HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

District Hotel Hotel

1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 55%

Location 86%

Safety 72%

Staff 61%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Business Centre"
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTIFICATION.

Private Double Ensuite - This room features one (1) full-size bed in a room that can be shared between two (2) persons.
Private (4-beds) Ensuite - This room features two (2) oversized queen beds that can be shared by upto four (4) persons.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 55%

Location 86%

Safety 72%

Staff 61%

Value 66%

Showing 11-15 of 15 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place is great and clean!

Disliked: The room is a little small

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Plenty of hot water

Disliked: The noise from air con, extractor fans, other peoples toilet flushing

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hotel is perfect for travelers and people looking for value for money in a very central location. The reception staff were very helpful and accommodating to help with the room and leaving bags during the day before our flights. The free wifi is handy and the breakfast provided is more than you can expect from other hostels. Rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels and a general clean, this is what I was most impressed about.

Disliked: The place is in need of a slight updating with some of the fixtures and decor looking a little tired. But for the price we paid, we were expecting a lot less so were pleasantly surprised.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a bit strange first to have the room underground, but since we stayed in the room only for sleeping, that was okay. We especially likes the furnishing. The location is great, just few minutes away from a great supermarket and the White House.

Disliked: After checking-out we left our suitcases in the hotel while exploring the city (our flight was in the evening), but when we came back we found our suitcases plus the laptop bag plus the bagpack standing in the hallway, out of sight of the hotel keeper and free for everyone passing by to grap things out.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap place, great location. Was worried because of the many bad reviews online but for the price we paid this hotel was great. Comfy bed, clean bathroom and quiet atmosphere.

Disliked: The breakfast was pretty much all carbs. Waffles, muffins and bagles. There were no room to sit and eat, either. Two tables and a buffet that ends at 9.30.. People stood and ate everywhere!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: 24h-front desk, safe surroundings, good value for money for groups, private bathrooms

Disliked: bathroom might have been cleaner, room needed redecoration (old worn carpet & paint/ wallpaper), noisy bed, extremely soft mattress

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Amabiidad del servicio

Disliked: No hay lugar para el desayuno, es en el mismo lugar de la recepción, sin espacio para sentarse.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Was centrally located and within walking distance of Capital Hill and the Mall. It was clean and well maintained. The staff was pleasant and available 24 hours a day. Good place to stay for a good price overall. It is more hotel than hostel however. I would stay here again because it is very good value for the money but would like to see them be a little more forthright in their description of the hotel.

Disliked: This was much closer in amenities to an older hotel. I like staying at hostels because of the ability to use the kitchen facilities to make my own meals. There was only a small (dorm room size) refrigerator and microwave in the main lobby. The continental breakfast was cereal, muffins, bagels, or waffles with milk, juice, coffee, or tea--no fresh fruit. There was limited space to sit and eat, so if you weren't first or didn't take it back to your room, you stood and ate.In their description they state limited parking available. This is very true--they only have 4 compact parking spaces located behind the hotel--so no mid-size or larger vehicles. Access to the spaces is also very limited in that the alley is very narrow with abrupt turns. They charged an additional $30 a night for the space and you had to move it when you checked out (or pay an additional $30). However, there are several 24 hour parking ramps within a couple blocks and available for $25 a full 24 hour period . Depending upon the time of day you arrive and leave this could save you the price of a decent meal for 2.We also did not find the '300' restaurants within a 5 block radius but there were some decent choices at a fair price.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The bathroom was recently renewed, it was very nice

Disliked: The location is good but very far away from any metro station. The brekfast is not bad, anyway I could be much better. The bed was extremelly small and very old, it was really unconfortable to sleep at that bed, I was anxious to wake up.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability