HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Garnet hotel

3 star Hotel | No.39 Nguyen Truong To Str, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi, Vietnam -84

89.9% Overall Rating

21 out of 23 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2011)

"This hotel has excellent staff. If you need anything just calls them and they will bring directly to your rooms. My boy friend’s was sick and they helped us go to see doctor. We were very touched with them. That’s nice…"

Read all Garnet hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Hanoi Viet Hotel
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Time Hotel
13.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
TRAN HOTEL
6.83 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 100.0% 8 reviews
Hanoi Atlantic Hotel
5.00 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 79.4% 29 reviews
Hanoi Luxor Hotel
13.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hanoi Hostel
5.40 USD

Hostel 91.0% 24 reviews
hanoi triumphal hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.8% 8 reviews
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
5.86 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

21 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Garnet hotel'

Atmosphere
82.6%
Location
86.1%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
94.8%
Staff
91.3%
Value
90.4%
Safety
93.9%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staffs.

Disliked: location maybe a bit far from the center but still within walking range

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel has excellent staff. If you need anything just calls them and they will bring directly to your rooms. My boy friend’s was sick and they helped us go to see doctor. We were very touched with them. That’s nice memory and we will never forget. Our room was quite big with all modern conveniences. The toilet was clean and nice. Hotel location inside old quarter. It’s very easy for us to go around .We felt really enjoyed in this time. For us it’s best choice. It just like home. Thanks all !!!

Disliked: I loved all

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was clean and tidy and nice room though - shame about the other things.

Disliked: Noise and transfer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nasaki Yzumi

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Work / volunteering
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

11 August 2010 Nasaki would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet area and good cleanliness hotel! As on my previous visit the staff were very helpful and spoke good English. Bed was very comfortable and clean, bathroom clean, modern and deluxe. Warm water in hotel, plenty of towels available. Very pleasant room and nice decor, very quiet, and located in busy street with attractions nearby, but in the room very quite. Breakfast was include in price of room. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing. We were very satisfied with our stay here

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kirsten Joensen

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

19 July 2010

Liked: The staff was helpfull, but not at all as charming as we've seen it in other places.

Disliked: The location was in a quite boring area (maybe due to the Thyphone CONSON - hardly anyone was on the streets. The room did not really have an atmoshere - it was merely just a place to sleep. (in fact the landlord tried to excuse the state of the room)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christine Tee

13 June 2010 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: the beds were spacious and clean. toilet was very clean as well.

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 March 2010

Liked: Following a further reservation moved us to another hotel so they could fill it with wedding guests, they didn't us this until we checked out, it was inconvenient as we wanted to leave luggage. We then had problems with security at their sister hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Kwang Sook

24 February 2010 Kim Kwang would recommend this property

Liked: The staff did their utmost to make our stay pleasant: lugging our bags up endless flights of stairs, organizing inexpensive taxis from and to the airport, helping us with money exchange, offering us more servings of breakfast, and even letting us check in in the very early hours of the morning! I will definetely be back there the next time I'm in Hanoi.

Disliked: Kim Kwang left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful. It is a little bit out of they why from restaurangs if you wanna stay close where to eat. What we didn't like was that air-port pick up says free, but it doesn't say how to get there free, so when they are coming to pick you up, you have to pay 15 US, even thought it says free, but that is for Airport shutle. Breakfast is ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alberto Reno

03 February 2010 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: We spent 6 nights in this hotel and found all aspects of the stay excellent. The room was nice, the staff were brilliant and the location perfect.We booked an excellent trip to Ha Long Bay 2 days with Emotion cruise and Sapa trekking - Bac Ha market via the hotel. On our last day of the cruise, we take trip to Sapa at 8:00 pm , the hotel arrang the the room for us to shower and relaxe 3 hours with free of charge .Best of all were the staff, all of whom were extremely welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. Overall, an excellent and comfortable respite from busy Hanoi. Everything worked perfectly, brilliant. What more can I say?I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Disliked: Alberto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hanoi Garnet hotel is right in the middle of the old district of Hanoi Old Quarter, it is really a fantastic location. The room is good sizsed , wooden floor , quiet and it's light and large with a nice view from the balcony , very big and nice bath room .We booked our trips to Halong bay and Sapa through the hotel and they lived up to all our expectationsWe did the Sapa trip which was wonderful but do remember to take lots of warm clothes because it is winter in Vietnam . When he returned in the early morning they keeped the room free for us to relax before we leaving for Ha Long Bay . Ha Long bay was really beautiful as well.The staff exceptionally helpful with everything and was given excellent advice re taxis, barterings, nearby restaurants ectWe'll come back to Hanoi with the rest of our family again and will certainly be staying at Hanoi Garnet hotel again. Thanks to all

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KIONG TAI KONG

04 January 2010 KIONG TAI would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, cheerful and helpful. As the hotel is pretty new, the furniture are all brand new. It's also clean and well-kept. Great value for its price. Thanks Le Tuan & team!

Disliked: KIONG TAI left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly, always available to help in planning the vacation and to fix reservation and trips (Holong Bay..fantastic). have to choose between room silent with no view (a wall in front of the windows) or on the street with nice balcony but noisy all day and night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marian Uzcate

07 December 2009 Marian would recommend this property

Liked: We’re a family stayed at Hanoi Garnet hotel for 3 nights booked a family suite room thru Hostelbookers.com site.Rooms was good size , wooden floor though not very luxurious were of a good standard, clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and coffee was available all day.The staff are extremely attentive and helpful, even allowing us to shower on return from one of our trips before setting off on another. They organized trips, train, taxis and airfares all with no hassle and at extremely good value.Whilst away on our overnight trips they looked after our excess luggage. Nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay all the more enjoyable and relaxed.Excellent value for money, give them a try you will not be disappointed.

Disliked: Marian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Louis

23 November 2009 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: Lodged here for about 5 days. The rooms are spacious, the beds are very comfortable, the showers are great (near limitless hot water) with large shower-heads, and the air conditioning is out of this world. You can actually get your room cold AND dry, something you grow to appreciate when staying in humid Hanoi. Great food is within walking distance, and street noise is virtually non-existent. The staff are extremely hard working, friendly and very accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to all travelers in Hanoi, regardless of how thick your pocketbook is.

Disliked: Markus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Garnet hotel Brand new hotel in Hanoi is really good hotel indeed .Good value , good services but reasonable price . We stayed 2 night here and we could feel that really satisfied. Hotel location is in old quarter Hanoi , good food for beakfast and very good staffs you can enjoy the time in Hanoi and Viet Nam, rooms are so clen and fresh. From the hotel you can be arranged trips to whole country

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rita Goham

19 November 2009 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel picked us up at the airport as promised for a swift transfer. The family room was ready on arrival, spacious and clean. Breakfast was great with a choice of traditional noodle soup or freshly cooked omelettes, and the coffee brought to the room in the morning was much appreciated. Mrs. Huyen booked internal flights on request before our arrival, and organised train tickets, tours and hotels for the latter part of our journey. Our Halong Bay cruise was excellent (2D/1N), we would recommend longer if you have the time. We spent two days with Phoenix Cruise, our guide, the food and service on board was fab.The location of the hotel in the old quarter is great and in walking distance of many attractions.Thank you for all .

Disliked: Rita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Pocock

16 November 2009 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: All of the ratings for this hotel are based on the value of the hotel. Obviously, this is not 4 or 5 stars hotel . But if you're looking for a very inexpensive 3 stars hotel, this is a great value. There are tons of cheap hotels in this area (near Hoan Kiem lake) because this is where many of the travelers come i saw , but this one really is a nice hotel for the money. The staff is super friendly and hospitable. The rooms are very clean. They exchanged money for us at the front desk and gave the best rate we've seen in the city. There's a descent breakfast every day. The location is great. You can tell that they want to get repeat business, which they will get from me and several of the folks I traveled with.

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Lopass

13 November 2009 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: We travelled to Vietnam with very little organised beforehand apart from our first few nights at Hanoi Garnet Hotel. The sales manager Mr Le Tuan was extremely helpful in providing recommendations on where to stay for our onwards journey (all of which were excellent) and booking tours, travel and accommodation for us. Staff were available around the clock to assist with any requests. Our room was large and clean with plenty of mod cons and the free daily fruit was a nice addition.We checked out early the day we were catcing the night train to Sapa, and after a hot day in Hanoi they let us use have showers before organising transport for us. We arrived back from Sapa on the train at 5am and were not even staying at the hotel before heading off to Halong Bay, but they opened the doors and offered us free of charge breakfast and showers and even a room to sleep a few hours before our tour began. The staff will bend over backwards to meet your needs and don't know how to say no.

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wooi Min Kwah

05 November 2009 Wooi Min would recommend this property

Liked: We have just spent 3 weeks in Vietnam using the Garnet Hotel in Hanoi as our base for visits to Sapa, Hoi An and Halong Bay. The hotel is straight in the heart of the city, very clean and has wonderful and friendly staff. Our trip was planned a long time ago through emails with Spring. Our trips to Sapa and Halong Bay were organised through Spring who also booked rail tickets for us to Hoi An and back.

Disliked: Wooi Min left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Gerrard

01 November 2009 John would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed 4 nights in Hanoi GARNET Hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful and attentive.They provided free Computer online service and served the coffee and water for whole day.We enjoyed a lot because its of the warm and relax environment.Its is value for money and i would recommend to my friends who are planning to go for Hanoi !

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels