We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saigon Sports 1 Hotel

2 star Hotel | 38 Bui Vien St., Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 1000000

88.1% Overall Rating

230 out of 243 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/11/2014)

Charlene Tan thinks…

"This hostel is situated in a very convenient location, within walkable distance from Ben Tranh market. Besides that, I like the clean rooms at very affordable prices. Most importantly, I really…"

Read all Saigon Sports 1 Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Duc Vuong Hotel
19.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.6% 6 reviews
Seventy Hotel – former Phan Lan Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.1% 339 reviews
Bizu Hotel District 1 – 198 Bui Vien
27.89 USD

Hotel 86.7% 3 reviews
Nhat Thao Guesthouse
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 165 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Thien Hong Hotel
5.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 50 reviews
Saigon Youth Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 83.3% 39 reviews
Nguyen Khang Hotel
12.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.1% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

230 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saigon Sports 1 Hotel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 231 of 240 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Jonathan Pascal

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2012 David Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay - You will feel like at home + good location + good breakfast., very clean room, Everything you need.

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

jade boddy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 jade would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double room and paid about $28 a night. The room was a decent size, hot water, ideal location. I asked the receptionist to recommend a decent place to get waxed which she helped me out with. I left a card for the salon at the desk. There were two issues in the bathroom, broken toilet seat and no holder for the shower, both were fixed but had to ask a couple of times.

Disliked: I don't think it was value for money. You have to go to the other hotel for brekkie, which is terrible. The noise from the road is really loud. There isn't anywhere to meet other people. The room is pretty small and the balcony was laughable! There aren't any safety deposit boxes in the room and with it being Saigon you want to keep your stuff safe. Putting it in and out of the communal one was a right chew on. Also, the receptionist added $8 to our bill for an airport taxi and the driver told us it was 50,000 less than what she charged us.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

03 February 2012

Liked: The pictures seem to flatter the hotel.

Disliked: The bath room smell moldy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hanna Trundley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a very central location, in the popular travellers area. The staff were very helpful.

Disliked: The room was slightly unclean, the fridge had a few hairs in it perhaps just where it had been wiped with a cloth used for something else as apart from that it looked to be clean! Aside from this the bed, bathroom etc was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Medway

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and very close to the bus station. Big rooms with all the mod cons, such as tea/coffee making facilities, Sat TV

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant - not the cheapest, but definitely worth it. I probably was a very annoying guest, arriving at 2am instead of 9pm, but they still sent a taxi to pick me up and were very friendly. The same when I had to leave just after 6 am after 2 nights. Rooms were amazing with a little balcony, spotless and cool. They also changed my dong back into dollars at a good rate, and seemed to be very helpful (but not pushy) about organising and customising trips, although I didn't book any as I was just passing through.

Disliked: Breakfast at the hotel around the corner (literally 1 minute walk), which was not the problem, but they seemed to constantly run out of cutlery, food wasn't great and I never saw any coffee even though I asked several times :(

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay for a few nights in Saigon. The Staff was very helpful in booking tours and providing any information I needed. Located on the main street - the location couldn't be better. You have the ability to meet others during the free breakfast from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place we stayed on a big room, really nice and clean. The only bad thing is if you get the 8th floor by stairs. I recommend the place, the staf really kind and nice.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Friendly, helpful, accomodating staff. Cheap rates and well stocked, cheap mini-bar. Would definitely stay again!

Disliked: Only gripe was the lift wasn't working, which made climbing six flights of stairs a little hard work (although the staff were always offering to carry our bags up for us).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely and location is perfect, right in the heart of the tourist block - easy access to restaurants, money exchange, tour bookings etc..

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hotel. Very friendly staff. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HECTOR TORO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 HECTOR would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT LOCATION, FRIENDLY , HONEST AND HELPFUL STAFF, NICE ROOMS.

Disliked: HECTOR left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean bath room, comfortable bed. Room with window and balcony.

Disliked: Small lift

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was large, clean, surprisingly quiet, and had good air conditioning and adequate wifi. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The hotel is at the top of Bui Vien. Turn left and it is a short walk to many District 1 sites, turn turn right and enter the friendly world of fellow travelers enjoying food, drinks, and music outside at a number of cafes, bars, and restaurants.. I, a woman traveling alone, felt secure here. I arrived late so arranged to have them pick me up from the airport. Yes, a taxi or bus would have been cheaper but it was very nice to simply wander outside and find someone holding a sign with my name who then whisked me to the hotel.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central to the backpacker area. Room was very clean. The staff were helpful, the included breakfasts were fantastic and you get free train station pick up. Someone was there to meet us even though our train was 3 hours late.

Disliked: not really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were great! We booked our day trips, ongoing transport and they also changed money at reception which was ideal.

Disliked: fairly basic rooms but clean and tidy and had aircon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STATHAM MARTIN Paula

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 STATHAM would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly little place with helpful staff, brilliant at assisting with onward travel. Clean rooms, good location, really close to everywhere just by walking( War museum, city hall, etc...).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing were OK. I will come back to stay here.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great. Miss sing was very helpful with everything including tours!

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011

Liked: GOOD LOCATION

Disliked: THE BREAKFAST IT-S IN ANOTHER BUILD AND IT WAS NOT REALLY GOOD

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the tourist's spot the hotel offers very clean and nice rooms incl. AC, TV, bath tub. Even the mini bar had very reasonable prices. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They let us have our backpacks stored after checking out and they have their own taxi service which brought us to the airport.

Disliked: Breakfast was included but wasn't very tasty. It was a kind of a small buffet with western style dishes, some noodles and fruits. In the surrounding restaurants you'd find much better things to eat for $2.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Bones

Alone

Business / conference

01 October 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff and the facilities were great. The Air Conditioning and Fan in the room was fantastic, never felt uncomfortable at night time.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberto Miller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Great hotel! Very clean, 24 hour hot showers, Cable TV, wifi Internet. Wonderful staff. Definitely recommended.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, good helpfull english speaking staff. Nice room and very comfortable bed.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

anderw white

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 anderw would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful..they also offer a full range of tours that leave virtually from the front door and which are reasonably priced. Both the Mekong Delta (2-days) and the Cu Chi Tunnels (half-day) are to be recommended. The breakfast which is included is basic, but adequate. The location makes it easy to step out and find great places to eat and drink without having to walk for more than a block. Early check-in can be arranged easily enough for those who are arriving very early in the morning on the sleeper-train (at the cost of an extra half-day). Car to the airport can also be arranged through the front desk.

Disliked: No issues worth mentioning.