Clean, comfy and quiet. Highly recommended.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jochen Ostermann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2011 Jochen would recommend this property

Liked: this is a very nice place to stay. the staff is super friendly, rooms are clean, location is good. i will definitely come back here again.

Disliked: -

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: Location is good but that's about it!

Disliked: The room, bed and especailly the bathroom were not very clean! I had a very small window in my room with no view and the window couldn't close properly so mosqitoes all the time! The staff was friendly but not very helpfull. And most importantly: DON'T book a trip to Mekong, Chu Chi Tunnel etc via this hotel! They charge way TO MUCH!! The average price is between 5 and 8 USD pp everywhere but they asked 12 USD. Mekong is between 8-10 USD and they asked 30 USD! I already booked and heard about the normal average price from all other travelers and saw for myself at all the travel agency's on every corner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent buffet breakfast, very friendly staff and clean, spacious room.

Disliked: The front rooms were a tad noisy but to be expected due to the location

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comment.

Disliked: Trying to sell tour package slightly expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people working in the hotel were very nice, always talking to us and helping us about where to go in the city, what to do... Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Disliked: It is situated in the very touristic area. It means that there are lots of restaurants and bars next to it but also that it is quite noisy and that there are more tourists than vietnamese people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tine pauwels

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 tine would recommend this property

Liked: friendly little lady, she helps you with everything and try to found the solution that ia the best for you!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was secure and good location. Staff were smiley and helpful.

Disliked: There was a lizard slithering on the walls and ceiling in my room, but it didn't bother me too much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: A bit noisy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super location, friendly staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Trinder

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

23 November 2010 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room is clean & nice. If we come to Ho Chi Minh again, Saigon Sports Hotel will be selected to stay !

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very willing to answer any question i put to them to their best of their ability. Organised a trip for us to the Cu Chi and MeKong River with a private guide as recommended by the hotel and was worth the extra few dollars. I would highly recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Salman

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

10 November 2010 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff.Good room with comfortable bed. Highly recommended

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very pleasant stay in your hotel. We will come back soon.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jermaine Lachman

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Relaxation/spa

23 October 2010 Jermaine would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staffs are very kind and helpful. The room is clean and comfort. the A/C is good condition.

Disliked: Jermaine left no negative feedback.