HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The District Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1440 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20005

77.9% Overall Rating

265 out of 333 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

Damien Huffer thinks…

"We really liked the location to a great area and a Metro. Character of the buildings and rooms is wonderful. Spatious too."

Read all The District Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Concierge
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTIFICATION. Private Double Ensuite - This room features one (1) full-size bed in a room that can be shared between two (2) persons. Private (4-beds) Ensuite - This room features two (2) oversized queen beds that can be shared by upto four (4) persons.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Duo Housing Washington DC
29.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 177 reviews
DC Lofty
27.79 USD

Hostel 84.7% 83 reviews
Hostelling International – Washington, DC
36.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1158 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 65.8% 98 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.0% 64 reviews
Capital View Hostel
35.73 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Canal Inn
42.50 USD

Hotel 84.4% 15 reviews
Loftstel
27.19 USD

Hostel 82.7% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

265 out of 333 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The District Hotel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 203 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and expected a shared bathroom while getting my own.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free continental breakfast in the morning with a waffle maker!

Disliked: Free internet wifi was dodgy, reception kept cutting out, although perhaps because we were all the way at the end of the corridor. Even so that shouldn't be an excuse..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Gustavo Del Nero Pires

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Luiz Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: Location, confort, price, free nice breakfast

Disliked: Broken elevator

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hotel está a unos 10 - 15 minutos andando de la casa blanca. Se hace un poco largo andando.El hotel está bastante viejo, las habitaciones se ven con grietas y son un poco pequeñas (habitación doble con cama de matrimonio). El ascensor no funciona, hay que utilizar las escaleras.El aire acondicionado si funciona bien.El baño es normalito y la limipieza es correcta.El desayuno no está nada mal, pero tienes que comertelo en el hall del hotel porque no hay otro sitio, de hecho se sirve en el hall.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Rice

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

04 September 2010

Liked: Very cute, comfy hotel. Great location, definitely worth the price. Having air conditioning was an important feature for a visit to DC in August. Definitely a top pick for a couple traveling together :)

Disliked: The only thing we disliked about this hotel happened to be our luck that the elevator was not working, our room was on the top floor (4th) and I had a sprained ankle.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Craig gibson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2010 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and pristine. It's basically a hotel not really a hostel at all.The location is good. about 15 mins walk to metro. lots of places within walking distance pretty upmarket area.

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is simple, but have a good breakfast.

Disliked: Staff not friendly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, nice old building- great breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Bryant

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

25 August 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good to walk to the White House and there were some restaurants and bars nearby. Rooms were clean

Disliked: There is no metro station nearby - there are three but it is about a 10-15 minute walk to any of them

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfastlocation to center city

Disliked: it was very loud

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jodie Lia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2010 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked the location, it was close to some great food and really only a moderate walk to all attractions. We only had to catch public transport once to get to where we wanted to go. The room was airconditioned nicely for our arrival and the bathroom ensuite was clean and provided some top quality hotel soaps/shampoos.

Disliked: The elevator was broken and we were on the forth level which was very inconvenient. The breakfast was provided for guests between 7 and 10 each morning yet most food was gone by 9am when we went to eat leaving a couple of bagels. The food on offer was really quite awful - plain bagels, sugary muffins and extra sugary cereals. Tea and watery coffee was free however water was not. There was also a do it yourself waffle machine which was so popular that IF you wanted one you'd be lining up for quite some time waiting for inexperienced waffle makers trying to work out how to use the thing - it definitely wasnt worth the wait. The room was extremely small, so you really couldnt open two peoples suitcases at the one time unless you utilised the bed. However, as we were there to see the sights, NOT there to hang out in the hotel (as anyone who stays as budget hotel probably agrees), it really didn't matter about the size etc. It was clean and safe and provided a nice bed to sleep in so if thats all you need, thats what you'll get here.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010

Liked: location, internet acces

Disliked: breakfast, atmosphere in room

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

benard patrick

As a family with children

Family Holiday

06 August 2010

Liked: never come back

Disliked: dust

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very convenient, the A/C was great in the hot and humid DC summer.

Disliked: Nothing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 June 2010

Liked: it's cheap. That's it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, reasonably priced (in comparison with others in this area) waffle machine in reception

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudio Romeo

19 May 2010 Claudio would recommend this property

Liked: It is really nice, I would definitely get back

Disliked: Claudio left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was nice to stay there, pretty clean and helpfull staff. the only annoying thing was breakfast. there was no place to sit just a few couches which were full, so we had stay and eat. location and everything else were pretty good tho

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel, better than it is described in the website

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kay Pfister

12 January 2010 Kay would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast with fresh wafffles, small room but nice

Disliked: Kay left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jim Twelves

11 January 2010 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast bar was good but there was not much room for guests to eat their breakfast.

Disliked: Jim left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its 6 blocks from the white house and not very expensive.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.