HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Nguyen Khang Hotel

2 star Hotel | 283/25 Pham Ngu Lao. District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 848

91.1% Overall Rating

218 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/12/2013)

colette smith thinks…

"Thishotel was ideally located down a quiet alley way and was an oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh city. It's very clean and the staff are friendly and and helpful."

Read all Nguyen Khang Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Concierge
  • Dry cleaning
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Newspapers
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Bich Duyen Hotel
10.36 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 96.0% 411 reviews
Bizu Hotel District 1 – 198 Bui Vien
28.24 USD

Hotel 86.7% 3 reviews
Dai Huy Hoang Hotel
6.97 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.0% 5 reviews
PHAN LAN 2 HOTEL
10.00 USD

Hotel 88.9% 103 reviews
Duc Vuong Hotel
20.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.6% 6 reviews
Saigon Sports 1 Hotel
9.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.8% 242 reviews
My My Arthouse
5.55 USD

Hostel 88.2% 401 reviews
Seventy Hotel – former Phan Lan Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.4% 338 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

218 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nguyen Khang Hotel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 204 of 208 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colette smith

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 December 2013 colette would recommend this property

Liked: Thishotel was ideally located down a quiet alley way and was an oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh city. It's very clean and the staff are friendly and and helpful.

Disliked: Sadly at the end of. our stay the very friendly and helpful lady on reception tried to charge us double for our rooms. I would like to think it was a mistake but the more I think about it the more I realise that it wasn't. This was a shame because it spoilt a great stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Louise Hunter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Standard hotel on big street of many hotels!! Rooms nice and clean, breakfast provided - they even gave us a take away when we were leaving early which was nice. Very friendly staff - some more helpful than others but all tried very hard.

Disliked: Only minor negative is that when we arrived at 4am off the bus we were told the air conditioning in our room was broken (despite is informing them 2 days in advance we would be arriving at that time). We were then forced to move rooms next day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Kline

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly staff with a great location right in the heart of District 1. Tons of bars and restaurants just down the road. In room laundry baskets made getting cheap laundry done extremely easy.

Disliked: We were in a windowless room in the middle of the hotel. It was big enough, but without windows it was a little bit cramped.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people who work here are absolutely lovely! Drinks on arrival and then telling us everything we needed to know about hcmc, showing us our room, making sure everything was as it should be. My friends were sick during our time in hcmc and the staff here made them tea and brought them bowls of steamed rice multiple times, free of charge. The laundry service was cheap and super convenient and they booked our tickets out of hcmc, organising a pick up from the hotel and a drop off to our hotel in our next destination! The rooms are excellent value and I would have no doubts about staying here again. Thanks!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julia Susan

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 March 2013 julia would recommend this property

Liked: If you're on a budget, I would recommend staying here. Pham Ngu Lao (Street) is filled with small family-owned hotels. The prices are all virtually the same ( $20~ $30/night), and The Hotel Nguyen Khang is certainly the best of best . The hotel is great location and was always clean.. . The staff is friendly, professional, honest and trustworthy (these considerations are so valuable to a tourist)!!! It's also located behind the main strip so the street noise is distant. . You get breakfast here - egg, mini-baguette, banana and juice (Tea or coffee). We stayed here based on a relative's recommendation and we'll forward the praise to other family and friends. The Nguyen Khang Hotel was one of the best hotels I ever stayed in. I would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vickie Matthews

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 March 2013 Vickie would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place to stay in a great location. Very handy for everything, food, travel, drink. Have stayed there before and will stay again.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Our room wasn't available so they gave us another room, a lot smaller. They wanted to make us pay the initial price of a big room. We had to discuss a lot to pay the real price of this much smaller room. Bad breakfast.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Drescher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: We are a couple and stayed in a Double room with a private bathroom. The room was ok, very clean and with very good AC, and a comfortable and BIG bed. Breakfast was ok. Included eggs, bread and jam with drinks. Staff was very welcoming. We felt very safe as there was always someone sleeping by the entrance at night. Despite there being no lift, this wasn't a huge problem, as the staff gallantly lugged all our luggage up the stair without letting us help.

Disliked: There was no external window and not much room surrounding the bed. So, if you are traveling with a lot of luggage (as we were), this room is not optimal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter c hill

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 peter c would recommend this property

Liked: frienliness of staff and caring nature of teceptionist

Disliked: climbing tree flights of steep stairs each night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Andrews

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with really helpful staff.

Disliked: Had quite a small double room with the windows facing into the corridor, makes the mornings a little odd with no natural light. We didn't find it find it an issue for a few nights though and didn't really spend much time in the room given there is so much else around the hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and clean ,good service.

Disliked: the room too small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, decent breakfast included in price with delicious vietnamese coffee. If you want to be in the backpacker area than the location is great about a 20 min walk to all the main sights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haur Ming Yong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Haur Ming would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and helpful staff.

Disliked: nil

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not very spectacular, but clean and convenient hostel

Disliked: no double bed room, but a twin bed, instead of booking double

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and helpful staff, very central and yet very calm. Breakfast included: OK

Disliked: a little detail only: I had to ask the staff to retune the cable TV of my room to get the French international TV channel... Otherwise, everything OK

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very nice place to eat just around the corner.

Disliked: Our room had no window.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Vreugde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, yet still quiet allowing a peaceful nights rest. The main person at reception (owner?) was amazing. Great English and very helpful. Offered good advice and safety tips, arranged exactly what we were looking for without ripping us off. Had a decent breakfast. Gave us a place to keep our bags and a washroom to use even after we checked out (were taking the night train).

Disliked: Besides the main guy at the desk, no one else seemed to speak any English which could be challenging. But they were always quick to find the main guy to help us out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful. The room we got was really nice, big and clean. Good breakfast included.

Disliked: There were some problems with their wifi during our stay which was a bit annoying, but it was fixed by the time we left (although it would have been nice if it had been fixed earlier)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Eileen Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Heather Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very kind and always greeted us with bright smiles! The room was large and the satellite tv was great.

Disliked: Well if we had stuck with the first room we were given I would have felt uncomfortable as the window looked out into the hallway, not outside. It was a double bed room so if you book it beware of that. Thankfully the staff solved our troubles by Giving us a room with two twin beds and even though we are a couple it was fine, just cuddle in one bed and separate for sleep time! In that room the window looked outside.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

geoffroy Hussenot

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 January 2012 geoffroy would recommend this property

Liked: Chi and the ladies there were very friendly. Room and bathroom were clean. Breakfast is very simple (light omlette, bread, juice and coffee with bananas on table).

Disliked: The wifi did not work in our room. We were asked if we wanted an airport pickup for twice the normal price Not fantastic bag packer library

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kevin earing

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hotel in a good location. Rooms are nice and staff helpful and friendly.

Disliked: kevin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louisa stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 louisa would recommend this property

Liked: nice hotel, nothing fancy but clean room with aircon, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Disliked: the stairs!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Gilchrist

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location...home style feeling and great surroundings.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristen Paulck

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 Kristen would recommend this property

Liked: The location was GREAT! and the staff are incredible! The hotel is quaint and clean, it is a GREAT hotel for the value.

Disliked: the water pressure in our shower, not so good. The rooms are small, but still doable.