We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Hi Ancient Town Hostel

2 star Hotel | 21 Bat Dan Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam 844 39231585

79.4% Overall Rating

28 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/06/2014)

Fabio Dian thinks…

"The price was 'too-good-to-be-true', the staff is AMAZING and they can arrange any tour around Hanoi/Ha Long Bay for you by the cheapest price I could find (after walking for hours around the Old…"

Read all Hi Ancient Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bicycle hire
  • Dry cleaning
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

New Vision Hotel
9.30 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 88.7% 21 reviews
Indochina Queen II hotel
5.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.9% 5 reviews
Hanoi Downtown Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.6% 24 reviews
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
8.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 90.5% 87 reviews
Stars Hotel
5.58 USD

Hostel 98.6% 12 reviews
Hanoi Rendezvous Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
CAMELLIA - MY KINH I Hostel
5.00 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 73.4% 16 reviews
Hanoi Vega Hotel
13.90 USD

Hotel 4.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

28 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hi Ancient Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014

Liked: location is pretty good, facility is OK.

Disliked: except a woman, other staffs was like: don't bother me. they're defently not helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Fabio Dian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: The price was 'too-good-to-be-true', the staff is AMAZING and they can arrange any tour around Hanoi/Ha Long Bay for you by the cheapest price I could find (after walking for hours around the Old City. They serve an amazing breakfast!

Disliked: The dorm had mold everywhere, even on the beds. The toilet was smelly and the air-con works only during the night. On my last night over there I managed to see two rats coming out from the kitchen area. :(

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, spacious bathroom, fridge, air con and free breakfast all for cheap price. Very clean.

Disliked: The bath was broken, could use a lick of paint however that's very picky

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2014

Liked: Nice location, if you dont like to be in the touristy heart of Hanoi. Cheap Place, okay breakfast.

Disliked: Window into chute. No fresh air. Feels like you are in a cellar.... but this is with many budget hostels in hanoi the same. And noisy aircon.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014

Liked: the location is in old quarter, not bad at all.

Disliked: They should arrange some english speaking staff, i hope this experience was not due to misunderstandings.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely staff

Disliked: showers not that clean and the floor is always wet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dawid woroch

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

14 February 2014 dawid would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great! I had a nice stay and stuff is very helpful!

Disliked: No complains

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and genuinely helpful. We booked two nights as we were meant to get in at 4am one morning however due to a logical nightmare did not research the hostel until 2pm. They could of charged us for two nights but were really really sweet and only charged us for one. Great location in the old town as walking distance to everything

Disliked: The bathroom was a little smelly

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Amy Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 February 2014

Liked: The bed was comfortable.

Disliked: The absolute rudeness of the staff was unbelievable, they made you wait when it wasn't necessary, they didn't listen to what you where trying to say, just an all round rude attitude.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, staff where friendly, free breakfast, good location

Disliked: not very clean, no security for left baggage

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewelina Minda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Ewelina would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed there in November for 3 nights as a backpacking couple.initially we've booked 2 nights but the manager was kind enough to let us stay there 1 more night as our train to Sapa wasn't til the next day. Centrally located. Able to walk to each sightseeing. Good choice for breakfast but also a lot of restaurants near by. Wifi working fine. There are 2 computers for Internet use. The hotel is also a travel agency which is good if you need to book a trip to Sapa or Halong. They also provide laundry service. Room was cleaned daily-thank you!

Disliked: Ewelina left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013

Liked: Dorms are very cheap, and you get a good breakfast with it.

Disliked: The dorm smells bad, there's no windows, no light. The children of the owners spend their time at the reception, and they are noisy.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ANBALAGAN VENGADASALAPATHY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 ANBALAGAN would recommend this property

Liked: noyhing

Disliked: limited usage of a/c

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mengke Tao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013

Liked: Not easy to find

Disliked: Mengke left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jacques Pistorius

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2013 Jacques would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good

Disliked: There was no lockers

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

huu minh tien duong

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 huu minh tien would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price with breakfast included

Disliked: huu minh tien left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Quyen Nguyen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 June 2013 Quyen would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed with them twice and happy with it as the price i paid. The second time i got upgraded a big room ground floor which has a bathtube that i appreciated so much as i could not take a shower due to my burn on my leg from motobike pipe, that i need to keep the burn dry since the bath could do so. Also i like the room this time better than last time as its far from the street so gave me no noise and i slept pretty well. The staffs are helpful for what you ask!!!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sophie Binskin-Barnes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Location, great breakfast and very cheap. Staff are very friendly. We stayed here twice as we liked it so much.

Disliked: Cleaners will have you up at 9am

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jana Bartovicova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: was as described, breakfast was very good, wifi in room, AC working

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, so cheap price with breakfast , nice and clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. They always happy to give us the travel information. Should ask them anything you need. I would recommend

Disliked: There are only 3 computers at the lobby. The Hostel is very busy , so I have to waiting once I want to use them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Aravad

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: NEW AND CLEAN BED, CHEAP PRICE, GOOD LOCATION AND HELPFUL STAFF. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL!!!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, facilities and service. I will come back again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Strickler

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: We stay 2 nights in this hotel. the room very clean, location very good. staff very friendly and helpful. Near Hoan Kiem lake and Dong Xuan market. Anh from travel deck she help us to book tour to Halong Bay and Sapa with very good price. We will come back this hotel again and recommend this hotel to my friend.

Disliked: I have no complain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, good price for bed and breakfast. New and clean room. I would recommend this hostel to our friends.

Disliked: None

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013

Liked: The location is good and water was hot

Disliked: They told me that they were full even though i had booked online, then after arguing for 30 mins they gave me my room which was slightly confusing. The man who i am assuming was the manager was very rude, the room was ok, although there were brown stains on the towels, they seemed angry when i asked to change them. They told me i could come back at any time, so after a night out with my girlfriend they hasseled her for her passport at 1am even though it wasnt mentioned when we checked in! If you want to be treated like crap, stay here.


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels