HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Hanoi Gecko2 Hotel

4 star Hotel | 13 Trung Yen Lane, DinhLiet Street, Hanoi, Vietnam 100

90.4% Overall Rating

50 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2011)

"The Gecko is great. It is centrally located in the Old Quarter so almost everywhere (except the bus station) is within easy walking distance. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Free breakfasts were very nice and you…"

Read all Hanoi Gecko2 Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Real Vietnam hotel
6.96 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.0% 6 reviews
Green Diamond Hotel
7.20 USD

Hostel 96.1% 34 reviews
Golden Sun Hotel 3
9.00 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 92.9% 22 reviews
Hoan Kiem Hostel
6.16 USD

Hostel 87.3% 14 reviews
The May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
5.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 122 reviews
Hanoi Dolphin Hotel
16.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.9% 5 reviews
Hanoi 3B Hotel
6.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 97.1% 20 reviews
Hanoi Youth Hostel
4.94 USD

Hostel 77.9% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

50 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hanoi Gecko2 Hotel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 52 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jang youngju

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Jang would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean room, Very friendly and kind staff, breakfast, buffet is so nice!!

Disliked: room and toilet is narrow!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Gecko is great. It is centrally located in the Old Quarter so almost everywhere (except the bus station) is within easy walking distance. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Free breakfasts were very nice and you could hardly sit anywhere in the common area without being offerred a tea or coffee.

Disliked: It is very much geared towards selling tours and the tours on offer are very expensive. We did a tour, which was fantastic, but pretty much identical to the experience of others who paid a quarter of the cost that we did.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Coates

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2010 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap with very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The beds are rock hard. Had to take a duvet off another bed for padding, which admittedly then made it really comfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawn Schary

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

24 October 2010 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the nicest people I met in Vietnam. They were so helpful, and you could tell that their interest in us was not for our money, but rather for our happiness in Vietnam. They were amazing.

Disliked: The beds were so hard. I slept on top of the blanket to give myself some sort of padding. Also, the first room I stayed in was about five stories up without an elevator. After that, I moved to the first floor of rooms, which was actually the third floor. This is the only thing that I'd consider not recommending for anyone who had knee, ankle, or hip problems

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very (exceptional) nice staff, and good a c in the dormitory

Disliked: noise, and no a c - only fan in the other rooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yann Leus

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2010 Yann would recommend this property

Liked: In the centre of the old city

Disliked: Yann left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very pleasant stay at the Gecko 2 Hotel. Special thanks to Julia who made us feel very welcome and at home. She arranged an Airport Transfer for us, helped us book our trips to Halong Bay and the Ninh Binh Province and even took our postcards to the post office. The hotel is very conveniently located in the Old Quarter (in a side street, so luckily no traffic noise), only a few minutes from the lake. The rooms are modern (WIFI and Satellite TV) and squeaky clean and the breakfast is a choice of continental (bacon and eggs / jam and toast) or Vietnamese (Pho / Rice Rolls). If you're looking for an affordable boutique hotel, this is the place for you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony Ruther

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: it's clea, in a good location and the staff are friendly

Disliked: the beds are very hard, it's like sleeping on the floor!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great breakfast, laptops and free wifi in the room. Fun, friendly and extremely helpful staff. Will definitely stay here when in Hanoi next time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed the Hanoi Gecko hotel . The hotel is in the Old Quarter, and the location near the lake was important, as was it's proximity to shopping and restaurants. The staff at this hotel is very pleasant and helpful and will try to fill your every request .The rooms were quite large and serviced every dayl. The breakfasts were great, you have a choice of continental, Western or Vietnamese is very fantastic .We found Mrs Laura ( Hotel sale manager ) and the other staff to be very helpful. They were more than happy to assist us with any of our queries and they organized our trip to Halong Bay and Monkey island as well as a day trip to the perfume pagoda - at very reasonable rates.All in all, We were really enjoy with our staying in this hotel and felt sad to leave and will hopefully stay again soon.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ariza Ayu Ramadhani

01 April 2010 Ariza Ayu would recommend this property

Liked: everything here is just worth the money and beyond expectations! Julia and Laura were the nicest person you've met, always smile and help you whenever you want. The room is great, clean, and more than enough to stayed and have a rest at night. The location is so near from the Hoan Kiem Lake, you just need 2 minutes walk to get there. Julia helped us to choose the best halong bay tour, and it was awesome. We also get free breakfast when we got the hotel for the first time long time before the check in time.I would definitely come there again if i go to Hanoi!

Disliked: Ariza Ayu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Gerz

09 March 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Lage super zentral in einer Seitenstrasse der Altstadt dadurch sehr ruhig gelegen. Schoene saubere und geraeumige Zimmer.Das Personal ist sehr hilfsbereich und unterstuetzt einen in bei jeder Frage und gibt nuetzliche Tipps.Selbst das inkl. Fruehstueck ist lecker.Alles in Allem ausnahmslos empfehenswert.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We spent 3 nights in this hotel and found all aspects of the stay excellent. The room was nice, the staff were brilliant and the location perfect. We booked an excellent trip to Ha Long Bay 2 days with BaituLong Tour and Sapa trekking 2D/3N via the hotel. On our last day of the cruise, we take trip to Sapa at 8:00 pm , the hotel arrang the the room for us to shower and relaxe 3 hours with free of charge .Best of all were the staff, all of whom were extremely welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. Overall, an excellent and comfortable respite from busy Hanoi. Everything worked perfectly, brilliant. What more can I say? I would not hesitate to stay here again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Of all the hotels i stayed in Vietnam, Hanoi Gecko Hotel is the one we remember and talk about the most. We had the Duluxe room and just loved it! Large, spacious room, clean bathroom, comfortable bed & lovely view! There was something about this place for us - it was just the kind of accommodation i like, comfortable but very personable. Nothing too fancy, just a great place to go home to at the end of the day. The staff were the best part about the place - they were super friendly (I stayed at 3 hotels in Hanoi, and Hanoi Gecko Hotel was by far the friendliest) they did everything they could to accommodate us whilst we were there and we were truly sad to leave. Next time i'm in Hanoi, i will be sure to look them up again - have referred many others on and will continue to do so.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

03 February 2010

Liked: room with view of the lac, was to expensive...and the lac is sooo far away, so why bother to write seeview:(computers for free- good thing you could take the laptops in your room, but internet connections was very bad:(the staff: Laura especially tried to sell us the first evening ( we just wanted to rest) a trip to how long bay ect. all in all to business making woman...we found later somewhere else a trip much cheaper and very good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and in the middle of the old quarter, but in a lane so not as noisy as other places would be.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Scerri

29 January 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and comfotable. Free breakfast was a bonus and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast and the beds are really comfortable. The owner comes off a little pushy and like she knows what's best for you when she's selling a tour. She changed something in our tour without telling us beforehand and then made up for that by giving us a discount on more nights in the hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jOHN ADRIAN LENHAM

20 January 2010 jOHN ADRIAN would recommend this property

Liked: a genuine real friendley helpful serve by all the staff

Disliked: jOHN ADRIAN left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Brunott

18 January 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great hotel , Staff so helpful , They arranged picking up from the airport at very reasonable cost which takes out the hassel . They arranged a great trip to Halong bay , They really could not do more to help make our fews days stay there most enjoyable , The room was very comfy and clean every thing you wanted was in there .We found the staff truly amazing; in addition to meeting all our accommodation needs, they were able to arrange tours for us, offer a great laundry service and internet access and give very helpful advice when we needed it.We definitely coma back again

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free laptop use. Good breakfasts. New and very clean facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendliness of staff. Good breakfast and comfortable rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose maria

18 December 2009 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room and friendly staff.It is really value for your money.Should book your trip from them.They always tell you the truth.Don't worry about be overcharged.Thank to Hanoi Gecko2 hotel staff, thank for your kind

Disliked: Rose left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

van ferdinand

18 December 2009 van would recommend this property

Liked: Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel is best choice for you.Clean room, friendly staff, and specially free Laptop to use in my room.I booked all trip through hotel and it was really value for money.They always took care me and i really enjoyed our trip to Sapa and Perfume PagodaI highly recommend for my friends

Disliked: van left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location right in the Old Quarters.Clean nice rooms.The staff was friendly and helpful.I booked tickets and tours and they even gave me some money back when one did not quite live up to expected standards. They really seem to want to have happy customers.I was also allowed into a room when I was between tours, for a shower and a nap (no cost)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels