We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of PHAN LAN 2 HOTEL

Hotel | 283/6 Pham Ngu Lao street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 08

88.9% Overall Rating

94 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

James Loan thinks…

"Great place to stay in the center of Ho Chi Minh City. The staff were particularly friendly - available 24h and always very ready to help. They organised day trips at last minute and these were all…"

Read all PHAN LAN 2 HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Bich Duyen Hotel
9.67 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 96.1% 412 reviews
Dai Huy Hoang Hotel
6.88 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.0% 5 reviews
Nguyen Khang Hotel
12.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.1% 229 reviews
The Hideout Hostel Saigon
8.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Vietnam Inn Saigon
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 143 reviews
Bizu Hotel District 1 – 198 Bui Vien
27.89 USD

Hotel 86.7% 3 reviews
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 79.7% 50 reviews
My My Arthouse
6.00 USD

Hostel 81.7% 410 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

94 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'PHAN LAN 2 HOTEL'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Loan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

22 July 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in the center of Ho Chi Minh City. The staff were particularly friendly - available 24h and always very ready to help. They organised day trips at last minute and these were all of very high quality. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Being just off Pham Ngu Lao the hostel managed to be right in the center of action yet with quiet rooms. Cold drinks were available at reception at cheap prices. Earlier in the year I spent 1 month at Pham Lan whilst working and had a great time. They were able to offer me a generously discounted rate and I made good friends with the staff. In all, whether you are looking for a place to spend a short or long period of time, I could not reccommend Phan Lan 2 more highly: cheap, relaxing, comfortable and friendly.

Disliked: Very little to dislike. The toilets are a bit small, but this was not a problem. They were always clean and with running hot and cold water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ambrose Sharp

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Ambrose would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and hospitable with great security, and staff willing to assist with your experience in vietnam- Van and his team are ultimate professionals. Washing service available, great WIFI, and superb location. I booked and additional 5 nights and used the hotel as my base for exploring Vietnam.

Disliked: Ambrose left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Mccallumn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are amazing. Initially we were only meant to stay one night but we ended up staying for 5!

Disliked: N/a

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gerard McCabe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Gerard would recommend this property

Liked: It was located just off the main backpacker strip so it was a short walk to bars and food but not tô busy or noisy . The staff made good recommendations in terms of where to eat and places to see in HCMC.

Disliked: No wifi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff were extremely friendly and happy to help. They allowed us to pay for half a day in the room when we were leaving late on the evening, and we found booking our ongoing bus tickets hassle free. The location is great as there are plenty of bars, coffee shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk, and being set back from the main street it was quiet at night.

Disliked: We arrived at 5pm and had to wait until 6.30 until our rooms were ready to check in to.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Roberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012

Liked: The place was clean and comfortable and in a good location. We had no complaints about the actual accommodation itself. Would be happy to recommend the place if you're planning on booking tours/scooters/etc elsewhere anyway (or not planning on doing any of that at all).

Disliked: We felt that the one of the members of staff was trying to screw us around on a couple of occasions. First, we asked one evening to hire motorbikes for the next day. We asked for manuals (because they were cheaper and we didn't care), and were told that would be fine. Then the next morning, we got a long story about how it was really hard to get manuals, and got offered one that (we were told) belonged to the boss, and told another was on its way. We tried the first one, and found it had basically no front brake -- we were told we should just use the foot brake instead. No thanks. We went down the road and hired bikes from somewhere else instead, so it was all fine, but it wasted nearly an hour of our day, which meant we missed seeing some of what we'd planned to see in the Mekong Delta. Second, we asked whether he could book bus tickets to Siem Reap for us, and we asked to go with Mekong Express. He made a phone call and told us they were full. He then dealt with some other customers for a moment, and then told us he'd called a second company (which we also would have been happy with) and that they were full too. I hadn't seen him use the phone, so am a little suspicious whether he even made the call. He then called a third company we'd never heard of, and booked us on that. We got him to cancel that booking (he hadn't checked with us whether we were OK with that company before booking the tickets -- and we weren't) and we walked around the corner to the Mekong Express agents and bought tickets directly. We noticed on their screens that the bus was not even close to fully booked at that stage. We had this place recommended by a friend who really enjoyed their tours, so maybe you'll be fine too. But personally I wouldn't trust dealing with these guys again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything, the staff is very friendly, everything is very nice. The breakfast is ok.

Disliked: No Window in my room, no map of the city including all the district (but one of the central area)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Harrington

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe and conveniently located with a very helpful staff who booked us an excellent trip to the Cao Dai Temple and Cu-Chi Tunnels

Disliked: Nothing - but for the price we have had toiletries provided and a more extensive breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seth Daire

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 August 2011 Seth would recommend this property

Liked: I spent a month at Phan Lan while taking an ESL teaching certification course. It was an excellent stay. Both receptionists speak English pretty well, and were genuinely concerned about our stay being a good one. We had some good conversations with them too. Tours were never pushed on us, but they do book them for their guests. We found the staff honorable and trustworthy, something important for us when staying a long time. The decor is classy. The rooms had a small fridge, TV and lockable storage locker. Beds had sheets and blankets. Room was clean. For breakfast there, we usually had an omelet, bread, banana(s), pineapply juice and tea or coffee. It was a good breakfast, and better than what some cafes offer for breakfast. If you'd like more food variety, Sozo and Highlands cafes are nearby. Overall, a great experience, and I will stay there anytime I need a hotel in HCMC.

Disliked: They don't have a common area, like a lounge, as some people have noted, but quite a few guesthouses don't. Phan Lan does have a receptionist area and dining room though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean room.

Disliked: Not ideal to meet other travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like where the hotel was located. Right on the main strip of bars and restaurants, but behind where the action was. So it was not too loud.

Disliked: There are many other hotels that are in the area that are cheaper, and have the same facilities to offer. We were going to stay for 3 nights, but only stayed for 1, and moved somewhere that was cheaper. We booked a pick up from the airport, but our flight was delayed. Nobody was there to pick us up, so we payed for our own ride, and the owner also made us pay for half of the pick up that we did not use.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was very clean, the stuff speaks english very well, it's possible to book tour at the hostel

Disliked: the mekong-tour we booked at the hostel was nice but we had better tours (better organisation

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: No room to meet people in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Leers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service,very friendly and helpful staff and great location

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sally leake

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011 sally would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, staff and breakfast

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect. Just a little side street of all the pubs. No noise fromt the street. And just 5 to10 minutes walking to benh tanh market.

Disliked: Because it is a guesthouse without a common room it is not the place to meet people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place to meet people. Staff was nice and no problem to get want you needed help with.

Disliked: there is a lot of noise from the alley and the sound went right through the windows -as anywhere else in HCMC. guess it is a part of the charm:)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulina Sieczko

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and helpful, and the room was nice and clean and great location. Good breakfast, free internet.

Disliked: It may be a bit tricky to find initially as it is in a little laneway off the main road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The photos actually don't do the property justice, at least the sister hostel Nguyen Trang just across the way, which is where we stayed. The rooms are fairly compact, but the decor gives the place a boutique feel. The alleyway in which the hostel is located has lots of character and is set back from the main road, Pham Ngu Lao, so is quiet yet in very close proximity to lots of stylish bars and restaurants (I would recommend cafe Thi for its arty feel). The main road is also the stopping place for lots of intercity buses, so we literally stepped out of the bus from Phnom Penh and walked across the street to check in (good if you have heavy luggage!). The staff are very friendly and there is a basic breakfast included consisting of baguette, jam and butter, omlette and fruit. There are also lots of tours on offer for fairly low prices, although if you don't want to be with 40 other tourists it might be an idea to book a private tour (to the Cu Chi tunnels, for example).

Disliked: We were upgraded for the first night to a bigger room, as all twins/doubles were booked out and, whilst this was nice, it meant we had to move the next day and from the 1st floor to the 5th and there are no lifts. Also, the internet connection did not reach to the fifth floor, so it meant coming down everytime to gain access. Having said this, there is a free computer at reception so internet is always available. The shower in the bathroom was not very powerful on the 5th floor either, and the water temperature was more lukewarm than hot.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Markus Hausammann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: It's ok, nothing special but a solid offer for that central location. I think the value for the price could be better! Fridge was empty, no soap in the bathroom, no window (normal for the narrow tall house type of Vietnamese cities). In other places in Vietnam you get much more for the same price but then again, this is the center of Hanoi.

Disliked: HostelBookers has recently started to make this field a must, I think that's stupid.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Philip Le Gouais

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location on a quiet side street off the main backpacker street. Staff were very friendly. Easy to book tours and onward transport etc.

Disliked: I think we probably could have got tours and currency exchange cheaper out on the street, but then again we couldn't be bothered to do that!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were exceptional, very clean, we booked 3 days and stayed a week. It will be the first place we look at when we are next in saigon

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EDURNE AZPILICUETA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2010 EDURNE would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excelent!!!!

Disliked: EDURNE left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, clean rooms

Disliked: we had to change rooms during our stay. The staff wasn't particularly friendly.