HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Hanoi Gecko2 Hotel

4 star Hotel | 13 Trung Yen Lane, DinhLiet Street, Hanoi, Vietnam 100

90.4% Overall Rating

50 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2011)

"The Gecko is great. It is centrally located in the Old Quarter so almost everywhere (except the bus station) is within easy walking distance. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Free breakfasts were very nice and you…"

Read all Hanoi Gecko2 Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Real Vietnam hotel
6.90 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.0% 6 reviews
Green Diamond Hotel
7.20 USD

Hostel 96.1% 34 reviews
Golden Sun Hotel 3
9.00 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 92.9% 22 reviews
Hoan Kiem Hostel
4.20 USD

Hostel 87.3% 14 reviews
The May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
5.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 122 reviews
Hanoi Dolphin Hotel
16.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.9% 5 reviews
Hanoi 3B Hotel
6.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 97.1% 20 reviews
Hanoi Youth Hostel
4.90 USD

Hostel 77.9% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

50 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hanoi Gecko2 Hotel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 52 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new, laptop made available in room, convenient location, elevator, however, construction next door. a lot of noise but not management's fault.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free use of laptops in the rooms was great! Also, the friendly staff and amazing rooms - nice to actually be in rather than just rest your head. Oh, and the omlettes for brekkie were awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, clean hotel and wel -organized tour to Halong Bay and Sapa.Thank to all staff of Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel.I definitely come back again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hanoi Gecko2 hotel is really nice hotel.Just stay there 1night , but i had a lot of fun.I enjoyed my trip to Halong Bay and Sapa so much , with a really good price.You don't have to walk around to find another agency , just talk with Laura, she will help you to have a good time in Vietnam.I definitely come back again.Thank to Hanoi Gecko 2 Hotel staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfortable and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It is pricier than some but you get what you pay for and it was worth it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joane davies

10 November 2009 joane would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hotel! We loved the staying at Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel !All people are really kind to us.They helped us everything.Thank to Laura- the tour organizer.We enjoyed the trip to Sapa.We definitely recommend your hotel to my friends.

Disliked: joane left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul davies

10 November 2009 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel is number 1 hotel.Excellent service !Thank you for booking our trip to Halong Bay .We enjoyed that so much.Thank you for all staffs there.

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After staying just one night at the Hanoi gecko 2 hotel before we move onto Halong Bay we have re-booked for when return to Hanoi afterwards and would not consider staying anywhere else!The rooms are really nice , extremely clean with comfy beds and a bid TV !Laura and her team made us feel extremely welcome and were particularly helpful when it came to giving us advice ans information about tours and buying bus or train tickets and all without the usual pressure to buy - which you get in many other hotels.I can't recommend th Hanoi Gecko 2 enough and after travelling through Vietnam for 2 weeks now, i can safely say this is the best place we have stayed.The option to have a laptop with internet access in your room is also a good- send !A definite 5* experienceThank Laura

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul davie

08 November 2009 paul would recommend this property

Liked: We traveled with our close friends to Hanoi in October 2009 and stayed for 6 days here. We truly discovered "Paradise". We have been to Hanoi many times prior to this visit but we never stayed anywhere quite so gorgeous and satisfying, everything was terrific. From getting greeted by Laura at the reservations desk to being served by all staffs of Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel , this place really knows how to keep their guests happy and content. The housekeeping crew was courteous and polite always keeping our privacy as their number one priority while replenishing us with clean towels and supplies daily. The view of my room was magnificent that was breathtakingI booked all our trip with Laura.She arranged really well.She always took care us until we left Vietnam.I enjoyed our trip to Halong Bay and Sapa so much.I like doing kayaking and treeking in Sapa as wellThe next time we will come back to Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel for another relaxing stay.We will look no further; we know exactly where we will make our reservations. Thank You!!

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

erin mccabe

07 November 2009 erin would recommend this property

Liked: We had many recommendations from my friends, and finally we decided to chose Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel because of my friend's recommendation after their trip to Vietnam. I emailed ahead and got reply and the confirmation so quickly. We were greeted at the airport by a very friendly staff member and took us by their car to the hotel even in the late evening.And we had a wonderful memory of the Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel during the time traveling in Vietnam. It seemed that everything was so easy for us by a wonderful young Manager and Laura . From professional making response by email, picking us up at the airport to organizing the trip along Vietnam with other connections by trains, buses, so that we could have wonderful trip to Halong bay, Ninh Binh -Cuc Phuong national Park and Sapa as well.That is really organized.Our room was great, very clean , well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price ..We would recommend the hotel to other traveler's who are looking for a reasonably-priced place to stay with excellent service, When we return Hanoi, we will definitely stay here again.Thank to all staffs of Hanoi Gecko 2.

Disliked: erin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elaine alexander

06 November 2009 elaine would recommend this property

Liked: While in Hanoi with my family we decided to stay at Hanoi Gecko 2 Hotel.That is wonderful hotel.This was simply the nicest hotel we stayed at in Vietnam, and we really enjoyed it.I was greeted with a huge bunch of flowers and warm, friendly smiles upon my arrivalThe hotel is well located in close proximity to most of Hanoi's attractions. There are views of Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarter from the upper levels. The rooms are very well appointed with a large & comfortable bed, timber flooring, flat screen TV with DVD, mini bar, tea/coffee making facilities etc.The staff were always on hand to assist and willing to learn. I couldn't fault their enthusiasm nor their professionalism and dedication. They have been well trained and will only get better with further experience.The best thing about Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel is Laura. She arranged the trip to Halong Bay that included a tour of a local grotto. Lunch on the boat was a huge spread of seafood, including steamed crab, prawns, fish soup and seafood salad. More than we could possibly eat.Laura also procured tickets for us to see traditional Vietnamese dancing and a water puppet show. The kids loved it.I would recommend staying here just for the help of Laura, especially if you do not speak Vietnamese.Thank you to all staffs of Hanoi Gecko 2 hotelWe definitely come back again.

Disliked: elaine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellently run, helpful staff, lovely rooms, brilliant value for money. Like staying in boutique hotel for the price of a hostel, what a find!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kirsten winkler

19 October 2009 kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: Hanoi Gecko 2 hotelGreat location! Walk to everything!!!! (restaurants, transportation, bars/clubs, and fitness center). This hotel looks ok from the outside, but once you step foot inside the warm & friendly staff & decor more than makes up for the simple exterior. The service was amazing!Free breakfast and is available for all types of people.Other food options with-in a 5 min walk:In old quarter– lots of food options for breakfast, lunch and dinnerItalian Restaurant – can’t remember the name but its fantastic freshly made real Italian fare located right across the street from the Old Quater.Next time I will definitely stay at the Hanoi Gecko 2 Hotel.

Disliked: kirsten left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

linda lin

17 October 2009 linda would recommend this property

Liked: I have been in a lot of hotels across the gamut from the worse to the best, and Hanoi Gecko 2 is among the best I have stayed at.It started with my arrival on the 16th of October. I had a red eye flight from Bangkok and arrived at the hotel at 7:00AM. The normal check-in is at 12:00PM, so you do the math on how early I was. I gave my information to the hotel receptionist and she said, "We will have you a room soon because i know you are so tired now !" I told her no problem, I wanted to see some sites on foot, and mainly wanted to leave my luggage. She said, "no problem sir, leave your luggage and enjoy your walk" I walked about the city for about hour or so visiting the local sites (many are within walking distance, as the hotel is located in the oldquater), and about 1 hour after walking about, I was very sweaty and thought, I could use a shower! I returned to the reception and they had not only gotten me a room, but also upgraded me at no charge! I was able to take a shower, and nap a bit after the long night and prior day.After my shower and nap, I returned to the lobby where the receptionist was able to provide me accurate and excellent directions to local sites and attractions that filled my day. In the morning, I woke and went to the lobby where I was greeted by the employees with hello's and smiles. I collected my breakfast from the vast selection of foods, and found a comfortable table to eat at. Upon sitting down the waiter came over and immediately offer a hot drink.After 2 day there, the tour organizer helped me with my booking tour.She organized Halong bay , Sapa and perfume pagoda .I enjoyed that very much.Thank you for your kind to me -we definitely come back your hotel .Take care!

Disliked: linda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kit katherine

17 October 2009 kit would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend Hanoi Gecko 2 to all travllers.That is really value for your money.Thank to all stafff of Hanoi Gecko 2, thank for your help.I enjoy my stay and my Halong Bay tour.I will come back for sure.

Disliked: kit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john master

15 October 2009 john would recommend this property

Liked: We were delighted with our stay at the Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel, which we booked because of the reviews on www.hostelbooker.com . We arrived in the early hours of the morning for a three night stay. Staff were professional and friendly. On arrival, our room was upgraded and we were given a 3pm late checkout on our final day.The location of this hotel is very convenient, right at the old quarter , 3 min walk to the Hoan Kiem lake.There are also a large range of affordable food stores within 5 mins walk.Our room was what we expected, a large bed, desk, desk chair . The room was extraordinarily quiet and we were able to block out all light if we wanted. . The room was spotless clean and fully equipped, the staff here was very friendly helpful, they worked hard but always with a smile on their faces, they provide us the free tourist map, showed us where we were and recommend some good restaurants and historical sites. They arranged our fantastic trip Halong bay, Sapa tour, we enjoyed very much, thank to Laura - the tour organizer . We work in Thailand when our holiday was too short, only few days, we wished we had longer time to discover more beautiful place. We think we will come back Vietnam again to visit other beautiful places that we have not been to and Hnoi Gecko 2 will be our "Second Home"to continue. We had already promised to Hanoi Gecko 2 staff we would come back their hotel again. Of course we will come back.Thank for your kind to me.

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jenas Maxi

11 October 2009

Liked: This hotel was not good. The rooms were fine but small and not ljhean. The location was convenient but there are hundreds of inconvenient ones. The bathtub had some leak that was never fixed. They asked us to change rooms for other guest to have our room but didn't offer us any sort of perk to do so and as it was 10PM and we were leaving the next day at 6AM we refused. The electricity in the vicinity was scheduled to be turned off and of course they don't tell you this when you're booking. All in all there were so many problems with this hotel and we will not recommend.

Disliked: Jenas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria laura

03 October 2009 maria would recommend this property

Liked: Hello Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel !!!!!!!!That is wonderful hotel.The hotel is located in the old quater of the city, with close access to good restaurant markets etc.Should you wish to travel further, the helpful hotel satff will organize tour as they did for us, when we did a three day tour to Halong Bay.Don't waste your time to find out anothers.The hotel is quite new and has everything guests could want large, clean rooms ; extremely comfortable beds ; ensuites with bath , as well as shower.The elevator services 7 of 8 floor , with each floor consisting of 3 rooms .The hotel is located in a isde street , so the noise level isn't as loud as it is in some locations.Morning breakfast is included in the tarifit and thank to excellent cook, it is tasty beginning to eachday.Luggage may be stored at the hotel, while guests are off exploring more of Vietnam.The most outstanding feature of the Gecko hotel is its staff.The owner, mrs Diep, is often on site, but even when she is not present , the staff are very helpful , very plesant and extremely happy.They each go out of their way to ensure all guest quickly feel ' at home'.As can be seen from the above, we are very satisfied guests of the Gecko Hotel 2 hotel , and would encourge other holiday makers to have this hotel as their base while in Hanoi

Disliked: maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david joe

01 October 2009 david would recommend this property

Liked: I want to say thank to all staff of Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel.I enjoyed it.I will highly recommend your hotel

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dax moreno

30 September 2009 dax would recommend this property

Liked: Thank to all Hanoi Gecko StaffWe were recommended this hotel by our friend in NewZeland and were not disappointed . From The first day we were warmly welcomed by Laura and Tree and all staff.Everyone of them treated us so well .They are honest and go out of their way to help us: from one day laundry service . free loan of computer, relaxed breakfast and a beer at the end of hectic day .The organized tour which Laura did for us to SAPA was brillant , taking us to the train station and waiting for us at Gecko Hotel 2 at 5am on our return with instance availability to our rooms.We wish them well and many happy year ahead .We will certainly recommend them to our yachting friend and family back home

Disliked: dax left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma maria

28 September 2009 emma would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at Hanoi Gecko2 for 1 night na dreally enjoyed it.The staff are really cheerful and helpful, always greeting us with a smile at reception.The rooms are exceptionally clean with new amenities and really comfortable beds! The included breakfast was beyond expectation, really filling and delicious! It was great being only a short walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake and lots of optionfor restaurants.The free internet is ability to borrow a laptop for our roomwas also really good, so we could catch up on email in the comfort of our room after a long day of walking would throughly recommend staying here.

Disliked: emma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisa slagter

26 September 2009 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: ...is the best way to start a vacation. And we did in fact get greeted extremely well, including a short introduction to "what to see and do in Vietnam". And from then on every single person in the staff did their utmost to make us feel welcome. The room was big, very elegant furnished and located in the old quarter overlooking the lake - a great sight to wake up to in the morning. And you don't worry about your trip.Laura will help you everything with her honesty. We enjoyed our Ha long Bay tour and Sapa tour .FANTASTIC! It was all much more than we actually needed. But nevertheless very nice!!And finally - enjoy the breakfast!Thank to all staff of Hanoi Gecko 2.

Disliked: lisa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

coleen laura

25 September 2009 coleen would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Gecko 2 for 2 nights, we had a fantastic time.Accommodation has good sized rooms is spotlessly clean and tidy and staff really friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned and bedding and towels changed daily.Trips and onward travel bookings can be arranged at reception for reasonable prices so no need to waste time chasing around Hanoi looking for cheaper options.Laura will help you everything .Thank you to all staff of Hanoi Gecko 2.

Disliked: coleen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria young

24 September 2009 maria would recommend this property

Liked: That is the best of the best hotels in Vietnam so far.We enjoyed our staying at Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel: friendly staff, clean room, fantastic service and good organizing tour. We booked all tour with Laura : Sapa tour, Ha long bay tour, bus ticket and hotel.She took care during our journey.Thank you for all.We highly recommend Hanoi Gecko 2 hotel to all my friends

Disliked: maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Smith

23 September 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in an excellent location, close to the lake, old quarter and restaurants.The owners, Loan ( nick name is Laura ) and Diep are wonderful people and hosts and along with their staff will make your holiday to Hanoi an enjoyable one.The rooms are cosy and well furnished and unlike a 5 star hotel, actually make you fell like your in Vietnam. We enjoyed the experience and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels