HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Dong Thanh hotel

3 star Hotel | 19 Cua Dong - Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam 100000

95.4% Overall Rating

15 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2013)

Martin Domanski thinks…

"I really liked this hotel. Really really friendly staff, that wanted to make our stay and time in Hanoi the best. The room was modern, clean and tidy. The breakfast was great and again the staff very…"

Read all Dong Thanh hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Hanoi Vega Hotel
14.06 USD

Hotel 4.5 star Not yet rated
Hanoi City Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 85 reviews
Little Hanoi Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 95.0% 473 reviews
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 91.3% 85 reviews
Gold Sun Hanoi Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.6% 24 reviews
Hanoi Culture Hostel
8.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 94.9% 10 reviews
Hanoi View Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hanoi Hostel
4.80 USD

Hostel 90.2% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.4%

Overall Rating

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dong Thanh hotel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
93.3%
Facilities
94.7%
Cleanliness
93.3%
Staff
98.7%
Value
94.7%
Safety
97.3%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Domanski

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hotel. Really really friendly staff, that wanted to make our stay and time in Hanoi the best. The room was modern, clean and tidy. The breakfast was great and again the staff very attentive. Hot and cold water, plasma tv with lots of channels and street view. The hotel arranged at a great price late check out. And for $5 breakfast when we arrived early and gave us early check-in at no extra cost. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel was in a great location for Old Quarter and exploring Hanoi on foot. A good map and recommendation of restaurants, shopping etc.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Domanski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff with a lot of knowlegde about the city and places to go Nice breakfast, very clean rooms,very good value for money. Hotel is very close to the shopping area. You can get a taxi quite cheap ie 40-50.000 VDN.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy L Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: I have travelled all the time and this hotel is one my favorite to stay in. It makes me feel so comfortable and relaxed. The services are very good and people are really friendly. I will be back in Hanoi next year and I definitely will chose Dong Thanh hotel as my hotel.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tony Hanson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 October 2012 tony would recommend this property

Liked: service

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jean kok

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 jean would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the DONG THANH HOTEL were the best at this hotel in the heart of the Old Quarter in Hanoi. Nearly all of the staff spoke great English, were so helpful with making plans or finding things in the area. They always knew my name and really made me feel at home. The included breakfast buffet on the fist floor with great views, just added to the real value of the place. The only drawback, was there wasn't a bar as a gathering place for meeting people, although it really was not an issue.

Disliked: no idea

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

frunk crist

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2012 frunk would recommend this property

Liked: I have no complaints with my stay here. The staff, both jimmy and Lee, are very helpful and attentive. Location couldn't be better, away from the loud hustle and bustle of the centre of backpacker hostels but not too far to delve in to the street bars and food stalls. Breakfast included was good value and filling and a suprise complimentary dinner for the guests was a winner with us all. Brilliant!

Disliked: no idea

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter christopher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome! My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights and the host, Jimmy sorted us out with a trip to Ha Long Bay for three days with an excellent tour company. After staying in 'higher end' hotels for most of our trip and listening to elevator music in the foyers, this was a pleasant change for the better. The staff are proactive, without being overwhelming and provide free internet, coffee, tea, fruit, airport pick-up, breakfast and friendly atmosphere. Thanks guys

Disliked: No comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jean amyu

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

04 September 2012 jean would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a room for take a bath before going to Sapa. They charged on 25 USD for 3 people. and I also let them book a train ticket and room in Sapa. In my opinion, they didn't charge me too much compared with I didn't manage all by myself (as you know, train ticket to Sapa, you should pay in advance for book a bed (soft sleeper) and change to a real ticket before getting on a train) a room with window and full convenience. Hotel located in old quarter. from airport by minibus, takes around 10-20 min. it's OK. Staff is very nice and friendly. I recommend for budget traveler. this is one of choices for you.

Disliked: great

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

pan jarat

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2012 pan would recommend this property

Liked: Perhaps not as vibrant an atmosphere as might be found elsewhere, but on every other count this hostel really excelled. The staff were exceptionally helpful, organising bus travel, tours and transportation for us around Hanoi. The complimentary dinner on our first night was a lovely touch, and I'd be very keen to recommend this hostel to anyone looking for great value for money, superb service and pleasant surroundings.

Disliked: excellent

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elizabeth barret

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 September 2012 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and staff service... Enjoy the trip here and the environment in room is good. We have booked the local trip here, the fee is acceptable and no cheat to the visitor. Good to stay here.

Disliked: Nice place and staff service... Enjoy the trip here and the environment in room is good. We have booked the local trip here, the fee is acceptable and no cheat to the visitor. Good to stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luka grob

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2012 luka would recommend this property

Liked: I visited Hanoi for 5 days, quite short and booked all our day tours from this hotel. Awesome service! I really love the room, it should be labeled a hotel instead. Thanks to the chamber maid for doing such a great job. And not forgetting the superb breakfast. The tours they booked for us is very well planned and quality-assured-I don’t mind paying extra bucks for such awesome service. Special thanks to Mr.Jimmy for coordinating with me when I was still in Thailand via email.

Disliked: I visited Hanoi for 5 days, quite short and booked all our day tours from this hotel. Awesome service! I really love the room, it should be labeled a hotel instead. Thanks to the chamber maid for doing such a great job. And not forgetting the superb breakfast. The tours they booked for us is very well planned and quality-assured-I don’t mind paying extra bucks for such awesome service. Special thanks to Mr.Jimmy for coordinating with me when I was still in Thailand via email.We recommended this hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam christopher

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

28 August 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: We took a single-bed . The bed was very comfortable and clean. Included TV, aircon, te&coffe, and even a laptop. The room was beautiful and the bathroom looked like new. The staff is extremely helpful and work hard to solve all your needs. We booked two tours with them. The tour to Halong Bay (around USD115) was above the average but the experience was totally recommendable. I would definitely recommend Dong Thanh Hotel to anyone going to Hanoi

Disliked: No comment

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

clara parker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 clara would recommend this property

Liked: Upon my arrival , I was informed by the staff that I have been upgraded to the deluxe city view ( which was a nice touch , great ! ) The room is spacious and super clean, the bed is was so comfy after all day of sightseeing . I've arranged with them Halong Bay Tour and it was truly amazing . Although the weather was not quite good, my cabin is nice and the seafood is awesome. Overall, the service is really good, the staff is accommodating and I truly enjoyed my stay there !

Disliked: Nothing


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels