HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The District Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1440 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20005

77.9% Overall Rating

265 out of 333 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

Damien Huffer thinks…

"We really liked the location to a great area and a Metro. Character of the buildings and rooms is wonderful. Spatious too."

Read all The District Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Concierge
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTIFICATION. Private Double Ensuite - This room features one (1) full-size bed in a room that can be shared between two (2) persons. Private (4-beds) Ensuite - This room features two (2) oversized queen beds that can be shared by upto four (4) persons.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Duo Housing Washington DC
29.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 177 reviews
DC Lofty
29.77 USD

Hostel 84.7% 83 reviews
Hostelling International – Washington, DC
36.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1158 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
15.99 USD

Hostel 65.4% 99 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.0% 64 reviews
Capital View Hostel
35.73 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Canal Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 84.4% 15 reviews
Loftstel
53.22 USD

Hostel 82.7% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

265 out of 333 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The District Hotel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 203 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jean-marc beloulou

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 November 2011 jean-marc would recommend this property

Liked: Close to white house, Carlos very good guide thank you

Disliked: 30 mm walk from the train station. Please put distances between station and hotel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda-lee McColl

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Amanda-lee would recommend this property

Liked: The Beds were really comfortable and the hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The place was very clean I really LOVED staying here.

Disliked: While the place is within walking distance to the white house it is a little bit of a walk from a subway station but its manageable. That would honesty be my only complaint everything else was beyond expectation.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can use free wifi

Disliked: bathroom was very small and was blocked water flowing and poor breakfast.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sian Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2011 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: location. some of the staff where pretty helpful.

Disliked: no towel rails.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

TING DING

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 TING would recommend this property

Liked: location is pretty good although very few stores to eat around, breakfast in hotel is good

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: _

Disliked: There are no directions to arrive from the Union Bus Station

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 August 2011

Liked: Nice rooms and clean bathrooms

Disliked: Bad location and breakfast

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite cheap, breakfast included and internet in the rooms

Disliked: very small rooms, the aircon is right behind the bed and blows cold air right in your face, so impossible to leave it on during the night

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Thibaud Grandjean

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011

Liked: The entrance is really nice, so the main hall and the corridors

Disliked: The double private room (for two people) was really small, humid and no window opening. Wet pillows all nights...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: There is no laundry and the second morning we couldn't have orange juice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Grimshaw

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: Red carpet entrance!!!! We weren't expecting a breakfast and it was incredible - there was loads of choice! The hotel staff were very helpful with directions to places etc.

Disliked: The room wasn't very spacious but it was otherwise excellent with a TV, desk, wardrobe, etc.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 10 mins to the white house. Clean, room cleaned daily.

Disliked: Property is a bit dated

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susannah Beck

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great period property with very friendly staff who seemed to be available at all times in the lobby area. The air conditioning was essential and well used by us as we'd come to D.C. in the middle of a heat wave! The breakfast was very nice with a number of fresh pastries, muffins, bagels (of varies varieties), cereals and waffle maker! Tea and Coffee were offered free of charge at all times of the day from the lobby area which was a really nice touch. The greatest thing about this hotel is its location as it's only a few blocks away from the White House. You can walk everywhere really but the walk to the nearest subway station could be a bit of a problem if you're not completely comfortable with walking about 10-15 mins with bags. There are some nice restaurants in Dupont Circle which is very close to the hotel with a particularly nice one being Afterwords which is attached to a book store.

Disliked: The only problem we experienced was that the lift (elevator) was broken which was a bit of a problem when getting bags to our 4th floor room but the staff will help you if you ask. The room and bed was a little on the small side and looked a bit tired but it wasn't a problem for us really as we weren't spending much time in there other than to sleep! There's too much to see and do in Washington D.C.!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was rich and included the use of a waffle-maker to make fresh warm waffles, bathroom was newly renovated, clean and tidy

Disliked: elevator was out of use so we had to climb up with our baggage

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Very close to the major attractions, especially the White House. About 5 blocks from the nearest metro station. Also the room we got was really great and one of the larger rooms. It was very large and had a balcony attached to it. Great shower/tub combo as well. Also came with shampoo/conditioner/lotion set, hair dryer, and iron and ironing board. All around it was a great value for the price! Plenty of convenience stores, restaurants, and even a bike hire around the corner. Free breakfast was also included which were waffles and a mixture of breads and juices. Free WiFi

Disliked: The elevator was out so we had to climb up several sets of stairs with our luggage. Some of the staff didn't seem very eager to help us with general questions about the city. At one point our room cards didn't work and we had to go back down stairs and get them fixed which was annoying. Overall, however, the stay was pretty enjoyable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joshua Leong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2011 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. 15 min walk from the White House and other attractions in the city. Rooms were a little old, but very clean. Toilet came with Neutrogena toiletries!

Disliked: There are NO PARKING FACILITIES located at the hotel. Nearest parking was located at a garage one block down the street. Parking rates were $20 a day, $35 overnight. Elevators were also not working, so we had to walk up 3 flights of stairs to our room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the staff

Disliked: some old curtains in the room

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: the window overlloking a brick wall does not open, it is covered by a heavy dark curtain and the air conditioner is set on the head of the bed. Technically, a strong and loud airflow is blowing on the heads of the sleeping guests, which is unbearable. otherwise there is no air at all. had a struggle sleeping with almost no air :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Though the location isn't really accessible by metro or bus, it's within walking distance from the main attractions in the city. The bathroom was quite nice, there is a bath, but the shower is too weak.

Disliked: Our room was almost as small as a double bed, didn't really have much space to put our things or walk around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Torres

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 April 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great location! The guy at the front desk when we checked out was very helpful.

Disliked: the carper in our room was a bit old.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived there with very low expectations (after reading reviews) but I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the bathroom too, the room was cleaned every day and towels changed. The sofas and armchairs in the lobby were new (at least they didn't have food stains, as they were described in previous reviews). Free internet in the room. Very close to the White House and other attractions.

Disliked: The room lacked a wardrobe (there were only several hangers in the bathroom), the window was horrible (they renovated the rooms, but not the windows, which they hid under very thick curtains). And they also forgot room doors during renovation - when closed, you could see the light from the hall. And hear everything. Luckily there were quiet guests at that time! And (free) breakfast is getting boring if you stay more than 1-2 days.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Room was a little small.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: tidy, clean.

Disliked: breakfast has nothing to eat.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Eggins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, The place was clean.

Disliked: Nothing I really disliked enough to complain about.