We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The District Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1440 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20005

73.8% Overall Rating

274 out of 345 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2014)

Sarah Watson thinks…

"The hotel was conveniently located between downtown and a road full if good restaurants on 14th street."

Read all The District Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Concierge
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTIFICATION. Private Double Ensuite - This room features one (1) full-size bed in a room that can be shared between two (2) persons. Private (4-beds) Ensuite - This room features two (2) oversized queen beds that can be shared by upto four (4) persons.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Duo Housing Washington DC
24.00 USD

Hostel 86.4% 195 reviews
DC Lofty
28.78 USD

Hostel 79.5% 109 reviews
HI - Washington DC Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1199 reviews
Washington International Student Center
22.23 USD

Hostel 61.5% 69 reviews
Capital View Hostel
30.77 USD

Hostel 82.2% 34 reviews
Canal Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 84.7% 17 reviews
Loftstel
38.30 USD

Hostel 81.4% 212 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
23.01 USD

Hostel 83.8% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.8%

Overall Rating

274 out of 345 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The District Hotel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 209 of 258 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Staff wasn't friendliness.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its excellent location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really worth the money. Rooms are a little bit small, but it was fine for me as I just needed a room to rest. It's clean, well located and has a good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012

Liked: I liked that we had internet connection fro free in some computers upstairs. The location was good and also the Breakfast was not bad.

Disliked: I didn't like that we had to change the room because our room faced a dump that was full of RATS and we could listen to them running around and "fighting" among them.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this place because the bed was great. The mattress was great and the sheets were clean and crisp. It was heaven after spending four weeks in a dirty bedsit in NYC. The location is great and the breakfast was surprisingly enjoyable. Our room was quite big and comfy.

Disliked: However, we couldn't get wi-fi in our room and had to go to the foyer to use it. When we complained, we were offered another room, but it was tiny with nothing in it except a bed (couldn't fit anything else). So I think the qualities are varied.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Michael Pullman

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 November 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast. Comfortable bed

Disliked: Really tiny rooms but still good for the price

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jean-marc beloulou

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 November 2011 jean-marc would recommend this property

Liked: Close to white house, Carlos very good guide thank you

Disliked: 30 mm walk from the train station. Please put distances between station and hotel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda-lee McColl

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Amanda-lee would recommend this property

Liked: The Beds were really comfortable and the hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The place was very clean I really LOVED staying here.

Disliked: While the place is within walking distance to the white house it is a little bit of a walk from a subway station but its manageable. That would honesty be my only complaint everything else was beyond expectation.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can use free wifi

Disliked: bathroom was very small and was blocked water flowing and poor breakfast.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sian Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2011 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: location. some of the staff where pretty helpful.

Disliked: no towel rails.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

TING DING

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 TING would recommend this property

Liked: location is pretty good although very few stores to eat around, breakfast in hotel is good

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: _

Disliked: There are no directions to arrive from the Union Bus Station

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 August 2011

Liked: Nice rooms and clean bathrooms

Disliked: Bad location and breakfast

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite cheap, breakfast included and internet in the rooms

Disliked: very small rooms, the aircon is right behind the bed and blows cold air right in your face, so impossible to leave it on during the night

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Thibaud Grandjean

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011

Liked: The entrance is really nice, so the main hall and the corridors

Disliked: The double private room (for two people) was really small, humid and no window opening. Wet pillows all nights...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: There is no laundry and the second morning we couldn't have orange juice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Grimshaw

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: Red carpet entrance!!!! We weren't expecting a breakfast and it was incredible - there was loads of choice! The hotel staff were very helpful with directions to places etc.

Disliked: The room wasn't very spacious but it was otherwise excellent with a TV, desk, wardrobe, etc.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 10 mins to the white house. Clean, room cleaned daily.

Disliked: Property is a bit dated

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susannah Beck

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great period property with very friendly staff who seemed to be available at all times in the lobby area. The air conditioning was essential and well used by us as we'd come to D.C. in the middle of a heat wave! The breakfast was very nice with a number of fresh pastries, muffins, bagels (of varies varieties), cereals and waffle maker! Tea and Coffee were offered free of charge at all times of the day from the lobby area which was a really nice touch. The greatest thing about this hotel is its location as it's only a few blocks away from the White House. You can walk everywhere really but the walk to the nearest subway station could be a bit of a problem if you're not completely comfortable with walking about 10-15 mins with bags. There are some nice restaurants in Dupont Circle which is very close to the hotel with a particularly nice one being Afterwords which is attached to a book store.

Disliked: The only problem we experienced was that the lift (elevator) was broken which was a bit of a problem when getting bags to our 4th floor room but the staff will help you if you ask. The room and bed was a little on the small side and looked a bit tired but it wasn't a problem for us really as we weren't spending much time in there other than to sleep! There's too much to see and do in Washington D.C.!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was rich and included the use of a waffle-maker to make fresh warm waffles, bathroom was newly renovated, clean and tidy

Disliked: elevator was out of use so we had to climb up with our baggage

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Very close to the major attractions, especially the White House. About 5 blocks from the nearest metro station. Also the room we got was really great and one of the larger rooms. It was very large and had a balcony attached to it. Great shower/tub combo as well. Also came with shampoo/conditioner/lotion set, hair dryer, and iron and ironing board. All around it was a great value for the price! Plenty of convenience stores, restaurants, and even a bike hire around the corner. Free breakfast was also included which were waffles and a mixture of breads and juices. Free WiFi

Disliked: The elevator was out so we had to climb up several sets of stairs with our luggage. Some of the staff didn't seem very eager to help us with general questions about the city. At one point our room cards didn't work and we had to go back down stairs and get them fixed which was annoying. Overall, however, the stay was pretty enjoyable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joshua Leong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2011 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. 15 min walk from the White House and other attractions in the city. Rooms were a little old, but very clean. Toilet came with Neutrogena toiletries!

Disliked: There are NO PARKING FACILITIES located at the hotel. Nearest parking was located at a garage one block down the street. Parking rates were $20 a day, $35 overnight. Elevators were also not working, so we had to walk up 3 flights of stairs to our room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the staff

Disliked: some old curtains in the room

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: the window overlloking a brick wall does not open, it is covered by a heavy dark curtain and the air conditioner is set on the head of the bed. Technically, a strong and loud airflow is blowing on the heads of the sleeping guests, which is unbearable. otherwise there is no air at all. had a struggle sleeping with almost no air :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Though the location isn't really accessible by metro or bus, it's within walking distance from the main attractions in the city. The bathroom was quite nice, there is a bath, but the shower is too weak.

Disliked: Our room was almost as small as a double bed, didn't really have much space to put our things or walk around.