HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bluepango motel

Hotel | po box 4033, Port Vila, Vanuatu --

85.9% Overall Rating

55 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"Ocean facing rooms, gorgeous views. Short walk to a lovely natural swimming/beach area. Great fun walking along the rocky coastline when the tide is out and seeing the starfish and other sea creatures in the shallow…"

Read all Bluepango motel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Port Vila?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Port Vila

Treetops Lodge
21.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Coconut Palms Resort
37.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 31 reviews
City Lodge
20.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.8% 40 reviews
Holiday Motel
70.19 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Worawia Holiday Haven
37.08 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Tara Beach Resort
21.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

55 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bluepango motel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 53 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ocean facing rooms, gorgeous views. Short walk to a lovely natural swimming/beach area. Great fun walking along the rocky coastline when the tide is out and seeing the starfish and other sea creatures in the shallow pools of crystal-clear water. Only 150vt to town and airport by bus. Small grocery store at end of the street. ATM and restaurant at nearby resort within easy walking distance. Fridge and cooking facilities in each room makes buying and cooking up veggies from the market in town well worth it. No need for restaurants! Piping hot water in the shower 24/7. Hammocks to laze away the days. Loved Blue Pango and will definitely return.

Disliked: There isn't anything to dislike. It is fantastic value for money! I stayed here for 15 nights with my partner and we both loved it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephanie Wrigley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice beachfront location, plenty of pots and pans etc for the self contained units. Swimming pool which is a good size and looks clean. Excellent value for money, loved it so much we extended our stay

Disliked: Only downside is that it lacked a bit of a communal area to hang out in during the evening

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Markus Kraemer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2014 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cheap for what you get. you even have a small kitchen (gas cooker) in the rooms.

Disliked: Not in walking distance from the center, but minibuses for only 150 Vatu run every few minutes (sometimes even to the airport). You cannot swim at the Bluepango Beach (to many corals/rocks), but they have a nice pool. Well, nothing serious to dislike.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Markus Kraemer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: The price was really low for what you get: A private twin room including private bathroom/toilet & private kitchen (gas cooker in the room, pots, plates & cutlery are availale, too). The view is nice, they have some hammocks, tables on each bungalow terrace and a pool!

Disliked: The beach is very rocky - no swimming (but there is a nice pool). It's not in the city but a bit further south (but there ae minibuses running every 1-2 min for 150 vatu, so no problem). In summary: Nothng really to complain for that price.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly

Disliked: Location is not great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Allen

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: What can i say. Nothing beats the Blue Tango. Boo-Yaah!

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, really liked the kitchen in the dorm. Even though it's a bit far from the city it doesn't matter because there's a bus going every minute or so. Value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Idyllic location, 20 metres from the ocean, down a quiet track from the main road. Rooms are very basic and slightly down-at-heel, but large, clean and comfortable - excellent value for money. Lots of hot water and good pressure in the shower. The proprietor is a lovely man who went out of his way to be helpful when I needed to get to the airport at an ungodly hour. It is 5 minutes drive into Port Vila but as buses go by every 15 seconds that was no hardship.

Disliked: The self-contained rooms have cooking facilities and a fridge but are not otherwise equipped, so you have to find pans, plates, cutlery etc in the storage room behind the dorm section. The shower curtain was precarious and could do with replacement.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very basic, but provide everything you need, including a full kitchen. The property has nice views of the water as well as having a pool on-site for guest use.

Disliked: It was somewhat dirty when we arrived

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JOSEP ANTON MANETAS LAMEIRO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2013 JOSEP ANTON would recommend this property

Liked: It's correct.

Disliked: The kitchen is in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

beth hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

18 May 2013 beth would recommend this property

Liked: Peacful away from the town on the water front

Disliked: beth left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bern Endres

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 April 2013 Bern would recommend this property

Liked: Blue Pango is a nice and small motel right on the ocean. several hammocks allow you to relax while sitting in a nicely shaded area listening and watching the waves break on the shore. Not too many rooms so the atmosphere is more personal. The price was very reasonable for the dorm room accommodations.

Disliked: Overall there was nothing to dislike. It is not a 5 star hotel it is a hostel/motel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carol lisa gibbs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 March 2013 carol lisa would recommend this property

Liked: It was by the ocean with spacious lawns for sunbaking.Catering facilities in all units.Frendly helpful management.A real oaosis.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013

Liked: Blue Pango Motel is a cute little location, slightly out of town. The buses run so regularly that this doesn't really matter. It's very basic and a great base to have when exploring. Soloman (the owner) was very kind. It's very peaceful and a great place to relax.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sariel Taylor Pindo

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 January 2013

Liked: Owners had pets which made the place feel a little more homely. Also the view to the beach was very beautiful.

Disliked: The rooms were boiling and the bathroom smelt as it had plumbing and draining issues. Most importantly the beds were beyond dreadful to sleep on (woke up during the night in pain regularly) and there was no access to refrigeration. The saying is true however, you do get what you pay for. In terms of price per night the Blue Pango was merely satisfactory.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kin wah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 kin would recommend this property

Liked: near the beach

Disliked: kin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: Not so clean

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antony Westwood

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2013 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Close by the sea , pool on the property , relaxing hammocks , kitchen and cooking facilities. The owner Solomon is an exceptionally generous and nice host , while staying there he supplied us with free mangos and also took me to the airport at an early hour in the morning as there were no alternatives at that time which was exceptionally kind.

Disliked: It is a little out from Port Vila , so every time you want to go into town it costs 150v. Take note that it is not by a nice beach , but there are plenty of nice beaches in Vanuatu which are a short distance away.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to beach and has nice pool and a good place to meet other travelers in Vanuatu.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos Poncios Galassi Parejo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 December 2012 Carlos Poncios would recommend this property

Liked: In front of the beach, really well located

Disliked: No breakfast (not even paid)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clayton Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 December 2012 Clayton would recommend this property

Liked: Bluepango is excellent! The rooms are well kitted out with a small kitchen and fridge, great for the cold evening beers and eggs in the morning! Sheets are clean and provided, beds are comfy and the hammocks in front of the ocean make for idyllic relaxation spots in the sunset or sunshine. Would stay again!Laundry service is available and a great deal of seating is provided outside the rooms, which have a community feel to them with the accommodation built in an arc facing the ocean (and pool).

Disliked: There are no negatives about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramona Nagy

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

04 September 2012 Ramona would recommend this property

Liked: I have to tell you I had a great time with my brother and my friend. Our room was only 50 meter from the beach and we had a beautiful swimming pool. The owner Solomon he was very friendly, helpful and he made sure we enjoy our stay. He had a lovely puppy his name is Liu so friendly lovely puppy! I had a fantastic time and I recommend the place to everyone! Nice quiet and you can hear the waves at night amazing! Its like you are in Paradise!

Disliked: I was 100% satisfied!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 August 2012

Liked: The owners were very friendly and as a place to sleep for one night it did the job.

Disliked: As I said this place is fine but not really anything special. It was a little bit dirty (but not too bad) and the dorm room had some interesting scents due to the kitcenette and bathroom door being less than a metre from beds. I'm sure you could find nicer, cheaper places if you asked around in town.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kayla Jensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012 kayla would recommend this property

Liked: Location was awesome! Right on the beach, nice and seclueded - outside of the business of town but a very very short bus ride in!

Disliked: The dorm room looked cleaned but there was a bad smell that came from the fridge, toilet and rubbish bin (even though emptied daily needs a good scrub to get rid of the smell and some air freshner would be good)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Nolan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 July 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Myself and my girlfriend stayed at Blue Pango for 3 nights in one of their double self contained rooms and thought it was a nice little place. We arrived at the airport and opted for the easiest option of a taxi which cost 3000V but we later found you get could a local bus for 300v each. The place itself was easily found on this occasion but with other bus drivers we had over the next few days it was a bit more difficult so it would be advisable to know the address or carry it with you. The accommodation was nice and comfortable and the fans in the room were effective for keeping you cool of a night. The cooking facilities are also pretty good, you get a double hob top and they have a room full of utensils and cooking equipment for you to use. There is a swimming pool on site which is handy considering you'd maybe have to walk out quite far to swim in the sea as its quite rocky and there's plenty of grassy area to laze in to make up for the lack of beach. To get to town from Blue Pango is only 150V per person even though the drivers will most likely try charge you more if you don't know this price already. Alternatively you could walk, we did it the one day and it only took us 30mins max. If your not too bothered about being out of town and are looking for somewhere cheap then this will do the job.

Disliked: N/A