We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saigon Mini Hotel 5

2 star Hotel | 196 Bui Vien Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam -

88.6% Overall Rating

66 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

Maeve Hand thinks…

"The hotel has a great location right in the middle of everything. The breakfasts are great and the staff were very helpful with any issues we had and helping us organise day trips."

Read all Saigon Mini Hotel 5 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

LY Guesthouse
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 19 reviews
Bali Boutique Hotel
13.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
96 GUEST HOUSE
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 59 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
6.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Saigon Youth Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 83.3% 39 reviews
Thien Hong Hotel
5.84 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.0% 49 reviews
RUBY Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 44 reviews
ANH DAO GUESTHOUSE
8.34 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

66 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saigon Mini Hotel 5'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 69 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maeve Hand

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Maeve would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel has a great location right in the middle of everything. The breakfasts are great and the staff were very helpful with any issues we had and helping us organise day trips.

Disliked: Lots of noise at night from the surrounding bars but we just used earplugs and it was grand.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Wong Tak Wai

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bad shower, overall environment is not as good as expected

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Timo Ferdinand

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

15 December 2013 Timo would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the touristarea close to the market and all the shopping-stores and tourist-informations.

Disliked: Came in a other hotel from Mini hotel - name bisu hotel. Was right around the corner from mini hotel -so it was ok. But because it is right in the tourist-party-area it is very,very loud! Staff was not very friendly and helpful. Breakfast-room was not nice and not very clean in bisu-hotel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: Good location, clean rooms, large showers

Disliked: The two standard double rooms that we saw did not have windows and was therefore really dark!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire McCarthy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially in booking onward travel. The breakfast was simple but yummy, I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Mei Ying Hor

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2013

Liked: Stayed at the hotel from 3 May to 5 May. Made two bookings: 25 to 27 May and 4-5 May. Eventually had to cancel 1st night and revise 2nd night to 3 May, as my mom had food poisoning in Ho Chi Minh so we changed plan and went to relative's home first. Things likeable at Saigon mini hotel 5: Spacious and clean room, excellent Vietnamese bread for breakfast.

Disliked: Dislikes: staff could be more knowledgeable about shopping places and their opening hours (was misinformed about opening hours of Taka Square. Wasted the wait at Taka square too as there is really nothing much there); service could be better - kitchen staff was not happy when asked to cook the bacon a little longer; when i called to reach Ms Jerry on urgent amendment due to mom's food poisoning, Ms Jerry was not available to speak and her staff did not take down the message for her to call me back nor let me know a good time to call her back. Not very responsive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Heatley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good value 4 money

Disliked: NA

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

WU CHUN HIN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 WU would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff is helpful and patient. The tours they recommended is great!

Disliked: No

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Most comfortable beds of our whole trip. Helpful and friendly staff. Very clean rooms.

Disliked: Wifi was a bit spotty. If overlooking the main road can sometimes be noisy due to the karaoke singers. Nothing that a pair of earplugs couldn't fix.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amy Lalonde

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredible! Nikki was especially great!

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was nice and large with a nice view to the street, but also silent (8th floor). Staff was very helpful and kindly advised us for example about security on the streets.

Disliked: Bathroom was a little mouldy (as everywhere in the country). The breakfast (albeit delicious) only included a single drink (coffee OR juice) which we found a little odd.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly & helpful. The rooms are very clean & valve for money

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had everything we needed and was very clean. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dejah Borg

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 May 2012 Dejah would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast in particular was lovely consisting of fresh baguettes, freshly prepared egg dishes, fresh fruit and delicious cafe sua das to name a few. The breakfast room is located on the 9th floor so the views are great too. The staff were lovely and have a great sense of humour. The location is perfect with everything you could need just a few steps from your door.

Disliked: A balcony would be the only thing that could improve our stay however this is not to be expected. We did have a small window to let in natural sunlight so it really is a minor complaint.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, spotlessly clean rooms, breakfast was ample and served on 10th floor overlooking the city, short (10 min or so) walk to main market.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Rayment

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money in a large city, clean and well appointed. Handy to many bars and restaurants and one of the most asthetically pleasing places we have stayed in for the money.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard blundell

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff

Disliked: Lift didn't work on last day so had to walk down 8 flights of stairs!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, lots of thought put into everything - from the tiny origame swans on the breakfast table to the shoe polish in the rooms! Exceptional value for money

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malgorzata Zabek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean. Nice stuff, very helpfull. They give you the map with all tips.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: Only issue I had was that upon arrival, they had to move me to Saigon Mini Hotel 1. Guy at the Saigon 5 didn't have much else to say other than the room was broken(?) but they provided a cab free of charge and they had someone come with me. Guy at Saigon Mini Hotel 1 was really good.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Delyse Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Delyse would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect, right in the middle of the tourist district and can easily get everywhere, or just sit in a nearby bar and watch the craziness happen around you. Decent room though nothing special - clean, quiet and air-conditioned. The staff are very helpful, I will probably stay here again on my way home as it's decent, cheap, easy and friendly.

Disliked: all good

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this place. The staff was very friendly. They upgraded my room for free. I'm not sure why, but I was happy about it. It was very clean and I felt very secure there. They offered a lot of great tours at the front desk and are very helpful with organizing that. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay there.

Disliked: Nothing that comes to mind.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephen Braitsch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic room in a fantastic location. Everyone on staff was very friendly and accommodating throughout my stay. There was a small issue at the end where I was asked to pay for a part that was missing from the scooter I rented, however this was quickly remedied when I refused given the ridiculousness of the claim. The scooters are poorly maintained, served without fuel and there is no form of walk through prior to the rental to assess existing damage. Nonetheless, the location is perfect and girls at the reception were very pleasant to deal with.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location but not easy to find hotel by taxi room was quiet

Disliked: nil

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rebecca Penfold

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Quite large rooms for a hostel, breakfast quite basic but much better than most previous experiences, european and vietnamese choices. Very easy to get taxi's, and easy to book tours through the reception area with little notice needed.

Disliked: Little noisy, doors close very loudly, was on floor below breakfast area, and staff awake very early.

The property's response is...